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JURISDICTION: OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION - DECISION 
CITE: 2007-08-07-04 / NON-PRECEDENTIAL 
ID: P-07-079-K 
DATE: AUGUST 7, 2007 
DISPOSITION: DENIED 
TAX TYPE: INCOME INTERCEPT 
APPEAL: NO APPEAL TAKEN 
 

ORDER OF DENIAL OF PROTEST 
 
 Protestant, PROTESTANT appears pro se.  The Motor Vehicle Division of the Tax 
Commission (“Division”) is represented by OTC ATTORNEY, Assistant General Counsel, Office 
of the General Counsel, Oklahoma Tax Commission. 
 

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 
 
 By letter dated March 21, 2007, the Division notified Protestant that a portion of his 2006 
income tax refund had been intercepted and would be applied to a reported liability owed by 
Protestant to the Oklahoma Tax Commission.  Protestant timely protested the Division’s proposed 
action. 
 
 On May 14, 2007, the Division referred its file to the Office of the Administrative Law 
Judges (“ALJ’s Office”) for further proceeding consistent with the Uniform Tax Procedure Code1 
and the Rules of Practice and Procedure before the Oklahoma Tax Commission2.  The protest was 
docketed as Case No. P-07-079-K and assigned to ALJ, Administrative Law Judge.3 
 
 A hearing was scheduled for June 13, 2007, by letter issued May 18, 2007.4  The notice was 
forwarded to Protestant’s last-known address in accordance with 68 O.S. 2001, § 205.2(A)(2).  
Protestant responded to the notice, but did not appear at the hearing.  The Division called two 
witnesses: AUDITOR, Auditor III, Account Maintenance Division, who testified with respect to 
Protestant’s income tax records; and, SUPERVISOR, Supervisor, Motor Vehicle Division, who 
testified with respect to the records of the Motor Vehicle Division.  Exhibits A through I, J-1, J-2, K, 
M and P were identified, offered and admitted into evidence.  Upon conclusion of the Division’s 
case, the record was closed and the protest was submitted for decision. 5 

 

 

 

                                                 
1   68 O.S. 2001, § 201 et seq. 
2   Rules 710:1-5-20 through 710:1-5-47 of the Oklahoma Administrative Code (“OAC”). 
3   OAC, 710:1-5-22(b). 
4   OAC, 710:1-5-29 and 68 O.S. Supp. 2003, § 205.2(B). 
5   OAC, 710:1-5-39(a). 
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FINDINGS OF FACT 
 
 Upon review of the file and records, including the recording of the hearing and the exhibits 
received into evidence, the undersigned finds: 
 
 1. On or about October 29, 2002, a check drawn on Protestant’s account at BANK A in the 
amount of $162.50 was submitted to Motor License Agent # X in payment of vehicle registration, 
ownership transfer and title fees and excise taxes on a 1991 Ford, vehicle identification no. XXX, 
which vehicle was registered and titled in Protestant’s name.  Exhibits A and B. 
 
 2. The Division subsequently credited the motor license agent’s account with the amount 
of the check less the agent’s fees on the transaction.  Exhibit J-1. 
 
 3. On or about December 27, 2004, a check drawn on Protestant’s account at BANK B in 
the amount of $430.50 was submitted to Motor License Agent # X in payment of vehicle 
registration, ownership transfer and title fees and excise taxes on a 2003 Chevrolet, vehicle 
identification no.XXX, which vehicle was registered and titled in Protestant’s name.  Exhibits C and 
D. 
 
 4. The Division subsequently credited the motor license agent’s account with the amount 
of the check less the agent’s fees on the transaction.  Exhibit J-2. 
 
 5. Both checks were presented to the drawer’s bank for payment and both checks were 
dishonored and returned.  Exhibits A and C.  The first returned check bore the stamp “No Account 
Found”.  Exhibit A.  This check was not presented for payment a second time because of the bank 
stamp.  Testimony of SUPERVISOR.  The second returned check was dishonored with the 
handwritten notation “Unlocated”.  Exhibit C.  This check was presented to the bank a second time 
for payment, but was again dishonored and returned.  Testimony of SUPERVISOR. 
 
 6. Registration of the vehicles was cancelled for non-payment of the fees and taxes due on 
the vehicles.  Exhibit E and G. 
 
 7. The total amount due from the above transactions is $822.50 consisting of the face 
amount of the checks of $593.00, additional penalties of $129.50 and service charges of $100.00.  
Exhibits J-1 and J-2. 
 
 8. On February 24, 2007, Protestant filed his 2006 Oklahoma income tax return, Form 511, 
reporting a “single/head of household” with a dependent filing status and claiming a refund of the 
overpayment of income tax in the amount of $418.00.  Exhibits F and K.  The refund consists of 
excess withholding of $251.00, a refundable Sales Tax Relief Credit of $80.00 and an Oklahoma 
Earned Income Credit of $87.00.  Exhibit F and K. 
 
