NON-PRECEDENTIAL DECISION OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION

JURISDICTION: OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION DECISION
CITE: 2008-07-15-03/ NON-PRECEDENTIAL

ID: CR-08-004-K

DATE: JULY 15, 2008

DISPOSITION: DENIED

TAX TYPE: MOTOR VEHICLE /CLAIM FOR REFUND
APPEAL: NO APPEAL TAKEN

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Claimant, CLAIMANT appears pro se. The Motor Vehicle Divison of the Oklahoma Tax
Commission (hereinafter “Divison”) is represented by OTC ATTORNEY, Assistant General
Counsdl, Office of the General Counsel, Oklahoma Tax Commission.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

By e-mail communication sent February 26, 2008, Claimant requested a refund of the motor
vehicle late registration penalty remitted to the State of Oklahoma on February 11, 2008 for the
registration of a 2007 Infiniti G35 Sedan, VIN XYZ123. The Division denied the request by letter
dated March 10, 2008. By correspondence dated March 13, 2008, Claimant requested a hearing on
the denidl.

On April 3, 2008, the Division referred the refund claim to the Office of the Administrative
Law Judges (“ALJs Office”) for further proceedings consistent with the Uniform Tax Procedure
Code' and the Rules of Practice and Procedure before the Oklahoma Tax Commissior?. The case
was docketed as Case No. CR-08-004-K and assigned to ALJ, Administrative Law Judge.®

A hearing was scheduled for May 22, 2008, by Notice of Hearing issued April 7, 2008*
The hearing was held as scheduled. Claimant did not appear at the hearing or respond to the Notice.
The Division called one witness:. SUPERVISOR, Supervisor-Accounting Section of the Division
who tedtified regarding the records of the Division. Divison's Exhibits A-1, A-2 and B through F
were identified, offered and admitted into evidence. Upon concluson of the Divison's
presentation, the record was closed and the claim for refund was submitted for decision.®

1 680.S.2001, § 201 et seq.

2 Rules 710:1-5-20 through 710:1-5-47 of the Oklahoma Administrative Code (“ OAC”).
3 OAC, 710:1-5-22(b).

4 OAC, 710:1-5-24.

> OAC, 710:1-5-39(a).
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FINDINGS OF FACT

Upon review of the file and records, including the tape recording of the hearing, the exhibits
received into evidence and the pleadings of the parties, the undersigned finds:

1. Claimant is aresident of Oklahoma. Exhibit C.

2. On December 27, 2007, Claimant purchased a used 2007 Infiniti G35 Sedan, VIN
XYZ123 from CAR DEALERSHIP of CITY, Colorado. Exhibits A-1, A-2 and F.

3. The vehicle was shipped to Claimant with a sixty (60) day Colorado issued temporary
tag that expired on February 28, 2008. Exhibit C.

4. On February 11, 2008, Claimant registered the vehicle with the State of Oklahoma and
was assessed a twenty-five dollar ($25.00) pendty for failing to register the vehicle within thirty
(30) days of the date the vehicle was assigned to him. Exhibit B.

5. By email communication sent February 26, 2008, Claimant requested a refund of the
late registration penalty remitted to the State of Oklahoma. Exhibit C.

6. The Divison denied the request by letter dated March 10, 2008. Exhibit D.

7. By correspondence dated March 13, 2008, Claimant requested a hearing on the denial.
Exhibit E.

8. According to SUPERVISOR, the date the vehicle was assigned to Claimant was used as
the date the vehicle entered Oklahoma since no other date was provided.

9. Theamount in controversy is $25.00.

ISSUE AND CONTENTIONS

The issue presented for decision is whether the motor vehicle late registration penaty of
$25.00 was properly assessed.

