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This is in response to your inquiry concerning the subject referenced above.

Please be advised that motor vehicles are subject to a motor vehicle excise tax on the
transfer of legal ownership of any vehicle registered in Oklahoma and upon the first registration
of any vehicle in Oklahoma pursuant to 68 O.S. Section 2103, However, an original or transfer
title will be issued for any vehicle brought into this state by a former resident of another state
who has owned and registered the vehicle in the other state at least 60 days prior to the time it is
required to be registered in this state without the payment of the excise tax pursuant to 68 O.S.
Section 2105.

Furthermore based on the language of 68 O.S. Section 2103, the payment of the
registration fee by commercial vehicles registered pursuant to the provisions of the International
Registrations Plan (IRP) is in lieu of any sales tax on the stream of lease payments. Additionally
Section 1355 of the same Title exempts from sales tax, payments on leases of 12 months or
more.

Howeyver, if you are the lessor of motor vehicle leases of motor vehicles that are not
registered commercially pursuant to the provisions of the IRP and where the original term was
less than 12 months, or if you are leasing or renting tangible personal property that includes
property that are not motor vehicles, an Oklahoma sales or use tax liability will exist.

For those items that are not motor vehicles that are not subject to leases or rental
agreements, on which sales or use tax was paid on the purchase price upfront, a credit can be
taken on the use tax due in Oklahoma, by taking a credit of state tax rate against state tax rate,
city tax rate against city tax rate and county tax rate against county tax rate. If any Oklahoma
jurisdiction’s tax rate is higher than the tax rate at which the tax was paid previously, the tax is
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due to that jurisdiction at the difference in the rates. Please see Oklahoma Tax Commission Rule
710:65-21-20.

If the items which are not motor vehicles are subject to rental agreements or to leases or
if they are motor vehicles that are not registered as commercial motor vehicles and they are
subject to rentals or leases of less than 12 months, then the lease or rental payments are subject to
Oklahoma state and any applicable local sales tax based on the primary Oklahoma location of the
property or of the vehicles for the period covered by each payment. The sourcing for these types
of transactions are governed by rule 710:65-18-4.

This response applies only to the circumstances set out in your request of January 30,
2006. Pursuant to Commission Rule 710:1-3-73(e), this Letter Ruling may be generally relied
upon only by the entity to whom it is issued, assuming that all pertinent facts have been
accurately and completely stated, and that there has been no change in applicable law.

If I can be of further assistance, please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,
OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION

Michael G. Pillow
Tax Policy Analyst



