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JURISDICTION: OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION - DECISION 
CITE: 2002-10-01-032 / NOT PRECEDENTIAL 
ID: CR020007 
DATE: 10-01-02 
DISPOSITION: SUSTAINED 
TAX TYPE: MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION 
APPEAL: NO APPEAL TAKEN 
 
 FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 
 NOW on this 30th day of August, 2002, the above styled and numbered cause comes 
on for consideration pursuant to assignment regularly made by the Oklahoma Tax 
Commission to AN Administrative Law Judge.  Claimant represents herself in this matter.  
The Motor Vehicle Division is represented by AN Assistant General Counsel, General 
Counsel's Office of the Oklahoma Tax Commission.  A hearing was held.  Notice of the 
hearing was mailed to CLAIMANT at her last known address, yet she did not appear.  At 
the conclusion of the hearing, this matter was submitted for decision. 
 

FINDINGS OF FACT  

                                           

 
 1.  On December 12, 2000, Claimant applied and was allowed to register a 1997 Ford 
pursuant to a special physically disabled registration rate. 
 
 2.  Claimant, on January 23, 2002, made application to register the subject vehicle, but 
was refused the special registration as requested and was required to pay the standard 
non-commercial registration of $81.00. 
 
 3.  By letter dated March 3, 2002, Claimant requested a refund of the difference 
between the $81.00 she paid and the special registration rate of $30.001. 
 
 4.  In support of her refund claim, Claimant provided a prescription for a lumbar seat, 
dated February 25, 2002, based on the doctor's diagnosis of osteoarthropathy, lumbar 
spinal stenosis and osteoporosis.  Additionally, Claimant provided an Affidavit for Physically 
Disabled Registration Fee wherein she described the modification made to her vehicle as a 
"lumbar seat to alleviate spinal pain, due to lumbar spinal stenosis, osteoporises (sic) and 
other physical problems."  Claimant provided her Department of Public Safety 
Handicapped Parking Insignia Number, XXXXXX, on the affidavit. 

 
    1

 The thirty dollar total includes the $25.00 registration fee provided for in Section 1136(8) of Title 47 in addition to 
other fees, rounded to $5.00, provided for in Sections 1132.1 and 1140(E) of Title 47. 

 

 OTC Order No. 2002-10-01-032 
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 5.  The Division, by letter dated March 19, 2002, denied Claimant's refund request.  The 
basis for the denial as stated in the letter was, "The lumbar seat does not qualify for the 
handicap tag rate.  Modifications that would qualify include hand controls, wheelchair lift, 
etc." 
 
 6.  By letter dated April 16, 2002, Claimant protested the denial of the refund claim and 
requested a hearing. 
 
 7.  AN Administrator, Motor Vehicle Division, testified that it was his understanding from 
a discussion with Claimant that the lumbar seat was factory equipped.  He stated that 
although the lumbar seat is not standard equipment, it is an option and that under these 
circumstances he did not consider the lumbar seat to be a modification.  However, THE 
ADMINISTRATOR did state that if Claimant would have taken the vehicle and had the 
lumbar seat added after purchase, he would have considered the lumbar seat to be a 
modification that would qualify for the special registration rate. 
 
 ISSUE 
 
 The issue presented for decision is whether Division's denial of the claim for refund of 
the difference between the standard non-commercial registration fee and the special 
registration rate is erroneous. 
 
 CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 
 1.  Jurisdiction over the parties and the subject matter of this proceeding is vested in the 
Tax Commission.  68 O.S. 1991, Section 207. 
 
 2.  Section 1136(8) of Title 47 provides for a physically disabled license plate for any 
person who is eligible for an insignia as a physically disabled person under the provisions 
of Section 15-112 of Title 472.  Any person who is eligible for that license plate and whose 
vehicle has had modifications because of the physical disability may register the vehicle for 
a flat fee of $25.00.  This fee shall be in lieu of all other registration fees provided by the 
Oklahoma Vehicle License and Registration Act.  47 O.S. 2001, Section 1136(8). 
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 47 O.S. 2001, ∋ 15-112(B) 
 
 1. The Department of Public Safety shall issue a detachable placard indicating physical 

disability to any person who submits an application on a form furnished by the Department 
and certified by a physician attesting that the applicant has a physical disability . . . . 

 
Section 15-112(b) was amended by Laws 1996, c. 129 ∋ 2 to require the Department of Public Safety to issue a placard 
instead of an insignia.  
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 3.  The Commission, to implement of the provision, promulgated Oklahoma 
Administrative Code 710:60-3-169 and 710:60-3-170, which describe the application 
process to qualify for the special registration rate and sets forth examples of qualifying 
modifications, in pertinent part as follows: 
 
  An applicant for the special rate must sign an affidavit3 describing the 

modification.  Examples of qualifying modifications are:  hand controls, raised 
pedals, wheel chair lift, or other permanent modification. 

 

Oklahoma Administrative Code 710:60-3-170(b). 
 
 4.  Here, the Claimant complied with the provisions of Section 15-112 of Title 47 and 
provided an Affidavit for Physically Disabled Registration Fee as set forth in Oklahoma 
Administrative Code 710:60-3-170.  The fact that Claimant modified the vehicle by adding 
the lumbar seat as an option to the vehicle at the time of purchase instead of having the 
lumbar seat added sometime thereafter, should not disqualify Claimant from being able to 
register the vehicle pursuant to the special registration rate. 
 
 5.  Section 1136(8) of Title 47 provides that there shall be no fee for the physically 
disabled license plate in addition to the $25.00 registration fee, and further, that the $25.00 
fee is in lieu of all other registration fees provided by the Act.  Therefore, Claimant should 
not be required to pay the $1.75 registration fee to be collected for each license plate or 
decal issued as set out in Section 1140(E) of Title 47. 
 
 6.  The claim for refund should be granted. 
 
 DISPOSITION 
 
 It is the DETERMINATION of the undersigned, based upon the specific facts and 
circumstances of this case, that the motor vehicle registration fee claim for refund of 
CLAIMANT be sustained. 
 
 OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION 
                             
 
CAVEAT:  This decision was NOT deemed precedential by the Commission.  This means that the legal 
conclusions are not generally applicable or are limited in time and/or effect.  Non-precedential decisions are not 
considered binding upon the Commission.  Thus, similar issues may be determined on a case-by-case basis. 
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 OTC Form 760 � Affidavit for Physically Disabled Registration Fee must be completed by the owner of the vehicle.  
OAC 710:60-3-169. 
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