- News / Events
- Licensees & Applicants
- Online Services / License Lookup
- Laws & Rules
No school/course or state/national exam is required to become a pharmacy technician in Oklahoma. In order to apply for an Oklahoma pharmacy technician permit, qualified applicants must be employed by an Oklahoma licensed pharmacy and complete the pharmacy technician on-the-job training (OJT) program provided in that pharmacy.
PHARMACY TECHNICIAN OJT TRAINING
No. A pharmacy technician must have an Oklahoma pharmacy technician permit to work in an Oklahoma pharmacy. New applicants must be employed in a licensed pharmacy located in Oklahoma to be eligible to obtain and Oklahoma pharmacy technician permit.. [OAC 535:15-13-8]
You must be employed in a licensed Oklahoma pharmacy to be eligible to renew your technician permit. This does not include a licensed drug room, outsourcing facility, or physician’s office. [OAC 535:15-13-8(a)]
No. The PTCB certification is optional. It may mean a higher rate of pay depending on where you go to work but is not a requirement for you to work as a pharmacy technician in Oklahoma.
Continuing education is not required for your Oklahoma permit. However, some certifications may require continuing education.
A technician’s arrest that is not related to a violation of the Pharmacy Act must be reported to the Board of Pharmacy upon renewal of the technician’s license. [OAC 535:15-13-8(b)(1)]
OBNDD requires a pharmacy to obtain a waiver before employing any person who has any controlled drug substance related misdemeanor or felony. This would include the finding of guilt, a guilty plea, nolo contendere plea, deferred or suspended sentences or probation.
The DEA requires a waiver for any controlled drug substance related felony or a surrendered a registration for cause or in lieu of prosecution.
You will need to disclose your situation to your potential employer so that they are able to determine if they need to request a waiver from OBNDD and/or DEA. You can find more detailed information in Appendix G of the Oklahoma law book.
[Oklahoma Pharmacy Law Book: Appendix G; OAC 475:20‐1‐5(g); DEA: 21 CFR 1301.76(a)]
Yes, and the permit must be unique for each pharmacy where the technician is working. The permit cannot move around, as it has the pharmacy number signed onto it. A pharmacy technician may work in multiple pharmacies providing that they have been properly trained for each location and that the training is documented in each pharmacy.
A duplicate may be obtained from the Board upon request for a fee of $10 or may be printed online at no additional charge by technicians who have renewed online.
The State Board of Pharmacy must be notified within 10 days in writing (email, fax, mail). If you renew your license online, you may also log into your account and change your address or employment. To change your name, the Board must be notified in writing. [OAC 535:15‐13‐10]
Yes, the pharmacist must visually verify each ingredient and weight that is being added. The pharmacist must then sign off or initial that he or she has done this. The final product should as well be signed off on, by a pharmacist. [OAC 535:15‐10‐3(c)(10)]
Yes, if there are absolutely no changes to the prescription at all and it is a non-controlled medication. So if it is refilled exactly as is, you may take the refill authorization. [OAC 535:15‐13‐6 (b)(10)]
No. The law states that a licensed pharmacist must be present at all times. A pharmacist must always adequately supervise a pharmacy technician and not work or schedule them during a time where there is no pharmacist to supervise. [OAC 535:15-3-13(a)(1)]