- Licensees & Applicants
- News / Events
- Online Services / License Lookup
- Laws & Rules
Governor Mary Fallin has declared a disaster emergency in the State of Oklahoma in response to those gulf coast states affected by Hurricane Harvey.
Pharmacies are allowed to emergency fill medications for displaced people.
Please see OAC 535:13 (Emergency/Disaster Prescription Drug Rules) for specific rules.
The declaration of emergency will terminate 30 days from today.
2017 Pharmacist CE Conference
Review of USP <800> - September 22, 2017
The Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy will be hosting a half-day continuing education conference on Friday, September 22, 2017. This event, including lunch, is being funded entirely by the Board to further its mission of protecting the health, safety and welfare of the citizens of Oklahoma.
A review of USP Chapter <800> will be presented by Heith A. Crosby, Pharm.D., Ph.D., RCCP-SCF (Registered Cleanroom Certification Professional in Sterile Compounding Facilities). The program is approved for three (3) hours of Board approved continuing education. Lunch is included with registration and will be served at noon with the program starting promptly at 1:00 p.m. Attendance is limited to the first 300 pharmacists who register.
Date & Location:
Friday, September 22, 2017
Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame Event Center
4040 N Lincoln Blvd
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Lunch: (no cost- included with free registration)
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Reservations will be accepted on a first-come basis. Email the following information to email@example.com to reserve a spot:
VIEW CONFERENCE FLYER:
OSBP 2017 Pharmacist CE Conference
The Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy is accepting applications for two (2) positions of
Pharmacist Compliance Officer
Central / Northeast Oklahoma
Central / Southwest Oklahoma
Closing Date: Friday, August 18, 2017
Click the following link to view position requirements, application filing procedures, and job description: DPH Compliance Officer Job Announcement
Program notes for the Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy (OSBP) programs that were presented in conjunction with the 2016 OPhA Fall District Meetings are available for download:
"Pharmacy Law Update - 2016"
"What Pharmacists Need to Know about Training Technicians"
The 2016 Oklahoma Pharmacy Law Book is now available online. The new law book contains laws & rules as effective September 11, 2016 and certain laws as effective November 1, 2016. Printed law books will be availalbe October 1, 2016 and may be purchased for $10 each while supplies last. Online order may be placed via the "Online Store". (also see "Laws & Rules" page)
APRN Prescribing - The Board would like to remind hospital pharmacists that Advance Practice Registered Nurses (APRN) are not allowed to prescribe C-II's, even under physician protocols in a hospital. There has been some information circulated recently that indicates otherwise, so we want to make sure that hospital pharmacists are adequately informed. Click here to view the Oklahoma Board of Nursing Letter and Attorney General Opinion.
MEMO to All Medical Gas Suppliers & Medical Gas Distributors. (click to view)
FRAUDULENT PRESCRIPTION FORM (click to view) - In an effort to reduce prescription fraud and abuse, the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs (OBNDD) has provided an avenue to report fraudulent prescriptions to their Compliance Division. If you would like to report a fraudulent prescription to the OBNDD, please complete this form and fax it to the phone number provided. A link to this form is also available under "Related Links".
OPTOMETRIST RX'S FOR HYDROCODONE CONTAINING MEDICATIONS:
Oklahoma pharmacies my fill prescriptions written by doctors of optometry (optometrists) for Hydrocodone containing medications for up to a 5 day supply by virtue of a state law which went into effect November 1, 2014.
59 OS Sect 581 (B). The practice of optometry shall also include the prescribing of dangerous drugs and controlled dangerous substances for all schedules specified in the Uniform Controlled Dangerous Substances Act except Schedules I and II but allowing for the prescribing of hydrocodone or hydrocodone-containing drugs regardless of schedule for a period not exceeding five (5) days of supply, and the issuance of refills for such prescriptions following sufficient physical examination of the patient for the purpose of diagnosis and treatment of ocular abnormalities. The practice of optometry shall not include the dispensing of drugs but may include the dispensing of professional samples to patients.
E-PRESCRIBING OF CDS:
E-Prescribing of CII and CIII-V is permitted as long as the pharmacy and prescriber are EPCS (E-Prescribing of Controlled Substances) certified. A pharmacy whose software is EPCS certified will recognize other EPCS certified software and will accept CDS prescriptions from those prescribers who are also EPCS certified or reject those who are not.
