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TITLE 37
INTOXICATING LIQUORS

PREVENTION OF YOUTH ACCESS TO TOBACCO ACT

§ 600.1.  Short title
This act shall be known and may be cited as the “Prevention of Youth Access to Tobacco Act”.

§ 600.2.  Definitions
As used in the Prevention of Youth Access to Tobacco Act:

1. “Person” means any individual, firm, fiduciary, partnership, corporation, trust, or association, however
formed;

2. “Proof of age” means a driver license, license for identification only, or other generally accepted means
of identification that describes the individual as eighteen (18) years of age or older and contains a photograph or other
likeness of the individual and appears on its face to be valid;

3. “Sample” means a tobacco product distributed to members of the public at no cost for the purpose of
promoting the product;

4. “Sampling” means the distribution of samples to members of the public in a public place; and

5. “Tobacco product” means any product that contains tobacco and is intended for human consumption.

§ 600.3.  Furnishing of tobacco products to minors prohibited-Proof of age-Fines-Multiple violations

A. It is unlawful for any person to sell or furnish in any manner any tobacco product to another person who
is under eighteen (18) years of age, or to purchase in any manner a tobacco product on behalf of any such person.  It
shall not be unlawful for an employee under eighteen (18) years of age to handle tobacco products when required in
the performance of the employee's duties.

B. A person engaged in the sale or distribution of tobacco products shall demand proof of age from a
prospective purchaser or recipient if an ordinary person would conclude on the basis of appearance that the
prospective purchaser may be under eighteen (18) years of age.

If an individual engaged in the sale or distribution of tobacco products has demanded proof of age from a
prospective purchaser or recipient who is not under eighteen (18) years of age, the failure to subsequently require
proof of age shall not constitute a violation of subsection B of this section.

C. 1.  When a person violates subsection A or B of this section, the Alcoholic Beverage Laws Enforcement
(ABLE) Commission shall impose an administrative fine of:

a.   not more than One Hundred Dollars ($100.00) for the first offense,

b.  not more than Two Hundred Dollars ($200.00) for the second offense within a one-year period
following the first offense,

c.  not more than Three Hundred Dollars ($300.00), or not more than fifteen (15) days suspension of
the store’s license to sell tobacco products, or both such fine and suspension for a third offense within a one-year
period following the first offense, or

d.  not more than Three Hundred Dollars ($300.00), or not more than thirty (30) days suspension of the
store’s license to sell tobacco products, or both such fine and suspension for a fourth or subsequent offense within a
one-year period following the first offense.



2.  When it has been determined that a penalty shall include a license suspension, the ABLE Commission shall
notify the Oklahoma Tax Commission, and the Oklahoma Tax Commission shall suspend the store’s license to sell
tobacco products at the location where the offense occurred for the period of time prescribed by the ABLE
Commission.

3.  Proof that the defendant demanded, was shown, and reasonably relied upon proof of age, shall be a defense
to any action brought pursuant to this subsection.

D. If the sale is made by an employee of the owner of a store at which tobacco products are sold at retail,
the employee shall be guilty of the violation and shall be subject to the fine. If the sale is made by an employee who
has previously been twice found to be in violation of this section, the owner of the store, if the owner knew of the
employee’s previous violations, shall also be found to be in violation and shall be subject to an identical fine.

E.  On or before December 15, 1997, the ABLE Commission shall adopt rules establishing a method of
notification of storeowners when one of their employees has been determined to be in violation of this section by the
ABLE Commission or convicted of a violation by a municipality.

F. 1.  Upon failure of the employee to pay the administrative fine within ninety (90) days of the day of the
assessment of such fine, the ABLE Commission shall notify the Department of Public Safety and the Department
shall suspend or not issue a driver license to the employee until proof of payment has been furnished to the
Department of Public Safety.

2.  Upon failure of a storeowner to pay the administrative fine within ninety (90) days of the assessment of the
fine, the ABLE Commission shall notify the Oklahoma Tax Commission and the Oklahoma Tax Commission shall
suspend the store’s license to selll tobacco products until proof of payment has been furnished to the Oklahoma Tax
Commission.

