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Motor Vehicle Division 

(405) 521-3221 



LOCATION OF V.I.N. INFORMATION 

I.B.T.F. Virginia Data Bank for manufactured home Serial Numbers (703) 481-2010 or www.IBTF.org 

H.U.D. data plates are red and are affixed to the skirt level at the rear corner of each sec�on. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Modular homes will have a data plate located in the cabinet near the kitchen sink.  Some states have a State Building 

Code plate in the same general area. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Many homes will have a data plate located in the electrical breaker box, front door frame or hot water tank closet.  

Different manufacturers aJach plates in various places. 

Stamped serial numbers are found on the front cross member of the frame.  Some homes will have the serial number 

stamped somewhere on the frame rail.  If the tongue has been removed, check the frame rails for the stamped       

number. 

If a serial number cannot be found, and if the manufacturer is known, you may call the manufacturer to find the       

loca�on of the data plate and/or serial number.  If the data plate has been removed, look on the front cross member or 

frame rails for the stamped serial number. 

If a serial number cannot be found and if the manufacture is known, you may call the manufacture to find the loca�on 

of the data plate.  If the data plate has been removed, look on the front cross member or frame rails for the serial    

number. 

Your local dealer may be able to assist in loca�ng the data plate or serial number. 
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No ac�on required by the county assessor.   The motor license agent will �tle and register for the balance of the calen-

dar year. 

DPS will issue a permit for homes with current year registra/on and decal.  

Note:  If a factory built dwelling unit is designated as a manufactured home on the MSO, it is always a manufactured 

home for taxa�on unless the �tle is surrendered.  Manufactured home dealers may move a trade-in home to a secure 

loca�on with a trade-in affidavit.  (Available from DPS, Size & Weights)  However, all taxes and fees must be paid within 

30 days of issuance of the size & weight permit, and prior to any /tle work. 

Used manufactured home dealers are required to obtain �tle in their name on homes on their lots on January 1st; on 

homes acquired with out-of-state �tles, or when they are the last assignee on an Oklahoma �tle.  Dealer must pur-

chase tag every year used homes are on the lot.  When a dealer is obtaining �tle in their name due to being the last 

assignee, proof of current year ad valorem taxes, or a release indica�ng no current year ad valorem taxes are due, 

must be submiJed (OTC Form 936).  Current year decal must be obtained by the selling dealer for homes on a      

dealer’s lot January 1st.  The assessor will place the home on the assessment roll for the following calendar year.  Sub-

sequent moves are allowed in the same calendar year using the current year registra/on and decal or OTC Form 936.  

Two decals will be issued by the County Treasurer.  One for the hard tag, and one for the window. 

Lenders are always treated as individuals, not a dealer. 

*May be original NCR paper copy or photocopy. 

Note:  $3.50 MV Tax Stamp for new homes only. 
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*Provided a current Armed Forces Registra�on (OTC-779) is presented, no 936 will be required for �tle transfer or 

moving permit.  Ref:  47 O.S. § 1127.  The annual fee is $26. 

Applies to all personal motor vehicles in addi�on to manufactured homes. 

The armed forces registra�on is not applicable if the non-resident military files for homestead exemp�on. 

Note:  Na�onal Guard or Reserve on Ac�ve Duty do not qualify for Ac�ve Duty Non-Resident.  OAC 60-3-131,132.  Must 

be Non-Resident. 

Spouse or the parents of such ac�ve duty military persons are authorized to register on behalf of the military person if 

that person is unable to register the manufactured home at the appropriate �me. 

REGISTRATION IN-LIEU OF AD VALOREM — MOBILE OFFICE 

A Manufactured Home which is used as a Mobile Office or other similar use may pay an expiring commercial registra-

�on fee in-lieu of ad valorem. 

In order to qualify as a mobile office, the Manufactured home may not be used for: 

 1.  Permanent Living quarters, or 

 2.  Sleeping quarters 

When  declaring a Manufactured Home has been converted to a Mobile Office,  a Body Change Affidavit (OTC Form 

701-9) must be completed. 

The Affidavit and previous �tle to the Manufactured Home must be submiJed, along with the appropriate fees (new 

�tle registra�on) to the Oklahoma Tax Commission Motor Vehicle Title Sec�on. 
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47 O.S. § 1137.1; 68 O.S. § 5301 



Manufactured home licensed Oklahoma dealers or repossessors, may move a repossessed home to a secure loca�on 

with an Oklahoma Repossession Affidavit (OTC Form 737).  However, all taxes and fees shall be paid within 30 days 

from the issuance of the move permit and prior to any /tle work.  See:  68 O.S. § 2813(C)(E). 

NOTE:  If the home is not moving, no repossession affidavit is required.  However, Repossession Affidavit is required 

to obtain a Repossession Title. 

When motor license agent issues a repossession /tle, proof of paid current year ad valorem taxes (Form 936) must be 

presented.  The $46.00 repossession fee is also due when issuing the �tle. 

Repossessed homes held for consignment are required to have a current year 936 prior to any �tle transfer. 

MOVING FOR COMMERCIAL PURPOSES:  The Department of Public Safety shall issue a permit to transport a home 

used for commercial purposes only during the second (2nd) through the sixth (6th) day of January, and only if the     

applicant has secured a special waiver and a commercial move affidavit issued by the county assessor where the home 

is located.   [See:  68 O.S. § 2813]  The waiver and affidavit (OTC Form 932) may be obtained any�me prior to January 

second.  Moves aQer January 6th will require a Form 936. 

Administra�on of this provision will be similar to the “Repossession” and “Dealer Trade” procedures.  The Form 936 

and tax decal will be required to be paid within thirty (30) days of the issuance of the special waiver and commercial 

move affidavit.  No individual county assessor may issue more than ten (10) waivers and commercial move affidavits in 

any calendar year. 

“Manufactured home used for commercial Purposes” means a manufactured home owned by a business en�ty to    

primary purpose of which is to provide temporary housing for employees or contractors of such business en�ty. 

“Title 42” storage liens request for /tle are for manufactured homes abandoned and located on property not owned 

by the owner of the manufactured home.  If the land was purchased with the manufactured home, Title 42 does not 

apply.  The process will take a minimum of about six (6) weeks.  Tag agent must submit paperwork to the Motor Vehi-

cle Division in Oklahoma City for approval. 

*Dealer trade affidavits are authorized for use by licensed Oklahoma dealers only.  Forms are available from the       

Oklahoma Department of Public Safety. 

**Lenders are authorized to use a Repossession Affidavit but not a Dealer Trade Affidavit. 

Lenders are always treated as individuals, not as dealers. 

4 



 

 

PROCEDURE 

COLLECTION OF AD VALOREM TAX IN ANOTHER COUNTY  

 

1. Collec�ng Treasurer:  Takes informa�on from the applicant and transmits the informa�on to the home county 

treasurer/assessor to complete an original Form 936. 

2. Home Treasurer/Assessor:  Completes an original 936 based on the informa�on from the collec�ng treasurer.  The 

936 must be signed by the home assessor (the home treasurer does not sign the original 936).  A copy of the com-

pleted 936 is then faxed back to the collec�ng treasurer.  Note:  The original 936 MUST be numbered by the home 

county. 

3. Collec�ng Treasurer:  AQer payment of taxes the applicant is issued a trust deposit receipt, current decal, and a 

copy of the completed 936.  The treasurer retains a copy of the 936 and mails a copy with the trust voucher to 

the home treasurer. 

4. Home Treasurer:  AJaches a signed copy of the 936 from the collec�ng treasurer to the original 936 to complete 

the procedure.  The voucher is then deposited in the treasurer’s trust account.  The treasurer and assessor make 

the appropriate record entries. 
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In any of the above listed scenarios, when procedures require one type of tax to be collected, but the other tax has  

already been lawfully collected for the same period, no ad valorem or registra�on is due for the remainder of the     

calendar year. 

When the motor license agent issues a repossession /tle, proof of paid current ad valorem taxes (Form 936) must be 

presented if tag is not current.  The $46.00 repossession fee is also due when issuing the �tle. 

*Licensed manufactured home dealers may move a trade-in home to a secure loca�on with a trade-in affidavit.      

However, all taxes (current 936) and fees shall be paid within 30 days of issuance of the oversize and weight permit by 

The Department of Public Safety and prior to any �tle work. 

 

Lenders are always treated as individuals, not dealers. 
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MANUFACTURED HOMES 

TITLE SURRENDER CONVERSION TO REAL ESTATE 

Un�l July 2002, the law did not allow a homeowner or lender to surrender the �tle and have the home classified as real 

property.   

If a lender believes they had surrendered �tle prior to July 2002, they have not.  What they may have done is:  1) Given 

the owner a �tle without a lien entered, or 2)  Kept the �tle at the finance company, also known as “holding the �tle” 

which is prohibited in Oklahoma. 

Manufactured home owners and finance companies are able to surrender the �tles on manufactured homes if the 

home is permanently aJached to the real property. 

Only the Tax Commission may purge the �tle, not the finance company. 

Lenders that are holding �tles may apply to surrender those �tles and have them purged.  If the land/home was trans-

ferred by warranty deed, or deed of trust, the lender will need to call the Motor Vehicle Division 1-800-522-8165 or 

(direct) (405) 521-3221. 

Oklahoma law allows a manufactured home to be classified as real or personal property.  If the home is situated on 

land owned by the owner of the manufactured home, it should be classified as real property.  If it is     located on land 

owned by someone else, it is classified as personal property.  In either case, the manufactured home is s�ll subject to 

�tle and registra�on, and should be designated as a Manufactured Home on the assessment roll and valued as a 

separate line item. 

Under Oklahoma law, if the �tle has been properly surrendered, the manufactured home is no longer  subject to 

�tle and registra�on under the Motor Vehicle Code. 

When a manufactured home is listed with the county assessor as real property, the county assessor is required to 

separate the account into three (3) line items:  1) Land 2) Mfg. Home and 3) Other Improvements.  The owner will be 

assessed on the total assets listed. 

