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JURISDICTION: OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION DECISION 
CITE:   2006-09-07-12 / NOT PRECEDENTIAL 
ID:   JM-06-004-H 
DATE:  SEPTEMBER 7, 2006 
DISPOSITION: DENIED 
TAX TYPE:  REVOCATION OF RETAIL CIGARETTE LICENSE 
APPEAL:  NO APPEAL TAKEN 
 

The above matter comes on for entry of a final order of disposition by the Oklahoma Tax 
Commission.  Having reviewed the files and records herein, including the Findings of Fact, 
Conclusions of Law and Recommendations made and entered by the Administrative Law Judge 
on the 13th day of June, 2006, the Commission makes the following Findings of Fact and 
Conclusions of Law and enters the following order. 

 
STIPULATED FINDINGS OF FACT 

 
The Collections Division of the Oklahoma Tax Commission initiated this proceeding by 

filing a Complaint fo r Revocation/Cancellation of Retail Cigarette License which requested that 
the Retail Cigarette License of LICENSEE be revoked.  At the hearing held before the 
Administrative Law Judge on May 16, 2006, the Licensee, through OFFICER, stipulated on the 
record to the violations as alleged in the Division’s “Amended” Complaint, as follows: 

 
1. The Licensee, a corporation, is a retailer of cigarettes and the holder of a Retail 

Cigarette License1 (“ACL# XXXXXX”) issued by the Tax Commission.  The Licensee is not a 
retail outlet, which is owned or licensed by a federally-recognized Indian Tribe or Nation. 2  The 
Licensee is not the holder of an Oklahoma Tobacco License. 
 

2. On November 1, 2005, the Division conducted a cigarette and tobacco enforcement 
survey (“Compliance Check”) at the licensed location, ADDRESS, TOWN, Oklahoma 7XXXX.3  
Upon entering the licensed location, the Division’s “Field Representatives,” FIELD 
REPRESENTATIVE ONE and FIELD REPRESENTATIVE TWO, identified themselves and 
that the Division was conducting a Compliance Check.  The Licensee was asked to produce 
invoices for all tobacco products at the licensed location.  The Licensee did have some tobacco 
products for sale and some invoices were produced for the Division, 4 but the Licensee could not 
provide invoices for the other tobacco products which reflected that the applicable tobacco 
products excise tax (“ATT”) had been paid.5  During the Compliance Check, the Division also 
discovered that the Licensee had cigarettes for sale bearing Tribal Compact Cigarette Stamps 
(“Tribal Stamps”).6 
 

3. The Division’s “Field Representatives” confiscated7 the cigarettes bearing Tribal 
Stamps and the other tobacco products and prepared Confiscation Inventory Lists.8  The total 
estimated retail value of the cigarettes bearing Tribal Stamps was $42.00.9  The total estimated 
retail value of the other tobacco products was $ 17.25.10 
 

4. The full text of the “Statement of Understanding”11 signed by the Licensee, through 
OFFICER and FIELD REPRESENTATIVE ONE on November 1, 2005, is as follows, to-wit: 
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I understand the following: 
 

1. The cigarettes and/or other tobacco products listed on the attached list were 
seized in accordance with state law for the reason that the cigarettes were 
improperly stamped and/or the documentation that appropriate tax was paid 
on other tobacco products was not available. 

2. If invoices corresponding to the product seized are not provided to field 
agent, FIELD REPRESENTATIVE ONE, at pager #XXX-XXX-XXXX, 
within 20 days of this notice the product will be forfeited. 

3. The seizure and forfeiture of the product does not relieve me of payment of 
the tax on the product.  I will receive a letter that will set forth the tax on the 
seized product and am expected to pay the assessment according to the 
terms of the letter. 

4. The Oklahoma Tax Commission will continue to monitor for cigarette and 
other tobacco products tax compliance.  A subsequent violation could result 
in the cancellation of licenses issued by the Oklahoma Tax Commission.  A 
new cigarette license can not be issued for two years after a cigarette license 
is cancelled.12 

5. The Oklahoma Tax Commission may set a hearing that will be held in 
Oklahoma City.  The hearing will be set for a date no earlier than 20 days 
after notice of the hearing is issued. 

