
 

The Director’s Desk…. 

DECEMBER  2007  

                                         
Oklahoma Motor  Vehic le  Commission 

Regarding the New Temporary Tag Law … 
 
It’s been almost two months since the new law regarding Temporary Tags went into 
effect.  As dealers and consumers have begun using them, we have become aware of 
several issues and questions that I want to address in this newsletter: 
 
• The sale date is required to be written with a marker which makes a black ¼ inch 

wide mark.  The reason that law enforcement has requested this is in order to 
readily see the sale date.  Therefore, please make sure the numbers in the date 
boxes are drawn with a wide marker. 

 
• The temporary tag is required to be placed on the vehicle at the location provided 

for the permanent plate.  If the vehicle has a metal tag on it, the plastic temporary 
tag is to be placed over the metal tag.  It is now illegal to place the temporary tag 
anywhere else on the vehicle, such as in the rear window. 

 
• We are getting reports that some vehicles only have two mounting holes for the 

tag, and therefore some of the thinner new plastic temp tags blow in the wind.  
We are asking that you affix the tag securely to prevent flopping in the wind, 
and/or consider obtaining thicker plastic tags the next time you order. 
 

• Some dealers like to use tag holders as advertisement.  We are being asked to 
remind all dealers that Oklahoma law requires all information printed on perma-
nent tags and temporary tags to be visible.  Therefore, tag holders must not cover 
any printing on the tag. 

 
• Perhaps the most often asked question is, “What kind of records and/or logs are 

required to be kept?”  The unique sequential number is required to be recorded 
on the front of the bill of sale in a conspicuous location.  In addition, we are ad-
vising dealers to maintain a record of the sequential numbered tags, with the is-
sue date, the name of the purchaser, and the year, make, model and VIN for 
which the temp tag was issued.  It is anticipated that this record will be made a 
requirement in the permanent rules. 

 
• Finally, you are reminded that Oklahoma law requires that only one temporary 

tag may be issued for a sold vehicle; and that temporary tags are not to be used 
for demonstration purposes – use your metal D-tags for demonstration.   

 
If you have questions about the temporary tags, please feel free to contact us.  Please 
read reverse side of newsletter about the Permanent Temp Tag Rules. 

Upcoming Dates for 
Commission Meetings 

January 8 

February 5 

March 11 

Meetings Start at 10:00 a.m. 

OMVC 
EMPLOYMENT 
OPPORTUNITY 

 
The OMVC has a full-time 
position open for an  
Administrative Assistant.   
 
Any interested applicant 
can email their resume to: 
email@omvc.state.ok.us , 
or mail it to the address 
on the reverse side.   
 
Resumes should be in this 
office no later than January 
14, 2008. 

The OMVC would like 
to wish everyone a  

very Merry Christmas 
and a Prosperous New   

Year!! 



Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Commission 
4334 N.W. Expressway, Suite 183 

Oklahoma City, OK  73116 
(405) 607-8227    fax (405) 607-8909 

www.ok.gov/omvc 

 
COMMISSION  ACTIONS  

 August 14, 2007 
     1.  $600 Unlicensed Salesperson Fines issued to 3 Dealers  
     3.  Approved License Applications for 7 Manufacturers/Distributors and 10 Dealers. 
   
  September 11, 2007 
     1.   $400 Unlicensed Salesperson Fine to Rambo Vance Ford-Lincoln-Mercury 
     4.  Approved License Applications for 2 Manufacturer/Distributors and 6 Dealers  
     
   October 9, 2007 
     1.  $250 Advertising Fine to Bob Howard Dodge-Chrysler-Jeep, OKC 
     2.  $150 Unlicensed Salesperson Fine to Muskogee Chrysler Jeep Dodge, Muskogee 
     3.  Approved License Applications for 1 Manufacturer/Distributor and 4 Dealers 
 
   November 13, 2007 
     1.  $600 Unlicensed Salesperson Fines to 4 Dealers 
     3.  Approved License Applications for 2 Manufacturer/Distributors and 13 Dealers 
 
   December 14, 2007 
     1.  $1500 Advertising Fine to Bob Howard Automall, OKC 
     2.  $100 Unlicensed Salesperson Fines to Fowler Dodge, OKC 
     2.  Approved License Applications for 2 Manufacturer/Distributors and 6 Dealers 
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{NEWS FLASH….BREAKING NEWS….} 
This just in from the Okla. Tax Commission… 
 
Over 90 new car and motorcycle dealers have not 
renewed their new Dealer Tags and decals yet.  Is 
your dealership one of them? 
 
Those decals expire December 31st., so don’t be 
late!  If you have misplaced your new dealer tag 
renewal, contact Sandra Lacewell, 405-521-3669, 
at the Oklahoma Tax Commission. 
 
If you fail to renew your Dealer Number and tags,  
it can cause problems for your customers trying to 
tag and register their vehicle. 
 
 
In addition, the Tax Commission is reporting that 
several dealers failed to renew their decals last 
year for 2007.  Please check with your office staff 
to make sure your dealership is in compliance. 

TEMPORARY PLATES 
Emergency Rules to be made Permanent 

 
In order to comply with State Law, Title 1137.3, the OMVC passed 
Emergency Rules regarding the new Temporary Tags, effective 
November 1, 2007.  These new Temp Tags vary from the old 
“paper tags” in many ways.  Every dealer should be using the 
newly designed Temp Tags as required by State Law. 
 
The OMVC has begun the process to make the Rules permanent.  
According to the Rulemaking procedures, any person may make 
written comments or suggestions for the Board of Commissioners 
to consider prior to adopting the Permanent Rules. 
 
The proposed permanent Rules are available for your review on our 
website:  www.ok.gov/omvc , or they can be emailed to you upon 
request. 
 
Please submit any comments to the OMVC mailing address listed 
below or by email to:  email@omvc.state.ok.us .  The Comment 
Period ends February 4, 2008. 