When the home is listed as “personal property,” the owner of the home is assessed only on the home and any other 

improvements they may have on the site.  The person that owns the land is responsible for payment of the tax on the 

land only. 

When an owner or finance company properly surrenders the �tle to the manufactured home, the Motor Vehicle 

Division will no�fy the county assessor that the home is now permanently affixed to the real estate and the �tle has 

been surrendered.  At this point, the home will be assessed as any other real property being land and any and 

all improvements.

There are several forms available from the Tax Commission, Motor Vehicle Division pertaining to surrender of �tle: 

• Applica�on for Title Cancella�on of a Manufactured Home Permanently Affixed to Real Estate

• No�ce to County Assessor of Cancella�on of Oklahoma Cer�ficate of Title

• No�ce to Lien Holder of Applica�on to Cancel Oklahoma Cer�ficate of Title

• No�ce to Owner of the Existence of an Ac�ve Lien Upon Receipt of Applica�on to Cancel Oklahoma

Cer�ficate of Title
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When valuing manufactured homes that have had the �tles surrendered, the appraiser should be aware of market   

condi�ons and adjustments that may affect the value of the assets.  Conven�onal mass appraisal techniques may be 

used as with any other real property asset, using proper market data and adjustments for this type of asset. 

 

CANCELLATION OF TITLE USING THE MANUFACTURER’S STATEMENT OF ORIGIN (“MSO”) 

 

Using MV Form 756, Applica/on for Title Cancella/on 

 •  Must be completed by the record owner or agent 

 •  SubmiJed to assessor with a copy of the MSO 

 •  A copy of the Size and Weight Permit is recommended 

 •  The assessor may sign the form and return it to the owner or agent if all criteria are met.  The owner or agent 

     will then return the completed form to the Motor License Agent (MLA). 

 Note:  Un�l the assessor receives the completed FL 756 Form from the Tax Commission, the �tle is not           

 cancelled.  If the applicant does not complete the process within sixty (60) days of the County Assessor’s        

 confirma�on date, a new Form 756 must be completed and cer�fied. 

 

Using the MV Form FL 756, No/ce to Assessor of Title Cancella/on 

 •  Provided to the assessor by OTC or MLA only 

 •  Will be signed by OTC or MLA 

 •  This is the official no�fica�on of �tle cancella�on 

 •  Accept no other cancella�on documents from any other source 

 •  Any ques�ons, call OTC Motor Vehicle Division or MLA 

 

 OTC Rules Reference:  OAC 710:60-3-133 

 

If you have any ques�ons concerning the surrender of �tle procedure or reissuance of �tles, you may contact the     

Motor Vehicle Division, Title Sec�on, in Oklahoma City (405) 521-3221. 

 

REINSTATEMENT OF TITLE 

47 O.S. § 1110 outlines the specific procedure for issuing new �tles for homes which have had their �tles cancelled.  

Subsec�on (E) of Sec�on 1110 provides:  The owner of a manufactured home upon which the document of �tle has 

been properly surrendered, may apply to the Tax Commission for issuance of a new original cer�ficate of �tle upon the 

submission of:  (1) an aJesta�on from the homeowner indica�ng ownership of the manufactured home and nonexist-

ence of any security interest or lien of record in the manufactured home, and (2) a �tle opinion by a licensed aJorney, 

determining that the owner of the manufactured home has marketable �tle to the real property upon which the manu-

factured home is located and that not documents filed of record in the county clerk’s office concerning the real proper-

ty contain a mortgage, recorded financial statement, judgment, or lien of record.  Persons or en��es to whom the �tle 

opinion is addressed may rely on said �tle opinion. 
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SALES TAX FOR MODULAR HOMES 

 

The sales tax will be collected by the vendor based on the state and local rate at the point of delivery.  The customer 

will receive a sales tax receipt.  There is no excise tax on a modular home because they are not subject to �tle and reg-

istra�on as required under Title 47 of the Motor Vehicle Code. 

 

Modular homes will be classified as real property or improvements on leased land and subject to all Ad Valorem taxes.  

Modular homes are not Manufactured or Mobile Homes and are not subject to Manufactured Home requirements. 

 

Pursuant to Sec�on 1357(33) of Title 68, 45% of the total sale price will be exempt from sales tax. 

 

Example: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*All sales tax levies, state, city, and county, at point of delivery 

 

Modular homes are not subject to �tle and registra�on.  If sales tax (not excise tax) was paid and the homeowner has a 

receipt, the home will be classified as “modular” and not “manufactured”. 

 

Ref:  68 O.S. §1354.27 

OTC Rule:  OAC 710:65-18-1; 65-18-2; 65-18-3 
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GENERAL INFORMATION 

[OAC 710:60-3-130 through 710:60-3-132 

 

Manufactured homes are defined as structures, transportable in one or more sec�ons, which, in the traveling mode, 

are eight (8) feet or more in width or forty (40) feet or more in length, or, when erected on site, are more than 320 

square feet, and which are built on a permanent chassis and designed to be used as dwellings with, or without,         

permanent founda�ons when connected to the required u�li�es, and include the plumbing, hea�ng, air condi�oning, 

and electrical systems contained thereon. 47 O.S. § 8113 

 

Manufactured homes purchased new or brought in from another state are ini�ally �tled and registered at motor      

license agencies.  ThereaQer, they are placed on county ad valorem tax rolls and are issued registra�on renewal decals 

by the County Treasurer. 47 O.S. § 8113 

 

 •  Registra�on fees are collected for the balance of the year in which the manufactured home was purchased 

     new, or entered from another state.  Refer to Calendar Year Registra/on (non-staggered) in Chapter III of

     the Opera�ng Manual for Motor License Agency for informa�on on determining the applicable registra�on

     period. 47 O.S. § 8115 

 

PURCHASE PRICE/VALUE OF MANUFACTURED HOME 

 

Registra�on fees and excise tax are based upon the actual purchase price of the home or, if no sale has taken place, the 

current value of the home. 68 O.S. § 2104.3 and 47 O.S. § 1135 

 

 •  If a purchaser has no bill of sale, a copy of the dealer contract, cancelled check (VIN not required), or bank 

     draQ will be acceptable.  If none of those items are available, the purchaser may complete a Declara/on of 

     Vehicle Purchase Price form, or through Vehicle Pricing, you may obtain a value to be established. 

 The Declara�on of Vehicle Purchase Price may be u�lized for new or used manufactured homes. 

 

 •  When current value is obtained through Vehicle Pricing, print and aJach a copy of the message received 

     from Vehicle Pricing to the OTC copy of the �tle work. 

              •  Prices or values listed on a Manufactured Home Cer�ficate (OTC Form 936) do not reflect the actual cash 

      value and are not to be u�lized in determining taxable value. 

 

EXCISE TAX RATE 

Excise tax on new manufactured homes is three and one-quarter percent (3¼%) of one-half (1/2) of the actual pur-

chase price/value. 
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On a used manufactured home, the three and one-quarter percent (3¼%) excise tax rate is applied to sixty-five percent 

(65%) of one half (1/2) of the actual purchase price/value. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

VIN FORMATION BY OTC GUIDELINES 

When an MSO, out-of-state �tle, or Lien Entry Form contains dashes or slash marks, dashes and slash marks are        

ignored. 

 

DOUBLE WIDE MANUFACTURED HOMES 

When processing a �tle for a double wide manufactured home, two (2) Manufacturer’s Statements of Origin (MSO) will 

normally (not always) be submiJed.  One (1) MSO will list the serial number with an “A” (or some other leJer) and One 

(1) MSO will list the serial number with a “B” (or some other leJer different from the accompanying MSO).  The leJers 

normally appear at the end of the serial number, but may appear anywhere within the number. 

 

 •  When issuing the �tle, list the serial number (once) and place the “A” and “B” (or other such leJers) together 

     in the serial number at whatever point they appear within the serial numbers listed on the MSOs.  Such a 

     nota�on indicates the manufactured home is a double wide. 

 

 

                                                                                                         12 

MSOs 



MOVING A MANUFACTURED HOME [47 O.S. § 1117] 

When a home, previously �tled in Oklahoma, is to be moved, the owner must obtain a move permit from the            

Department of Public Safety (D.P.S.).  In most instances, proof of paid current year ad valorem taxes, or a current     

license plate and registra�on decal, must be presented. 

 

 •  A repossessor may obtain a D.P.S. move permit prior to obtaining a repossession �tle.  Refer to                  

       Manufactured Home Repossessions in Chapter V of the Opera�ng Manual for Motor License Agency for 

      addi�onal informa�on. 

 

 •  A licensed manufactured home dealer may obtain a D.P.S. move permit by presen�ng a trade-in affidavit 

     (Affidavit forms provided by D.P.S. Size & Weights Division).  Refer to Manufactured Home Dealers in this 

     Chapter for addi�onal informa�on. 

 

 •  Moving a manufactured home for commercial purposes.  A business en�ty may obtain a commercial waiver 

     and affidavit to move a home used for temporary housing of employees or contractors for January 2nd    

     through January 6th.  A county may issue no more than ten (10) waivers in any one year.  The procedure is 

     similar to the Repossession/Dealer Trade procedure. [See: 68 O.S. § 2813] 

 

 MANUFACTURED HOME REGISTRATION 

[47 O.S. § 1115] [OAC 710:60-3-12, 710:60-3-13, 710:60-3-130] 

Manufactured homes are registered on a calendar year basis (December expira�on).  The registra�on period (full year, 

3/4 year, 1/2 year, or 1/4 year) is based on the purchase date/entry date.  Refer to Calendar Year Registra/on in  

Chapter III of the Opera�ng Manual for Motor License Agency for informa�on on determining the applicable registra-

�on periods. 

 •  New manufactured homes purchased in the month of December and used manufactured homes entering 

     this state in the month of December, are to be charged a full year registra�on to expire at the end of the  

     following year. 

 

 •  Manufactured homes purchased new or entering Oklahoma prior to December of any year, but not �tled 

     un�l the following calendar year must provide proof of paid ad valorem tax for the calendar year in which 

     the �tle is being issued (current year) before any transac�on will be allowed.  In addi�on, registra�on fee 

     and penalty is to be collected by the �tling motor license agent for the year of purchase or entry. 