Claimant contends that the penalty should not have been assessed since the temporary tag
issued by the Colorado auto dealer had not expired a the time the vehicle was registered in
Oklahoma

The Division contends that the $25.00 late penalty was properly assessed. In support of this
contention, the Division argues that the registration of motor vehicles in the State of Oklahoma is
governed by the Oklahoma Vehicle License and Registration Act, not the vehicle registration laws
of the State of Colorado. The Division further argues that Claimant has not shown that he registered
the vehicle within thirty (30) days of the date the vehicle entered Oklahoma.
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CONCLUSIONSOF LAW

1. Jurisdiction over the parties and the subject matter of this protest is vested in the Tax
Commission. 68 O.S. 2001, §227.

2. The regigtration of motor vehicles in the State of Oklahoma is governed by the
Oklahoma Vehicle License and Regidtration Act, 47 O.S. 2001, § 1101 et seg., (“Act”). 47 O.S.
2001, 8§ 1103. Section 1103 provides in part:

It is the intent of the Legidature that the owner or owners of every
vehicle in this state shall possess a certificate of title as proof of ownership
and that every vehicle shall be registered in the name of the owner or owners
thereof.

3. Every owner of avehicle possessing a certificate of title shal, before using the same in
this state, make an application for the registration of such vehicle. 47 O.S. 2001, § 1112. Inthe
event of the sale or transfer of the ownership of a vehicle for which a certificate of title has been
issued, the purchaser or transferee shal, within thirty (30) days from the time of delivery, present
the assigned certificate of title and the insurance security verification to the vehicle to the Oklahoma
Tax Commission or one of its motor license agents accompanied by the regidtration fees, license
fees and excise taxes that may be due, whereupon a new certificate of title shall be issued to the
assignee. 47 O.S. 2001, § 1107(A).

4. For al vehicles, unless otherwise specifically provided by the Act, a registration fee
shall be assessed at the time of initia registration by the owner and annually thereafter, for the use
of the avenues of public access within this state. 47 O.S. 2001, § 1132(A). Upon every transfer or
change of ownership of avehicle, the new owner shall obtain title for and register the vehicle within
thirty (30) days of change of ownership. In the event the vehicle is not registered, title and tagged
within thirty (30) days from the date of transfer of ownership, a penalty of twenty-five cents ($0.25)
isimposed, not to exceed Twenty-five dollars ($25.00). 47 O.S. 2001, § 1132(D).

5. The Act specifically providesin pertinent part at 8 1151(C):

If aused vehicleis brought into Oklahoma by aresident of this state and
is not registered within thirty (30) days, a penalty of twenty-five cents
($0.25) per day shdl be charged from the date of entry to the date of
registration, such penalty to accrue for thirty (30) days, upon falure to
register, at the end of which time the penalty shal be Twenty-five Dollars
($25.00), provided that in no event shall the penaty exceed an amount equal
to the license fee.

6. In administrative proceedings, the burden of proof is on taxpayer to show in what
respect the action or proposed action of the Tax Commission is incorrect. OAC, 710:1-5-47. See,
Enterprise Management Consultants, Inc. v. State ex rel. Oklahoma Tax Commission, 1988 OK
91, 768 P.2d 359.
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7. Here, Clamant failed to show that he registered the vehicle within thirty (30) days of the
date the vehicle entered Oklahoma  Accordingly, the late registration penalty was properly
assessed.  Claimant in the letter requesting a hearing gives an example of how the late registration
penalty is unfair, stating that a person who purchased a car in another state could owe the penalty
even though the car has been in Oklahoma only twenty-four (24) hours. Claimant’s example is
incorrect since the penalty provision only applies to residents of this state and only when the vehicle
is not registered within thirty (30) days of the date the vehicle entered the state.

8. Clamants request for refund of the late registration penalty remitted to the State of
Oklahoma on the aforementioned vehicle in the amount of $25.00 should be and the same is hereby
denied.

DISPOSITION

Based on the above and foregoing findings of fact and conclusions of law, it is ORDERED
that the protest to the denia of the motor vehicle late registration penalty refund claim of Claimant,
CLAIMANT, be denied.

OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION
CAVEAT: This decison was NOT deemed precedential by the Commission. This means that
the lega conclusions are generaly applicable or are limited in time and/or effect. Non

precedential decisions are not considered binding upon the Commission. Thus, similar issues
may be determined on a case-by-case basis.
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