New applicants seeking licensure approval shall complete the following two forms (application and affidavit of legal status) and submit to the Oklahoma State Board of Licensed Social Workers with payment of $150.00. All application materials MUST be received by the Board office THREE (3) weeks prior to the next scheduled Board meeting.
Application for Licensure (Form 301) (NOTE: If we already have a transcript on file, you do not need to submit another one as part of the application as noted in the instructions.)
Affidavit of Legal Status (Submit ONLY page one (1), or page two (2), whichever is applicable.)
In addition to completing the application and affidavit of legal status, all applicants are required to submit to a background check. You are required to go through this process with our Board even if you have recently gone through this process with an employer. Applicants need to make arrangements to get printed by their local law enforcement agency. WE NEED TWO CARDS; send those cards to us (Oklahoma State Board of Licensed Social Workers) with a $45.00 money order (THIS HAS TO BE A MONEY ORDER) made payable to the OSBI. Applicants do not need to request finger print cards from us as indicated in the instructions (applicants may use the cards provided by their local law enforcement agency), but you may request two cards from us. If you would like the Board office to send you two fingerprint cards with the instructions, email your physical mailing address to Jinna Dreessen at email@example.com; or you may call the Oklahoma State Board of Licensed Social Worker to request the finger print cards and instructions.
Background Check (Fingerprinting) (UPDATED PROCEDURES NOVEMBER 2018 - READ CAREFULLY)
Out-of-State Applicants (Applicants who are CURRENTLY licensed in another jurisdiction and re-locating to Oklahoma)
Applicants who are requesting licensure transfer from another state must complete the application, affidavit of legal status, and must submit to the background check process. In addition to those three items, applicants must complete the verification licensure form and request an ASWB score transfer request as applicable.
Verification of Licensure (Applicants will complete Part I of the form, then send to the State Board where licensure is currently held. That Board will send directly to the Oklahoma State Board of Licensed Social Workers. Applicants need to check with their State Board as their may be a processing fee associated with this this request.)
ASWB Score Transfer Request (Once the request is submitted to the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB), ASWB will forward the score transfer directly to the Oklahoma State Board of Licensed Social Workers.)
To begin the process of establishing a supervision contract, you must hold licensure at the LSWA or LMSW level. Once licensed at either of those levels, you may then submit the original Supervision Contract (Form 201), along with a copy of your job description, to the Oklahoma State Board of Licensed Social Workers. We MUST have the original contract with original signatures. Please keep copies for your records. In addition, we will need a copy of the W-4 you signed when you became employed with agency for which you are working. When your contract is approved, you will receive email notification of the approved contract along with the approval letter informing you of your effective start date.
If you are experiencing difficulty defining the "focus of supervision" for page two of the contract, please refer to the following examples. These examples should assist in helping you determine the area of focus for your supervisory experience.
Once your contract has been approved, you may begin accruing hours toward the completion of your supervision. Generally speaking, there are three evaluation periods for which you will need to submit evaluation forms. Evaluation forms are to be submitted at following intervals:
For those seeking clinical licensure, you must complete and submit the following forms for EACH evaluation period within 30 DAYS of completing the evaluation period. Comments MUST be included in all sections. All forms received by this office MUST include original signatures where appropriate.
For those seeking administrative licensure, you must complete submit the same forms for EACH evaluation period within 30 DAYS of completing the evaluation period as noted above. The only difference is that you will complete FORM 205 instead of FORM 204.
Termination of Supervision occurs for a variety of reasons, change of jobs, relocation, completion of the required number of hours, etc. If you are terminating supervision for any reason, you will need to complete and submit FORM 208 within 30 days of the termination, along with evaluation forms and supervision log for that evaluation period.
Board Approved Supervisors:
For eligibility requirements to become a Board Approved Supervisor, please review the "supervisor requirements" link.
To make application to become a Board Approved Supervisor, please fill out application and submit it to the Oklahoma State Board of Licensed Social Workers with payment of $150.00. Please note that your application MUST include detailed information demonstrating your CLINICAL supervisory work experience specific to the specialty for which you are making application, e.g., those seeking BAS approval for clinical specialty MUST describe their CLINICAL supervisory experience.
To enroll in a Supervisor Training Workshop, please complete the following form and forward to the Oklahoma State Board of Licensed Social Workers with payment of $100.00. Please note that the Supervisor Training offered by the Oklahoma State Board of Licensed Social Workers is the same for both BAS and Non-BAS Supervisors.