Faxed prescriptions are not the same as electronic prescriptions. Faxed or written CDS prescriptions must bear the manual signature of the prescriber. They cannot bear a stamped, computer-generated signature, or “electronic signature on file”.
C-II prescriptions may not be faxed except under the exceptions allowed for hospice and LTCF patients. Please see OAC 475:30-1-4(f)(3) for complete rules.
NATIONAL TRANSPORTATION SAFETY BOARD (NTSB) ANNOUNCEMENT (click to view): On September 23, 2014, the NTSB issued a Safety Recommendation highlighting the importance of licensed health care providers and pharmacists routinely discussing with patients the effect their diagnosed medical conditions or recommended drugs may have on their ability to safely operate a vehicle in any mode of transportation.
NOTICE OF HYDROCODONE RESCHEDULE EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 6, 2014 (click to view): All products containing Hydrocodone will be rescheduled as a Schedule II (C-II) beginning October 6, 2014. To make the transition easier, the Board, working with multiple agencies, has summarized the essential information pertaining to the change. This summary is designed for the convenience of both pharmacists and practitioners and should be shared as necessary. Pharmacists should make an effort to share with all pharmacy staff.
TRAMADOL UPDATE: Tramadol will become a federally controlled Schedule IV beginning August 18, 2014. Though Tramadol has been a controlled substance in the State of Oklahoma since November 1, 2012, the DEA is requiring that pharmacies take an inventory of all Tramadol and Tramadol-containing products on AUGUST 18, 2014. The inventory must be kept on file in the pharmacy.
PSE questions & answers for pharmacies selling PSE. (click to view)
DEA Policy Statement on Role of Agents in Communicating CS Prescriptions:
Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) issued a statement of policy that clarifies the proper role of a duly authorized agent of a DEA-registered individual practitioner in communicating controlled substance (CS) prescription information to a pharmacy. The statement, published October 6, 2010, in the Federal Register, reminds health care providers that a prescription for a CS medication must be issued by a DEA-registered practitioner acting in the usual course of professional practice. Such a practitioner may authorize an agent to “perform a limited role in communicating such prescriptions to a pharmacy in order to make the prescription process more efficient,” and the guidance emphasizes that medical determinations to prescribe CS medications may be made by the practitioner only. The specific circumstances in which an agent may assist in communicating prescription information to a pharmacy are detailed and include:
♦♦ An authorized agent may prepare the prescription, based on the instructions of the prescribing practitioner, for the signature of that DEA-registered practitioner.
♦♦ For a Schedule III-V drug, an authorized agent may transmit a practitioner-signed prescription to a pharmacy via facsimile, or may communicate the prescription orally to a pharmacy on behalf of the practitioner.
♦♦ An authorized agent may transmit by facsimile a practitioner signed Schedule II prescription for a patient in a hospice or long-term care facility (LTCF) on behalf of the practitioner.
The guidance also makes clear that generally, Schedule II prescriptions may not be transmitted by facsimile and that hospice and LTCFs are exceptions. Further,Schedule II prescriptions may only be communicated orally by the DEA-registered practitioner and only in emergency situations. DEA stresses that the practitioner should decide who may act as his or her authorized agent and advises that such designation be established in writing. An example written agreement is included in the policy statement, along with additional guidance related to designating an authorized agent. DEA also notes that as electronic prescribing for CS is implemented and its use increases, the role of the agent in communicating CS prescriptions will likely be reduced over time. The DEA policy statement is available on the Federal Register Web site at www.federalregister.gov/articles/2010/10/06/2010-25136/roleof-authorized-agents-in-communicating-controlled-substanceprescriptions-to-pharmacies.
EFFECTIVE IMMEDIATELY the following ID's are allowed in Oklahoma for PSE:
State Issued Driver's License
State Issued ID Card
If, and only if, a patient has none of these types of ID, such as a nursing home patient, then you may use a social security number to submit for PSE and PMP. For the purpose of accepting ID’s, please refer to the following definition: “State” means any state, territory, or possession of the United States, the District of Columbia, or foreign nation.
Any questions concerning PSE requirements should be directed to the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics at 405-521-2885.