NON-PRECEDENTIAL DECISION OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION

JURISDICTION: OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION DECISION
CITE: 2008-06-24-06 / NON-PRECEDENTIAL

ID: P-08-033-K

DATE: JUNE 24, 2008

DISPOSITION: DENIED

TAX TYPE: INCOME INTERCEPT

APPEAL: NO APPEAL TAKEN

ORDER OF DENIAL OF PROTEST

Protestant, PROTESTANT appears pro se.  The Motor Vehicle Divison of the Tax
Commission (“Division”) is represented by OTC ATTORNEY, Assistant General Counsal, Office
of the General Counsel, Oklahoma Tax Commission.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

By letter dated March 21, 2007, the Division notified Protestant that a portion of her 2007
income tax refund had been suspended due to a reported liability for motor vehicle excise tax and
registration fees attributable to a dishonored check written in remittance of the tax and fees.
Protestant timely protested the Division’s suspension.

On April 1, 2008, the Division referred its file to the Office of the Administrative Law
Judges (“ALJ's Office”) for further proceeding consistent with the Uniform Tax Procedure Code*
and the Rules of Practice and Procedure before the Oklahoma Tax Commissior?. The protest was
docketed as Case No. P-08-033-K and assigned to ALJ, Administrative Law Judge.®

A hearing was scheduled for April 30, 2008, by letter issued April 2, 2008.* The hearing
notice was forwarded to Protestant’s |ast-known address.® Protestant did not appear at the hearing,
but responded to the notice by advising that the written protest represented her case. The Division
caled two witnesses: AUDITOR, Auditor 111, Account Maintenance Division, who testified with
respect to Protestant’s income tax records; and, SUPERVISOR, Supervisor-Accounting Section of
the Motor Vehicle Division, who testified with respect to the records of the Motor Vehicle Division
Exhibits A through C; D-1, D-2, D-3; E through G; and H1 and H-2 were identified, offered and
admitted into evidence. Upon conclusion of the Division’'s case, the record was closed and the
protest was submitted for decision.®

1 680.S.2001, § 201 et seq.

2 Rules 710:1-5-20 through 710:1-5-47 of the Oklahoma Administrative Code (“ OAC”).
3 OAC, 710:1-5-22(b).

4 OAC, 710:1-5-29 and 68 O.S. Supp. 2003, § 205.2(B).

> 68 0.S. Supp. 2007, § 205.2(A)(2).

® OAC, 710:1-5-39(a).
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FINDINGS OF FACT

Upon review of the file and records, including the tape recording of the hearing, Protestant’s
protest and the exhibits received into evidence, the undersigned finds:

1. On May 18, 1996, a check drawn on HUSBAND’S account a¢ THE BANK in the
amount of $336.00 was submitted to Motor License Agent # XXX in payment of vehicle
registration fees, title fees, insurance and mailing fees, excise taxes and pendlties for late registration
on a 1990 Oldsmobile, VIN XYZ123, which vehicle was registered and titled in the names of
“HUSBAND OR PROTESTANT”. Exhibits A and B.

2. The check was presented to the drawer’'s bank for payment on two (2) separate
occasions, but was dishonored and returned. Exhibit A.

3. Thetitleto and registration of the subject vehicle was cancelled upon notice from the tag
agent of the dishonored check. Exhibit C. The Division subsequently credited the motor license
agent’ s account with the amount of the check less the agent’ s fees on the transaction. Exhibit H-1.

4. Protestant’s indebtedness to the state from the above transaction is $351.25, consisting
of the face amount of the check of $336.00 and an additional excise tax pendty of $15.25. Exhibits
H-1 and H-2.

5. On February 20, 2007, Protestant eectronically filed her resident 2007 Oklahoma
income tax return, Form 511, reporting a “Head of household with qualifying person” filing status
and claiming a refund of the overpayment of income tax in the amount of $577.00. Exhibit D-1.
The refund consists of excess withholding of $221.00, a refundable Sales Tax Relief Credit of
$120.00 and an Oklahoma Earned Income Credit of $236.00. Exhibit D-1.

6. The records of the Account Maintenance Division show a refundable Sales Tax Relief
Credit of $80.00 was paid to Protestant, after the return was audited and one (1) dependent
exemption was disalowed. Exhibit D-3 and testimony of AUDITOR. The true refund or amount
available to be applied to any indebtedness owed the State of Oklahoma is $457.00. Exhibit D-3
and testimony of AUDITOR.

