This information is designed to assist business people and people thinking about operating a business in Oklahoma. What follows is meant to be basic, introductory information and should not be considered the final word in business taxes in Oklahoma. For further information, please contact one of our Taxpayer Assistance Offices or attend one of our Business Tax Workshops.
Oklahoma levies an annual franchise tax on all corporations that do business in the State. Corporations are taxed $1.25 for each $1,000 of capital invested or used in Oklahoma. Foreign corporations are additionally assessed $100 per year, payable to the Oklahoma Tax Commission, for the Secretary of State acting as their registered agent.
Oklahoma Franchise Tax is due and payable July 1st of each year unless a Franchise Election Form (Form 200-F) has been filed. The report and tax will be delinquent if not paid on or before September 15. A ten percent (10%) penalty and one and one-fourth percent (1.25%) interest per month is due on payments made after the due date. Corporations who remit the maximum amount of $20,000.00 in the preceding tax year, the tax will be due and payable on May 1st of each year and delinquent if not paid on or before June 1st. These corporations are not eligible to file Form 200-F.