 9. The records of the Account Maintenance Division show a refundable Sales Tax Relief 
Credit of $40.00 was paid to Protestant, after the return was audited and the dependent exemption 
was disallowed.  Exhibit K and testimony of AUDITOR.  Further, $56.88 of the claimed refund was 
intercepted and disbursed by the Account Maintenance Division to pay Protestant’s 2005 stated 
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income tax liability.  Exhibit M.  A lien was placed against the remainder of the refund claim in the 
amount of $281.12 which was intercepted to be applied to the debt owed to the Motor Vehicle 
Division.  Exhibit M and testimony of AUDITOR. 
 
 10. Pursuant to 68 O.S. Supp. 2003, § 205.2(A)(2), the Division by letter dated March 21, 
2007, notified Protestant that the intercepted funds would be applied to his outstanding indebtedness 
and advised him of his right to protest the Division’s claim to the refund.  Exhibit H. 
 
 11. By letter post-marked March 28, 2007, Protestant timely protested the Division’s 
proposed action, asserting: 

I request for a hearing my checks and driver license was stolen between 
2/5/92 I report a citizen crime report Tulsa Police Department. 

  
Enclosed with the letter was a copy of a Citizen Crime Report.  Exhibit I.  The crime report is not 
dated.  The following handwritten notation appears thereon: “2007 00 9497”.  The property reported 
stolen on the report were: “Checks & driver license”, “BANK A” and “BANK B”.  Exhibit I. 
 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 
 WHEREFORE, premises considered, the undersigned concludes as a matter of law: 
 
 1. Jurisdiction of the parties and subject matter of this action is vested in the Tax 
Commission.  68 O.S. Supp. 2003, § 205.2(B). 
 
 2. The Tax Commission is authorized to deduct from any state tax refund due to a taxpayer 
the amount of delinquent state tax, and penalty and interest thereon, which such taxpayer owes 
pursuant to any state tax law prior to payment of the refund.  68 O.S. Supp. 2003, § 205.2(E). 
 
 3. The only issues subject to determination in this proceeding are: (1) whether the claimed 
sum is correct, and (2) whether an adjustment to the claim is required by the evidence.  68 O.S. 
Supp. 2003, § 205.2(B). 
 
 4. “It is the intent of the Legislature that the owner or owners of every vehicle in this state 
shall possess a certificate of title as proof of ownership and that every vehicle shall be registered in 
the name of the owner or owners thereof.”  47 O.S. 2001, § 1103.  Section 1103 of the Oklahoma 
Vehicle License and Registration Act (“Act”) 6 further provides: “[a]ll registration and license fees 
and mileage taxes imposed by [the] act” * * * “shall apply to every vehicle operated upon, over, 
along or across any avenue of public access within this state and when paid in full, shall be in lieu of 
all other taxes, general and local unless otherwise specifically provided.”  Id. 
 
 5. “In the event of the sale or transfer of the ownership of a vehicle for which a certificate 
of title has been issued * * * [t]he purchaser or transferee * * * shall, within thirty (30) days from 

                                                 
6   47 O.S. 2001, § 1101 et seq., as amended. 
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the time of delivery to the purchaser or transferee of the vehicle, present the assigned certificate of 
title and the insurance security verification to the vehicle to the Oklahoma Tax Commission, or one 
of its motor license agents, accompanied by a fee of Eleven Dollars ($11.00), together with any 
motor vehicle excise tax or license fee that may be due, whereupon a new certificate of title, shall be 
issued to the assignee.”  47 O.S. 2001, § 1107(A). 
 
 6. “Every owner of a vehicle possessing a certificate of title shall, before using the same in 
this state, make an application for the registration of such vehicle”; 47 O.S. 2001, § 1112, and 
“[u]pon the filing of a registration application and the payment of the fees provided” * * * “the 
Oklahoma Tax Commission shall assign to the vehicle described in the application a distinctive 
number, and issue to the owner of the vehicle a certificate of registration”; 47 O.S. 2001, 
§ 1113(A)(1).  All vehicles are required to be registered annually, and the registration and license 
fees shall become delinquent if they are not paid by the end of the month following the expiration 
date.  47 O.S. 2001, § 1115(B)(1).  “A penalty of twenty-five cents ($0.25) per day shall be assessed 
after the last day of the month following the expiration date and shall be added to the license fee of 
such vehicle and shall accrue for three (3) months; thereafter, the penalty shall be Twenty-five 
Dollars ($25.00), provided that the penalty shall not exceed the amount equal to the license fee of 
such vehicle.”  47 O.S. 2001, § 1115(C)(4). 
 
