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DISPOSITION: DENIED 
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FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW  
 
 PROTESTANT AND HER SPOUSE own a 1997 GMC pickup acquired on or about 
November 24, 1997.  PROTESTANT AND HER SPOUSE on or about March 19, 1998, 
made application to title and register their 1997 GMC pickup truck at a tag agency in 
ANYTOWN, Oklahoma.  In payment of the applicable title, registration and other 
miscellaneous fees, excise tax and late payment penalties, a check filled out and signed by 
PROTESTANT in the amount of $894.75 was tendered by her husband to the tag agent. 
 
 The amounts paid are set forth as follows: 
 
 Registration Fee $224.00 
 Penalty (Registration) 25.00 
 Excise Tax 605.00 
 Penalty (Excise) 21.25 
 Title Fee 11.00 
 Insurance Fee1 1.50 
 Waste Tire Fee2 5.00 
 Notary/Mail Fee3      2.00 
 Total $894.75 
 
 The check was returned by PROTESTANT'S bank marked insufficient funds.  The 
insufficient funds check was turned over to the Commission.   
 
 By letter dated June 17, 1998, the Division notified PROTESTANT that the check was 
returned by her bank unpaid and demanded remittance of the amount of the check, 
additional penalty in the amount of $20.75 and service charges totaling $50.00. 
 

                                                 
    147 O.S. 1991, § 7-602(C) 

    227A O.S. Supp. 1997, § 2-11-403(A)(1) 

    347 O.S. Supp. 1995, § 1143(B)(C) 
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 On June 24, 1998, PROTESTANT was notified by the Motor Vehicle Division of its 
intent to apply her income tax refund of $398.00 to the outstanding motor vehicle taxes, 
fees and corresponding penalties. 
 
 PROTESTANT, by letter dated July 1, 1998, filed a written protest stating, "I wrote this 
check in good faith and it is my desire and intent to correct the error that has been made, to 
full and fair restitution."  Also in the letter she expressed confusion regarding the "amount 
of the 'fees' of this outstanding debt." 
 
 A hearing was held in this matter.  PROTESTANT questioned at the hearing and in her 
Statement of Facts filed subsequent to the hearing whether the vehicle should be 
registered in Oklahoma or in AN ANONYMOUS STATE.   
 
 A Proposed Order was issued by the undersigned recommending that the protest of 
PROTESTANT be denied.  Protestant made application for hearing before the Commission 
en banc.  In Protestant's Application she questioned the state of proper jurisdiction, the 
"amount that was really owed" in light of the statement in Division's letter to Protestant that 
the vehicle registration has been canceled, and the proper assessment of fees.  Upon 
order of the Commission, the matter was remanded for further proceedings as necessary, 
and for a determination of the validity of the entire debt asserted by the Motor Vehicle 
Division. 
 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW  
 
 1.  The Oklahoma Tax Commission has jurisdiction of this protest.  68 O.S. Supp 1997, 
§ 205.2. 
 
 2.  The scope of the hearing on the suspended refund claim is governed by Section 
205.2 B of Title 68 of the Oklahoma Statutes, wherein it sets forth that, "It shall be 
determined at the hearing whether the claimed sum is correct or whether an adjustment to 
the claim shall be made." 
 
 3.  The language of Section 205.2 B limits the inquiry at the hearing to the correctness 
of the sum claimed.  The language of Section 205.2 B is clear and unambiguous and 
leaves no room for broadening the scope of inquiry.  The legislative mandate must be 
followed.  Oldham v. Drummond Bd. of Ed. of Independent School Dist. No. 1-85, 542 P.2d 
1309 (Okl. 1975). 
 
 4.  The owner of every vehicle in this State shall possess a certificate of title as proof of 
ownership.  47 O.S. Supp. 1995, § 1105(B). 
 
 5.  Application for a certificate of title may be made to the Oklahoma Tax Commission 
or any motor license agent.  Id. 
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 6.  An applicant, in order to obtain an original certificate of title for a vehicle that is being 
registered for the first time in this State, shall deliver as evidence of ownership, a 
manufacturer's certificate of origin.  47 O.S. Supp. 1995, § 1105(D). 
 