 
5. On January 24, 2006, the Division conducted a “Second” Compliance Check at the 

licensed location, ADDRESS, TOWN, Oklahoma 7XXXX.13  Upon entering the licensed 
location, FIELD REPRESENTATIVE ONE identified herself as a “Field Representative” for the 
Division and that the Division was conducting a Compliance Check.  During the Compliance 
Check, the Division discovered that the Licensee had cigarettes for sale at the licensed location 
bearing Tribal Stamps.14 

 
6. FIELD REPRESENTATIVE ONE confiscated the cigarettes and prepared a 

Confiscation Inventory List.15  The total estimated retail value of the cigarettes bearing Tribal 
Stamps was $30.00.16 

 
7. On April 24, 2006, a “Notice to Show Cause Why the Application for Revocation of 

Your Retail Cigarette and Tobacco Products Licenses Should Not Be Ordered” was mailed to the 
Licensee by certified mail, with return receipt requested.  The notice advised the Licensee that a 
hearing had been scheduled for May 16, 2006, at 9:30 a.m., at which time the Licensee could 
appear and show cause why the Division’s request for relief should not be granted.  A copy of 
the Division’s “Amended Complaint” was enclosed with the notice. 
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ADDITIONAL FINDINGS OF FACT 
 

8. As a result of the Compliance Check on November 1, 2005, the Audit Division issued 
a ATT and ACX assessment on February 17, 2006,17 as follows, to-wit: 

 
Tax   $31.13 
Penalty      3.11 
Interest      2.31 
Total   $36.55 

 
9. As a result of the Compliance Check on January 24, 2006, the Audit Division issued 

an ACX assessment 18 on April 3, 2006, as follows: 
 

Tax   $12.36 
Penalty      1.24 
Interest      0.62 
Total   $14.21 [sic]19 

 
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 
1. The Oklahoma Tax Commission is vested with jurisdiction over the parties and 

subject matter of this proceeding.20  On April 24, 2006, the statutory notice was mailed to the 
Licensee by certified mail, with return receipt requested, giving the Licensee twenty (20) days 
notice of the hearing held on May 16, 2006, at 9:30 a.m. 
 

2. The Oklahoma Cigarette Stamp Tax Act21 (“Cigarette Act”) provides that the Tax 
Commission shall have the right to inspect any premises where cigarettes are sold, offered for 
sale or exchange, and to examine all of the records required by the Cigarette Act to be kept or 
any other records that may be kept incident to the conduct of the cigarette business of the retail 
dealer.22 
 

3. All cigarettes sold or held for sale in the State of Oklahoma shall bear one of the 
following stamps: 

 
(1) A stamp indicating that the retailer selling or holding for sale such 
cigarettes is a federally recognized Indian tribe or nation, or licensee thereof, 
which has entered into a Compact with the State of Oklahoma and is paying 
the payments specified thereunder; or 
(2) A stamp indicating that the retailer selling or holding for sale such 
cigarettes is a federally recognized Indian tribe or nation, or licensee thereof, 
which has not entered into a Compact with the State of Oklahoma but has 
provided the prescribed documentation to qualify for a rate of seventy-five 
percent (75%) of the cigarette excise tax imposed by 68 0.S. §§30l et seq.; or 
(3) A stamp indicating that the retailer selling or holding for sale such 
cigarettes does not meet the requirements of one of the above-referenced 
categories and is paying the tax levied pursuant to 68 O.S. §301 et seq.23 
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4. In addition to any civil or criminal penalty provided by law, upon a finding that a 
licensee has violated any provision of the Cigarette Act, the Tax Commission may revoke or 
suspend the license or licenses of the licensee pursuant to the procedures applicable to revocation 
of a license set forth in Section 316 of the Cigarette Act.24 

 
5. The Oklahoma Tobacco Products Tax Act25 (“Tobacco Act”) provides that the Tax 

Commission shall have the right to enter upon the premises of any taxpayer to examine, or cause 
to be examined any books, invoices, papers, records, or memoranda bearing upon the amount of 
taxes payable, and to secure other information directly concerned with the enforcement of the 
Tobacco Act.26 

 
6. A retailer of tobacco products,27 as defined by the Tobacco Act, shall maintain copies 

of invoices or equivalent documentation for every transaction in which the retailer receives or 
purchases tobacco products at each of its facilities.28  The retailer shall maintain invoices or 
documentation showing the name and address of the distributor from whom, or the address of 
another facility of the same retailer from which, the tobacco products were received, the quantity 
of each brand style received in such transaction and the retail cigarette license number or sales 
tax license number. 