 7. Unless otherwise specifically provided by the Act, a registration fee shall be assessed on 
all vehicles at the time of initial registration by the owner and annually thereafter.  47 O.S. 2001, 
§ 1132(A).  “Upon every transfer or change of ownership of a vehicle, the new owner shall obtain 
title for and, * * * register the vehicle within thirty (30) days of change of ownership and pay a 
transfer fee of Fifteen Dollars ($15.00) in addition to any other fees provided for in this act.”  47 
O.S. 2001, § 1132(C).  “In the event the vehicle is not registered, titled and tagged within thirty (30) 
days from the date of transfer of ownership, the penalty for the failure of the owner of the vehicle to 
register the vehicle within thirty (30) days shall be twenty-five cents ($0.25) per day, provided that 
in no event shall the penalty exceed Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00).”  47 O.S. 2001, § 1132(D). 
 
 8. Except as otherwise provided in the Oklahoma Vehicle Excise Tax Code (“Code”)7, “an 
excise tax is levied upon the transfer of legal ownership of any vehicle registered in this state and 
upon the use of any vehicle registered in this state and upon the use of any vehicle registered for the 
first time in this state.”  68 O.S. 2001, § 2103(A)(1).  The tax is due at the time of the transfer of 
legal ownership or first registration in this state of such vehicle, and shall be collected at the time of 
the issuance of a certificate of title for any such vehicle.  68 O.S. 2001, § 2103(A)(3).  Section 
2103(A)(3) further provides: 

The excise tax levied by this section shall be delinquent from and after the 
thirtieth day after the legal ownership or possession of any vehicle is 
obtained.  Any person failing or refusing to pay the tax as herein provided on 
or before date of delinquency shall pay in addition to the tax a penalty of 
twenty-five cents ($0.25) per day for each day of delinquency, but such 
penalty shall in no event exceed the amount of the tax. 

 

                                                 
7   68 O.S. 2001, § 2101 et seq., as amended. 
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 9. “When, at the time of registration of any vehicle, payment is made by check for fees and 
taxes and the check is not paid by the bank on which drawn for any reason, after said check has 
been presented for payment a second time, such certificate of registration and other such 
instruments issued at the time of registration of such vehicle shall be invalid.”  47 O.S. 2001, 
§ 1121(A).  Section 1121(A) further provides: 

The motor license agent shall transmit all documents and the dishonored 
check to the Oklahoma Tax Commission for credit to the motor license 
agent’s account.  The Commission may enter into a contract for the 
collection of dishonored checks and canceled instruments.  In all such cases, 
such vehicles shall be subject to the license fees and penalties provided in 
this act as though no attempt to register the vehicle had been made and the 
motor license agent shall charge the person issuing the check a fee of 
Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00) for each check to cover the costs of processing 
each returned check.  (Emphasis added). 

 
In furtherance of § 1121(A), Section 1142(C) of the Act provides that all checks or similar 
instruments accepted and received by motor license agent for taxes and fees must be deposited in 
the Oklahoma Tax Commission Motor License Agent Account.  Section 1142(C) further provides: 

Items deposited shall be credited at par and should payment be refused on 
any such check, draft, order or voucher, or should the same prove otherwise 
worthless, the amount thereof shall not be charged by the Commission 
against the individual subaccounts of the agent.  The agent shall continue to 
attempt to require proper payment of all such worthless items, but shall not 
be personally liable to the Commission for their payment.  The Commission 
or agent shall charge the person issuing the check a fee of Twenty-five 
Dollars ($25.00) for each check to cover the costs of the processing of each 
returned check, * * * provided, such charge shall not be made unless efforts 
have been made to present such check, draft, order or voucher for payment a 
second time.  (Emphasis added). 

 
 10. Here, since the vehicles in question were registered in the name of Protestant as owner 
of the vehicles, he is statutorily liable for the excise taxes, and the title, registration and ownership 
transfer fees levied on the transfer of ownership and registration of said vehicles.  Further, Protestant 
failed to come forward with any evidence to show the sum claimed by the Division is incorrect, and 
not due and owing; or to show that an adjustment to the intercepted refund is required. 
 
 11. Protestant’s protest to the Division’s claim to his 2006 income tax refund should be and 
the same is hereby denied.  The remainder of Protestant’s income tax refund in the amount of 
$281.12 should be applied to his indebtedness to the Tax Commission, Motor Vehicle Division. 

 

DISPOSITION 
 
 THEREFORE, based on the above and foregoing findings of fact and conclusions of law, it is 
ORDERED that the protest of Protestant, PROTESTANT, be denied.  It is further ORDERED that 
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Protestant’s income tax refund in the amount of $281.12 be applied to his indebtedness to the 
Oklahoma Tax Commission, Motor Vehicle Division. 
 

OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION 
 
CAVEAT: This decision was NOT deemed precedential by the Commission.  This means that 
the legal conclusions are generally applicable or are limited in time and/or effect.  Non-
precedential decisions are not considered binding upon the Commission.  Thus, similar issues 
may be determined on a case-by-case basis.   


