
Guidelines for Professional Boxing & MMA Events 

   
This memorandum is to again define your responsibilities before, during and after a 
professional boxing, professional or amateur mma event, which is governed by Title 3A 
of the Oklahoma Statutes.  Hopefully, this will assist you in the promotion of your 
events in accordance with the Oklahoma State Athletic Commission, (office) statutes 
and regulations.   
  

I.                  PERMITS 

  
An original copy of the permit for an event must be in the office five (5) business days  
prior to the event.  Faxed copies are not acceptable as an executed copy, because no 
fee is received at the time of submission.  No advertising shall be done before a 
permit is approved by the office.   
  

II.               PROOF OF MEDICAL INSURANCE 

  
Pursuant to the Professional Boxing Safety Act 1996 and Oklahoma Administrative Code 
(OAC) 92, each promoter must provide a certificate of proof of medical insurance for 
each contestant.  The minimum coverage at this time is $10,000 medical and $10,000 
death benefit.  The proof of insurance must be received in the Office before the 
event may occur.   
  

II.           APPROVAL OF BOUTS 

  
It is necessary for the Office to have the lineup for your event at least three (5) 
business days in advance, in order to allow sufficient time to clear contestants and to 
ensure they are eligible to participate in the event.  Any substitutes after the lineup has 
been submitted to our office will also need to be approved and cleared accordingly, 
before they can participate.  If time does not permit a proper clearance, we 
cannot allow a contestant to participate in the event.  You may verify if a boxer 
is on suspension by going to www.fightfax.com click on the “suspension list” to view 
suspended boxers for a nominal fee or call Fight Fax at 856/396-0533.  You may verify 
if an MMA contestant is on suspension by going to abc.mixedmartialarts.com or calling 
MMA.LLC 508-443-3376 and set up an account for a nominal fee.  Listed below are 
the criteria for approval of a contestant.  Fighters must meet these criteria to 
be eligible to participate in boxing in the State of Oklahoma. 
  

(A)           A fighter who has lost their last ten (10) bouts by decision, 
technical knockout, or  knockout shall not be approved to box in a 
bout unless special requirements have been met; 

 

(B)           Any fighter who has lost their last five (5) bouts by technical 
knockout or knockout, not to include TKO or KO by a body shot, 

http://www.fightfax.com/


shall not be approved to fight in a bout; unless special medical tests 
have been completed. 

(C)          Any boxer with less than three (3) professional bouts may not box 
in a bout scheduled for more than four (4) rounds, 

(D)          All boxers’ and mma participants records must be verified through 
the national boxing or mma registry, which is approved by the 
Association of Boxing Commissions.   
 

  
IV.             ASSIGNMENT OF OFFICIALS 

  
The office will select the physicians, timekeeper, judges, and referees for each event.  
The promoter is responsible for paying the compensation set by the office for the 
professional services of these officials.  The office has the final determination on the 
selection for all officials, as well as the selection of the physician for each event.   
  

V.                COMPENSATION FOR OFFICIALS           
  
The base rates for officials assigned to club shows are listed below.  These amounts 
may be adjusted based upon, attendance, gate receipts, length of show, title fights and 
distance traveled by the official.  The office may also require the promoter to provide 
hotel rooms and travel expenses including mileage, when necessary for officials.  A 
travel allowance may also be assessed in addition to the base fee. 
  
Referees      $300 

Judges         $200 

Timekeeper  $150 

Physician      $500 *** 
 ***For televised shows two physicians are mandatory.  For non-televised shows 
one physician is required, but if the promoter options to use only one physician, the 
promoter assumes the responsibility of refunding the admission fee to all ticket holders 
and paying all Commission and official fees in full if the event has to be cut short 
because the physician has to attend to a fighter or the physician has to escort a fighter 
to a treatment facility.  A delay of 30 minutes will constitute the remainder of the event 
being cancelled.  A bout cannot begin without a physician being seated at 
ring/cage side.        
  
