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JURISDICTION: OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION - DECISION

CITE: 2000-12-12-018 / NOT PRECEDENTIAL

ID: P0000157

DATE: 12-12-00

DISPOSITION: DENIED

TAX TYPE: MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION / TITLE
APPEAL: NO APPEAL TAKEN

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. Protestant applied to title and register her 1990 Chevrolet, VIN
HAXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX inthe ANOTHER STATE.

2. By letter dated July 7, 2000, Protestant was notified of a proposed assessment for
registration fees for 1999 and 2000, excise tax and penalties in the following amounts:

1999 Registration Fees $ 98.00
1999 Registration Fee Penalty 25.00
2000 Registration Fees 90.00
2000 Registration Fee Penalty 25.00
Excise Tax 131.00
Excise Tax Penalty (thru 7-7-00) ~131.00
TOTAL DUE $500.00

3. Atimely letter of protest was filed.

ISSUE AND CONTENTIONS

Whether Protestant sustained her burden of proof showing in what respect the action or
proposed action of the Tax Commission is incorrect.

Protestant contends that she is not a permanent resident of Oklahoma. The Division
contends that Protestant is a resident of Oklahoma, operates the vehicle in Oklahoma, and
thus is required to register the vehicle in this state.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Oklahoma Tax Commission has jurisdiction of this protest. 68 O.S. 1991, §
221.

2. Motor vehicle excise tax is levied and shall be collected upon the transfer of legal
ownership of any vehicle registered in this state and upon the use of any vehicle registered
in this state and upon the use of any vehicles registered for the first time in this state; 68
O.S. Supp. 1997, § 2103(A)(1). The tax is due at the time of transfer of legal ownership or
first registration and shall be collected at the time of the issuance of a certificate of title. 68
O.S. Supp. 1997, § 2103(A)(2).
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3. A penalty for failure to remit the excise tax in a timely manner accrues in the amount
of $.25 per day until the excise tax is paid or until the penalty equals the tax. /d.

4. Every owner of a vehicle possessing a certificate of title shall, before using the same
in this state, make an application for the registration of such vehicle. 47 O.S. 1991, § 1112.

5. In addition to the fees required by Sections 1132(A)(1), 1132.1(A) and 1140(E) of
Title 47, the owner of a vehicle, upon initial registration of the vehicle, is assessed a fee of
one and one-quarter percent (1v2%) of the factory delivered price. The fee is assessed at
ninety percent (90%) of the first year's fee in the second year, and each year thereafter it is
assessed at ninety percent (90%) of the previous year's fee, through the twelfth year. 47
O.S. Supp. 1995, § 1132(A)(2).

6. A penalty of $.25 a day, not to exceed $25.00, is imposed for delinquent
registration. 47 O.S. Supp. 1997, § 1115(C)(4).

7. The burden of proof in all proceedings, unless otherwise provided by law, is on the
taxpayer to show in what respect the action or proposed action of the Tax Commission is
incorrect. Oklahoma Administrative Code 710:1-5-47. Protestant filed Oklahoma State
income Tax Returns, Form 511, for tax years 1996, 1997, 1998 and 1999. The returns and
Protestant's Wage and Tax Statements for those years reflect Oklahoma addresses.
Protestant has failed to meet her burden of proving that she was not required to register
the subject vehicle for 1999 and 2000 in Oklahoma and be subject to the appropriate
excise tax and registration fees.

8. The protest should be denied.
DISPOSITION
It WAS the DETERMINATION of the undersigned, based upon the specific facts and
circumstances of this case, that the motor vehicle registration and excise tax protest of

PROTESTANT be denied.
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CAVEAT: This decision was NOT deemed precedential by the Commission. This means that the legal
conclusions are not generally applicable or are limited in time and/or effect. Non-precedential decisions are not
considered binding upon the Commission. Thus, similar issues may be determined on a case-by-case basis.
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