1915 N STILES AVE STE 231 - OKC, OK - 73105 - (405) 522-3222 - WCC.OK.GOV
Tulsa office - 212 Kerr State Office Building - 440 South Houston - Tulsa, Oklahoma 74127 - (918) 295-3732

Executive Director Hopper Smith

UPDATE: State's Average Weekly Wage and Maximum Benefit
Amounts for Work-Related Injuries, Illnesses and Deaths

To: Workers' Compensation Insurance Carriers, Self-Insured Employers, Group Self-
Insurance Associations, Third Party Administrators, Injured Workers, Attorneys, Other
Interested Parties

Date: October 19, 2018

Title 85A sets the maximum compensation benefit rates based on a percentage of the state's
average weekly wage reported to the Commission by the Oklahoma Employment Security
Commission.

After review of the definition of “state average weekly wage” in 85A O.S. §2, the
Commission has determined that the Administrative Workers” Compensation Act requires
the new average weekly wage to become effective January 1, 2019, rather than November 1,
2018. Accordingly, the new state average weekly wage and associated rates for temporary
total disability, permanent total disability, and death benefits will become effective for
injuries or illnesses arising during the period beginning January 1, 2019, and ending
December 31, 2019.

Due to an INCREASE in the state average weekly wage, the maximum compensation benefit
rate for injury, illness or death will change as follows:

e For temporary total disability, the maximum rate is $607.40 per week for injuries and
illnesses arising during the period beginning January 1, 2019 and ending December
31, 2019. 85A O.S. Supp. 2013, §45(A).

e For Permanent Total Disability (PTD) and Death, the maximum rate is $867.71 per week for
work-related injury, illness or death occurring during the period beginning January 1, 2019
and ending December 31, 2019. 85A O.S. Supp. 2013, §45(D) regarding PTD, and 85A O.S.
Supp. 2013, §47 regarding death.

e For Permanent Partial Disability (PPD), the maximum compensation benefit rate remains
unchanged at $323 per week for work-related injury and illness occurring on or after
February 1, 2014. See, 85A 0.S. Supp. 2013, §45(C).

Look for revised benefit charts on the Commission’s website https://www.ok.gov/wcc/Legal/Benefit_Charts/index.html
or contact the Workers’ Compensation Commission’s Counselor/Ombudsman Program for more information at 855-291-
3612 (in-state toll free) » 405-522-5308 (OKC) ® Counselors@wcc.ok.gov (electronic mail).
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