The pay rates for officials for television shows shall be higher.  The pay structure for 
the officials involved in title fights will follow the sanctioning body’s published fee 
schedule for the payment of officials.  If the sanctioning body does not have a 
published fee schedule, the office will make the final determination on the amount of 
compensation for officials.  The Office may also require the promoter to provide hotel 
rooms for officials and travel expenses, including mileage, when necessary for all title 
fight officials.   



  
VI.             EQUIPMENT PROVIDED BY THE PROMOTER 

  
The promoter must provide equipment needed for the event as outlined in the 
regulations, which includes, but is not limited to: ring, stools, towels, water, buckets, 
gloves, gauze and tape for hand wraps.  The office will provide a certified scale.  The 
promoter must verify that their gloves are in good physical condition or they will not be 
used.  The promoter should have a set of gloves for each fight.  A different set of 
gloves must be used for each bout.  High stools must be provided for the judges at 
ringside for each event.  
  
    VII.     Tickets and fees  
  
There are several changes impacting this rule that will require the promoter to provide 
more information to the OSAC (Office) to calculate the fees based upon the gate 
receipts.   
  
 

 The right of admission to a contest of professional boxing, professional wrestling, 
professional kickboxing, amateur and professional MMA shall not be sold to a 
person unless that person is provided with a ticket. 

 

 An inventory of all the tickets must be submitted to the Office with the permit 
application.  The inventory must include all of the tickets that are printed for the 
event.   

  
 Each ticket must have the price, name of the promoter as licensed with the 

Office and the date of the event.  
  

 A promoter shall not issue complimentary tickets for more than four 
percent (4%) of the seats in the house without the office’s written 
authorization.    If the office approves the issuance of complimentary 
tickets over and above the four percent (4%) cap, the complimentary 
tickets are exempt from the athletic tax.  All complimentary tickets 
must indicate on the ticket that it’s  a complimentary ticket and its 
value had the ticket actually been purchased. 

  
 All fee payments must be made within 72 hours of the conclusion of the event.   

 
VIII.         COLLECTION OF TICKETS AND CALCULATION OF ATHLETIC FEES 

  
The promoter must set forth the proper procedures for their employees and/or 
designated staff to place each ticket stub in a lock box, in order for the tickets to be 
available for the Commission inspector to count.  The promoter, or the designee, may 



be present when the tickets are counted to verify the 5% athletic fee.  The promoter 
should be prepared to pay the 5% athletic fee as soon as the tickets are counted and 
fees are calculated, if at all possible.  Within 72 hours after a contest the promoter shall 
pay the state athletic fee to the office. 
  

IX.      PAYMENT OF LICENSE FEES, ((INCLUDING FEDERAL 
IDENTIFICATION CARD FEES 

  
The promoter must notify the office representative if the license fees for the 
contestants and seconds will be deducted from the fighter’s purse.  If so, the promoter 
must be prepared to pay for the license fees prior to the start of the event.  The 
promoter will also be responsible for the licenses of the participants who have made 
application, but have not made payment for their license.  
  

X.             CREDENTIALS 

  
Credentials shall only be issued to: 
  

Contestants, promoters, officials, members of the media, Officials of Oklahoma, 
designated representatives of the office and to those actual and necessary 
persons working at the exhibition, arena or facility. 

  
XI.                LICENSE ON PERSON  

  
Each participant is to have their Office of Athletics’ license with them.  If he/she cannot 
provide their license, they may be required to purchase one.   
  

XII.             FEDERAL IDENTIFIDCATION CARDS (Boxing) 

  
Federal Identification Cards can only be issued to residents of the State of 
Oklahoma, boxers from states without boxing commissions or foreign 
boxers.  The office cannot issue Federal Identification Cards to anyone from a state 
with a boxing commission, no exceptions, (Federal Law).  When the matchmaker 
contacts a boxer, the matchmaker must verify from the boxer that they have a Federal 
Identification Card and it is not expired. 
 
