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To:  Each Jurisdictional Entity That Collects Construction Permit Fees in the State of Oklahoma 
 
A new state law was passed in June of 2009 creating the Uniform Building Code Commission.  The purpose of the new 
Uniform Building Code Commission is to establish a set of minimum building code standards that would be enforced 
throughout the State of Oklahoma.   
 
It will take some time in order to establish all of the procedural rules and policies of the Uniform Building Code 
Commission and set up the Technical Committees required to review and adopt the minimum building code standards. A 
website address has been established, but at the present time the website will be “under construction”. 
 
The law also established that a fee would be collected on all construction or building permits to be paid into the 
Oklahoma Uniform Building Code Commission Revolving Fund by any jurisdictional entity within the State of 
Oklahoma issuing construction or building permits.  A letter from the State Treasurer authorizing the OUBCC to collect 
these funds is also attached. 
 
Pursuant to State Statute 59 O.S. SS 1000.23 and 1000.25 also known as the Uniform Building Code Commission Act; 
and in accordance to the Emergency Rules Title 748 of the Uniform Building Code Commission (UBCC) signed into 
effect by Governor Brad Henry on January 12, 2010, you are required to collect a $4.00 (four dollars) fee for each 
construction or building permit issued by your office as defined in the attached draft of the UBCC Emergency Rules. 
 
You are to begin collection of this fee for each permit issued after April 1, 2010.  Beginning May 1, 2010 you are to 
remit the monies collected for the preceding month to the address listed below: 
  

Oklahoma Uniform Building Code Commission  
 P.O. Box 268946, Oklahoma City, OK  73126-8946 
 (Note:  This address is different from normal mailing address) 
 Telephone:  (405) 271-1595    
 
Payments to the Oklahoma Uniform Building Code Commission Revolving Fund shall be due on the twentieth (20th) day 
of each month for the fees collected during the preceding calendar month.  There shall be a late fee imposed for failure to 
make timely payments.  The late fee shall be one percent (1%) of the principal amount due per day beginning from the 
tenth day after payment is due and accumulating until the late fee reaches one hundred percent (100%) of the principal 
amount due. 
 
As established in the State Statute, each jurisdictional entity is allowed to collect up to an additional $.50 (fifty cents) as 
an administrative fee on each permit reported. 
 
The attached Jurisdictional Entity Permit Fee Report (or an electronic digital form as may be created) will accompany 
your check or money order for fees collected every month.  This form shall be sent every month even if no monies were 
collected for the preceding month. 
 
Also attached, are examples indicating permit fee calculations in some hypothetical situations. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
David Timberlake, Chairman 

 
 
 



OKLAHOMA UNIFORM BUILDING CODE COMMISSION  
 
EXAMPLES OF PERMIT FEE CALCULATION 
 
These are only examples of a few of the unlimited number of possible situations encountered. 
 
1.   New Single Family Residence:   Building permit  $4.00 
     Plumbing permit $4.00 
     HVAC permit  $4.00 
     Electrical permit $4.00____ 
                  Total:              $16.00 Fee 
 
2.  HVAC Replacement in an Existing Single Family Residence (requiring new electrical disconnect and  
     installation of a floor drain for condensate): 
     Plumbing permit $4.00 
     HVAC permit  $4.00 
     Electrical permit $4.00____ 
                  Total:              $12.00 Fee 
 
3.  Multi-Family Apartment Complex (consisting of 3 buildings – each with an automatic fire suppression  
     system and separate utility metering for each of the 8 units in each building): 
     Building permits  $4.00  x 3 =   $12.00 
     Plumbing permits  $4.00  x 24 = $96.00 
     HVAC permits   $4.00  x 24 = $96.00 
     Electrical permits  $4.00  x 24 = $96.00 
     Fire protection permits   $4.00  x 3 =   $12.00____ 
                  Total:                                           $312.00 Fee 
 
4.  Commercial Office Building (with an automatic fire suppression system): 
     Building permit  $4.00 
     Plumbing permit $4.00 
     HVAC permit  $4.00 
     Electrical permit $4.00 
     Fire protection permit $4.00____ 
                  Total:              $20.00 Fee 
 
5.  Complete demolition and remodel of an existing retail tenant space in a strip shopping center:    
     Building permit  $4.00 
     Plumbing permit $4.00 
     HVAC permit  $4.00 
     Electrical permit $4.00____ 
                  Total:              $16.00 Fee 
 
6.  Public school in a jurisdiction with a fee waived for permits and inspections on public schools.  In this 
     example, the jurisdiction is collecting no money for permits or inspections on this construction project: 
 
                  Total:                    $0.00 Fee 
 

(If the jurisdiction has an ordinance in place that certain construction permits will be “FEE WAIVED”     
on specific projects, then no permit fee will be assessed by the OUBCC). 
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FOR THE MONTHLY COLLECTION PERIOD OF ____________________ 
 
 NUMBER OF 

PERMITS 
FEE TOTAL 

FEE 
Residential building permits  $4.00  
Residential plumbing permits  $4.00  
Residential mechanical permits   $4.00  
Residential electrical permits  $4.00  
Commercial building permits  $4.00  
Commercial plumbing permits  $4.00  
Commercial mechanical permits  $4.00  
Commercial electrical permits  $4.00  
Fire protection system permits  $4.00  
Swimming pool permits  $4.00  
Permit fees waived by jurisdiction  $0.00  

Total Permits Issued   Total Fee Remitted  
    

Total number of collection fees imposed                   $0.  
 

Monthly reports are required even if no fees were collected. 
Received From: 
 Jurisdiction: _____________________________________________ 
 Address: _____________________________________________ 
   _____________________________________________ 
 Contact Person: ____________________________________________ 
 Telephone: _____________________ Fax: ______________________ 
 Email: ___________________________________________________ 
Make check or money order (do not send cash) payable to:  
 Oklahoma Uniform Building Code Commission  
 P. O. Box 268946, Oklahoma City, OK  73126-8946 
 (Note:  This address is different from normal mailing address) 
 Telephone:  (405) 271-1595   
  
Payments to the Oklahoma Uniform Building Code Commission shall be due on the twentieth (20th) 
day of each month for the fees collected during the preceding calendar month.  There shall be a late 
fee imposed for failure to make timely payments.  The late fee shall be one percent (1%) of the 
principal amount due per day beginning from the tenth day after payment is due and accumulating 
until the late fee reaches one hundred percent (100%) of the principal amount due. 
 