 

REGISTRATION PENALTY [47 O.S. § 1115] 

Should a new or used manufactured home not be registered within thirty (30) days from the date of purchase or the 

date of entry into this state, a registra�on penalty in the amount equal to the registra�on fee, less $11.00, is to be    

assessed.  

For used manufactured homes acquired by a dealer prior to January 1 of any year, but not registered as of February 1, 

penalty accrues at $1.00 per day for 100 days.                                                                                                       
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TRANSFER OF OWNERSHIP [47 O.S. § 1113 & 68 O.S. § 2713] [OAC 710:60-3-130] 

When ownership of a manufactured home previously �tled in Oklahoma is being transferred, proof of paid current  

calendar year ad valorem taxes, or a release indica�ng no current calendar year ad valorem taxes are due, must be 

submiJed before transferring �tle, unless the home is being sold on a �tle which is in the name of a licensed dealer 

(Refer to Used Manufactured Home Dealers sec�on), or an original Oklahoma �tle was issued earlier that same       

calendar year, and the system reflects current registra�on. 

 •  Proof of payment or release should be in the form of a Manufactured Home Cer/ficate (OTC Form 936).  Fax 

     copies or photocopies are acceptable. 

 

AFFIDAVIT FOR TRANSFER WHEN ASSIGNED TITLE IS LOST (OTC Form 777) 

This form is used to apply for an Oklahoma transfer �tle when the purchaser received and subsequently lost an       

assigned Oklahoma �tle. 

 1.  The completed Affidavit is to reflect the same informa�on as shown on the reverse side of the lost assigned 

       �tle. 

 2.  The applicant must provide one (1) of the following for each assignment reflected on the lost �tle: 

  •  Notarized bill of sale (the date of the sale is to be listed, in addi�on to the notary date);  

  •  Photocopies (front and back) of the canceled check submiJed in payment;  

  •  Sale contract or Buyer’s Order (original or cer/fied copy); or 

  •  Cer�fied copies of front and reverse side of the assigned �tle that was lost. 

 

REQUIRED 

Each of the above documents must 

contain the serial/VIN number and date of sale 

 

Mechanic & Storage Possessory Liens (Title 42) may not be u�lized if the Manufactured Home is purchased or given to 

the buyer.  This procedure is only to be u�lized if services have been performed or storage provided, while lawfully in 

possession of the Manufactured Home for which an individual of company has not been compensated. 

Title 42 procedures are not used if the land is purchased with the manufactured home located on the land. 

Note: If buyer did not receive a properly assigned Oklahoma �tle, the buyer must contact the Motor Vehicle Title       

Sec�on for instruc�ons.  Depending on the circumstances, the buyer may have to obtain a court order. 

 

ADDING OR DROPPING A NAME ON A MANUFACTURED HOME TITLE 

A paid current calendar year Form 936 (or ini�al registra�on, if �tled earlier in the calendar year), is required when 

adding or dropping a name from a manufactured home �tle, in the same manner as any other manufactured home 

change of ownership. 
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CALENDAR YEAR REGISTRATION (NON-STAGGERED) [47 O.S. § 1115] [OAC 710:60-3-13] 

 

Manufactured homes are registered on a calendar year basis (December expira�on). 

 

The following quarterly periods, in which a Manufactured Home is purchased or enters the state, determines the     

por�on of a full year registra�on fee due: 

 

 

 

NEW AND USED MANUFACTURED HOME DEALER LICENSE PLATES [47 O.S. § 1128 and 1137.1] 

 

Fee:  $21 Expira�on:  December 

 

1. New and used manufactured home dealer plates are issued by the Accoun�ng Sec�on of the Motor Vehicle        

Division. 

2. Before accep�ng an original or renewal applica�on for new and used manufactured home dealer plates, the       

applicant must be licensed and approved for each loca�on by the Used Motor Vehicle & Parts Commission. 

3. If addi�onal plates are required, an applica�on must be completed by the dealer and submiJed to the Accoun�ng 

Sec�on. 
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LICENSE PLATE/REGISTRATION DECAL ISSUANCE [47 O.S. § 1113(E)] [OAC 710:60-3-130] 

 

All manufactured homes are required to have a license plate and two (2) registra�on decals. 

 

 •  Two (2) iden�cal registra�on decals, displaying the same number, are to be issued.  One (1) is to be affixed to 

     the license plate and one (1) is to be affixed to the exterior of the window nearest the front door. 

 •  Homes previously registered and permanently affixed to real estate, no decal or license plate shall be affixed. 

 

 Replacement License Plate/Registra/on Decal 

Should a previously �tled home need a license plate only, and no change of ownership is taking place, a plate may be 

issued upon proof of paid current ad valorem tax or registra�on fees.  In this situa�on (only), current taxes may very 

well be the previous calendar year. 

 

 •  For example, if the home is on the ad valorem tax rolls, the tax is usually collected at the end of a calendar 

     year.  If no move or ownership change has taken place in the current calendar year, the previous year ad     

     valorem taxes for the previous year may well be the most recent taxes paid. 

 •  Upon proof of paid ad valorem taxes, a replacement plate is to be issued.  A registra�on decal is only issued 

     when the replacement plate applica�on is made within the calendar year of the current year’s expira�on. 

 •  Previous year decals are issued by the county treasurer. 

 

The fee for a replacement manufactured home license plate is $3.25, including the MLA fee. 

Should the taxpayer need a replacement only of the yearly valida�on decal issued by the county treasurer upon     pay-

ment of ad valorem taxes, they should be directed to obtain a replacement decal from the county treasurer. 

NOTE:  The county treasurer may issue a previous year decal upon payment of the second half of ad valorem tax.  

Current year decals are for the current year tax payment only. 

 

DUPLICATE CERTIFICATE OF TITLE 

 

Applica/on for replacement Cer/ficate of Title for Vehicle/Boat/Motor (OTC Form 701-7) must be completed for    

issuance of a duplicate Oklahoma �tle to the record owner. 

Applica�on may be made only by the record owner or by someone who has been given notarized power of aJorney 

(POA) regarding the manufactured home by the owner. 

 

 •  Only for use if record owner’s �tle has been lost, stolen or mu�lated. 

 •  Not for use by subsequent buyer when not given a properly notarized assigned Oklahoma Title. 
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Applica�on and the resul�ng duplicate �tle must reflect the same informa�on shown on the previous �tle, with the 

following excep�ons: 

 •  Address may be changed. 

 •  Lien may be released with proper documenta�on with the Applica�on. 

 

Since Applica�on for Duplicate Title is in the same name as the previous �tle, a current 936 is not required. 

Proof of paid current ad valorem tax or registra�on fee is not required for issuance of a duplicate manufactured home 

�tle. 

 

MANUFACTURED HOMES ASSESSED AS REAL PROPERTY [68 O.S. § 2105] [OAC 710:60-3-132] 

A manufactured home that is assessed as part of the real property on which it is located and sold with the property is 

exempt from the assessment of excise tax.  Documented proof that the manufactured home has been included in the 

property assessment is required before transferring. 

 •  The proof required is a deed lis�ng the manufactured home by VIN, year, make, and model.  A copy of the 

     deed is to be aJached to the �tle transac�on as suppor�ng documenta�on for the excise exemp�on.  An 

     OTC 936 form lis�ng the manufactured home as real property is not acceptable documenta�on to exempt 

     excise tax. 

 

 MANUFACTURED HOME DEALERS 

There is no licensing dis�nc�on between a new and used manufactured home dealer in Oklahoma.  Manufactured 

home dealer licenses are issued by the Oklahoma Used Motor Vehicle & Parts Commission and encompass sale of both 

new and used manufactured homes. 

 

TITLING AND REGISTRATION OF A USED MANUFACTURED HOME [68 O.S. § 2811] 

Any used manufactured home on a dealer lot as of January 1 of any year must be �tled (if not already) and registered 

in the dealer’s name for that year.  A full year registra�on fee, based upon the purchase price, is to be assessed and a 

current year registra�on decal issued.  That registra�on must be renewed the following year, if the home is s�ll in the 

dealer’s possession as of January 1. 

 •  If a dealer does not �tle such a home by February 1, registra�on penalty begins accruing at $1.00 per day, to 

     a maximum of $100.00 [OAC 710:60-3-36] 

 

Other than the above, manufactured home dealers are required to obtain �tle in their name when they have acquired 

homes on out of state �tles on which they are the last assignee. 

 •  When a dealer is obtaining an original Oklahoma �tle in their name on a home which has been brought in 

     from out-of-state, the remaining por�on of the current calendar year registra�on fees are due.                 

     [47 O.S. § 1113] 
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 •  When a dealer is obtaining �tle in their name due to being the last assignee on the Oklahoma �tle, proof of 

     current calendar year registra�on fees, paid current calendar year ad valorem taxes, or a release indica�ng 

     no current year ad valorem taxes are due, must be submiJed. 

 

MOVING A MANUFACTURED HOME [47 O.S. § 1117] 

Before a manufactured home dealer may move a home which has been previously �tled in Oklahoma, they must       

obtain a D.P.S. move permit.  The dealer will be responsible for paying any unpaid ad valorem taxes due on the home 

within thirty (30) days of the permit issuance date.  However, they are not required to �tle the home in the               

dealership’s name at that �me.  The �tle will remain in the name of the former owner, un�l sold, or un�l January 1 of 

the following year, at which point — if s�ll in the possession of the dealership — the dealer must obtain �tle. 

 

TITLING AND REGISTRATION OF A NEW MANUFACTURED HOME [47 O.S. § 1117; 68 O.S. § 2104.3] 

Licensed Oklahoma manufactured home dealers may reassign ownership on the MSO of new manufactured homes.  

However, should a manufactured home dealer choose to �tle a new manufactured home in the dealership’s name by 

surrendering an MSO, first year excise tax and registra�on fees, to expire in December of the current year, are due. 