G. For purposes of determining the liability of a person controlling franchises or business operations in
multiple locations for any violation of subsection A or B of this section, each individual franchise or business
location shall be deemed a separate entity.

H. Cities and towns may enact and municipal police officers may enforce ordinances prohibiting and
penalizing conduct under provisions of this section, but the provisions of such ordinances shall be the same as
provided for in this section and the enforcement provisions under such ordinances shall not be more stringent than
those of this section.

§ 600.4.  Purchase, receipt or possession of tobacco products by minors prohibited-Falsifying proof of
age-Penalties-Notification of parent or guardian-Municipal ordinances

A. It is unlawful for a person who is under eighteen (18) years of age to purchase, receive, or have in their
possession a tobacco product, or to present or offer to any person any purported proof of age which is false, or
fraudulent, for the purpose of purchasing or receiving any tobacco product.  It shall not be unlawful for an employee
under eighteen (18) years of age   to handle tobacco product s when required in the performance of the employee’s
duties.

B. When a person violates subsection A of this section, the Alcoholic Beverage Laws Enforcement
(ABLE) Commission shall impose an administrative fine of:

1. not to exceed One Hundred ($100.00) Dollars for a first offense, and

2. not to exceed Two Hundred ($200.00) for a second or subsequent offense within a one-year period
following the first offense.

Upon failure of the individual to pay the administrative fine within ninety (90) days of the day of the fine, the
ABLE Commission shall notify the Department of Public Safety and the Department shall suspend or not issue a
driver license to the individual until proof of payment has been furnished to the Department of Public Safety.

C. The ABLE Commission shall establish rules to provide for notification to a parent or guardian of any
minor cited for a violation of this section.

D. Cities and towns may enact and municipal police officers may enforce ordinances prohibiting and
penalizing conduct under provisions of this section, but the provisions of such ordinances shall be the same as



provided for in this section and the enforcement provisions under such ordinances shall not be more stringent than
those of this section.

§ 600.5.  Signs in retail establishments required - Fines

A. Every person who sells tobacco products at retail shall post conspicuously and keep so posted at the
place of business a sign, as specified by the Alcoholic Beverage Laws Enforcement (ABLE) Commission , stating the
following: “IT'S THE LAW.  WE DO NOT SELL TOBACCO PRODUCTS TO PERSONS UNDER 18 YEARS OF
AGE”.

B. When a person violates subsection A of this section, the Alcoholic Beverage Laws Enforcement
(ABLE) Commission shall impose an administrative fine of not more than Fifty Dollars ($50.00) for each day an
offense occurs. Each day a violation is continuing shall constitute a separate offense. The notice required by
subsection A of this section, shall be the only notice required to be posted or maintained in any store that sells tobacco
products at retail.

§ 600.6.  Notice to retail employees - Signed acknowledgment

A. Every person engaged in the business of selling tobacco products at retail shall notify each individual
employed by that person as a retail sales clerk that state law:

1. Prohibits the sale or distribution of tobacco products to any person under eighteen (18) years of age and
the purchase or receipt of tobacco products by any person under eighteen (18) years of age; and

2. Requires that proof of age be demanded from a prospective purchaser or recipient if an ordinary person
would conclude on the basis of appearance that the prospective purchaser or recipient may be under eighteen (18)
years of age.

B. This notice shall be provided before the individual commences work as a retail sales clerk. The
individual shall signify that he or she has received the notice required by this section by signing a form stating as
follows:

“I understand that state law prohibits the sale or distribution of tobacco products to persons under eighteen (18) years
of age and out-of-package sales, and requires proof of age of purchaser or recipient if an ordinary person would
conclude on the basis of appearance that the prospective purchaser or recipient may be under eighteen (18) years of
age.  I promise, as a condition of my employment, to obey the law. I understand that violations by me may be
punishable by fines, suspension or nonissuance of my driver license. In addition, I understand that violations by me
may subject the storeowner to fines or license suspension.”