7. On March 4, 2008, Protestant was notified by letter that her 2007 income tax refund had
been suspended due to an “insufficient check that was written for motor vehicle taxes on 5/18/96.”
Exhibit F.

8. By letter faxed March 28, 2007, Protestant timely protested the suspension, asserting
that she was separated from HUSBAND at the time the check was written, that her name was not on
the account from which the check was written and that her name appears on the title to the subject
vehicle only as a requirement to allow HUSBAND to obtain financing for the vehicle. Protestant
further asserts that she is unemployed and needs various medica procedures which cannot be
performed without the refund. Exhibit G.
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CONCLUSIONSOF LAW
WHEREFORE, premises considered, the undersigned concludes as a matter of law:

1. Jurisdiction of the parties and subject matter of this action is vested in the Tax
Commission. 68 O.S. Supp. 2003, § 205.2(B).

2. The Tax Commission is authorized to deduct from any state tax refund due to a taxpayer
the amount of delinquent state tax, and penalty and interest thereon, which such taxpayer owes
pursuant to any date tax law prior to payment of the refund. 68 O.S. Supp. 2003, § 205.2(E).

3. The only issues subject to determination in this proceeding are: (1) whether the claimed
sum is correct, and (2) whether an adjustment to the claim is required by the evidence. 68 O.S.
Supp. 2003, § 205.2(B).

4. “ltistheintent of the Legidature that the owner or owners of every vehicle in this state
shall possess a certificate of title as proof of ownership and that every vehicle shall be registered in
the name of the owner or owners thereof.” 47 O.S. Sugp. 1985, § 1103." Section 1103 of the
Oklahoma Vehicle License and Registration Act (“Act”)” further provides. “[a]ll registration and
license fees and mileage taxes imposed by [the] act” * * * “shall apply to every vehicle operated
upon, over, aong or across any avenue of public access within this state and when paid in full, shall
bein lieu of al other taxes, genera and loca unless otherwise specifically provided.” 1d.

5. “In the event of the sdle or transfer of the ownership of a vehicle for which a certificate
of title has been issued * * * [t]he purchaser or transferee * * * shal , within thirty (30) days from
the time of delivery to the purchaser or transferee of the vehicle, present the assigned certificate of
title and the insurance security verification to the vehicle to the Oklahoma Tax Commission, or one
of its motor license agents, accompanied by a fee of Eleven Dollars ($11.00), together with any
motor vehicle excise tax or license fee that may be due, whereupon a new certificate of title, shall be
issued to the assignee.” 47 O.S. Supp. 1993, § 1107(A).°

6. “Every owner of avehicle possessing a certificate of title shall, before using the samein
this state, make an application for the registration of such vehicle’; 47 0.S. 1991, § 1112, and
“[u]pon the filing of a registration application and the payment of the fees provided” * * * “the
Oklahoma Tax Commission shall assign to the vehicle described in the application a distinctive
number, and issue to the owner of the vehicle a certificate of registration”; 47 O.S. Supp. 1995,
§ 1113(A)(1).** All vehicles are required to be registered annually, and the registration and license
fees shall become delinquent if they are not paid by the end of the month following the expiration

" Thelanguage of this section remains intact.
8 47 0.S.1991, § 1101 et seq., as anended.
° See, Note7.

10 See, Note 7.

1 See, Note 7.
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date. 47 O.S. 1991, § 1115(B)(1).*> “A pendty of twenty-five cents ($0.25) per day shal be
assessed after the last day of the month following the expiration date and shall be added to the
license fee of such vehicle and shall accrue for three (3) months; thereafter, the penalty shal be
Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00), provided that the penalty shall not exceed the amount equa to the
license fee of such vehicle” 47 O.S. 1991, § 1115(C)(4).