 
7. Any authorized agent of the Oklahoma Tax Commission or any sheriff, deputy 

sheriff, or police law enforcement officer may seize all tobacco products subject to the Tobacco 
Act, found in the possession, custody, or cont rol of any person required to file monthly reports or 
to pay said taxes, if: 

 
(1) The person has failed to timely file a required monthly report; or 
(2) The person has failed to timely pay said taxes when due; or 
(3) The Commission has determined that the person is attempting to evade or 

avoid payment of the tobacco excise tax; or 
(4) The Commission has determined the person has violated any of the 

provisions of the Tobacco Products Tax Act or the Rules of the Oklahoma 
Tax Commission. 

 
(b) Intent to evade or avoid payment of Tobacco Products taxes may be presumed 

upon: 
 
(1) Failure to timely file reports or to timely pay taxes; or 
(2) Receipt of possession, control or custody, within this State, of any tobacco 

products, upon which the tobacco products tax has not been paid, from any 
person not holding a valid Oklahoma Tobacco License.  The burden of 
proof shall be on the person, taxpayer or reporter to prove otherwise.29 

 
8. The Tax Commission has promulgated rules as provided by law to facilitate the 

administration, enforcement, and collection of cigarette30 and tobacco products excise taxes.31 
 

9. The rules promulgated pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act are presumed 
to be valid and binding on the persons they affect and have the force of law. 32 
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10. On November 1, 2005, the date of the Division’s first Compliance Check, the 

Licensee had available for sale at the licensed location cigarettes bearing Tribal Stamps.  The 
Licensee is not a retail outlet which is owned or licensed by a federally recognized Indian Tribe or 
Nation.  The Cigarette Act and Tax Commission regulations require that cigarettes bear the 
appropriate stamps, which indicate that the Licensee is paying the right amount of ACX. 33  The 
Licensee also provided invoices for some of the tobacco products that were for sale at the licensed 
location, but the Licensee had other tobacco products for which the Licensee could not produce 
invoices.  The other tobacco products were properly confiscated by the Division.  The intent to 
evade or avoid payment of ATT may be presumed because the Licensee was in possession, 
control, or custody within the State of Oklahoma of tobacco products upon which ATT had not 
been paid.34 
 

11. On January 24, 2006, the Division conducted a “Second” Compliance Check at the 
licensed location.  The Licensee had available for sale at the licensed location cigarettes bearing 
Tribal Stamps.  The Licensee is not a retail outlet which is owned or licensed by a federally 
recognized Indian Tribe or nation.  The Cigarette Act and Tax Commission regulations require 
that cigarettes bear the appropriate stamps, which indicate that the Licensee is paying the right 
amount of ACX. 35 
 

12. At the hearing on May 16, 2006, the Licensee stipulated on the record as to the 
violations alleged in the Division’s “Amended” Complaint.  Because the Licensee was being 
represented pro se, through OFFICER, the Administrative Law Judge questioned OFFICER to 
insure that there was no misunderstanding as to the course of action he had chosen for the 
Licensee.  OFFICER was asked if it was his intent to stipulate that the Division’s Exhibits A and 
B accurately reflected the results of the Division’s Compliance Checks on November 1, 2005, and 
January 24, 2006.  OFFICER answered “Yes.”  OFFICER was asked whether the Division 
confiscated cigarettes bearing Tribal Stamps during both Compliance Checks.  OFFICER 
answered “Yes.”  OFFICER was asked if he understand that for purposes of the hearing the 
Division was still seeking to revoke the Licensee’s Retail Cigarette License, despite his request to 
make an “offer of settlement” to the Commissioners for a lesser penalty.  OFFICER answered 
“Yes.” 
 

