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OPM 10-24 
 
DATE:   July 26, 2010 
 
TO:   All Appointing Authorities 

FROM:   Oscar B. Jackson, Jr., IPMA-CP  
  Administrator and Cabinet Secretary of Human Resources and Administration 

 
RE:   Employee Voting Time 
 
Appointing Authorities should be aware of Oklahoma law as it relates to employee voting 
rights.  The statute governing employee voting is Title 26 O.S.2001, § 7-101, which provides: 
 

Every corporation, firm, association or individual hereinafter referred to as 
"employer" who, on election day, has a registered voter employed or in his service, 
shall grant the employee two (2) hours of time during the period when the election 
is open in which to vote, and if such employee be in the county or at such distance 
from the voting place that more than two (2) hours are required in which to attend 
such elections, then the employee shall be allowed a sufficient time in which to 
cast a ballot. No such employee shall be entitled to such time to vote unless the 
employee notifies orally or in writing an employer's representative of the 
employee's intention to be absent, on the day preceding the election day. Upon 
proof of voting, such employee shall not be subject to any loss of compensation or 
other penalty for such absence. Such employer shall select the hours which such 
employees are to be allowed in which to attend such elections, and shall notify 
each of the employees which hours they are to have in which to vote. This section 
shall not apply to an employee whose work day begins three (3) hours or more 
subsequent to the time of opening of the polls, or ends three (3) hours or more 
prior to the time of closing the polls. The employer may change the work hours to 
allow such three (3) hours before the beginning of work or after the work hours. 
Any employer who fails to comply with this section shall be deemed guilty of a 
misdemeanor, and upon conviction shall be fined not less than Fifty Dollars 
($50.00) nor more than One Hundred Dollars ($100.00).  

 
Please advise if there are questions or if additional information is needed. 

 
 
 
 
 

"We serve the people of Oklahoma by delivering reliable and innovative 
human resource services to our partner agencies to achieve their missions." 
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