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OKLAHOMA STATE AND EDUCATION EMPLOYEES GROUP INSURANCE BOARD 

3545 Northwest 58th Street, Suite 110, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73112 
 1-405-717-8701 or 1-800-543-6044    

 
DECLARATION OF DEPENDENCY 

This form must be completed by a member who is requesting coverage on a child, other than 
his or her own child or stepchild, who lives with the member in a parent-child relationship and for 
whom the member is financially responsible but does not have a court order indicating adoption, 
guardianship, legal separation or divorce and the member’s most recent income tax return does 
not list the child as dependent for income tax purposes.  All questions must be answered fully.  

  New Hire    Midyear    Option Period 
 

Group ID # ______________ Division ID # ______ Group Name _______________________ 

Member’s Name              SSN or Member ID #     

Member’s Address       City     State             Zip _______                

Child’s full name         Birthdate      

Child’s SSN __________________________                           Male         Female         
 

1. What is the child’s relationship to the member?        
 

2.  Give date (month/day/year) child entered the home?        
 
      3.  If the child was not claimed on your last tax return, do you intend to claim the child on this   

year’s tax return?       
If no, explain ___________________________________________________________       
 

4. If approved, check the box(s) of coverage you wish the dependent to be enrolled.  When 
one eligible dependent is covered, all eligible dependents must be covered for all elected 
coverage.      Health      Vision      

              Dental      Dependent Life *   Premier   Standard   Low (circle one) 
 
 Requested effective date _________________ 
  
 *If you have other dependents, this child will be added to the same level of coverage.   

I have read before signing, and certify that all information provided above is true and correct, 
and that failure to provide correct information may result in denial or cancellation of dependent 
coverage and consequent denial or recoupment of claims payments.  I understand that giving 
false information to obtain insurance is a criminal act defined as fraud under Oklahoma State 
Statutes, and is punishable by fine and/or imprisonment. 
 
Member’s Signature         Date      

FOR BOARD USE ONLY 
 

  Approved       Eff. Date     Denied  
 
      
 Authorization Signature   Date 



Revised 03/02/09 

 
 

Declaration of Dependency Form 
Requirements 

 
 

The Declaration of Dependency Form is required to request health, 
dental, vision and/or life coverage on any child where the member has 
not been granted custody, adoption or guardianship by a Court and 
where the member’s most recent income tax return does not list the 
child as dependent for income tax purposes.  (The Declaration of 
Dependency form is not required if any of these conditions are met or 
if dependent is member’s natural child or stepchild.  Member should 
then follow normal OSEEGIB dependent enrollment procedures.)      
 
Member may request coverage on a child who is in their home and in which 
a parent-child relationship exists between the member and child provided 
the request is made within 30 days of the child entering their home.  If 
coverage is not requested within 30 days of the initial placement, 
current employees cannot add coverage until the next annual Option 
Period and benefit limitations may apply.  Former employees are not 
allowed to add coverage at any later date.   
 
The Declaration of Dependency Form must be submitted to and approved 
by OSEEGIB before any coverage will be allowed on a child where no 
Court order exists and where the child is not listed on member’s most 
recent income tax return.  Coverage, when approved, shall begin on the 
first day of the month following approval, and will never apply 
retroactively.    
 
The member must have basic life coverage in order to have any dependent 
life.  All other applicable eligibility requirements must be satisfied and all 
necessary premiums must be paid.  
 
Note:  The Plan retains the right to verify the dependent’s status, to request 
copies of the insured’s federal income tax returns from time to time, and to 
discontinue coverage for any dependent that is found to be ineligible for 
any reason.    
 
 
 


