Confidentiality & Record Access
Information contained in Oklahoma Tax Commission vehicle/boat/outboard records are confidential under both Federal and State law. The information may be released only in certain situations to certain requesters. To apply for such information, the requester must complete a Vehicle Information Request form, denoting their reason for requesting the information. If the reason qualifies under the statutory criteria, the vehicle information may be released for a fee ranging from $1.00 to $10.00, depending upon the type of information requested.
The updated "Vehicle Information Request" Form (Form Number 769), containing instructions and a list of acceptable request criteria, is available for download on this website.
To download this form, please click here.
Effective January 1, 2011, Notarization of the requestor's signature will be required on all Vehicle Information Request Forms (form 769). Any Form 769 received on or after 1/1/11 that is not notarized will be returned.
Vehicle, boat and outboard motor records are not accessible by owner’s name.
To access a record, at least one of the following is needed:
- Vehicle identification number; Hull identification number (boat); Serial number
- Oklahoma title number
- Current Oklahoma license plate or registration decal number; Boat registration ("OK") number