~ August 6, 2007

Re: LR-07-092 — Withholding Tax Inquiry
Dear

Receipt is acknowledged of your inquiry wherein you requested a clarification on
the withholding tax treatment of an out-of-state employee. The facts as stated in your
request are that the out-of-state employee is a resident of Texas, is a salesman not
reporting to your office on a daily basis, and has his check direct deposited in Texas.
You ask the following questions:

1. Are you “required to do state withholding on him”?

Our response: Title 68 O.S. Section 2385.3 specifies when withholding is
required.  Generally, non-residents are not subject to Oklahoma income
withholding on wages unless that person has earned income in Oklahoma in
excess of $300.00 for a calendar quarter (68 O.S. Sec.2385.1).

2. Is he “required to file a non-resident tax return”?

Our response: Non-resident individuals in Oklahoma are subject to filing an
Oklahoma income tax return if they have Oklahoma gross income of at least one
thousand dollars ($1,000.00) for the taxable year (68 O.S. Sec. 2368) from
Oklahoma sources. (See, also, OAC 710:50-3-38) The proper form for
nonresident individuals to file their income tax return in Oklahoma is form 511
NR.

Copies of Commission rules and statutes cited herein are attached. Statutes
referenced herein may also be viewed at the following website by entering the
appropriate section number as the search term:

www.oscn.net/applications/oscn/search.asp?simple=true
The rules referenced herein may be viewed at the following website by entering the rule
number as the search term: :




www.oar.state.ok.us/oar/codedoc02.nsf/

Pursuant to Commission Rule 710:1-3-73(e), this Letter Ruling may be generally relied
upon only by the entity to whom it is issued, assuming that all pertinent facts have been
accurately and completely stated, and that there has been no change in applicable law.

Sincerely,
OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION

Evelyn B. Phyffer
Tax Policy Analyst
Attachments (4)



