
NON-PRECEDENTIAL DECISION  OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION 
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ORDER 

 
 The above matter comes on for entry of a final order of disposition by the Oklahoma Tax 
Commission. Having reviewed the files and records herein, including the Findings of Fact, 
Conclusions of Law and Recommendations made and entered by the Administrative Law Judge 
on the 15th day of December, 2010, the Commission makes the following Findings of Fact and 
Conclusions of Law and enters the following order. 

 
STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

 
 On or about February 11, 2010, Claimant, a 100% disabled veteran filed a claim for refund 
of sales tax paid on a vehicle lease.  The Account Maintenance Division by letter dated 
September 1, 2010, notified Claimant that a portion of the refund had been denied.  Claimant timely 
protested the partial denial of the refund by letter dated September 17, 2010. 
 
 On September 21, 2010, the Division referred the protest to the Office of the Administrative 
Law Judges for the institution of proceedings consistent with the Uniform Tax Procedure Code1 and 
the Rules of Practice and Procedure before the Office of Administrative Law Judges2.  The protest 
was docketed as Case No. CR-10-012-K and assigned to ALJ, Administrative Law Judge.3

 
 A hearing was scheduled for November 15, 2010, by Notice of Hearing issued 
September 23, 2010.4  The Division’s Memorandum Brief was filed November 8, 2010.  The 
hearing was held as scheduled.  Claimant neither appeared at the hearing nor responded to the 
Notice that was forwarded to his last known address5.  The Division called one witness: AUDITOR, 
Auditor who testified with respect to the records of the Division and the reasons for the partial 
denial of Claimant’s refund claim.  Exhibits A through D were identified, offered and admitted into 

                                                 
1 68 O.S. 2001, § 201 et seq., as amended. 
2 Rules 710:1-5-20 through 710:1-5-47 of the Oklahoma Administrative Code ("OAC"). 
3 OAC, 710:1-5-22(a) and (b). 
4 See, 68 O.S. 2001, § 227(e) and OAC, 710:1-5-24. 
5 68 O.S. Supp. 2009, § 208 which provides in pertinent part: 

As used in this article or any other state tax law ‘last-known address’ shall mean the last 
address given for such person as it appears on the records of the division of the Tax 
Commission giving such notice, or if no address appears on the records of that division, the 
last address given as appears on the records of any other division of the Tax Commission.   
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evidence.  On November 16, 2010, the record was closed and Claimant’s protest to the partial 
refund denial was submitted for decision.6

 
FINDINGS OF FACT 

 
 Upon review of the file and records, including the tape recording of the hearing and the 
exhibits received into evidence, the undersigned finds: 
 

1. Claimant is a 100% disabled veteran.  Exhibit B-1. 
 
2. Claimant’s spouse leased a vehicle from a Hertz Corporation location in CITY, 

Oklahoma from January 8, 2010 to January 28, 2010.  Exhibits A and B-2. 
 
3. Hertz charged a base rental rate of $25.99 per day for a total of $545.79 for the 21 day 

lease period.  Exhibits A and B-2. 
 
4. Hertz also charged a fuel/service fee of approximately $47.10 and tax of $75.30, 

inclusive of the rental tax at 6% ($32.74) and state and local sales tax at 7.8% ($42.56) on the total 
rental charge of $545.79 for a grand total of $668.20.  Exhibits A and B-2. 

 
5. Claimant’s insurance (Farmer’s) paid $500.00 of the total charges for the lease of the 

vehicle and Claimant paid $168.20.  Exhibits A and B-2. 
 
6. On or about February 11, 2010, Claimant filed a claim for refund of the sales tax paid to 

Hertz on the vehicle lease.  Exhibit B-1. 
 
7. By letter dated September 1, 2010, Claimant was notified that $12.17, inclusive of state 

sales tax of $7.02 and local sales tax of $5.15 of the refund claim had been approved and the 
remainder ($30.39) denied because a portion of the total tax charged on the vehicle lease was rental 
tax ($32.74) and the remainder of the sales tax charged was attributed to the payment by Claimant’s 
insurance company based on a percentage (74.83%) calculated by dividing the insurance payment 
($500.00) by the grand total charged for the vehicle lease ($668.20).  Exhibit C. 