 

ACTIVE DUTY MILITARY PERSONNEL 

[47 O.S. § 1127] [OAC 710:60-3-131, 710:60-3-132 & 710:60-3-167] 

 

As described below, certain manufactured homes owned by ac�ve duty military personnel are en�tled to the special 

$26.00 annual registra�on fee. 

 

The special military registra�on rate applies only to the following two (2) scenarios: 

 •  Out-of-state resident ac�ve duty military personnel sta�oned in Oklahoma: or 

 •  Oklahoma resident ac�ve duty military personnel, when the manufactured home is located out-of-state. 

 

A properly completed U.S. Armed Forces Affidavit (OTC Form 779) must be submiJed and send to OTC, aJached to 

the registra�on receipt. 

 

◊  Manufactured homes located in Oklahoma and owned by Oklahoma resident military personnel are not en�tled to 

the special military registra�on rate.  Such manufactured homes are subject to county ad valorem taxa�on. 
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CANCELLATION OF MANUFACTURED HOME TITLE 

[47 O.S. § 1110] 

Owners of manufactured homes that have been permanently affixed to real estate that they also own may make     

applica�on to cancel the Oklahoma cer�ficates of �tle.  Applica�on may be made to the OTC or any motor license 

agency.   However, the actual cancella�on is performed by the MVD.  A successful cancella�on will consist of the      

following: 

 •  Submission of the Oklahoma cer�ficate of �tle for the manufactured home, in the name of the applicant. 

 •  Verifica�on that no ac�ve lien appears on the record. 

 •  Comple�on of an Applica�on for Title Cancella/on of a Manufactured Home Permanently Affixed to Real 

     Estate (Form 756). 

  ◊  Before the �tle cancella�on documenta�on may be surrendered to a MLA, the applicant must take 

      this form to the applicable County Assessor’s office, for their lis�ng and cer�fica�on of the land       

      descrip�on and owner of record.  Faxed copies of this completed form are acceptable. 

  ◊  Cancella�on of the �tle must take place within sixty (60) days of the County Assessor’s confirma�on 

      date.  If more than sixty (60) days have elapsed, a new Form 756 must be completed and cer�fied. 

 •  Comple�on of a No/ce to County Assessor of Cancella/on of Oklahoma Cer/ficate of Title (Form F.L. 756) 

     and forwarding it, along with a copy of the Applica/on (Form 756), to the county assessor of the county in 

     which the property on which the manufactured home is permanently affixed is located.  The applica�on 

     must be completed in its en�rety. 

 •  RemiJance of an applica�on fee of $5.00, which is retained by OTC or the cancelling motor license agent, 

      provided the cancella�on of �tle is completed. 

AQer all of the referenced steps have been completed, the completed Applica/on, miscellaneous fee receipt recording 

the cancella�on fee and the �tle cer�ficate are to be forwarded to OTC, bundled separately within the semimonthly 

report and clearly labeled “Manufactured Home Title Cancella�on”.  Upon receipt, the documents will be forwarded 

to the Title Sec�on for review and cancella�on of the �tle. 

 

TITLE CANCELLATION FEE RECEIPT 

Many lenders require from their customers a receipt for the $5.00 manufactured home cancella�on fee before closing 

their loan transac�on.  Therefore, a miscellaneous fee receipt is to be issued to account for the cancella�on fee. 

 •  When adding a miscellaneous fee receipt, select “MH Cancel” and “Add Owner & Vehicle to Receipt”.  Enter 

     the Vehicle ID, year, make, model and owner name and address. 
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If necessary, due to the need for more �mely processing of the �tle cancella�on (i.e. loan closing), cancella�on paper-

work may be faxed.  But first, call and get a contact person to fax it to. 



ORIGINAL TITLE CANCELLATION 

 

Should an original �tle applicant wish to cancel the manufactured home �tle at �me of original �tle applica�on, that 

may be accomplished by following all ordinary �tling steps (entering �tle and registra�on transac�on informa�on and 

collec�ng all applicable taxes and fees) with the addi�on of one step:  The �tle is to be placed on “Mobile Home Can-

cella�on” (cancel) hold. 

 

AJach one (1) copy of the �tle receipt to the miscellaneous fee receipt recording the cancella�on fee and the            

Applica/on for Title Cancella/on of a Manufactured Home Permanently Affixed to Real Estate (Form 756) and submit 

to OTC, bundled separately within the semimonthly report and clearly labeled “Manufactured Home Title               

Cancella�on”.  Upon receipt, the documents will be forwarded to the Title Sec�on for �tle cancella�on. 

 

 •  The purpose of the “Mobile Home Cancella�on” hold is to prevent issuance of a �tle while the cancella�on 

     documenta�on is being forwarded to, and processed by, MV personnel. 

 •  A “Mobile Home Cancella�on” hold is the only hold that may be placed on the record.  It may not be u�lized 

     in conjunc�on with a document hold.  An MSO or out-of-state �tle must be submiJed. 

 •  All other cancella�on procedures remain in place. 

 •  All fees remain due, including the $5.00 cancella�on fee, �tle fee, excise tax, and registra�on fees.  

 

MANUFACTURED  HOME  TITLE  CANCELLATION USING AN OKLAHOMA TITLE OR MSO, OR PREVIOUS TITLE FROM 

ANOTHER STATE 
 

Owners of Manufactured Homes permanently affixed to real estate that they also own may cancel /tle by: 
 

 1.  Submission of the Oklahoma Cer�ficate of Title or the assigned MSO or a previously �tled manufactured 

        homes entering from another state for the manufactured home, in the name of the applicant. 

  •  If a record owner is unable to locate their Oklahoma �tle, they are not required to obtain a duplicate 

      �tle before cancelling.  The owner may contact the Oklahoma Tax Commission, Motor Vehicle Title      

      Sec�on for instruc�ons. 
 

 2.  Verifica�on that no ac�ve lien appears on the record. 

  •  Should a manufactured home �tle be presented for cancella�on which reflects a lien on its face, but 

      a proper lien release for that lien is also presented, the �tle may be cancelled. 
 

 3.  Comple�on en�rely of an Applica�on for Title Cancella�on of a Manufactured Home Permanently Affixed to 

       Real Estate (Form 756) 

  •  Before the Title/MSO may be cancelled, the applicant must take this form and the Title/MSO to the 

      applicable County Assessor’s office for cer�fica�on of the land descrip�on and owner of record.  A 

      faxed copy signed by the County Assessor is acceptable. 

                                 Note:  If the applicant does not complete the process within sixty (60) days of the County Assessor’s 

      confirma�on date, a new Form 756 must be completed and cer�fied. 
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 4.  Applicant/Owner then takes the completed Form 756 and Title/MSO to the Motor License Agent for       

         comple�on of the process.  If an MSO is presented, all appropriate taxes are collected in addi�on to the 

         $5.00 cancella�on fee. 

 5.  The Motor License Agent will complete a No/ce to County Assessor of Cancella/on of Oklahoma            

          Cer/ficate of Title  (Form F.L. 756), and forward it along with a copy of the Applica/on (Form 756) to 

          the county assessor. 

 6.     The Motor License Agent forwards the Title/MSO and Form 756 to OTC. 

 

CANCELLATION WHEN TITLE HAS BEEN LOST 

Should a record owner wish to cancel his or her manufactured home �tle, but has misplaced the �tle, they are not   

required to obtain a duplicate before canceling.  Simply print out of copy of the Vehicle Info screen and aJach to the 

Form 756 (Applica/on for Title Cancella/on), as well as a copy of the $5.00 miscellaneous fee receipt, and submit to 

OTC, bundled separately within the semimonthly report and clearly labeled “Manufactured Home Title Cancella�on”. 

 •  If the record has been purged, it will have to be researched and rebuilt in the normal manner before          

      cancella�on may take place. 

All other cancella�on procedures will apply. 

See:  OAC 710:60-3-133 

 

CANCELLATION IN CONJUNCTION WITH A LIEN RELEASE 

Should a manufactured home �tle be presented for cancella�on which reflects a lien on its face, but a proper lien    

release for that lien is also presented, the �tle may be cancelled in the normal manner. 

 •  Do not release the lien.  AJach the lien release to the �tle and Applica/on for Title Cancella/on (Form 756) 

     and submit to OTC, along with a copy of the $5.00 miscellaneous fee receipt, bundled separately within the 

     semimonthly report and clearly labeled “Manufactured Home Title Cancella�on”. 

 

UNSUCCESSFUL APPLICATION FOR CANCELLATION OF TITLE 

Oklahoma statutes require that no�ce be given to the owner and lienholder of a manufactured home on which an   

Applica/on for Cancella/on has been applied for, but must be denied due to the existence of an ac�ve lien. 

 •  Should you receive an Applica�on for a manufactured home on which an ac�ve lien is reflected, the          

     applica�on is to be denied.  The �tle and $5.00 fee are to be returned to the applicant. 

 •  A No/ce to Owner of the Existence of an Ac/ve Lien Upon Applica/on to Cancel Oklahoma Cer/ficate of 

     Title (Form F.L. 756-B), lis�ng the ac�ve lienholder, is to be completed and returned to the applicant. 

 •  A No/ce to Lienholder of Applica/on to Cancel Oklahoma Cer/ficate of Title is to be completed and        

     forwarded to the lienholder.  
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REINSTATEMENT OF CANCELLED MANUFACTURED HOME TITLE [47 O.S. § 1110] 

Applica�on for reissuance of an original Oklahoma �tle to a manufactured home on which the previous Oklahoma �tle 

was cancelled due to the home’s aJachment to real estate may be made by following the process outlined below.  

Bear in mind: 

 •  This reinstatement process is applicable only to manufactured home �tles cancelled due to a8achment to 

     real estate — not Oklahoma �tles cancelled due to the manufactured home being �tled in another state.   

     The Vehicle Info record of a manufactured home cancelled due to real estate aJachment will have a nota�on 

     “Title Cancelled — Manufactured Home/Real Estate”. 

If you are uncertain of a manufactured home’s eligibility for this reinstatement process, contact the MVD Title Sec�on 

for assistance and direc�on. 

