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JURISDICTION: OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION - DECISION 
CITE: 2002-08-16-007 / NOT PRECEDENTIAL 
ID: CR020001 
DATE: 08-16-02 
DISPOSITION: DENIED 
TAX TYPE: MV EXCISE / REGISTRATION 
APPEAL: NO APPEAL TAKEN 
 
 FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 
 1.  On or about October 2, 2001, CLAIMANT received a 1998 Dodge Grand Caravan in 
trade from CLAIMANT'S CUSTOMER. 
 
 2.  At the time Claimant took possession of the vehicle, the title was not provided.  
Subsequent attempts by Claimant to gain possession of the title from CLAIMANT'S 
CUSTOMER were unsuccessful. 
 
 

                                           

3.  Upon discovering that an Oklahoma title had not been issued to the CUSTOMER for 
the subject vehicle, Claimant, pursuant to a Power of Attorney1, filed an Affidavit For 
Transfer When Assigned Title Is Lost, and on November 6, 2001, a title for the vehicle was 
issued by the Oklahoma Tax Commission in the name of CLAIMANT'S CUSTOMER, 
which was then assigned to Claimant.  Because CLAIMANT'S CUSTOMER had not 
obtained an Oklahoma title for the vehicle, Claimant was required to pay a title fee in the 
amount of $11.00, excise tax in the amount of $513.00, registration fees in the amount of 
$309.50, penalties in the amount of $354.00 and an insurance fee in the amount of $1.50, 
for a total aggregate amount of $1,189.00. 
 
 4.  At the hearing, Claimant's representative testified that she subsequently sought 
reimbursement from THE CUSTOMER.  However, in December 2001, CLAIMANT'S 
CUSTOMER provided Claimant with a letter from the Absentee Shawnee Tax Commission 
informing her that the vehicle was first registered with that Commission on February 23, 
1999, and then was issued a duplicate title in 2001.  The Absentee Shawnee Tribe of 
Oklahoma Vehicle Certification of Title for the vehicle, also provided, reflects a date of 
March 14, 2001.  Claimant's representative stated she was advised that CLAIMANT'S 
CUSTOMER WAS issued the tribal tag because they lived in Indian Housing. 

 
    1

 On October 2, 2001, CLAIMANT'S CUSTOMER executed a power of attorney for CLAIMANT to act on his behalf to 
assign title to the 1998 Dodge and to execute all necessary documents in connection with the assignment. 
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 5.  A document entitled "Absentee Shawnee Tax Commission Motor Vehicle 
Information" set forth the requirements for title and registration as of February, 2001.  
According to this document, to qualify for an Absentee Shawnee tribal tag, an applicant 
must reside in one of the following categories: 
 
   Absentee Shawnee Tribal Trust Land 
   Absentee Shawnee Allotted Trust Land 
   Absentee Shawnee Housing Authority-In Trust 
 
 The applicant must provide, among other things, a Certificate of Degree of Absentee 
Shawnee Indian Blood. 
 
 6.  Claimant requested a refund of the excise taxes, registration fees and penalties. 
 
 7.  By letter dated December 28, 2001, the Division denied Claimant's refund request 
for taxes and fees paid on the vehicle, for the reason that the title was issued based on the 
sworn affidavit by Claimant that title had been lost and that the tribal title was not 
acceptable since it had been given without a Bureau of Indian Affairs membership. 
 
 8.  Claimant protested the denial of the refund request by letter dated January 25, 2002. 
 

ISSUE AND CONTENTIONS  
 
 Whether the Division properly denied Claimant's request for a refund of vehicle 
registration fees, excise taxes and delinquent penalties. 
 
 Claimant contends that the vehicle in question, although unknown to them at the time, 
had been registered with the Absentee Shawnee Tax Commission prior to the application 
for an Oklahoma title, and that Claimant is entitled to a refund "because there is no 
possible way to know when or if a vehicle has been registered with a Indian Tax 
Commission." 
 
 The Division contends that neither OF CLAIMANT'S CUSTOMERS are members of the 
Absentee Shawnee Tribe.  Accordingly, the Indian title issued to them was improperly 
issued and delinquent taxes and penalties were required to be paid before an Oklahoma 
certificate of title could be issued.  Therefore, the Division's denial of Claimant's request for 
refund was properly issued and is in accordance with the Division's long standing policy. 
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 
 1.  The Oklahoma Tax Commission has jurisdiction of this protest.  68 O.S. ∋ 207. 
 