 
8. Claimant timely protested the partial denial of the refund claim by letter dated 

September 17, 2010, asserting that he is entitled to “the sales taxes the company paid.”  Exhibit D. 
 
9. The amount in controversy is $30.39. 

 
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 
1. Jurisdiction of the parties and subject matter of this proceeding is vested in the 

Oklahoma Tax Commission.  68 O.S. 2001, § 227. 
 

                                                 
6 OAC, 710:1-5-39(a). 
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2. The collection and remittance of sales tax is governed by the Oklahoma Sales Tax 
Code (“Code”).7  An excise tax is levied upon the gross receipts or gross proceeds of all sales, 
not otherwise exempted by the Code.  68 O.S. 2001, § 1354(A).  The gross receipts or gross 
proceeds from the rental or lease of “tangible personal property”8 are expressly made subject to 
sales tax.  68 O.S. Supp 2007, § 1354(A)(18).  The phrase “tangible personal property” is all 
inclusive, and is not limited except by specific exemption.  Magnolia Petroleum Co. v. 
Oklahoma Tax Commission, 1958 OK 124, 326 P.2d 821. 

 
3. “Sales9 of tangible personal property or services to persons who are residents of 

Oklahoma and have been honorably discharged from active service in any branch of the Armed 
Forces of the United States or Oklahoma National Guard and who have been certified by the 
United States Department of Veterans Affairs or its successor to be in receipt of disability 
compensation at the one-hundred-percent rate and the disability [is] permanent and [was] 
sustained through military action or accident or resulting from disease contracted while in such 
active service; provided, sales for the benefit of the person to a spouse of the eligible person or to 
a member of the household in which the eligible person resides and who is authorized to make 
purchases on the person’s behalf, when such eligible person is not present at the sale” are exempt 
from the levy of sales tax.  68 O.S. Supp. 2009, § 1357(34)10.  See 68 O.S. Supp. 2006, § 1361.2 
and OAC, 710:65-13-336. 

 
4. A rental tax of six percent (6%) is levied on the gross receipts of all motor vehicle 

rental agreements of ninety (90) days or less duration where the motor vehicle is rented to a 
person by a business engaged in renting motor vehicles without a driver in Oklahoma, 
irrespective of the state in which the vehicle is registered.  68 O.S. Supp. 2009, § 2110(A).  See 
OAC, 710:60-8-3.  The rental tax on motor vehicle rentals does not apply to “those agreements 
made with agencies of the United States Government and with those federal instrumentalities 
upon which the states are prohibited from levying a tax by specific provision of the United States 
Code, such as federally-chartered credit unions.”  OAC, 710:60-8-3(a).  The rental tax is not in 
lieu of sales tax or tourism tax, and is due on all rental agreements not otherwise exempted, 
“even if the consumer entering into the rental agreement is exempt from sales tax.”  OAC, 
710:60-8-3(c). 

 

                                                 
7 68 O.S. 2001, § 1350 et seq., as amended. 
8 Defined by the Code to mean “personal property which may be seen, weighed, measured, felt, or touched 

or which is in any other manner perceptible to the senses”.  68 O.S. 2001, § 1352(17).  Amended and renumbered by 
Laws 2003, c. 413, § 1, eff. Nov. 1, 2003, to include within the meaning “electricity, water, gas, steam and 
prewritten computer software” and to provided that “[t]his definition shall be applicable only for purposes of the 
Oklahoma Sales Tax Code”.  See 68 O.S. Supp. 2004, § 1352(23).  See also OAC, 710:65-1-2.  Amended at 21 Ok 
Reg 2581, eff 6-25-04. 

9 “Sale” is defined to mean “the transfer of either title or possession of tangible personal property for a 
valuable consideration regardless of the manner, method, instrumentality, or device by which the transfer is 
accomplished in this state, or other transactions as provided by this paragraph, including but not limited to: 

(a) the exchange, barter, lease or rental of tangible personal property resulting in the transfer 
of the title to or possession of the property. 

10 Added by Laws 2006, c. 16, § 58. 
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5. “Insurance companies subject to 36 O.S. § 624 do not qualify as exempt purchasers for 
purposes of state, county, or municipal sales tax or state or municipal use tax and, therefore, should 
pay sales or use tax to the vendor when making a taxable purchase of tangible personal property or 
service.”  OAC, 710:65-19-161. 

