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RE: Adjustment to Classified Pay Bands and Minimum Pay Rates for

State Employees

The purpose of this memorandum is to alert Appointing Authorities to the impending
adjustment to the State of Oklahoma classified pay bands, as well as changes to two
laws — one State law and one Federal law — which further impact the minimum rates of
pay State employers must pay their employees.

Effective July 1, 2007, the minimums, midpoints and maximums of the State of
Oklahoma classified pay bands will be adjusted upward by 5.0 percent. This action is
being taken through the administrative rulemaking process to insure that our classified
pay bands are competitive with the market and to provide sufficient opportunity for
salary growth in classified jobs. The revised pay bands may be accessed on the
Office of Personnel Management website after July 1 at:

http://www.ok.gov/iopm/HR and Employee Services/Salary Schedule.html

Also effective July 1, 2007, the provisions of HB 1114 become effective, which change
the minimum wage for State employees from $12,483 per year to the amount
established in the Federal Poverty Guidelines for a three-person household, issued
each year in the Federal Register by the United States Department of Health and
Human Services (currently set at $17,170 per year).

Excluded from this minimum wage provision are members of boards and commissions;
institutions under the administrative authority of the Oklahoma State Regents for
Higher Education; employees of public school districts; elected officials; and,
individuals employed pursuant to Title 74 Section 840-5.5 A. 12, Title 74 Section 2241,
and Title 53 Section 1.6a of the Oklahoma Statutes. Since these guidelines are
revised every year in the Federal Register (usually in late January or February of each
year) and apply to all covered State employees on July 1 of each year, we will provide
notice to Appointing Authorities of future increases to the minimum wage and the
appropriate pay band adjustments annually prior to July 1.


http://www.ok.gov/opm/HR_and_Employee_Services/Salary_Schedule.html

Finally, effective July 24, 2007, the Fair Labor Standards Act will be revised to reflect a
new Federal minimum wage of $5.85 per hour. This amount will increase to $6.55 per
hour effective July 24, 2008, and $7.25 per hour effective July 24, 2009. Although
these minimums are below the new minimum wage established by HB 1114 and will
not affect employees who are covered by the provisions of that bill, these rates will
apply to those employees who are excluded from coverage of the HB 1114 minimum
rate.

Appointing Authorities are reminded of the requirement in OAC 530:10-7-2 that the
rate of pay of classified employees be maintained within the established minimum and
maximum rates of the pay band for the job family level, except as provided by law or
Merit Rule. Since HB 1114 became law after the current revisions to the Merit Rules
were proposed, the Pay Band Schedule in the Merit Rules published on July 1 will not
reflect the new State employee minimum rate. Accordingly, we are attaching to this
memorandum the revised Pay Band Schedule adjusted for the new minimum rate.
Please ensure that your agency takes the appropriate steps to effect pay adjustments
effective July 1, 2007, for any classified employees whose pay rates are below the
new pay band minimums and for covered unclassified employees whose pay rates are
below the new State minimum rate of $17,170; and effective July 24, 2007, for all other
employees whose pay rates are below the new Federal minimum wage. The
personnel action code for such adjustments is C24.

Questions regarding this memorandum may be directed to Tom Patt, OPM Director of
Compensation, at (405) 522-0422, or by email to tom.patt@opm.ok.gov.

ATTACHMENT: State of Oklahoma Revised Classified Pay Band Schedule
Effective 7/1/07


mailto:tom.patt@opm.ok.gov

State of Oklahoma Revised Classified Pay Band Schedule

Effective 7/1/07

PAY BAND RATE MINIMUM MIDPOINT MAXIMUM
Annual $17,170 $17,185 $21,481

A* Monthly $1,430.83 $1,432.08 $1,790.08
Hourly $8.25 $8.26 $10.33
Annual $17,170 $18,011 $22,514

B* Monthly $1,430.83 $1,500.92 $1,876.17
Hourly $8.25 $8.66 $10.82
Annual $17,170 $19,054 $23,818

C* Monthly $1,430.83 $1,587.83 $1,984.83
Hourly $8.25 $9.16 $11.45
Annual $17,170 $20,542 $25,678

D* Monthly $1,430.83 $1,711.83 $2,139.83
Hourly $8.25 $9.88 $12.35
Annual $17,170 $22,597 $28,246

E* Monthly $1,430.83 $1,883.08 $2,353.83
Hourly $8.25 $10.86 $13.58
Annual $18,642 $24,856 $31,070

F Monthly $1,553.50 $2,071.33 $2,589.17
Hourly $8.96 $11.95 $14.94
Annual $20,507 $27,343 $34,179

G Monthly $1,708.92 $2,278.58 $2,848.25
Hourly $9.86 $13.15 $16.43
Annual $22,558 $30,077 $37,596

H Monthly $1,879.83 $2,506.42 $3,133.00
Hourly $10.85 $14.46 $18.08
Annual $24,981 $33,308 $41,635

| Monthly $2,081.75 $2,775.67 $3,469.58
Hourly $12.01 $16.01 $20.02
Annual $27,464 $36,618 $45,773

J Monthly $2,288.67 $3,051.50 $3,814.42
Hourly $13.20 $17.60 $22.01
Annual $30,020 $40,026 $50,033

K Monthly $2,501.67 $3,335.50 $4,169.42
Hourly $14.43 $19.24 $24.05
Annual $33,021 $44,028 $55,035

L Monthly $2,751.75 $3,669.00 $4,586.25
Hourly $15.88 $21.17 $26.46
Annual $36,653 $48,870 $61,088

M Monthly $3,054.42 $4,072.50 $5,090.67
Hourly $17.62 $23.50 $29.37
Annual $40,685 $54,247 $67,809

N Monthly $3,390.42 $4,520.58 $5,650.75
Hourly $19.56 $26.08 $32.60
Annual $45,566 $60,755 $75,944

(0] Monthly $3,797.17 $5,062.92 $6,328.67
Hourly $21.91 $29.21 $36.51
Annual $51,491 $68,654 $85,818

B Monthly $4,290.92 $5,721.17 $7,151.50
Hourly $24.76 $33.01 $41.26
Annual $58,185 $77,580 $96,975

Q Monthly $4,848.75 $6,465.00 $8,081.25
Hourly $27.97 $37.30 $46.62

Annual $65,749 $87,665 $109,581

R Monthly $5,479.08 $7,305.42 $9,131.75
Hourly $31.61 $42.15 $52.68

*Minimum revised to reflect State employee minimum wage rate (see 74 O.S. 840-2.16)
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