 2.  Motor vehicle excise tax is levied and shall be collected upon the transfer of legal 
ownership of any vehicle registered in this state and upon the use of any vehicle registered 
in this state and upon the use of any vehicles registered for the first time in this state.  68 
O.S. Supp. 1997, ∋ 2103(A)(1).  The tax is due at the time of transfer of legal ownership or 
first registration and shall be collected at the time of the issuance of a certificate of title.  68 
O.S. Supp. 1997, ∋ 2103(A)(2)2. 
 
 3.  The excise tax levied by Section 2103 is delinquent thirty (30) days after the legal 
ownership or possession of any vehicle is obtained.  68 O.S. Supp. 1997, ∋ 2103(A)(2).  A 
penalty for failure to remit the excise tax in a timely manner accrues in the amount of $.25 
per day until the excise tax is paid or until the penalty equals the tax.  Id. 
 
 4.  The owner of every vehicle in this State shall possess a certificate of title as proof of 
ownership.  47 O.S. Supp. 1995, ∋ 1105(B). 
 
 5.  Application for a certificate of title may be made to the Oklahoma Tax Commission 
or any motor license agent.  Id. 
 
 6.  The charge for each certificate of title issued is $11.00.  47 O.S. Supp. 1995, 
∋ 1105(H). 
 
 7.  Every owner of a vehicle possessing a certificate of title shall, before using the same 
in the state, make an application for the registration of such vehicle.  47 O.S. 1991, ∋ 1112. 
 
 8.  For registration year 2000, in addition to the other vehicle registration fees required 
by Sections 1132(A)(1), 1132.1(A) and 1140(E) of Title 47, a fee of one and one-quarter 
percent (13%) of the factory delivered price of each vehicle shall be computed and 
assessed at initial registration, 47 O.S. 1991, ∋ 1132(A)(2), and thereafter the registration 
fee shall be assessed at ninety percent (90%) of the previous year's fee through the twelfth 
year of registration.  Id. 
 
 9.  For registration year 2001, in addition to the registration fees required by Sections 
1132.1(A) and 1140(E) of Title 47, a registration fee shall be assessed at the time of initial 
registration by the owner and annually thereafter.  47 O.S. Supp. 2000, ∋ 1132(A).  The fee 
is based on the year of registration of the vehicle.  Id. 

                                            
    2

 Recodified as 68 O.S Supp. 2000, ∋ 2103(A)(3). 
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 10.  If a vehicle is not registered, titled and tagged within thirty (30) days from the date 
of transfer of ownership, a penalty shall accrue at the rate of $.25 per day, not to exceed 
$25.00.  47 O.S. 1991, ∋ 1132(C)3. 
 
 11.  All fees and taxes levied by the Oklahoma Vehicle License and Registration Act 
are, and remain, a first lien on the vehicle upon which the fees or taxes are due until paid.  
47 O.S. Supp. 1998, ∋ 1133(H).  Title to a vehicle may not be transferred until the unpaid 
balance on that vehicle has been paid in full.  Id. 
 
 12.  In Oklahoma Tax Commission v. Sac and Fox Nation, 508 U.S. 114 (1993), the 
Court held that absent explicit congressional direction to the contrary, the state cannot 
impose motor vehicle excise tax and registration fees on a tribal member living in Indian 
country. 
 
 13.  In the instant case, neither OF CLAIMANT'S CUSTOMERS is a member of the 
Absentee Shawnee Tribe of Oklahoma.  Therefore, the delinquent taxes, fees and 
penalties were properly required before an Oklahoma certificate of title could be issued for 
the vehicle. 
 
 14.  The claim for refund was properly denied. 
 
 DISPOSITION 
 
 It is the DETERMINATION of the undersigned, based upon the specific facts and 
circumstances of this case, that the motor vehicle registration fees and excise tax claim for 
refund be denied. 
 

OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION  

                                           

                             
 
CAVEAT:  This decision was NOT deemed precedential by the Commission.  This means that the legal 
conclusions are not generally applicable or are limited in time and/or effect.  Non-precedential decisions are not 
considered binding upon the Commission.  Thus, similar issues may be determined on a case-by-case basis. 

 
    3

 Recodified as 47 O.S. Supp. 2000, ∋ 1132(D). 
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