DISCUSSION AND ORDER 
 

Revocation of a retail cigarette license or of any license required for a person to engage in 
a business is a serious matter36 which properly involves consideration of a number of factors in 
making the determination of whether or not such a license should be revoked.  Factors which may 
be considered by the Commission in making a determination regarding revocation of a retail 
cigarette license include the total number of violations of cigarette or tobacco tax laws which have 
been committed by the licensee; the time period covered by such violations; whether or not the 
violations were for the same offense; the dollar amount of the products involved in the violations; 
the dollar amount of products involved as a percentage of total sales and as a percentage of 
cigarette and tobacco sales; the number of compliance checks during the relevant time period in 
which no violations were found and  the number of violations of Youth Access to Tobacco laws 



NON-PRECEDENTIAL DECISION  OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION 

OTC ORDER NO. 2006-09-07-12 6 OF 12  

committed by the licensee.  This is not an exhaustive list of factors which the Commission may 
consider. 

In determining the appropriate standards to utilize in making decisions regarding the 
revocation of a retail cigarette license for violation of state cigarette or tobacco tax laws it is 
instructive to note the standards which have been established by the Oklahoma Legislature for 
revocation of a retail cigarette license for other reasons.  Section 316 of Title 68 of the Oklahoma 
Statutes requires the Tax Commission to revoke the retail cigarette license of a person for a third 
offense of violating the provisions of certain federal laws relating to cigarettes designated for 
export.  Section 600.3 of Title 37 of the Oklahoma Statutes authorizes (but does not require) the 
suspension for 30 days of the retail cigarette license of a person for a third offense within a two 
year period of selling cigarettes to persons under 18 years of age and authorizes (but does not 
require) the suspension for 60 days of the retail cigarette license of a person for a fourth or 
subsequent offense within a two year period of selling cigarettes to persons under 18 years of age. 

 
The Tax Commission notes that other mechanisms for punishment of violations of 

cigarette and tobacco products tax laws exist in addition to revocation of a retail cigarette license.  
Seizure and forfeiture of cigarettes or tobacco products pursuant to Section 305 or 417 of Title 68 
is an obvious financ ial punishment for the retailer who attempts to evade the tax laws with regard 
to such products.  In a proceeding with appropriate notice given to the retailer an administrative 
fine may be imposed pursuant to Section 316 of Title 68 for violations of the tax laws with regard 
to cigarettes.  Criminal penalties also are available for violation of tax laws with regard to both 
cigarettes and other tobacco products.37  The Tax Commission also notes that no license is 
required for the sale of other tobacco produc ts and the revocation of the cigarette license of a 
retailer for violations of laws regarding the sale of other tobacco products will not require a 
retailer to stop selling other tobacco products. 

 
The Commission finds that the evidence in this matter establishes two violations of the 

tax laws regulating the sale of cigarettes in this state and one violation of the tax laws regulating 
the sale of other tobacco products in this state and that under the specific facts and circumstances 
of this case the revocation of respondent’s retail cigarette license is not warranted and denies the 
request of the Collections Division to revoke the retail cigarette license of LICENSEE. 

 
The Commission further finds that no notice was given to the respondent prior to the 

hearing in this proceeding that it might be liable for any administrative fines or penalties and 
therefore no administrative fines or penalties should be assessed in this proceeding.  The 
Commission further finds that in a proceeding with proper notice given to the respondent the 
imposition of an administrative fine pursuant to Section 316(H) of Title 68 for violation of the 
Cigarette Stamp Tax Act would be warranted by the evidence presented in this matter. 
                                                 

1 OKLA. STAT. ANN. tit. 68, § 304(B) (West Supp. 2006): 
 

Every retailer in this state, as a condition of carrying on such business, shall secure from 
the Tax Commission a license and shall pay therefor a fee of Thirty Dollars ($30.00).  Such 
license, which will be for the ensuing three (3) years, must at all times be displayed in a 
conspicuous place so that it can be seen.  Upon expiration of such license, the retailer to 
whom such license was issued may obtain a renewal license which shall be valid for three (3) 
years or until expiration of the retailer’s sales tax permit, whichever is earlier, after which a 
renewal license shall be valid for three (3) years.  The manner and prorated fee for renewals 
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shall be prescribed by the Tax Commission.  Every person operating under such license as a 
retailer and who owns or operates more than one place of business must secure a license for 
each place of business.  “Place of business” shall be construed to include places where orders 
are received or where cigarettes are sold. 