 

APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT 

To apply for reinstatement, the owner is to complete a Manufactured Home Applica/on for Reinstatement of        

Cancelled Title (701-45).  As outlined on the form, the applicant is required to provide two (2) documentary items: 

 (1) an aJesta�on from the homeowner indica�ng ownership of the manufactured home and the nonexistence 

 of any security interest or lien of record for the manufactured home, and 

 (2) a �tle opinion by a licensed aJorney, determining that the owner of the manufactured home has            

 marketable �tle to the real property upon which the manufactured home is located and that no documents 

 filed of record in the county clerk’s office concerning the real property contain a mortgage, recorded financial 

 statement, judgment, or lien of record. 

The statement required under (1) above is included with the Applica/on for Reinstatement.  The aJorney’s �tle     

opinion is a separate document that must be provided by the applicant.  As outlined in the No/ce at the boJom of the          

Applica/on, an acceptable �tle opinion must: 

1) Contain all informa�on outlined under (2) above 

2) Be signed by the issuing aJorney, on his/her leJerhead 

3) Be dated, or updated, within thirty (30) days of the date applica�on for �tle reinstatement is submiJed to the MVD 

or to an MLA 

OTC APPROVAL/ISSUANCE OF TITLE 

Un�l further no�ce, all such applica�ons are to be submiJed (mailed or faxed) to the MV Title Consultants for review 

and approval. 

 •  If approved, a new original Oklahoma �tle is to be issued and registra�on fees collected for the balance of        

     the calendar year — in the same manner as registra�on fees are computed for a newly purchased            

    manufactured home.  Obtain current value through Vehicle Pricing. 

 •  A completed “Applica�on for Original Title” (OTC Form 701-6) is required. 

 •  No Form 936 is required.  No excise tax is to be collected. 

 

                                                                                                         22 



MANUFACTURED HOME REPOSSESSIONS 

[47 O.S. § 1110] [68 O.S. § 2813] 

Except as noted below, and except for VIN/odometer inspec�on requirements — which never apply to manufactured 

homes — repossession documenta�on and procedural requirements for manufactured homes are iden�cal to those 

outlined for vehicles.  Just as for vehicles, excise tax is never assessed the repossessor.  However, there are some     

significant differences in the areas of manufactured home registra�on fee assessment and county ad valorem tax     

verifica�on. 

MANUFACTURED HOMES PREVIOUSLY TITLED IN OKLAHOMA 

Moving the Manufactured Home 

When a manufactured home previously �tled in Oklahoma is being repossessed, the repossessor may ini�ally obtain a 

D.P.S. move permit without obtaining �tle in their name.  This is to enable the home to be moved immediately.      

However, in that situa�on, the repossessor must make applica�on for a repossession �tle within thirty (30) days of the 

permit issuance date. 

Ad Valorem Taxes 

Proof of paid current year ad valorem taxes or that no taxes were due, in the form of a copy of the original OTC Form 

936, must be presented, unless an original Oklahoma �tle was issued earlier that same calendar year and current    

registra�on is reflected. 

License Plate 

If needed, a manufactured home license plate may be issued for a fee of $3.25. 

MANUFACTURED HOMES NOT PREVIOUSLY TITLED IN OKLAHOMA 

When an original Oklahoma repossession �tle is being issued to a manufactured home, registra�on fee for the balance 

of the calendar year in which the home was purchased (if new) or entered Oklahoma (if previously registered in an-

other state), is to be collected, in addi�on to the $46.00 repossession fee. 

 •  The date of purchase listed on the contract is to be used to determine the proper quarter of year registra�on 

fee due (Full year, 3/4, 1/2, or 1/4). 

 •  If the home was originally purchased (new) or entered Oklahoma (used) during the current calendar year, 

registra�on fees for the applicable por�on of the current year are to be collected.  A license plate and current year  

registra�on decal are to be issued. 

 •  If the home was originally purchased (new) or entered Oklahoma (used) during a previous calendar year, reg-

istra�on fees for the applicable por�on of the year of purchase/entry are to be collected and a Form 936 reflec�ng 

paid ad valorem taxes for the current calendar year must be submiJed.  A license plate is to be issued with a previous 

year decal. 

 •  No excise tax is due. 
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No excise tax is due from the repossessor or any repossession �tle — original or transfer. 



 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

OKLAHOMA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 

CHAPTER 60: MOTOR VEHICLES 

710:60-3—REGISTRATION AND LICENSING 



PART 13.  MANUFACTURED HOMES 

 

710:60-3-130. Manufactured homes 

 

(a) Defini/on.  “Manufactured home” means a residen�al dwelling built in accordance with the provisions of             

42 U.S. C. § 5401. 

(b) Ini/al /tle and registra/on.  In most instances, manufactured homes purchased new or brought in from another 

state are ini�ally �tled and registered at motor license agencies.  ThereaQer, they are placed on county Ad Valorem 

tax rolls and will be issued registra�on renewal decals by the County Treasurer. 

(c) License plate and decal required.  A manufactured home license plate and registra�on decal are required on all 

manufactured homes registered in this State. 

(d) Fees may be prorated for remainder of current year.  For those manufactured homes purchased new or coming in 

from another state, license plates and corresponding registra�on decals shall be issued upon payment of the      

applicable registra�on fee for the balance of the year. 

(e) Issuance of license and decal for currently registered manufactured homes; proof of payment of ad valorem tax.  

For those manufactured homes already located and registered in this State on December 1, 1988, a license plate 

and registra�on decal shall be issued upon proof of current Ad Valorem taxes paid.  Proof of payment must be in 

the form of a Manufactured Home Tax Cer�fica�on Form or Manufactured Home Cer�ficate (OTC Form 936).  

When presented with proof of payment, a license plate and corresponding decal will be issued for a total fee as set 

forth by statute. 

(f) Basis used for registra/on fee and excise tax.  Both the registra�on fee and the excise tax assessment are based 

upon the selling price of the manufactured home.  The selling price will be recorded as both the Factory Delivered 

Price (FDP) and the Total Delivered Price (TDP) when issuing an original Oklahoma �tle. 

(g) Excise tax on manufactured homes.  The excise tax on new manufactured homes is levied on one-half(1/2) of the 

retail selling price.  The excise tax on a used manufactured home will be applied to sixty-five percent (65%) of one-

half the resale price.  The excise tax rate is levied by Oklahoma Statutes. 

(h) Sale of manufactured home; transfer of /tle; change of basis.  If the manufactured home is sold, the �tle must be 

transferred to the new owner, who will have the �tle issued in his/her name.  The FDP should be changed to reflect 

the purchase price.  However, the TDP listed on the �tle will not be changed. 

(i) Proof of payment of ad valorem tax required upon transfer.  Proof of current paid ad valorem taxes must be     

obtained before transferring ownership of a manufactured home. 

(j) Manner of proof.  Acceptable proof of paid ad valorem taxes will be a Form 936 Manufactured Home Cer�ficate or 

other receipt issued by a county treasurer which lists the manufactured home being transferred and clearly        

designates that taxes for the current calendar year have been paid in full. 

(k) When other basis used in determining tax.  Should the manufactured home be repossessed or brought in used 

from out-of-state, the “blue book” suggested selling price will be used as a base price for the registra�on and     

collec�on of excise tax. 

(l) Late registra/on; penal/es.  The penalty for late registra�on of manufactured homes, which are those not         

registered within the 30 day period from the date of purchase or the date the manufactured home was brought 

into this state, shall be an amount equal to the registra�on fee, less the administra�ve fee, as set forth by statute. 

 

[Source:  Added at 8 Ok Reg. 3305, eff 7-8-91 (emergency); Added at 9 Ok Reg. 2151, eff 6-12-92; Amended at 13 Ok Reg. 3113, eff 7-11-96; 

Amended at 18 Ok Reg. 878, eff 2-23-01 (emergency); Amended at 18 Ok Reg. 1340, eff 5-11-01] 
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710:60-3-131.  Manufactured homes generally subject to ad valorem assessment 

Since January 1, 1985, all exis�ng manufactured homes have been subject to assessment for real property or personal 

property ad valorem taxes by the county assessor except for: 

 (1) Nonresident serviceman’s manufactured home. 

 (2) Manufactured home brought into this State. 

 (3) New manufactured homes. 

 (4) Manufactured homes on a dealer’s lot. 

[Source:  Added at 8 Ok Reg. 3305, eff 7-8-01 (emergency); Added at 9 Ok Reg. 2151, eff 6-12-92] 

 

710:60-3-132.  Specific examples and applica/on 

 The following is applicable to manufactured homes by categories: 

 (1) Transfer of new manufactured home from a dealer to owner.  Owner applies for a cer�ficate of �tle, pays 

 Excise Tax and registra�on fee and receives license plate and registra�on decal. 

 (2) Transfer of a used manufactured home which has been registered in this state.  The new owner obtains a 

 Cer�ficate of Title upon payment of the excise tax and �tle fee and furnishing proof of current ad valorem     

 taxes paid. 

 (3) Manufactured homes brought into this State.  The owner obtains a Cer�ficate of Title upon registra�on 

 and pays the excise tax if due.  If the nonresident owner registered his home in his former state of residence at 

 least sixty (60) days before moving into this State, no Excise Tax is due. 

 (4) Manufactured home of serviceman.  If the owner of the home is an ac�ve duty, nonresident serviceman 

 sta�oned in Oklahoma, or an Oklahoma resident sta�oned out-of-state due to official assignment, the         

 manufactured home is to be registered annually, at the special, military personnel rate.  An Armed Forces    

 Affidavit must be submiJed. 

 (5) Manufactured homes on a used manufactured home dealer’s lot. Manufactured homes on used dealer 

 lots on January 1st will be exempt from Ad Valorem assessment but must be registered for the full year.  A �tle 

 must be issued in the dealer’s name.  If the manufactured home is not registered before February 1st, penalty 

 is charged according to 710:60-3-36. 

 (6) Repossessed manufactured homes.  The repossessor may �tle the manufactured home upon furnishing 

 proof of payment from the county treasurer of all current taxes on the manufactured home. 

