
Application for Extension of Time 
to File Oklahoma Income Tax Return

If the copy of this form is to be returned to you, or an agent acting for you, at an address
other than that shown above, please enter the information below

For the year or other taxable year beginning and ending01-01-2001-12-31-2001 -  -2001

Name

Number and street (or Post Office box number if mail is not delivered to street address)

City, State, and Zip

Approval required only if the application is for over 4 
months for individuals or 6 months for corporations.

FOR THE OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION

Signature of Approving Officer

APPROVED:  DISAPPROVED:   

Total income tax liability (You may estimate this amount.)
Note:     You must enter an amount on line 1. If you do not expect to owe tax, enter zero (0).
Oklahoma income tax withheld

Estimated tax payments (include prior year overpayment allowed as a credit)

Other payments and credits you expect to show on your current return.

Add lines 2, 3 and 4

Income tax balance due (subtract line 5 from line 1). 

Amount you are paying.  Extension is valid only if 90% of line 1 is paid by the original due date. 

...................................................................................

.....................................................................................

....................

............

..............................................................................................................................................

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

7.

...........................................................................................

1

2

3

4

Please
Type
or

Print

Corporate name, or your first name and initial (if joint return, also give spouse's name and initial)

Present address (number and street, including apartment number, or rural route)

City, State, and Zip

Last name Your social security number

Spouse's social security number

Federal ID number

An Extension of time to file with the IRS has been granted to

Extension of time to file with the Oklahoma Tax Commission is requested to

REASON: (If requesting a total of more than 4 months for individuals or more than 6 months for corporations)

EXTENSION OF TIME TO FILE AN INCOME TAX RETURN

Income TAX COMPUTATION

This is not an extension of time for payment of tax, but only to file your return.
90% of your tax liability must be paid by the original due date.

If prepared by Taxpayer, Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this form, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my knowledge and
belief, it is true, correct and complete.

Your signature (Officer's signature, if Corporation)

Spouse's signature (if filing jointly, BOTH must sign even if only one had income) 

Paid preparer's signature Date

Date

Date

APPROVAL

SIGNATURE AND VERIFICATION

Date

Date

.....................
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Tax Year 2001
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Oklahoma Tax Commission
Income Tax
P.O. Box 26800
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73126-0800

An extension cannot be granted for more than one-half the accounting period covered by the individual return (i.e. 6 month 

extension for a 12 month tax year). In the case of a Corporate return, an extension may not exceed a total of 7 months.

Applications for extensions of time must be post-marked on or before the due date for filing the income tax return, or before the 

expiration of the automatic Federal extension.

Any additional extensions beyond the automatic extension will be returned to the applicant. The applicant should enclose the 

approved extension with his completed return when filing with the Oklahoma Tax Commission.

An automatic extension, without request, is granted to members of the active military service serving outside the United States or 

confined to a hospital. Such extension is granted to the 15th day of the third month following their return to the United States, or 

their release from a hospital.

This application may not be used to request an extension of time for the payment of tax. Interest will be charged at the rate of 1 

1/4% per month from the original due date of the return until paid.

If husband and wife file separate returns, each must file application for an extension. Attorneys or agents for the taxpayer must 

prepare separate applications for each extension requested.

Any extension granted is pursuant to the provisions of Section 216 of the State Tax Uniform Procedure Act and the Oklahoma Tax 

Commission.

Do not use this form for franchise tax.  An extension of time to file your franchise tax return may be granted upon the filing of a 

tentative return and the remittance of an estimated tax due.

Mail to:

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

7.

8.

9.

An extension of time to file your income tax return shall not be granted unless 90% of the tax liability is paid on or before 
the original due date of the return.

Since the Oklahoma return cannot be completed until the Federal return is completed, the Oklahoma Tax Commission 
has administratively adopted the policy of honoring the automatic Federal extension, when no additional state tax is due, 
as an extension of time to file the Oklahoma return. When you file your Oklahoma return, simply enclose a copy of the 
Federal extension or your confirmation number if you requested your Federal extension by phone.

Therefore, you only need to use this form to apply for additional time to file your income tax return when you owe 
additional Oklahoma income tax, you do not have a Federal extension, or you need to file for additional time beyond that 
granted by the Federal extension.

Remember, you can not get an extension of time to pay your income tax, but only to file your return. Delinquent penalty of 
5% may be charged, if at least 90% of your total tax liability has not been paid by the original due date. Delinquent 
interest, at the rate of 1 1/4% per month, may be charged if 100% of your tax liability is not paid by the original due date of 
the return.

You may make your extension payment via credit card, over the internet or by telephone.  You can log on to our web site 
at www.oktax.state.ok.us and click on the "Payment Options"  link or you can telephone 1-800-2PAY-TAX .  There is a 
convenience fee charged to utilize this service.  When you finish, please retain the confirmation number for your records.  
Important Note:  If you make your extension payment by credit card, do not mail Form 504 unless you are requesting an 
extension of more than 4 months for individuals or more than 6 months for corporations.

General Information

Instructions