 
2 OKLA. ADMIN. CODE § 710:70-7-6: 

 
The Oklahoma Tax Commission shall provide to cigarette wholesalers, distributors, jobbers 
and warehousemen a listing of those tribes who have entered into a compact with the State of 
Oklahoma.  This list shall include a listing of each retail outlet which is owned or licensed by 
the compacting tribes. 

 
3 Division’s Exhibit A.  The Licensee’s Retail Cigarette License has an expiration date of November 1, 

2006.  The Licensee is also the holder of Sales Tax Permit #XXXXXX, which also has an expiration date of 
November 1, 2006.  Until the Tax Commission’s implementation of its Oracle based computer system sometime in 
2005, the retail cigarette license number and sales tax permit number were the same number.  After the 
implementation of the system different numbers are assigned to each license or permit as it is issued or renewed. 
 

The Division’s Exhibit A, consists of the following documents: 
 
1. Cigarette & Tobacco Enforcement Survey dated November 1, 2005. 
2. Compliance Survey dated November 1, 2005, signed by the Licensee, through OFFICER, and 

FIELD REPRESENTATIVE TWO.  The purpose of a compliance survey is to check the business 
to make sure that it has all of the necessary permits/licenses and determine whether each 
permit/license is current and in compliance with state law. 

3. A “Statement of Understanding” signed November 1, 2005, by the Licensee, through OFFICER 
and FIELD REPRESENTATIVE ONE. 

4. A Confiscation Inventory List prepared November 1, 2005, at the licensed location by FIELD 
REPRESENTATIVE TWO (cigarettes) and FIELD REPRESENTATIVE ONE (other tobacco 
products). 

 
4 See Division’s Exhibit A.  The Cigarette and Tobacco Survey was signed by the Licensee, through 

OFFICER, FIELD REPRESENTATIVE ONE, and FIELD REPRESENTATIVE TWO. 
 
5 Division’s Exhibit A and testimony of OFFICER. 
 
6 Division’s Exhibit A and testimony of OFFICER. 
 
7 OKLA. STAT. ANN. tit. 68, § 417 (West 2001): 

 
A. All unstamped tobacco products upon which a tax is levied by Section 401 et seq. of 

this title and all tobacco products stamped, sold, offered for sale, or imported into this state in 
violation of the provisions of Section 4 of this act, found in the possession, custody or control 
of any person for the purpose of being consumed, sold or transported from one place to 
another in this state, for the purpose of evading or violating the provisions of Section 401 et 
seq. of this title, or with intent to avoid payment of the tax imposed thereunder, may be seized 
by any authorized agent of the Oklahoma Tax Commission or any sheriff, deputy sheriff or 
police within the state. Tobacco products from the time of seizure shall be forfeited to the 
State of Oklahoma.  A proper proceeding shall be filed in the district court of the county of 
seizure, to maintain such seizure and prosecute the forfeiture as herein provided; the 
provisions of this section shall not apply, however, where the tax on such unstamped tobacco 
products does not exceed One Dollar ($1.00). 
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B. All such tobacco products so seized shall first be listed and appraised by the officer 

making such seizure and turned over to the sheriff of the county in which the seizure is made, 
and a receipt taken therefor. 