 (7) Transfer of a manufactured home as real property.  A manufactured home which is assessed as part of the 

 property on which it is located and sold with the property is not subject to payment of excise tax by the        

 purchaser.  Proof that the manufactured home has been included in the property assessment is required      

 before transferring. 

 

[Source: Added at 8 Ok Reg. 3305, eff 7-8-91 (emergency); Added at 9 Ok Reg. 2151, eff 6-12-92; Amended at 13 Ok Reg. 3113, eff 7-11-96] 

 

710:60-3-133. Cancella/on of manufactured home /tle 

Owners of manufactured homes that have been permanently affixed to real estate may make applica�on to cancel the 

Oklahoma cer�ficate of �tle.  Only the owner of record on the Oklahoma �tle, out of state �tle, or assigned MSO, may 

make applica�on through the Tax Commission or any Motor License Agent. 
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 (1) Owners of new manufactured homes, or previously �tled manufactured homes entering from another 

 state, may make applica�on to cancel the Oklahoma manufactured home �tle before it is issued, by submiZng 

 the MSO or out-of-state �tle for cancella�on.  The Oklahoma �tle will be placed on “Mobile Home                 

 Cancella�on” (cancel) hold. 

 (2) Other than as described in (1) of this Sec�on, an Oklahoma cer�ficate of �tle for thee manufactured home 

 in the name of the applicant must be submiJed.  If a record owner seeks to cancel a manufactured home      

 cer�ficate of �tle, but is unable to produce the �tle cer�ficate, a printout generated from the Commission  

 computer file, verifying record of ownership, will suffice in lieu of a �tle.  The printout is to be aJached to the 

 Applica�on for Title Cancella�on. 

 (3) Proof of ownership must be submiJed to the county assessor’s office where the home is located, along with 

 a completed Applica�on for Title Cancella�on.  The county assessor’s office will ensure the �tle owner and 

 landowner are one and the same, and validate the cancella�on applica�on. 

 (4) An applica�on fee set forth by statute must be remiJed with the cancella�on applica�on. 

 (5) The Tax Commission or Motor License Agent must verify that not ac�ve lien appears on the record.  If an 

 ac�ve lien is reflected, a Cancella�on Denial No�ce will be given to the owner and the lienholder.  The owner 

 will be given a “No�ce to Owner of the Existence of an Ac�ve Lien upon Applica�on to Cancel Oklahoma      

 Cer�ficate of Title: and the applica�on fee will be returned.  The lienholder will be given a “No�ce to                

 Lienholder of Applica�on to Cancel Oklahoma Cer�ficate of Title”.  The Oklahoma �tle will not be cancelled 

 un�l all liens are released. 

 (6) A copy of the “Applica�on for Cancella�on Form” and the “No�ce to County Assessor Form” will be         

 forwarded to the of the county in which the property is located by the Motor License Agent aQer receiving the 

 completed cancella�on applica�on documenta�on, approved by the county assessor’s office, and payment of 

 the applicable cancella�on fee. 

[Source:  Added at 20 Ok Reg. 2173, eff 6-26-03; Amended at 22 Ok Reg. 1554, eff 6-11-05] 

 

710:60-3-134. Reinstatement of cancelled manufactured home /tle 

Owner of a manufactured home upon which the cer�ficate of �tle has previously been cancelled due to aJachment to 

real estate may apply to the Oklahoma Tax Commission or a motor license agent for a reinstatement and issuance of a 

new original cer�ficate of �tle. 

 (1) The reinstatement applica�on is to be completed by the owner of record.  There are two (2) documentary 

 requirements on the applica�on for reinstatement. 

  (A) The homeowner must aJest ownership of the manufactured home and the nonexistence of any 

  security interest or lien of record in the manufactured home; and 

  (B) The homeowner shall provide a �tle opinion by a licensed aJorney, declaring that the owner of the 

  manufactured home has a marketable �tle to the real property upon which the manufactured home is 

  located  and that no documents filed of record in the county clerk’s office concerning the real property 

  contain a mortgage, recorded financial statement, judgment, or lien of record. The opinion must be 

  signed by the issuing aJorney, on his/her leJerhead, and be executed, or updated, within thirty (30) 

  days of applica�on date. 

 (2) A properly completed applica�on for reinstatement may be submiJed to the Oklahoma Tax Commission or 

 a motor license agent.  Reinstatement applica�ons submiJed to a motor license agent shall be forwarded to 

 the Oklahoma Tax Commission for approval. 

 (3) Upon approval by the Tax Commission, a new original cer�ficate of �tle shall be issued and registra�on fees 

 collected for the balance of the calendar year. 

 (4) Reinstatement of a manufactured home cer�ficate of �tle does not absolve the owner of any Ad Valorem 

 tax obliga�on to county where the manufactured home was or is located. 

[Source:  Added at 19 Ok Reg. 2063, eff 7-1-08; Amended at 27 Ok Reg. 2293, eff 7-11-2010] 
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Manufactured Homes 

Frequently Asked Ques/ons 

TRIBAL REGISTRATION: 

Ques/on:  If a MH is located on Indian Trust Land and is owned by someone other than the land owner, is the MH ex-

empt from ad valorem tax? 

Answer:  Only if the owner of the manufactured home is a tribal member in good standing of the same tribe that the 

land is held in trust for.  The owner of the manufactured home does not have to be the same person who owns the 

land.  If the owner of the manufactured home is a member of a different tribe, the manufactured home is taxable. 

Ques/on:  If a manufactured home is registered and has a tribal �tle and tag, but is not located on Indian trust land, is 

the home taxable ad valorem? 

Answer:  Yes.  The home should have an Oklahoma tag and �tle.  Beginning the following January 1st assessment date 

aQer ini�al tribal registra�on, the home will be taxed ad valorem as homes with non-tribal registra�on.  A 936 is not 

needed to get an Oklahoma �tle.  If any previous or current year taxes are due, it will be assessed on the current year 

tax roll or if the home is sold or moved, in the future.  The owner is to provide a completed Manufactured Home      

Applica�on for Reinstatement of Cancelled Title (OTC Form 701-45). 

Ques/on:  What does the assessor do if the home has a tribal tag and is not located on restricted land?  Is it taxable?  

Does the tribal tag make any difference? 

Answer:  If not located on restricted land, the home is taxable. 

Ques/on:  Can the assessor issue a Form 936 if the home has a tribal tag? 

Answer:  Yes, if the home is taxable, regardless of how it is tagged. 

Ques/on:  If a manufactured home is owned by a non-tribal member, is located on restricted Indian land, has an Okla-

homa �tle, is it subject to ad valorem tax?  What if owned by a tribal member? 

Answer:  Yes.  If a home is located on restricted land and owned by a tribal member it is not subject to ad valorem tax. 

SURRENDER OF TITLE: 

Ques/on:  How is a manufactured home �tle canceled or surrendered? 

Answer:  The owner of the manufactured home must begin the process by contac�ng a Motor License Agent.  The 

agent will process the applica�on and will advise the assessor when the �tle has been canceled (OTC Form FL-756). 

Ques/on:  Is the OTC Motor Vehicle Division Form FL-756 the only recognized form for no�ce of �tle cancella�on or 

surrender?  Some finance companies have their own forms. 

Answer:  Yes.  There are no other forms or no�ces that are recognized by the state.  Forms from lenders or any other 

en��es are not recognized.  Do not indicate “cancelled” based on any form other than the OTC Form FL-756. 

Ques/on:  When comple�ng the Applica�on Form 756, does the taxpayer have to come into the assessor’s office to 

verify ownership, or can the mortgage or closing company mail or fax the assessor the form for verifica�on? 

Answer:  Yes.  You may use the mail or fax the Applica�on Form 756. 

Ques/on:  If a manufactured home owner has surrendered (cancelled) the �tle and at a future date wants to move the 

home, what is the procedure? 

Answer:  The record owner of the manufactured home must apply to the Tax Commission for issuance of a new        

cer�ficate of �tle.  The homeowner must provide documents that the land owner is the owner of the manufactured 

home and that there are no security interests or liens.  In addi�on,  the owner must provide a �tle opinion by a         

licensed aJorney determining that the owner of the manufactured home has marketable �tle to the real property   

upon which the manufactured home is located. [See:  47 O.S. § 1110] 
 

Upon issuance of the new cer�ficate of �tle, the same moving requirements will apply as for other �tled manufactured 

homes. 
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Ques/on:  If the �tle has been improperly surrendered “cancelled” on a manufactured home that is not located on 

land owned by the owner of the manufactured home, what should the assessor do? 

Answer:  This should no longer be an issue.  With the new procedures using OTC Applica�on Form 756, the county   

assessor must verify the status and ownership of the home prior to cancella�on.  The applicant must go to the county 

assessor first to implement the process. 

Ques/on:  What does “permanently affixed” mean? 

Answer:  Currently Oklahoma Statutes do not provide a defini�on.  When used in the context of �tle surrender or    

cancella�on, the owner cer�fies that the manufactured home is “permanently affixed” to the real estate.  Homes that 

have not had their �tles cancelled should be carried as manufactured homes on the assessment roll. 

Ques/on:  Can the “new original” �tle on cancelled �tles be required to have a 936 like the ones for the MSO to the 

original �tle? 

Answer:  There is not a 936 requirement when making applica�on to cancel the �tle.  The statutorily required �tle 

opinion will address any outstanding taxes against the property.  If the home is to be moved, the same requirements 

apply as any other used home.  The 936 would then be required.  The home does not revert to a manufactured home 

un�l a new �tle is issued. 

Ques/on:  What is the procedure for “reinstatement” of �tles that have been previously cancelled?  How will the     

assessor be no�fied:  Is there anything that the assessor needs to do?  Are there OTC Rules? 

Answer:  Refer to the Quick Reference Guide sec�on. 

Ques/on:  What is the procedure for obtaining a �tle for a home that has been placed on real estate and there is no 

MSO or VIN number available? 

