
 

From The Director’s Desk…. 

October 2009 

                                         
Oklahoma Motor  Vehic le  Commission 

Upcoming Dates for 
Commission Meetings 

October 13, 2009 

November 10, 2009 

December 8, 2009 

Meetings Start at 10:00 a.m. 
 

Agendas are available 24 
hours prior to the Meeting 

on our website:  

www.ok.gov/omvc 
 

The Meetings are conducted 
in accordance with the Open 
Meeting Act. 

Wow, what a year this has already been!  There have been so many changes in the motor vehicle industry that many 
of us never could have imagined, much less all happening at the same time:  economic recession, manufacturer bankrupt-
cies, court ordered terminations, government-owned car companies, Cash for Clunkers, etc.  The industry is in transition; 
and, whether for better or for worse, it will affect the way the motor vehicle business will be conducted in the future. 
 
How these changes and developments affect OMVC laws and regulations has been at the forefront of the OMVC on  
behalf of our licensees.  For example, the OMVC has been participating with other states’ regulatory entities and with 
the Attorney General’s Office to protect the franchise laws that are under our jurisdiction.  The issues are ongoing and 
fluid, but we are doing our best to stay current with information and possible action. 
 
I would be pleased to discuss issues, ideas, or try to answer questions from any of our licensees about what has been  
happening and what may be happening in the near future.   
 

Fees Increase Effective November 1, 2009 
 
Licensing Fees:  As many of you know, the current licensing fees of the OMVC have 
been the same for over 25 years.  Seeing the need for technology upgrades and better  
enforcement, the 2009 session of the Oklahoma Legislature passed SB244 which adjusts 
some of the OMVC fees effective November 1, 2009.  All of our forms are being updated 
to reflect the adjusted fees.  The Dealer forms will be available on our website on  
October 7th, and the Salesperson forms will be uploaded October 19th.  At that time,  
discard all old Salesperson applications, and use the revised ones, as all Salesperson  
Licenses issued beginning November 1st will require the new $25.00 fee. 
 
Changes in Salesperson Licensing: 
 
Please be aware of the following 2 changes in salesperson licensing: 
• At the request of some dealers, the OMVC adopted a Rule which allows licensing of 
salespersons at more than one dealership, provided that the dealerships are under the 
same majority ownership. We would be happy to send you more information regarding 
this, if it applies to you. 
• Transfer of a salesperson’s license from one dealership to another will no longer be  
free.  Instead transferring a salesperson license will now cost $10.00.  The new salesper-
sons transfer form will be on our website beginning October 19th. 

Tax Commission Re-Designing the Metal Dealer Tags 
 

By now you have probably received your renewal application for metal dealer tags.  The design and numbering system of 
the metal tags are changing.  This year rather than receiving decals you will receive 2 plates in the beginning and the re-
mainder of your plates when available.  Effective January 1st, your old Dealer tags will no longer be valid.  HELPFUL 
HINT:  The earlier you send in the dealer tag renewal, to the Tax Commission, the better chance you have of getting back 
all new tags prior to the expiration of the old tags.  Dealers who procrastinate will find themselves with expired dealer 
plates and no replacements.  Any questions contact Sandra at Oklahoma Tax Commission, 405-521-3669. 
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COMMISSION  ACTIONS  
 

 December 9, 2008 
  1.  $400 Unlicensed Salesperson Fines to 3 Dealers 
  2.  Approved License Applications for 1 Manufacturer/Distributor and 3 Dealers 
 
 January 13, 2009 
       1.  $500 Advertising Fine to Honda Automobile of Bartlesville 
  2.  $500 Advertising Fine to David Stanley Ford, Oklahoma City  
  3.  $1100 Unlicensed Salesperson Fines issued to 9 Dealers  
  4.  Approved License Applications for 1 Manufacturers/Distributor and 6 Dealers. 
   
 February 10, 2009 
       1   $1700 Unlicensed Salesperson Fines to 14 Dealers 
  2.  Approved License Applications for 2 Manufacturers/Distributors and 6 Dealers  
     
 March 10, 2009 
   1.  $1000 Unlicensed Salesperson Fines to 7 Dealers  
   2.  Approved License Applications for 3 Manufacturer/Distributors and 5 Dealers 
 
    April 14, 2009 
   1.  $200 Unlicensed Salesperson Fines to 2 Dealers 
   2.  Approved License Applications for 2 Manufacturer/Distributors and 2 Dealers 
 
 May 11, 2009 
  1.  $500 Advertising Fine to Fowler Dodge, OKC  
  2.   Approved License Applications for 5 Manufacturer/Distributors and 5 Dealers 
 
 June 9, 2009 
  Approved License Applications for 2 Manufacturer/Distributors & 4 Dealers 
 
 July 14, 2009 
  1.  $250 Advertising Fine to Marc Heitz Chevrolet, Norman 
  2.  $250 Advertising Fine to Bob Howard Automall, OKC 
  3.  $4250 Unlicensed Salesperson Fines to 15 Dealers 
  4.  Approved License Applications for 9 Manufacturer/Distributors & 7 Dealers 
 
 August 11, 2009 
  1.  $1000 Advertising Fine to Fowler Toyota, Norman 
  2.  $1300 Unlicensed Salesperson Fines to 8 Dealers 
  3.  Approved License Applications for 8 Manufacturer/Distributors & 10 Dealers 
 
 September 8, 2009 
  1.  $3500 Advertising Fine to David Stanley Chevrolet, Oklahoma City 
  2.  $300 Unlicensed Salesperson Fine to 1 Dealer 
  3.  Approved License Applications for 1 Manufacturer/Distributor & 7 Dealers 
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