 7.  The charge for each certificate of title issued is $11.00.  47 O.S. Supp. 1995, 
§ 1105(H). 
 
 8.  Every owner of a vehicle possessing a certificate of title shall, before using the same 
in the state, make an application for the registration of such vehicle.  47 O.S. 1991, § 1112. 
 Section 1112 provides that an owner making application for registration shall furnish the 
following information: 
 
  1.  A full description of the vehicle including the manufacturer's serial or other 

identification number, the manufacturer's factory delivered price, total 
delivered price, any security interest upon said vehicle, an odometer reading 
of said vehicle when applicable, and the insurance security verification to 
said vehicle; 

 
  2.  The correct name and address, the name of the city, county and state in 

which the person in whose name the vehicle is to be registered resides, the 
driver's license number of the owner if the owner has a driver's license or the 
Federal Employers Identification Number of the owner if such owner is not an 
individual, and such other information as may be prescribed by the 
Commission; and 

 
  3. a. The name of the carrier of the owner's insurance policy for such 

vehicle, 
     b. The policy number of the owner's policy for such vehicle, if available, 

or the name of the agent or office where the existence of security may 
be verified, if other than the carrier, 

     c. The effective dates of the owner's policy for such vehicle, and 
     d. A statement of the existence of a nonuse affidavit if filed by the 

vehicle owner pursuant to the provisions of Section 7-607 of this title. 
 
 9.  In addition to the other vehicle registration fees required by Sections 1132(A)(1), 
1132.1(A) and 1140(E) of Title 47, the owner of a vehicle upon initial registration of the 
vehicle is assessed a fee of one and one-quarter percent (1¼%) of the factory delivered 
price.  47 O.S. Supp. 1995, § 1132(A)(2). 
 
 10.  If a vehicle is not registered, titled and tagged within thirty (30) days from the date 
of transfer of ownership, a penalty shall accrue at the rate of $.25 per day, not to exceed 
$25.00.  47 O.S. Supp. 1995, § 1132(C). 
 

 OTC Order No. 2000-05-23-022 
 

3



NON - PRECEDENTIAL DECISION OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION   

 
 11.  Motor vehicle excise tax is levied and shall be collected upon the transfer of legal 
ownership of any vehicle registered in this state and upon the use of any vehicle registered 
in this state and upon the use of any vehicles registered for the first time in this state; 68 
O.S. Supp. 1997, § 2103(A)(1).  The tax is due at the time or transfer of legal ownership or 
first registration and shall be collected at the time of the issuance of a certificate of title.  68 
O.S. Supp. 1997, § 2103(A)(2).  The value of any new vehicle manufactured in the United 
States shall be determined as of the date of sale or other transfer or ownership, and 
assignment of the certificate of title shall include the manufacturer's price of such a vehicle 
delivered at the factory plus the value of all extra or optional equipment or accessories 
minus any portion of the value of such optional equipment deducted by the dealer at the 
time of the sale if such optional equipment and accessories are sold by the dealer as a 
discount package.  68 O.S. Supp. 1992, § 2104(B). 
 
 12.  The excise tax levied by Section 2103 is delinquent thirty (30) days after legal 
ownership or possession of any vehicle is obtained.  A penalty for failure to remit the excise 
tax in a timely manner accrues in the amount of $.25 per day until the excise tax is paid or 
until the penalty equals the tax.  68 O.S. Supp. 1992, § 2103(A)(2). 
 
 13.  A $25.00 service charge to cover the Motor License Agent's cost of processing the 
check was imposed.  47 O.S. 1991, § 1121.  An additional service charge was assessed 
pursuant to Section 218 of Title 68. 
 
 14.  By making application to title and register their 1997 pickup, the PROTESTANT 
AND HER SPOUSE reported to the Tax Commission that registration fees and excise 
taxes were due on the vehicle and reported the basis upon which to calculate the fees and 
taxes.  This situation is not unlike an individual reporting adjusted gross income to calculate 
an income tax liability or a vendor reporting gross receipts to calculate a sales tax liability.  
Therefore, the PROTESTANT AND HER SPOUSE admitted liability for the motor vehicle 
taxes and fees, and since payment in the form of a personal check was remitted in an 
untimely fashion and was returned insufficient funds, penalties and service charges 
provided for by statute were properly imposed.  Based on the foregoing, the taxes, fees 
and penalties in the amount of $965.50 are a valid debt of PROTESTANT to the State of 
Oklahoma. 
 
 15.  The refund of income tax in the amount of $398.00 requested by PROTESTANT 
on her income tax return was properly suspended by the Oklahoma Tax Commission in 
partial satisfaction of the debt she owes to the State of Oklahoma in the amount of 
$965.50. 
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 DISPOSITION 
 
 It WAS the DETERMINATION of the undersigned that the protest of PROTESTANT to 
the claim of the Motor Vehicle Division to the income tax refund of PROTESTANT be 
denied. 
 OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION 
 
                             
 
CAVEAT:  This decision was NOT deemed precedential by the Commission.  This means 
that the legal conclusions are not generally applicable or are limited in time and/or effect.  
Non-precedential decisions are not considered binding upon the Commission.  Thus, 
similar issues may be determined on a case-by-case basis. 
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