
SELF-DEFENSE ACT (SDA) 

APPLICATION WORKSHEET 

First-time Self-Defense Act applicants will need the following to apply for a handgun license in Oklahoma: 

 Original, signed Certificate of Training indicating weapon type 

  Driver License or State Issued Identification Card 

 Military Orders indicating Oklahoma as the permanent duty station (required only if Driver License or State Issued 

Identification Card is other than State of Oklahoma) 

  Address Information for the past three years, including current physical address within the State of Oklahoma 

   Proof of Citizenship (required only if born outside of the United States – we accept valid U.S. Passports, Citizenship or 

Naturalization Papers, or Certificate of Birth Born Abroad of U.S. Citizen) 

 Fees:  $100 for 5 year license; $200 for 10 year license (You may pay by Cashier’s Check or Money Order.  

Applications submitted online may also pay by Credit Card or Electronic Funds Transfer.) 

 Two current, passport style, Color Photos of your head and shoulders, facing forward, with a white or light colored 

background.  No hats or glasses allowed.  Applications submitted online may include a single, digital photo. 

The following questions will be used to determine if an applicant meets the eligibility requirements: 

1. Are you a U.S. citizen? 

2. Are you currently or have you previously served in the U.S. Military? (If yes, you will be asked to provide a 

copy of your current military orders or DD214 for the most recent discharge, if available and indicate 

which branch of service.) 

3. Do you have an Oklahoma Driver License or Oklahoma State Identification Card? 

4. If you answered “NO” to the previous question, are you or your spouse active duty military permanently stationed 

within Oklahoma?  (If yes, you will be required to provide a copy of the current orders.) 

5. Do you maintain a residence within the State of Oklahoma? 

6. Have you ever received a dishonorable discharge from the military? 

7. Do you have a felony conviction? 

8. Do you currently have a felony charge pending? 

9. Are you currently serving, or have you in the last 3 years served, a deferred sentence or deferred prosecution for a 

felony offense? 

10. In the last 10 years, did you receive a felony adjudication as a delinquent?  Pursuant to the Oklahoma Juvenile 

Code, delinquents are under the age of 18 when the crime is committed. 

11. Do you live with an adjudicated delinquent or convicted felon?  (If yes, you will be required to provide the name, date 

of birth, and social security number of felon and/or delinquent and where the offense occurred.)  

12. Are you subject to an outstanding felony warrant? 

13. Are you subject to an outstanding misdemeanor or traffic warrant?  (This includes bench warrants for failure to 

appear or failure to pay.) 

14. Do you have a misdemeanor conviction for assault and battery which caused serious physical injury to the victim? (If 

yes, you will be asked what your relationship to the victim is.)  

15. Do you have a misdemeanor charge pending for assault and battery which caused serious physical injury to the 

victim? (If yes, you will be asked what your relationship to the victim is.) 

16. Are you currently serving, or have you in the last 3 years served, a deferred sentence or deferred prosecution for a 

misdemeanor assault and battery which caused serious physical injury to the victim? (If yes, you will be asked what 

your relationship to the victim is.) 

17. Do you have 2 or more misdemeanor convictions for assault and battery? (If yes, you will be asked what your 

relationship to the victim is.) 

18. Do you have a misdemeanor charge pending for assault and battery and a previous conviction for assault and 

battery? (If yes, you will be asked what your relationship to the victim is.) 

19. Are you currently serving, or have you in the last 3 years served, a deferred sentence or deferred prosecution for a 

second misdemeanor assault and battery charge? (If yes, you will be asked what your relationship to the victim is.) 



20. Do you have a misdemeanor conviction for aggravated assault and battery? (If yes, you will be asked what your 

relationship to the victim is.) 

21. Do you have a misdemeanor charge pending for aggravated assault and battery? (If yes, you will be asked what your 

relationship to the victim is.) 

22. Are you currently serving, or have you in the last 3 years served, a deferred sentence or deferred prosecution for 

misdemeanor aggravated assault and battery? (If yes, you will be asked what your relationship to the victim is.) 

23. Do you have a conviction for domestic abuse? 

24. Do you have a misdemeanor charge pending for domestic abuse? 

25. Are you currently serving, or have you in the last 3 years served, a deferred sentence or deferred prosecution for 

misdemeanor domestic abuse? 

26. Do you have a misdemeanor conviction for stalking? 

27. Do you have a misdemeanor charge pending for stalking? 

28. Are you currently serving, or have you in the last 3 years served, a deferred sentence or deferred prosecution for 

misdemeanor stalking? 

29. Do you unlawfully use, or are you addicted to, any controlled substance? 

30. Do you have a misdemeanor conviction for illegal drug use or possession? 

31. Do you have a misdemeanor charge pending for illegal drug use or possession? 

32. Are you currently serving, or have you in the last 3 years served, a deferred sentence or deferred prosecution for a 

misdemeanor involving illegal drug use or possession? 

33. Have you had inpatient treatment for substance abuse in the last 3 years?  If you answer “YES”, your doctor will 

need to complete a Substance Abuse Treatment Certification certifying your eligibility. 

34. Have you had 2 or more convictions for public intoxication, with the most recent conviction being within the last 3 

years?   

35. Have you had 2 or more misdemeanor convictions relating to intoxication or driving under the influence of an 

intoxicating substance or alcohol, with the most recent conviction being within the last 3 years?  If you answer 

“YES”, your doctor will need to complete an Alcohol Convictions Certification Form certifying your eligibility. 

36. Have you ever had a final victim protective order granted against you? (If yes, you will be asked what your 

relationship to the victim is.) 

37. Are you subject to a court order preventing you from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner or child 

of an intimate partner? 

38. Do you have a misdemeanor conviction for violating a protective order? (If yes, you will be asked what your 

relationship to the victim is.) 

39. Do you have a misdemeanor charge pending for violating a protective order? (If yes, you will be asked what your 

relationship to the victim is.) 

40. Are you currently serving, or have you in the last 3 years served, a deferred sentence or deferred prosecution for a 

misdemeanor for violating a protective order? (If yes, you will be asked what your relationship to the victim is.) 

41. Have you ever been adjudicated as an incompetent person in a court of law? 

42. Have you ever been involuntarily committed for a mental illness, condition, or disorder? 

43. In the last 10 years, have you attempted suicide or had other condition(s) relating to or indicating mental instability 

or an unsound mind? 

44. Are you currently undergoing or have you in the last 3 years undergone treatment by a licensed physician for a 

mental illness, condition or disorder?  For purposes of the application, "undergoing treatment for a mental illness, 

condition, or disorder" means the person has been diagnosed by a licensed physician as being afflicted with a 

substantial disorder of thought, mood, perception, psychological orientation, or memory that significantly impairs 

judgment, behavior, capacity to recognize reality, or ability to meet the ordinary demands of life.  If you answer 

“YES”, your treating physician will need to complete a Mental Health Certification Form certifying your eligibility.  If 

form is not submitted with application, one will be mailed to you upon receipt of the application. 

If you answer “Yes” to Questions 7 – 40, you will need to provide the following information and provide supporting 

documents where available:  Charges/Orders, Arresting Agencies and/or Courts of Record (including city, county, 

and state) and Dispositions. 

 



 

Apply Online at  www.ok.gov/osbi/Handgun_Licensing 

or download an application from the OSBI website, request by email at sda@osbi.ok.gov or by phone 

at (405) 879-2690 (select prompt 1, then 2), or pick up at any county sheriff’s office in Oklahoma. 

mailto:sda@osbi.ok.gov