Answer:  Contact the OTC Motor Vehicle Title Sec�on at (405) 521-3221.  A Court Order may be required direc�ng the 

OTC to issue a �tle. 

Ques/on:  When a home that has had the �tle surrendered or cancelled and at a later date makes applica�on for a 

new �tle, is there an excise tax paid at the �me the new �tle is issued?  If so, does the payment of the excise tax       

exempt the ad valorem tax for that year? 

Answer:  There is no excise tax charged when issuing a new �tle.  Only the tag and registra�on fee is charged.  Ad    Val-

orem Tax is s�ll due on the home. 

Ques/on:  Can the assessor’s office get a print-out or list from the Motor Vehicle Division of manufactured homes lo-

cated within their county that have had the �tles cancelled? 

Answer:  Yes.  A semi-annual printout  from OTC lists all manufactured home ac�vity.  A county may also request the 

printout any�me from the Motor Vehicle Division.  (See:  47 O.S. § 1119) 

 

MANUFACTURED HOME CERTIFICATE FORM 936 

Ques/on:  Do you have to have a current year Form 936 when changing �tle on a home if the VIN and descrip�on is on 

the warranty deed? 

Answer:  Yes.  There must be a current year Form 936 any�me the �tle is changed.  The fact that the VIN appears on 

the warranty deed exempts the buyer from excise on the home, but does not relieve the form 936 requirement for any 

future �tle work. 

Ques/on:  If the court issues an order for change of �tle, is a 936 required? 

Answer:  Yes.  Unless the court provides instruc�ons pertaining to delinquent taxes.  A copy of the order must be     

provided to the assessor prior to issuing a current year 936 prior to any �tle work. 

 

                                                                                                         28 



Ques/on:  If the owner of a manufactured home does not have an Oklahoma �tle and wants to assess or move the 

home, do they need to get an Oklahoma �tle? 

Answer:  Yes.  If there are ad valorem taxes due on the manufactured home, complete as much informa�on as possible 

on the OTC Form 936.  In form the county treasurer to accept payment of all taxes and hold the decal (Do not put the 

decal number on the 936).  The owner of the home will present the copy of Form 936 to the motor license agent with 

the receipt from the county treasurer for all ad valorem taxes.  AQer the �tle has been issued, the owner will return to 

the assessor and treasurer where the Form 936 will be completed and decal issued. 
 

Ques/on:  What if the Form 936 applicant does not know all the informa�on requested on the 936? 

Answer:  The Form 936 is a tracking device and receipt of taxes paid.  It is extremely important that all informa�on is 

properly completed.  Insist that all informa�on be properly completed.  A short delay may save many hours of          

frustra�on later by the homeowner and receiving coun�es. 
 

Ques/on:  How do you get a Form 936 for an out-of-state �tle? 

Answer:  If the home is located in Oklahoma and has taxable situs, the owner must have an Oklahoma �tle.  Refer to 

the motor license agent for an Oklahoma �tle. 
 

Ques/on:  When geZng a Form 936, must the owner have a �tle, hard tag, and decal? 

Answer:  The applicant must have an Oklahoma �tle.  The hard tag may be obtained from the motor license agent 

when a current year decal is presented. 
 

Ques/on:  Do homes coming in to Oklahoma from out of state need a Form 936? 

Answer:  No.  Un�l the home has taxable situs in Oklahoma, no Form 936 is required. 
 

Ques/on:  Does “Current Year Decal” mean the current calendar year, or the year that the tax was paid? 

Answer:  “Current Year Decal” must be the current calendar year.  Example:  If the Form 936 is issued in 2014, the decal 

must be a 2014 decal. 
 

Ques/on:  Do you have to get a new Form 936 every �me a manufactured home moves or �tle work is done? 

Answer:  A current calendar year Form 936 should be obtained each �me the home is moved if not on a dealer’s lot 

January 1 and �tled and registered in the dealer’s name.  The Form 936 is used as a tracking device as well as a receipt 

of taxes paid.  If the home is not on the dealer’s lot January 1, a current year Form 936 is required.  D.P.S. will issue a 

size and weight permit for homes having a current year decal.  A home may be moved unlimited �mes in the same   

calendar year with a current year decal. 
 

Ques/on:  May a single Form 936 be used for mul�ple homes? 

Answer:  No.  One Form 936 must be used for each home.  The exact amount of tax for the subject home must be    

indicated by the county treasurer on the form. 
 

Ques/on:  Can you move a home as many �mes as needed on one (1) current year 936? 

Answer:  If there is a current year 936, the home can be moved mul�ple �mes within the same year on the original 936.  

However, we do recommend that a 936 is issued each �me the home is moved for tracking purposes.  If only moving, 

mark the 936 “No Taxes Due”. 
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Ques/on:  What are the excep�ons that a Form 936 is not required for a move or change in �tle? 

Answer:  When Moving: 

 •  Trade in to a dealer 

 •  Repossession (30 day grace period) 

 •  New home moving to buyer or another dealer 

 •  Home moving from out of state to Oklahoma 

 •  Cancelled �tle 

 •  Current registra�on (First year in Oklahoma, Title in the name of an Oklahoma manufactured home dealer

     or non-resident military) 

   Title Changes: 

 •  MH �tle in the name of a MH dealer with proof of current year registra�on 

 •  MH �tled by non-resident military personnel (Armed Forces Affidavit) with proof of current year registra�on 

 •  MH �tled and registered in Oklahoma for the first �me with current year registra�on (not the $3.25               

     replacement tag fee) 

 •  Duplicate Title (issued only to the last owner of record according to OTC files) 

 

REPOSSESSIONS AND DEALER TRADES  

Ques/on:  When legally repossessing a manufactured home, does a Form 936 have to be issued at �me of                 

repossession? 

Answer:  No.  The repossessing agent has thirty (30) days in which to complete all paperwork and pay all outstanding 

taxes.  The �tle work will not be completed without a current Form 936.  They may move the home to a secure loca�on 

with a Repossession Affidavit available from any motor license agent (OTC Form 737).  If not moving, no repossession 

affidavit is required. 

Ques/on:  Do repossessing agents or lenders have the same benefits as licensed dealers? 

Answer:  No.  Agents and lenders are treated as individuals unless they are licensed Oklahoma dealers. 

Ques/on:  Are lenders authorized to use Repossession Affidavits? 

Answer:  Yes.  However, lenders are not authorized to use Dealer Trade Affidavits. 

Ques/on:  Are repossessed homes held for consignment or resale required to have a current year Form 936? 

Answer:  Yes.  A current year Form 936 is required before any �tle transfer can be completed. 

Ques/on:  Who can use a Dealer Trade Affidavit? 

Answer:  Oklahoma licensed dealers only.  (Not out-of-state dealers) 

Ques/ons:  Are repossessed homes held for consignment or resale required to have a current year 936?  Do they need 

a current �tle also? 

Answer:  Yes.  If the home has been held for resale or consignment, the home must have a 936 issued at the �me of 

moving or thirty (30) days aQer in order to obtain a “Repo Title”.  See pages (3) of the Quick Reference Guide. 

Ques/on:  Trade-in and Repossession Affidavits are causing the assessors problems because the repo agent or dealer is 

not coming in to pay the tax in the 30-day period un�l the home is sold or moved off the lot.  What should the assessor 

do? 

Answer:  The statutes required the OTC Form 936 be obtained within 30 days of the event.  The statutes do not address 

a penalty for non-compliance.  The assessor may contact the dealer or agent reminding them of the requirements at 

any �me. 
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COLLECTION OF TAX: 

Ques/on:  If a dealer sells a home with a current Form 936 and the buyer does not change the �tle to their name and 

delinquent taxes accrue, who is responsible? 

Answer:  A tax lien would be placed against the home by the county treasurer.  The county could execute the lien on 

the home and impound the home for back taxes.  If the home was removed from the county prior to impound, the 

dealer would be held responsible if unable to document the home was sold on a specific date.  The burden of proof is 

on the dealer.  If the home was lawfully repossessed by the dealer or a third party lender, the lender would be          

responsible for the taxes. 

Ques/on:  If a manufactured home has delinquent tax, is there any way that the county assessor can make sure the tax 

is paid prior to any �tle work? 

Answer:  Yes.  The county assessor may contact the Motor Vehicle Division and request a “flag” on the VIN for           

delinquent taxes.  This will no�fy all tag agents that there are delinquent taxes that must be paid prior to any �tle 

work. 

Ques/on:  Can tax be paid in another county when reques�ng a Form 936? 

Answer:  Yes.  The home county assessor and treasurer completes an original Form 936 based on the informa�on from 

the collec�ng county’s treasurer.  The original Form 936 is then faxed to the collec�ng county treasurer.  AQer          

payment, the applicant is issued a trust deposit receipt, current year decal, and a copy of the completed Form 936. 

[See:  68 O.S. § 2813-C] For specific procedures refer to the Manufactured Home Quick Reference Guide or OTC     

Website: (www.tax.ok.gov) 

Ques/on:  When paying tax upon applica�on for Form 936, is the current year es�mated tax, or is it only the             

delinquent tax? 

Answer:  All taxes are due when reques�ng a Form 936.  This includes any and all delinquent taxes and the full amount 

of tax for the current year.  The Form 936 cer�fies that all taxes, including penal�es and interest, have been paid. 

Ques/on:  When excise tax is paid on a new home, is ad valorem tax also due for the same year? 

Answer:  No.  When excise tax is paid on a new home, ad valorem tax is not assessed un�l the next January 1.  Excise 

and ad valorem tax are not paid in the same year. 

Ques/on:  When excise tax is paid on a used home, is ad valorem tax also due for the same year? 

Answer:  Yes, unless the manufactured home is referenced on the deed by VIN number.  If the VIN appears on the deed 

as part of the described property, there is no excise tax due. 

Ques/on:  When collec�ng tax, is the amount based on only the tax due for the subject home reques�ng the Form 

936, or may it include delinquent tax for other personal property owned by the current owner of the home? 

Answer:  The amount of tax due is only for the subject home reques�ng the Form 936.  Other delinquent personal 

property accounts that the owner of the subject home may have are independent from the Form 936 transac�on. 