 
C. The person making such seizure shall immediately make and file a written report 

thereof to the Tax Commission, showing the name of the person making such seizure, the 
place where seized, the person from whom seized, the property seized and an inventory and 
appraisement thereof, which inventory shall be based on the usual and ordinary retail price or 
value of the articles seized, or the Attorney General, in the case of tobacco products stamped, 
sold, offered for sale, or imported into this state in violation of the provisions of Section 4 of 
this act.  The district attorney of the county in which such seizure is made shall, at the request 
of the Tax Commission or Attorney General, file in the district court forfeiture proceedings in 
the name of the State of Oklahoma against the owner or person in possession of the property 
seized, if known, and if unknown, against the property seized.  The clerk of the court shall 
issue summons to the owner or person in whose possession such property was found.  
Summons so issued and all procedure thereafter shall be governed by statutes relating to 
procedure in civil actions.  If personal service cannot be had, or if suit be filed against the 
property seized, service may be obtained by the posting of notices in five public places within 
the county.  The notice shall direct the owner, or if the owner be unknown, the person in 
possession of the property seized, to answer the petition filed within twenty (20) days from 
the date of the posting of such notices.  The district attorney shall within three (3) days after 
the posting of the notices cause a copy of the same to be mailed to any defendant on whom 
personal service was not had, addressed to the defendant’s last-known address.  If, after a full 
hearing upon the petition, the court finds that the property seized is forfeited to the State of 
Oklahoma, the court shall direct to the sheriff to sell the property at public auction ten (10) 
days after the posting of notices of sale in five public places within the county; provided, 
tobacco products as described in Section 4 of this act shall only be sold for export outside the 
United States or as otherwise permitted by federal law.  The proceeds of the sale shall be 
deposited with the clerk of the court who shall, after deducting costs including the cost of the 
sale, pay same to the Tax Commission as tobacco products tax collected, or in the case of 
tobacco products seized as being in violation of the provisions of Section 4 of this act, to the 
Attorney General.  The Attorney General shall remit the amount of tobacco products tax, if 
any be due, including all penalties and interest due, to the Tax Commission as tobacco 
products tax collected and shall deposit the remainder to the revolving fund created in Section 
7 of this act. 

 
D. The seizure and sale of such tobacco products shall not relieve the person from whom 

such tobacco products were seized from prosecution or the payment of penalties.  The 
purchaser of forfeited tobacco products shall pay the regular tobacco products tax and shall 
place proper stamps thereon before any of such tobacco products are sold or consumed. 

 
E. The forfeiture provisions of Section 401 et seq. of this title shall only apply to persons 

having possession of or transporting tobacco products with intent to barter, sell or give away 
the same. 

 
See OKLA. ADMIN. CODE § 710:70-5-11: 
 

(a) Any authorized agent of the Oklahoma Tax Commission or any sheriff, deputy sheriff or 
police law enforcement officer may seize all tobacco products subject to the Tobacco 
Products Exc ise Tax, found in the possession, custody or control of any person required 
to file monthly reports or to pay said taxes, if: 

 
(1) The person has failed to timely file a required monthly report; or 
(2) The person has failed to timely pay said taxes when due; or 
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(3) The Commission has determined that the person is attempting to evade or avoid 

payment of the tobacco excise tax; or 
(4) The Commission has determined the person has violated any of the provisions of the 

Tobacco Products Tax Act or the Rules of the Oklahoma Tax Commission. 
 

(b) Intent to evade or avoid payment of Tobacco Products taxes may be presumed upon: 
 

(1) Failure to timely file reports or to timely pay taxes; or 
(2) Receipt of possession, control or custody, within this State, of any tobacco products, upon 

which the tobacco products tax has not been paid, from any person not holding a valid 
Oklahoma Tobacco License.  The burden of proof shall be on the person, taxpayer or 
reporter to prove otherwise. 

 
8 Division’s Exhibit A.  The Confiscation Inventory List describes each kind of tobacco product , the 

quantity, and the estimated retail value. 
 
9 Division’s Exhibit A.  The Confiscation Inventory List describes each brand of cigarettes, the quantity, 

and the estimated retail value.  According the Confiscation Inventory List there were Twenty-two (22) packs of 
cigarettes bearing Tribal Stamps. 

 
10 See Note 3.  The other tobacco products were placed in a box, which was then sealed and delivered to a 

representative of the COUNTY Sheriffs Office. 
 

11 See Note 3 and Note 10. 
 
The statement is untitled, but is uniformly referred to by the Division as the “Statement of Understanding.” 
 