 
6. OAC, 710:65-11-1 in general applies to a “vendor” of tangible personal property or 

services, but is specifically applicable to claims for refund of sales taxes erroneously remitted.  See, 
McMillan v. State ex rel. Oklahoma Tax Commission, 1995 OK 3, 894 P.2d 1060; First National 
Bank of Stillwater v. State ex rel. Oklahoma Tax Commission, 1970 OK 33, 466 P.2d 644.  OAC, 
710:65-11-1(a) provides that “[t]he burden of establishing the right to, and the validity of a credit or 
refund is on the vendor claiming the credit or refund.”  Refund requests should be documented with 
among other information, if applicable: (1) a written detailed explanation of why the refund is due; 
(2) copies of cancelled checks used to remit the tax paid; (3) copies of the original invoices on 
which the tax was originally charged; (4) copies of the credit invoices or checks showing the tax 
collected or charged in error has been refunded to your customer; and (5) other documentation 
which may be pertinent to the requested refund.  OAC, 710:65-11-1(b). 

 
7. Rules promulgated pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act11, are presumed to be 

valid until declared otherwise by a court of competent jurisdiction.  75 O.S. 1991, § 306(C).  They 
are valid and binding on the persons they affect, have the force of law and are prima facie evidence 
of the proper interpretation of the matter to which they refer.  75 O.S. 1991, § 308.2(C). 

 
8. In all administrative proceedings the burden of proof is on the taxpayer to show in what 

respect the action or proposed action of the Tax Commission is incorrect.  OAC, 710:1-5-47.  See 
Enterprise Management Consultants, Inc. v. State ex rel. Oklahoma Tax Commission, 1988 
OK 91, 768 P.2d 359. 

 
9. “Consumer” or “user” is defined by statute to mean “a person to whom a taxable sale of 

tangible personal property is made or to whom a taxable service is furnished.”12

 
10. “Taxpayer” is defined by statute to mean “any person liable to pay a tax imposed by the 

Oklahoma Sales Tax Code.”13

 
11. The Oklahoma Statutes require sales tax to be paid by the consumer or user.14

 
DISCUSSION 

 
 In this case the “sale” at issue is the transfer of possession of the car for a valuable 
consideration. There is nothing in the record and no reason to believe that possession of the car was 
                                                 

11 75 O.S. 2001, § 250 et seq., § 301 et seq. 
 
12 68 O.S. 2001, § 1352(6) 
 
13 68 O.S. 2001, § 1352(25) 
 
14 68 O.S. 2001, § 1361; See also McMillin v. State ex rel. Oklahoma Tax Comm., 1995 OK 3, 894 P.2d 

1060. 
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ever transferred to the insurance company. The “sale” in this matter is a sale from the car rental 
company to the Claimant. Sales tax is levied on an amount variously described in statute as the 
“gross proceeds”, “gross receipts” or “sales price”. The Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) paid by the 
insurance company and reflected on the Statement of Charges as “company charge” is a third party 
price reduction and is required by Section 1352(12)(c) of Title 68 of the Oklahoma Statutes to be 
included in the gross receipts.  
  

ORDER 
 
 The Oklahoma Tax Commission orders that the protest be sustained as to the sales tax 
imposed pursuant to Section 1354 of Title 68 of the Oklahoma Statues and denied as to the tax 
imposed pursuant to Section 2110 of title 68 of the Oklahoma Statutes. The amount of $30.39 is 
ordered to be refunded to Claimant.  
 
 OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION   
 
CAVEAT: This decision was NOT deemed precedential by the Commission.  This means that 
the legal conclusions are generally applicable or are limited in time and/or effect.  Non-
precedential decisions are not considered binding upon the Commission.  Thus, similar issues 
may be determined on a case-by-case basis.   
 
NOTE: The distinction between a Commission Order designated as “Precedential” or “Non-
Precedential” has been blurred because all OTC Orders resulting from cases heard by the Office 
of Administrative Law Judges are now published, not just “Precedential” Orders.  See OKLA. 
STAT. ANN. tit.68, § 221(G) (West Supp. 2009) and OKLA. STAT. ANN. tit. 75, § 302 (West 
2002).  See also OTC Orders 2009-06-23-02 and 2009-06-23-03 (June 23, 2009), which also 
conclude the language of the Statute is “clear and unambiguous.” 
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