      XIIa. MMA NATIONAL IDENTIFICATION CARDS 
 
National Mixed Martial Arts Identification Cards can be issued to participants regardless 
of residence.  All MMA participants must have their National MMA Identification card in 
their possession at weigh in.    
  

XIII.         WEIGHINS 

  



The promoter and office should agree upon a weigh-in time and date.   It is the 
promoter’s responsibility to ensure all contestants are present at the designated time 
and place.  The boxers who are late, or fail to show up at the designated time, may be 
denied the ability to participate in the event, be fined, be suspended or all three.   
  

XIV.      PHYSICALS 

  
Physicals must be completed at least one half hour prior to the event.  Fights that 
involve television shall complete physicals the day before the fight at a time designated 
by the office.  Physicals should be completed as early as possible because some boxers 
may not pass the pre-fight physical, therefore, the boxer will not be allowed to 
participate in the event.  If the doctor determines a boxer cannot participate, the boxer 
will not be allowed to participate under any circumstances.  This is for the health and 
safety of the boxer. 
 A.  As of January 1st 2012 before a fighter can be licensed he must 
provide the office with a copy of a negative HIV, HEP B, and HEP C test.  No 
fighter will be allowed to compete without accomplishing this. 
 
 
 

  
XV.       AMBULANCE AND MEDICAL PERSONNEL 

  
The promoter must provide medical personnel and an ambulance before an event will 
commence.  Boxing events will not begin, or continue, without an ambulance 
on site during the entire event. Also, the assigned physician must be present 
at ringside during the event.    
  

XVI.           RINGSIDE SEATING 

  
The ringside area is under the jurisdiction of the Office of Athletics.  All seats 
which are next to the ring shall not be sold, reserved or promised to anyone.  
All seats at ringside are under the jurisdiction of the office.  There must be seats 
available at ringside for the following:  physician(s), medical staff, timekeeper, 
referee(s), announcer, officials and inspectors of the office.  If the event is TV or title 
fight, there must be seating for the additional officials that are assigned to event.   
  

XVII.       INCREASED PAY FOR OFFICIALS 

  
In the past, we have experienced late start times, long periods of delays, as well as 
events lasting past what is realistic.  An average event should last approximately 3 
hours.  We take pride in acquiring experienced and certified officials for our events to 
ensure the outcome of each fight is accurate.  Therefore, to prevent abuses of our 



office and/or officials regarding long events, the following additional fees may be 
assessed to the promoter’s expenses for officials: 
  

 If the event starts 30 minutes past the official starting time listed on the 
approved permit application, you may be required to pay each official an 
additional $25 per hour or partial hour.  

  
 Any shows which last over three and one half hours may require the promoter to 

pay each official an additional $25 per hour or partial hour over that amount of 
time.  

  
XVIII.    SECURITY 

  
Please be aware that the promoter is responsible for security.  In the last year, we have 
experienced situations where the spectators have become unruly and extremely 
disrespectful to delegates of our office, officials and inspectors.  Security has not always 
been available for these situations.  Providing sufficient security is your responsibility.   
  
  

XIX.       EXHIBITION BOUTS 

  
Exhibition bouts are legal and can occur on a fight card, however, to qualify for an 
exhibition bout, both boxers must agree in writing that the bout will be a no decision.  
The results of the bout will not be turned in to the official boxing registry.  However, all 
suspensions will be turned into the boxing registry. 
        

XX.           WAITING PERIODS 

  
All fighters who complete the scheduled number of rounds must wait seven days 
from the date of the fight before participating as a boxing contestant in the United 
States. 
 
 
 

XXI. BOUT AGREEMENTS  
 
 

All boxers who compete must have a written bout agreement between the boxer 
and the promoter as required by Federal Law.  The agreement will be signed by 
both the boxer & promoter.  The agreement will establish as a minimum the date 
of the event, the boxer & promoter information, the number of rounds, the 
opponent, the approximate weight, and the total amount to be paid the boxer.  
Copies of these agreements must be given to the Commission a minimum of one 
(1) hour prior to the start of an event. 



 