12 OKLA. STAT. ANN. tit. 68, § 304(E) (West Supp. 2006): 
 

No license may be granted, maintained or renewed if any of the following conditions 
applies to the applicant.  For purposes of this section, “applicant” includes any combination of 
persons owning directly or indirectly, in the aggregate, more than ten percent (10%) of the 
ownership interests in the applicant: 

 
1. The applicant owes Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) or more in delinquent cigarette 

taxes; 
2. The applicant had a cigarette manufacturer, retailer or distributor license revoked by 

the Tax Commission within the past two (2) years; 
3. The applicant has been convicted of a crime relating to stolen or counterfeit cigarettes, 

or receiving stolen or counterfeit cigarettes; 
… 
 

13 Division’s Exhibit B, consists of the following documents: 
1. Cigarette & Tobacco Enforcement Survey dated January 24, 2006. 
2. Compliance Survey dated January 24, 2006, signed on behalf of the Licensee by OFFICER, and 

FIELD REPRESENTATIVE ONE. The Compliance Survey indicated that the Licensee was 
delinquent in its sales tax account for September 2005, October 2005, and December 2005, in 
addition to tax warranted periods. 

3. A Confiscation Inventory List prepared January 24, 2006, at the licensed location by FIELD 
REPRESENTATIVE ONE. 

 
It is the Division’s policy that upon a second violation a “Statement of Understanding” is not provided to 

the licensee. 
 

14 Exhibit B and testimony of OFFICER. 
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15 Division’s Exhibit B.  FIELD REPRESENTATIVE ONE prepared the Confiscation Inventory List, which 

describes each brand of cigarettes, the quantity, and the estimated retail value.  There were twelve (12) packs of 
cigarettes bearing Tribal Stamps. 

 
16 See Note 13. 
 

17 ALJ Exhibit 1.  The assessment was not part of the pending complaint filed by the Division.  It is included 
for informational purposes only.  The audit work papers attached to the assessment reflect that ACX due in the 
amount of $22.06 and ATT due in the amount of $8.47, with interest calculated through April 15, 2006. 

 
18 ALJ Exhibit 2.  The assessment was not part of the pending complaint filed by the Division.  It is included 

for informational purposes only. 
 

19 The assessment contains a mathematical error.  The total should be $14.22, not $14.21. 
 

20 OKLA. STAT. ANN. tit. 68, § 212 (West 2001), which states in pertinent part: 
 

(a) The Tax Commission is authorized to cancel or to refuse the issuance, extension or 
reinstatement of any license, permit or duplicate copy thereof, under the provisions of any 
state tax law or other law, to any person, firm, or corporation who shall be guilty of: 

 
(1) Violation of any of the provisions of this article; 
(2) Violation of the provisions of any state tax law; 
(3) Violation of the rules and regulations promulgated by the Tax Commission for the 

administration and enforcement of any state tax law, or 
(4) Failure to observe or fulfill the conditions upon which the license or permit was 

issued, or 
(5) Nonpayment of any delinquent tax or penalty. 
 

(b) Before any license, permit or duplicate copy thereof may be canceled, or the issuance, 
reinstatement, or extension thereof refused, the Tax Commission shall give the owner of such 
license or permit, or applicant therefor, twenty (20) days’ notice by registered mail or certified 
mail with return receipt requested, of a hearing before said Tax Commission, granting said 
person an opportunity to show cause why such action should not be taken.  If the notice has 
been mailed as required by this section, failure of the person to have received actual notice of 
the hearing shall neither invalidate nor be grounds for invalidating any action taken at the 
hearing or pursuant to the hearing. 

 
See OKLA. ADMIN. CODE § 710:1-5-100: 

 
When a Tax Division contests the taxpayer’s compliance with State tax laws or 

Commission Rules, the Division may cause notice to be issued to the taxpayer requiring him 
to appear before the Administrative Law Judge or an Administrative Hearing Officer to show 
why his license or permit should not be cancelled.  The notice shall contain a date certain for 
the hearing.  Failure to appear at the hearing may result in the cancellation of license or 
permit.  The taxpayer may represent himself or be represented by an attorney, an accountant 
or other representative approved by the Commission.  The taxpayer is to bring all reports and 
payments for delinquent taxes, penalty and interest to the hearing.  Evidence and testimony of 
witnesses may be presented at the hearing. 