7. Unless otherwise specifically provided by the Act, aregistration fee shall be assessed on
all vehicles at the time of initial registration by the owner and annually thereafter. 47 O.S. Supp.
1995, 8 1132(A)(1). “Upon every transfer or change of ownership of a vehicle, the new owner shall
obtain title for and, * * * register the vehicle within thirty (30) days of change of ownership and pay
atransfer fee of Fifteen Dollars ($15.00) in addition to any other fees provided for in this act.” Id.
“In the event the vehicle is not registered, titled and tagged within thirty (30) days from the date of
transfer of ownership, the penalty for the failure of the owner of the vehicle to register the vehicle
within thirty (30) days shall be twenty-five cents ($0.25) per day, provided that in no event shall the
penalty exceed Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00).” 47 O.S. Supp. 1995, § 1132(C).

8. Except as otherwise provided in the Oklahoma Vehicle Excise Tax Code (“Code’)*?,
“an excise tax is levied upon the transfer of legal ownership of any vehicle registered in this state
and upon the use of any vehicle registered in this state and upon the use of any vehicle registered for
thefirst timein thisstate.” 68 O.S. 1991, § 2103(A)(1). Thetax isdue at the time of the transfer of
legal ownership or first registration in this state of such vehicle, and shal be collected at the time of
the issuance of a certificate of title for any such vehicle. 68 O.S. 1991, § 2103(A)(2). Section
2103(A)(2) further provided:

The excise tax levied by this section shall be delinquent from and after the
thirtieth day after the legal ownership or possession of any vehicle is obtained.
Any person failing or refusing to pay the tax as herein provided on or before date
of delinquency shall pay in addition to the tax a penalty of twenty-five cents
($0.25) per day for each day of delinquency, but such penaty shal in no event
exceed the amount of the tax.

9. “When, a the time of regigtration of any vehicle, payment is made by check for fees and
taxes and the check is not paid by the bank on which drawn for any reason, after said check has
been presented for payment a second time, such certificate of registration and other such
instruments issued at the time of registration of such vehicle shall beinvalid.” 47 O.S. Supp. 1994,
8 1121(A). Section 1121(A) further provides:

The motor license agent shall transmit all documents and the dishonored check
to the Oklahoma Tax Commission for credit to the motor license agent’s
account. The Commission may enter into a contract for the collection of
dishonored checks and canceled instruments. In al such cases, such vehicles
shall be subject to the license fees and pendties provided in this act as though no
attempt to register the vehicle had been made and the motor license agent shall

12 See, Note 7.
13 680.S. 2001, § 2101 et seq., as amended.
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charge the person issuing the check a fee of Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00) for
each check to cover the costs of processing each returned check.

Section 1142(C) of the Act provides that al checks or similar instruments accepted and
received by motor license agent for taxes and fees must be deposited in the Oklahoma Tax
Commission Motor License Agent Account. Section 1142(C) further provides:

Items deposited shall be credited at par and should payment be refused on any
such check, draft, order or voucher, or should the same prove otherwise
worthless, the amount thereof shal not be charged by the Commission against
the individual subaccounts of the agent. The agent shall continue to attempt to
require proper payment of al such worthless items, but shal not be personally
liable to the Commission for their payment. The Commission or agent shall
charge the person issuing the check a fee of Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00) for
each check to cover the costs of the processing of each returned check, * * *
provided, such charge shal not be made unless efforts have been made to
present such check, draft, order or voucher for payment a second time.

10. Here, since the vehicle in question was registered in the name of Protestant as owner of
the vehicle, she is statutorily liable for the excise taxes, and the title, registration and ownership
transfer fees levied on the transfer of ownership and registration of said vehicle. Further, Protestant
failed to come forward with any evidence to show the sum claimed by the Division is incorrect, and
not due and owing; or to show that an adjustment to the suspended refund is required.

11. Protestant’s protest to the Division’s claim to her 2007 income tax refund should be and
the same is hereby denied. $351.25 of Protestant’s 2007 income tax refund should be applied to the
ligbility owed to the Division.

DISPOSITION

THEREFORE, based on the above and foregoing findings of fact and conclusions of law, it is
ORDERED that the protest of Protestant, PROTESTANT, be denied. It is further ORDERED that
$351.25 of Protestant’s 2007 income tax refund be applied to the indebtedness owed to the Motor
Vehicle Division, Oklahoma Tax Commission.

OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION
CAVEAT: This decision was NOT deemed precedential by the Commission. This means that
the legal conclusons are generaly applicable or are limited in time and/or effect. Non-

precedential decisions are not considered binding upon the Commission. Thus, similar issues
may be determined on a case-by-case basis.
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