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A Constitutional Board Established in 1907 

To:  All Non-Resident Licensed Pharmacies 

Date:  June 22, 2015 

Subject: Oklahoma licensed PIC requirement 
 
 

Effective November 1, 2015, new legislation will require all Oklahoma non-resident 
pharmacies to have an Oklahoma licensed pharmacist as the Pharmacist-in-Charge (PIC).    

 All pharmacy license and pharmacy license renewal applications received on or after November 
1, 2015 will require an Oklahoma licensed pharmacist in the position of Pharmacist-in-Charge.   

 
Pharmacists who wish to license by Reciprocity or NAPLEX are encouraged to review the 

Oklahoma licensure information for NAPLEX, Reciprocity & Score Transfer available at 
http://www.ok.gov/OSBP/Forms_for_Download/Pharmacists/index.html.  Questions about licensure may be 
directed to Board Registration Secretary, Rhonda Jenkins at rjenkins@pharmacy.ok.gov.  Oklahoma 
accepts reciprocation on an original license from all states that accept unrestricted reciprocation from 
Oklahoma.   California is currently the only state that does not accept unrestricted reciprocation from 
Oklahoma.    
       

The "Pharmacist-in-Charge" or "PIC" means a pharmacist licensed in Oklahoma that is responsible 
for the management, control of a pharmacy and all other aspects of the practice of pharmacy in a licensed 
pharmacy.  An Oklahoma licensed PIC for a non-resident pharmacy must also be licensed as a pharmacist 
in the state where the pharmacy is located as they must work a sufficient time at the pharmacy in order to 
assure that the pharmacy is following all regulations.          
 

It is important that PIC’s familiarize themselves with the Oklahoma regulations and rules regarding 
pharmacy.  The rules and regulations are available at http://www.ok.gov/OSBP/Rules/index.html.  The 
Oklahoma pharmacy law book is provided online at no cost in a PDF searchable format and the file can 
easily be downloaded for future reference. Pharmacists-in-Charge should also review the Board 
newsletters for changes in regulations and Board updates.  Newsletters are available at   
http://www.ok.gov/OSBP/Newsletters/index.html.   E-mail alert sign-up is available for those who wish to 
receive email updates from the Board. 

 
Please note that it is a requirement for both the Pharmacy and the Pharmacist that the Board be 

notified within 10 days of any change of the pharmacist-in-charge.  Also note that all licensed pharmacists 
must notify the Board of a change in employment or address within 10 days.  Pharmacy PIC change 
notices may be submitted to the Board by mail, e-mail or fax.  Licensed pharmacists may update their 
employment status and/or address by mail, e-mail, fax or via the online license renewal page at 
https://www.ok.gov/OSBP/renewal/index.php. 




