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CITE: 2000-09-26-016 / NOT PRECEDENTIAL
ID: P9900303

DATE: 09-26-00

DISPOSITION: DENIED

TAX TYPE: MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION
APPEAL: NO APPEAL TAKEN

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. Revocable Trust PROTESTANT registered a 1981 Mack Truck, ANONYMOUS VIN
No. based on a declared laden weight of 84,000 pounds, under the commercial vehicle
semiannual installment registration plan, provided for in Section 1133(H) of Title 47 of the
Oklahoma Statutes. The first half of the license fee was paid on January 29, 1999.

2. On July 1, 1999, Protestant paid the second half of the license fee in the aggregate
amount of $510.75, consisting of $505.00 license fee, $4.25 penalty, and $1.50 insurance
fee.

3. By letter dated July 21, 1999, Protestant requested a refund of $511.50 for license,
penalty and insurance fee on the Mack truck paid on July 1, 1999. The reason given was
that the truck had been sold as salvage on April 20, 1999.

4. The Motor Venhicle Division sent a letter dated September 27, 1999, denying the
refund for the reason that "half year tags allow payment be divided in two payments. The
second installment is due even if the vehicle is stolen, wrecked, sold, etc. Therefore, the
fee is not refundable."

5. By letter received October 26, 1999, Protestant filed a protest to the denial and
requested a hearing in the matter.

6. AN Administrative Manager, Motor Vehicle Division, testified that weight, for purpose
of calculation of applicable license fees, is determined at the time of registration and that
there is no procedure in which to refund a portion of the license fee if the weight changed
during the registration year. THE ADMINISTRATIVE MANAGER explained that although
weight can be added at any time during the commercial registration period it cannot be
decreased.

7. Subsequent to the hearing, Protestant submitted a letter from COMPANY ONE
which stated that it purchased the Mack truck on April 20, 1999, from COMPANY TWO as
a salvage vehicle.
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ISSUE AND CONTENTIONS

The issue presented for decision is whether the Division properly denied the claim for
refund of the commercial license fees.

Protestant contends that for the vehicle at issue the minimum registration rate of $95.00
was due and therefore any overcharge should be refunded as a matter of fairness.
Further, Protestant contends that a half-year tag was purchased in July, 1999, but that
since the vehicle was sold as salvage on April 20, 1999, that amount should be refunded.

The Division contends that the vehicle was registered as a commercial vehicle in
January, 1999, for the entire year. However, Protestant opted to make semiannual
payments, as allowed by statute. The second installment was then due on or before the
first day of July of that year, whether the vehicle had been sold or disposed of in any
manner. Thus, the payment is not refundable.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Oklahoma Tax Commission has jurisdiction of this protest. 68 O.S. 1991, §
207.

2.  An annual license fee is required to be paid upon the registration of each
commercial vehicle. 47 O.S. 1991, § 1133(A). The license fee shall be computed and
assessed based on the combined laden weight of the vehicle or combination of vehicles.
Id.

3. If the total amount of the annual license fee due exceeds $1,000.00, the license fees
may be paid in equal semiannual installments. However, paying the license fee in
semiannual installments does not reduce the amount of the fees due. If a vehicle is sold,
wrecked, or otherwise retired from service, the unpaid balance shall be immediately due
and payable. 47 O.S. Supp. 1997, § 1133(H).

4. A refund of the license fee may not be obtained for a reduction of the weight
classification for a commercial vehicle unless an error was made by the motor license
agent. Oklahoma Administrative Code 710:60-9-95(5)(c).

5. The burden of proof in all proceedings, unless otherwise provided by law, is on the
taxpayer to show in what respect the action or proposed action of the Tax Commission is
incorrect.  Oklahoma Administrative Code 710:1-5-47.  Protestant registered the
commercial vehicle, as required, and paid the fee in equal semiannual installments as
provided by statute. Ultilization of the installment plan for payment does not reduce the
amount of the license fees due. In the instance wherein a vehicle is sold, the remaining
amount due on the yearly license fee immediately becomes due and owing.

OTC Order No. 2000-09-26-016



NON - PRECEDENTIAL DECISION OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION

6. The Division properly denied Protestant's claim for refund.
DISPOSITION
It WAS the DETERMINED, based upon the specific facts and circumstances of this
case, that the protest of the PROTESTANT Revocable Trust to the denial of the claim for

refund be denied.

OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION

CAVEAT: This decision was NOT deemed precedential by the Commission. This means that the legal
conclusions are not generally applicable or are limited in time and/or effect. Non-precedential decisions are not
considered binding upon the Commission. Thus, similar issues may be determined on a case-by-case basis.
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