Ques/on:  If a taxpayer has paid both excise and ad valorem tax on a home, is there any provision for a refund on one 

of the two? 

Answer:  Excise tax is not in-lieu of ad valorem tax.  An ad valorem tax refund would be proper depending on the       

situa�on. 

MODULAR HOMES: 

Ques/on:  Are modular homes subject to Ad Valorem Tax? 

Answer:  Yes.  Modular homes are treated exactly like any other site built structure.  The main difference between a 

modular and a manufactured home is they are not subject to �tle and registra�on.  Ad Valorem tax for the home is  

assessed the first January 1 date aQer the sale, occupancy, or ren�ng of the structure. 
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Ques/on:  How can you determine if a home is a manufactured or a modular home? 

Answer:  It is some�mes very difficult to tell.  Some manufactures have special data plates for modular.  Some have 

different color data plates.  Most of the �me, you will need to see a copy of the original Manufacture’s Statement of 

Origin (MSO), �tle or closing statements.  If there is any doubt, the burden of proof is on the owner to show it is not a 

manufactured home.  Ask for a sales tax receipt, or contact the manufacturer. 

Ques/on:  Do modular homes pay sales tax instead of excise tax? 

Answer:  Yes.  Since modular homes are not subject to �tle and registra�on as manufactured homes, they must pay a 

sales tax based on the purchase price and tax rate at point of sale. 

Note:  The State and Local 45% of the purchase price is exempt from sales tax. (Ref. 68 O.S. § 1357(22)) 

For addi�onal informa�on and clarifica�on, please refer to specific references in the latest edi�on of the Manufactured 

Homes Quick Reference Guide. 

Ques/on:  How can the assessor determine if a home is a manufactured, subject to �tle and registra�on; or if it is a 

modular, that is not? 

Answer:  Some home manufacturers will have different colored data plates to dis�nguish.  Some manufacturers will 

iden�fy by placing an “M” in the VIN or control number found on the data plate.  Usually, there is no, or liJle, apparent     

difference, especially if it is siZng on a full founda�on.  Ask the owner, or agent, for the MSO, or proof of sales tax   

payment, which is required for all modular homes.  In some cases, it may be necessary to contact the manufacturer to 

decode the VIN number. 

GENERAL AND MISCELLANEOUS 

Ques/on:  Is there any case where a motor home or travel trailer would be subject to ad valorem tax? 

Answer:  No.  A motor home or travel trailer will always be subject to �tle and registra�on.  The record �tle owner does 

not have a choice. 

Ques/on:  When transferring land and home on a warranty deed, do you s�ll have to pay the excise tax on the home 

and the ad valorem tax? 

Answer:  No.  If the home is listed on the deed by VIN, then no excise tax will be charged. 

Ques/on:  How does the assessor remove a “salvage” MH off the assessment rolls when there is no “Salvage �tle” 

available?  This would be when the home is removed for salvage or scrap metal. 

Answer:  The �tle should be signed over to a salvage dealer, providing there is a �tle, and a 936 should be issued to 

move the home.  If the �tle has been cancelled, it is no longer a manufactured home and manufactured home rules do 

not apply. 

Ques/on:  Is there anything that the assessor needs to do in the case of Title 42 transac�ons?  Does the assessor      

receive any paperwork that indicates an ownership change if the home is not moving? 

Answer:  A current Form 936 is required before a �tle can be issued.  The Title 42 instruc�ons issued by OTC will list this 

as one of the requirements.  Ref:  OTC Motor Vehicle website. 

Ques/on:  Is the maximum �me that the assessor can “go back” on a manufactured home for not rendering the home 

s�ll 15 years on real, and 3 years on personal?  How does the 7-year statute of limita�ons affect the 15 years on real 

property? 

Answer:  Yes, however the delinquent tax is uncollec�ble aQer seven (7) years due to the statute of limita�ons. 

Ques/on:  The assessor’s office, from �me-to-�me, has taxpayers that have manufactured homes that have no �tle.  

Some of these homes were never sold with �tles.  What should the county assessor tell the taxpayer to do? 

Answer:  Contact the OTC Motor Vehicle Division, Vehicle Title Sec�on at (405) 521-3221 to research the VIN and ob-

tain the procedures.  A court order may be required. 
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TRAILERS & MISCELLANEOUS VEHICLES 
 

COMMERCIAL/NON-COMMERCIAL AND FARM TRAILER TAGS 

All tagged motor vehicles are in-lieu of Ad Valorem Tax. 

Commercial Trailers are subject to “commercial trailer” tags.  Commercial Trailers must be pulled by a “commercial 

vehicle” with proper GVW (gross vehicle weight) registra�on.  Trailer is not subject to Ad Valorem Tax if tagged. 

Farm trailer tags are op�onal, but not in-lieu of Ad Valorem Tax.  All farm trailers are subject to Ad Valorem Tax unless 

tagged as a “commercial trailer”. 

Non-commercial trailers are not subject to tag and should be taxed Ad Valorem.  This would include farm, boat, lawn 

maintenance, u�lity, race-car, and other such trailers pulled by “non-commercial” vehicles, i.e.: personal vehicle or 

farm trucks. 

 Any trailer which is used in a commercial business or enterprise is required to be licensed with a commercial    

 trailer tag.  Addi�onally, the pulling unit of any commercial trailer should be licensed as a commercial truck or 

 truck-tractor. 

 Occasional use of a trailer for a hobby, such as racing cars, or horse trailers, where the pulling unit is licensed as 

 a non-commercial vehicle, will not be subject to license. 

 47 O.S. § 1102 Defini�ons: 

  Commercial Trailer (See 47, Sec. 1133) 

  Commercial Vehicle (See 47, Sec. 1133, 1133.1) 

  Farm Vehicle (See 47, Sec. 1134) 

  Farm Trailer (See 47, Sec. 1134C) 

  Manufactured Home (See 47, Sec. 1117) 

  Special Mobilized Machinery (See 47, Sec. 1129) 

  Travel Trailer 

 Motor Vehicle Rules: 

  710:60-3-111, Farm Trailers 

  710:60-3-94, Commercial Trailers 

  Motor Vehicle Division LeJer to Motor License Agents January 24, 1994 
 

COMMERCIAL TRAILERS 

[47 O.S. § 1133] [OAC 710:60-3-94] 
 

Commercial trailers are trailers used in a commercial enterprise.  Commercial trailers must be pulled by a commercially 

registered truck. 

Commercial trailers are to be issued non-expiring commercial trailer license plates, regardless of their size or weight, 

with the following excep�ons:   

 •  Trailer Mounted Special Mobilized Machinery receives expiring commercial trailer plates. 

 •  Trailers used primarily for the purpose of transpor�ng unfinished and unprocessed forest products may be     

     subject to Forest Trailer registra�ons. 
 

The non-expiring commercial trailer plate is ini�ally issued at a fee of $51.00.  ThereaQer, a fee of $4.00 is to be paid 

annual for each trailer or semitrailer. 
 

 •  The fee of $4.00 shall be due and payable on January 1 of each year. 

 •  Upon each transfer of ownership, a new plate and registra�on will be issued at a fee of $51.00, regardless of 

     the �me of year transferred. 
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Replacements for lost, stolen or mu�lated commercial trailer license plates are issued in the same manner and for the 

same amount ($9.00) as other type replacement plates. 

 •  Non-expiring commercial trailer plates are not limited only to cargo carrying trailers.  Concession trailers, and 

     many mobile office trailers, are to be issued non-expiring commercial plates. 

 

FARM TRAILERS 

[47 O.S. § 1134(C)] [OAC710:60-3-111] 

Farm trailers are trailers or semitrailers owned by a farmer and used primarily for the purpose of transpor�ng farm 

products to the market or for the purpose of transpor�ng to the farm material or items to be used on the farm. 

Farm trailers are not required to be registered in this state. 

Should a farm trailer owner wish to register the trailer, an op�onal farm trailer plate is available for a fee of $12.00. 

 •  These plates are for registra�on purposes only.  A �tle is not to be issued. 

 •  If a serial number is stamped on the trailer, it should be used for the VIN on the registra�on.  Otherwise, the 

     Drivers License number of the owner should be used. 

 •  A farm trailer license plate is to be issued, with monthly and yearly decals expiring one (1) year from the date 

     of registra�on. 

Since farm trailer registra�on is op�onal, delinquent registra�on fees or penal�es are never charged. 

 TRAVEL TRAILERS OR MANUFACTURED HOMES SOLD BY FEMA 

U.S. Government Standard Form 97 is used by the United States Government to transfer ownership of a travel trailer or 

manufactured home from the government to an individual or firm. 

 •  Transfers of ownership with properly completed Form 97 do not required OTC approval. 

 •  Issue an original Oklahoma �tle, even if the travel trailer or manufactured home has been �tled in Oklahoma. 

 •  Issue the original Oklahoma �tle in the same manner as if from an out-of-state �tle.  (Completed Applica�on 

     for Oklahoma �tle, serial inspec�on on travel trailer, etc.) 

 MANUFACTURED HOMES 

 •  Excise tax for manufactured homes is based on actual purchase price (bill of sale, copy of dealer contract or 

     cancelled check), if none of those items are available, the purchaser may complete a Declara�on of Vehicle 

     Purchase Price (Form 722-1).  If no sale has taken place (family transfer or giQ), obtain current value through 

     Vehicle Pricing for a value of the manufactured home. 

 •  Manufactured homes are registered on a calendar year basis (December expira�on), aQer that taxes are    

      collected by the county assessor. 

 TRAVEL TRAILERS 

 •  Excise tax for travel trailers, price acceptability must be verified through Vehicle Pricing process. 

 •  Travel trailers are issued a standard non-commercial plate and updated yearly through the local tag office or 

     the Oklahoma Tax Commission. 

 •  Brands on travel trailers will apply. 
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Note:  If the pulling unit is registered as a farm truck, the trailer must be either unregistered, or registered with the 

op�onal farm trailer plate.  A farm truck may not pull a commercially registered trailer. 
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