
 

From The Director’s Desk…. 

DECEMBER   2008 

                                         
Oklahoma Motor  Vehic le  Commission 

At the November 2008 meeting, the OMVC initiated the Rulemaking process to consider amending certain Rules.  For 
your information, and/or if you would like to provide input regarding any of these, here is a summary of what is being 
considered. 
• 465:10-3-3 Salespersons’ license. Currently, a salesperson may hold only one license at a time from a single  
      licensed dealership.  It is being proposed that a salesperson would be allowed to be licensed at multiple dealerships     
      provided that all dealerships have the same majority ownership. 
 
• 465:15-5 and 465:15-7 Advertising Enforcement. The proposed Rule changes would delete the current advertising 

enforcement procedures which includes a combination of letters and fines.  The proposed replacement language is, 
“Upon an allegation, by the Commission staff or by a person or entity, that an advertisement may be in violation  

       of a rule as referenced in this Chapter, the Executive Director, or his designee, will investigate the allegation to  
      determine if the advertisement is a potential violation.  The Executive Director, or his designee, will determine the   
      action to be taken, which may include correspondence to the dealer, an offer to enter into a proposed agreed settle- 
      ment requiring acceptance by the Commission, or to schedule a hearing.   
 
In addition to these above considerations, there are a few changes being proposed which would delete certain Rules per-
taining to off-premise display permits.  The law was changed last year, so that paper permits are no longer required; 
therefore, the associated Rules regarding display permits are obsolete. 
 
The public comment period will end January 15, 2009.  So, if you wish to provide input, please contact either Marilyn or 
myself at the OMVC prior to that date.  

Oklahoma Tax Commission Professional License Compliance Law 
 

 

Many dealers have received letters in the past 6 months, indicating that the OMVC could not renew some of their  
salespersons’ licenses, due to the individuals being considered “non-compliant” by the Oklahoma Tax Commission.   
The State of Oklahoma passed a law which prevents any State agency from renewing licenses to anyone who is deemed 
“non-compliant” by the OTC. 
 
Since it is unlawful for dealers to employ unlicensed salespersons, many dealers responded by immediately having their 
affected salespersons contact the OTC and clear up their matters, or face potential suspension or termination of employ-
ment.  However, some dealers have continued to employ their unlicensed salespeople, even though it has been well over 
5 months since their license has expired. 
 
The OMVC is required to enforce the Salesperson licensing provisions; therefore, the Board has directed the staff to  
begin issuing fines to dealers who continue to employ unlicensed salespersons after having been notified.  Accordingly, 
several fines have already been sent, starting with the oldest and working our way to the more recent.   
 
If you still have “OTC non-compliant” salespeople, they need to contact the OTC 405-522-6800.  This Commission  
understands there may be many circumstances involved in the “non-compliant” status, but the OMVC is not authorized 
to get involved in those matters; rather, the OMVC is required to enforce the law as it exists.  Many of you have ex-
pressed your concerns with this law, and how it is applied; we suggest you address those concerns with the OTC and/or 
your state legislators. 



Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Commission 
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Oklahoma City, OK  73116 
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               COMMISSION  ACTIONS  
  
 April 8, 2008 
     1.  $3000 Advertising Fine to Edmond Hyundai, Edmond 
     2.  $500 Advertising Fine to David Stanley Dodge, Midwest City 
     3.  $1900 Unlicensed Salesperson Fines issued to 10 Dealers  
     4.  Approved License Applications for 5 Manufacturers/Distributor and 4 Dealers. 
   
  May 13, 2008 
     1.  $1000 Advertising Fine to David Stanley Dodge, Midwest City  
     2.  $500 Advertising Fine to Cross Road Chrysler Jeep, OKC  
     3.  $250 Advertising Fine to Westpointe Chrysler Jeep Dodge, Yukon 
     4.  $750 Unlicensed Salesperson Fines to 6 Dealers 
     5.  Approved License Applications for 9 Dealers  
     
   June 10, 2008 
     1.  $700 Unlicensed Salesperson Fines to 6 Dealers  
     2.  Approved License Applications for 4 Manufacturer/Distributors and 14 Dealers 
 
   July 8, 2008 
     1.  $700 Unlicensed Salesperson Fines to 4 Dealers 
     2.  Denied Distributor License Application by American Beta, Paso Robles, CA 
     3.  Approved License Applications for 2 Manufacturer/Distributors and 12 Dealers 
 
   August 12, 2008 
     1.  $500 Advertising Fines to Fowler Dodge, OKC & Joe Cooper Ford of Shawnee 
     2.  $6350 Unlicensed Salesperson Fines to 17 Dealers 
     3.  Approved License Applications for 7 Manufacturer/Distributors and 13 Dealers 
 
   September 9, 2008 
     1.  $3100 Unlicensed Salesperson Fines to 10 Dealers 
     2.  Approved License Applications for 4 Manufacturer/Distributors & 9 Dealers 
 
   October 14, 2008 
     1.  $2500 Advertising Fine to Purcell Chevrolet, Purcell 
     2.  $500 Advertising Fines to Riverside Chevrolet & Riverside Nissan, Tulsa 
     3.  $500 Advertising Fine to Bob Moore Nissan, Norman 
     4.  $100 Temporary Tag Violation Fine to Ada Discount Motors, Ada 
     5.  Approved License Applications for 4 Manufacturer/Distributors & 15 Dealers 
 
   November 12, 2008 
     1.  $750 Distributor Fine to Wildfire Motors, Steubenville, OH, for Sales to Unlicensed Dealers 
     2.  $250 Spot Delivery Agreement Violation Fine to Bob Howard Chrysler Dodge Jeep, OKC 
     3.  $100 Unlicensed Salesperson Fine to 1 Dealer 
     4.  Denied Distributor License Application for Goodty Industries, Dallas, TX 
     5.  Approved License Applications for 3 Manufacturer/Distributors & 15 Dealers 
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Upcoming  
Dates for 

Commission  
Meetings 
In 2009 

 

January 13 

February 10 

March 10  

 

Meetings Start at 
10:00 a.m. 

 

Agendas are   
available 24 hours 

prior to the   
Meeting at:  

www.ok.gov/omvc  
 

The Meetings are    
conducted in    

accordance with 
the Open Meeting 

Act. 

From our staff to 
yours, we would 
like to wish you a 
Merry Christmas 
and a Prosperous 

New Year!! 


