- News / Events
- Licensees & Applicants
- Online Services / License Lookup
- Laws & Rules
Yes, non-resident pharmacies dispensing to Oklahoma residents must register with the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs (OBNDD) and submit the recipient’s identification information to the PMP. [OAC 475:45-1-2]
Registrant must enter their last name just as it is on our file including any commas, hyphens, spaces, or titles such as I, II, II, JR., SR, DDS, D.O., M.D.. Registrants can go to the Board's License Lookup page to see how it is entered on our system: https://ok.gov/pharmacy/Online_Services___License_Lookup/License_Lookup/index.html.
For most payments a field must be completed after the payment information is entered. It is easy to enter through this field by mistake. If you do, you will remain on the payment screen. If this happens, please slow down and read the screen following payment entry. Enter the required information before selecting the enter key. This is important when paying online for licenses; often there is no other place where the applicant is identified.
Error messages often appear at the top of the screen in red. If you don’t see an error message, scroll to the top of the page and check if you see any error messages at the top of the page.
If you are trying to renew online and you get the message that your license or permit has been placed on tax hold by the Oklahoma Tax Commission (OTC), this means it’s illegal for the Board to renew your license or permit until the OTC removes the hold. Contact OTC at 405-522-6800 to get the hold released. OTC sends the Board releases overnight. If you are not released within 48 hours of the OTC release, please contact the Board office.
There are many simple reasons for a tax hold. For example, a person may be out of the labor market and doesn’t work enough in a year to need to file a tax return or a person is new to Oklahoma and has not filed an Oklahoma tax return in prior years. Frequently a phone call to OTC resolves these issues. More complex issues can take some time to resolve.
Registrants should receive a notice from OTC about 6 months before a tax hold is sent to the Board from OTC. Be sure to contact OTC if you get any correspondence from them and resolve the issue before it interrupts the renewal of your license or permit. Keep OTC advised of your current address to ensure you get their correspondence.
OTC stays short staffed with the budget cuts. You might have to spend some time on the phone to get issues resolved.
No. A wholesale distributor of any kind, including a veterinary wholesale distributor, may not operate from a place of residence. [OAC 535:20-7-3(f)]
The PIC shall be present and practicing at the pharmacy for which he/she holds the PIC position no less than 20 hours per week during the pharmacy's ordinary course of business. In the event the pharmacy's normal hours of business are less than 40 hours per week the PIC shall be present and practicing at least fifty (50) percent of the normal business hours. A PIC shall work sufficient hours in the pharmacy to exercise control and meet the responsibilities of a pharmacy manager, which are: supervision of all employees as they relate to the practice of pharmacy, establish policies and procedures for safekeeping of pharmaceuticals that satisfy the Board’s requirements including a security provision for when the pharmacy is closed, maintain a proper record keeping system for the purchase, sale, delivery, possession, storage, and safekeeping of drugs, proper display of all licenses, annual controlled drug inventory and maintenance of prescription files. [OAC 535:15-3-2(b)(4)]
Yes. A virtual manufacturer whose product is being shipped into Oklahoma must be licensed with the Board. A virtual manufacturer is an entity who holds an application for a product, contracts with another to manufacturer their product, or promotes or markets a drug from a manufacturer. The virtual manufacturer doesn’t physically touch these products. [OAC 535:20-3-3(a)]
A 3PL license allows for distribution of the products that are being stored in the facility and therefore does not require a wholesale distributor license.
Yes. Effective November 1, 2018 any license holder that ships CDS into the State of Oklahoma must be registered with OBN. Please call 405-521-2885 for further information.
A medical gas permit would be required to sell medical gas. There are two types of medical gas permits: supplier and distributor.
A supplier permit allows the sale of medical gas to patients by prescription. The business must maintain a copy of the prescription for each patient. The prescription is valid for one year and must be kept for 5 years.
A distributor permit allows the sale of medical gas to patients, hospitals, physicians, and/or licensed gas suppliers. A distributor must keep an updated copy of a supplier’s medical gas license or practitioner’s practice license on file.
The FDA requires that invoices and dispensing records be kept on medical gases for two years after the last distribution of that particular lot number.
Yes, a drug diversion prevention plan is required for all prescription products. There is a guide on the Board of Pharmacy’s website to assist with creating a written plan. https://www.ok.gov/pharmacy/documents/DRUG DIVERSION D&P_GUIDE.pdf. [OAC 535:15-3-2(f)]
Yes. A change in location requires a new license application for all pharmacies and facilities licensed in Oklahoma..
A new license must be issued and an inspection performed (in-state only) before any drugs are moved or stored at the new location.
[OAC 535:25-3-7, Oklahoma Pharmacy Law Book Appendix B]
A change in name or change of owner requires a new license application for all pharmacies and facilities licensed in Oklahoma. See https://ok.gov/pharmacy/documents/Pharmacy Change Guidelines.pdf.
1) An Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy application for the appropriate license shall be completed and sent to the Board as soon as possible. If a Pharmacy/Facility in Oklahoma is not ready for inspection at the time they submit application, a letter of explanation must be included. This is imperative to ensure the current license isn't cancelled to issue the new license if you are not ready.
2) If registered, the facility should notify the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs (OBNDD) and the Federal Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) in writing at least fourteen (14) days in advance.
3) In the case of a change of ownership, dangerous drugs, controlled dangerous substances and prescription files may be transferred to the new owner. An inventory of all controlled dangerous substances (CDS) must be taken on the date of the transfer and a copy sent to the Board of Pharmacy. The inventory copy shall serve as the final inventory of the previous owner and the initial inventory of the new owner and must be maintained in the facility.
4) No CDS inventory is required if there is a change of location or name with no change of ownership.
No. A change of DBA is considered a change of name and requires a new license application. [OAC 535:25-3-7]
No, not at this time. The Board only regulates prescription drugs. Unless the device you are selling contains a prescription drug or medical gas, no license is required.
Must be licensed in home state
Must be licensed in home state
Must have an Oklahoma licensed PIC
Must be inspected within the last 2 years by home Board of Pharmacy or Oklahoma Board of Pharmacy approved organization
Must contact OBNDD for controlled substance registration and PMP information.
*If Pharmacy is applying for Sterile Compounding permit, the latest inspection report MUST be included with initial application and each subsequent annual renewal application.
Manufacturer or Repackager: (https://www.ok.gov/pharmacy/documents/Manufacturer App.pdf) (https://www.ok.gov/pharmacy/documents/Repackager App.pdf)
Must be licensed in their home state
Must be registered with the FDA
Medical gas supplier or distributor: (https://www.ok.gov/pharmacy/documents/MGS app.pdf) (https://www.ok.gov/pharmacy/documents/MGD app.pdf)
Must be licensed in home state
Must be registered with FDA if transfilling
Outsourcing facility: (https://www.ok.gov/pharmacy/documents/Outsourcing Facility App.pdf)
Must be licensed with home state
Must be licensed with FDA
Must have Oklahoma licensed PIC
You must complete a Continuing Education Evaluation Application (https://www.ok.gov/pharmacy/documents/CE_Evaluation.pdf) AND submit an agenda/brochure (no other accepted forms) to support the program. Your application will be rejected if supporting evidence (e.g. agenda/brochure) is not included. PowerPoint presentations are not accepted.