 
21 OKLA. STAT. ANN. tit. 68, § 301 et seq. (West 2001). 
 

22 OKLA. STAT. ANN. tit. 68, § 315 (West 2001): 
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For the purpose of enabling the Oklahoma Tax Commission to determine the tax liability 

of a distributor, wholesale dealer, retail dealer, distributing agent or any other person dealing 
in cigarettes, or to determine whether a tax liability has been incurred, it shall have the right to 
inspect any premises where cigarettes are manufactured, produced, made, stored, transported, 
sold, or offered for sale or exchange, and to examine all of the records required herein to be 
kept or any other records that may be kept incident to the conduct of the cigarette business of 
such distributor, wholesale dealer, retail dealer, dis tributing agent, or any other person dealing 
in cigarettes.  The authorized agent of the Oklahoma Tax Commission shall also have the 
right, as an incident, to determine the said tax liability, or whether a tax liability has been 
incurred, to examine all stocks of cigarette stamps, and for the foregoing purpose such 
authorized agent shall also have the right to remain upon the premises for such length of time 
as may be necessary to fully determine such tax liability, or whether a tax liability has been 
incurred; and it shall be unlawful for any of the foregoing persons to fail to produce upon 
demand by the Tax Commission, or any of its authorized agents, any records herein required 
to be kept, or to hinder or prevent in any manner the inspection of said records, or the 
examination of said premises. 

 
23 OKLA. ADMIN. CODE § 710:70-7-4. 
 

24 OKLA. STAT. ANN. tit. 68, § 304(G) (West Supp. 2006). 
 

25 OKLA. STAT. ANN. tit. 68, § 401 et seq. (West 2001). 
 

26 OKLA. STAT. ANN. tit. 68, § 410 (West 2001): 
 

The Tax Commission shall administer and enforce all provisions of this Article.  It shall 
have the power to enter upon the premises of any taxpayer and to examine, or cause to be 
examined by an agent or representative designated by it for such purpose, any books, 
invoices, papers, records or memoranda bearing upon the amount of taxes payable, and to 
secure other information directly concerned in the enforcement of this Article. 

 
27 OKLA. STAT. ANN. tit. 68, § 401(g) (West 2001): 

 
The words “tobacco products” shall mean any cigars, cheroots, stogies, smoking tobacco 

(including granulated, plug cut, crimp cut, ready rubbed and any other kinds and forms of 
tobacco suitable for smoking in a pipe or cigarette), chewing tobacco (including cavendish, 
twist, plug, scrap and any other kinds and forms of tobacco suitable for chewing), however 
prepared; and shall include any other articles or products made of tobacco or any substitute 
therefor. 

 
28 OKLA. STAT. ANN. tit. 68, § 420.1(B) (West Supp. 2006): 
 

B. Each retailer of tobacco products, as defined in Section 401 of Title 68 of the 
Oklahoma Statutes , shall maintain copies of invoices or equivalent documentation for every 
transaction in which the retailer receives or purchases tobacco products at each of its facilities.  
The invoices or documentation shall show the name and address of the distributor from 
whom, or the address of another facility of the same retailer from which, the tobacco products 
were received, the quantity of each brand style received in such transaction and the retail 
cigarette license number or sales tax license number. 

 
29 OKLA. ADMIN. CODE § 710:70-5-11.  See OKLA. STAT . ANN. tit. 68, § 417 (West 2001). 
 
30 OKLA. STAT. ANN. tit. 68, § 322 (West 2001). 
 
31 OKLA. STAT. ANN. tit. 68, § 420 (West 2001). 
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32 OKLA. STAT. ANN. tit. 75, § 250 et seq. (West 2001). 
 
33 See Note 26. 
 
34 See Note 8. 
 
35 See Note 26. 
 
36 Section 2 of Article II of the Oklahoma Constitution provides “All persons have the inherent right to life, 

liberty, the pursuit of happiness, and the enjoyment of the gains of their own industry.” 
 
37 OKLA. STAT. ANN. tit. 68, §§ 316 and 418 (West 2001). 
 
 
 
CAVEAT: This decision was NOT deemed precedential by the Commission.  This 

means that the legal conclusions are generally applicable or are limited in time and/or effect.  
Non-precedential decisions are not considered binding upon the Commission.  Thus, similar 
issues may be determined on a case-by-case basis. 