§ 600.7.  Vending machines sales restricted

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to sell tobacco products through a vending machine unless the
vending machine is located:

1. In areas of factories, businesses, offices or other places that are not open to the public;

2. In places that are open to the public, but to which persons under eighteen (18) years of age are not
admitted;

3. In places where alcoholic beverages are sold for consumption on the premises, but only if the vending
machine is under the continuous supervision of the owner or lessee of the premises or an employee thereof, and is
inaccessible to the public when the establishment is closed; and

4. In other places, but only if the machine is under the continuous supervision of the owner or lessee of the
premises or an employee thereof, or can be operated only by the activation of an electronic switch by the owner or
lessee of the premises, or an employee thereof prior to each purchase, or can be operated only by a special token
purchased from the owner or lessee of the premises, or an employee thereof.

B. In any place where supervision of a vending machine, activation of an electronic switch, or sale of a
special token is required by subsection A of this section, the person responsible for that supervision or the activation
of the switch shall demand proof of age from a prospective purchaser if any ordinary person would conclude on the
basis of appearance that the prospective purchaser may be under eighteen (18) years of age.



§ 600.8.  Distribution of tobacco product samples restricted – Fines-Municipal ordinances

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to distribute tobacco product samples to any person under eighteen
(18) years of age.

B. Notwithstanding subsection A of this section, no person shall distribute tobacco product samples in or
on any public street, sidewalk, or park that is within three hundred (300) feet of any playground, school, or other
facility when the facility is being used primarily by persons under eighteen (18) years of age.

C. When a person violates subsection A or B of this section, the Alcoholic Beverage Laws Enforcement
(ABLE) Commission  shall impose an administrative fine of:

1. not more than One Hundred Dollars ($100.00) for the first offense;

2. not more than Two Hundred Dollars $200.00) for the second offense; and

3. not more than Three Hundred Dollars ($300.00) for a third or subsequent offense.

D. Upon failure of an individual to pay an administrative fine within ninety (90) days of the assessment of
the fine, the ABLE Commission shall notify the Department of Public Safety and the Department shall suspend or not
issue a driver license to the individual until proof of payment has been furnished to the Department of Public Safety.

E. Cities and towns may enact and municipal police officers may enforce ordinances prohibiting and
penalizing conduct under provisions of this section, but the provisions of such ordinances shall be the same as
provided for in this section and the enforcement provisions under such ordinances shall not be more stringent than
those of this section.

§ 600.9.  Sale of tobacco products except in original, sealed packaging prohibited - Fine

A. It is unlawful for any person to sell cigarettes except in the original, sealed package in which they were
placed by the manufacturer.

B. When a person violates subsection A of this section, the Alcoholic Beverage Laws Enforcement
(ABLE) Commission shall impose an administrative fine of not more than Two Hundred Dollars ($200.00) for each
offense.

C. Cities and towns may enact and municipal police officers may enforce ordinances prohibiting and
penalizing conduct under provisions of this section, but the provisions of such ordinances shall be the same as
provided for in this section and the enforcement provisions under such ordinances shall not be more stringent than
those of this section.

§ 600.10.  Regulation by political subdivisions restricted

No agency or other political subdivision of the state, including, but not limited to, municipalities, counties or
any agency thereof, may adopt any order, ordinance, rule or regulation concerning the sale, purchase, distribution,
advertising, sampling, promotion, display, possession, licensing, or taxation of tobacco products, except as provided
in Section 1511 of Title 68 of the Oklahoma Statutes, Section 1-1521 et seq. of Title 63 of the Oklahoma Statutes
and Section 1247 of Title 2l of the Oklahoma Statutes. Provided, however, nothing in this section shall preclude or
preempt any agency or political subdivision from exercising its lawful authority to regulate zoning or land use or to
enforce a fire code regulation regulating smoking or tobacco products to the extent that such regulation is
substantially similar to nationally recognized standard fire codes.

§ 600.11.  Enforcement of Act by Alcoholic Beverage Laws Enforcement Commission

A. The Alcoholic Beverage Laws Enforcement (ABLE) Commission is authorized and empowered to
enforce the provisions of this act. The ABLE Commission shall enforce those provisions in a manner that can



reasonably be expected to reduce the extent to which tobacco products are sold or distributed to persons under
eighteen (18) years of age.

B. The ABLE Commission may consider mitigating or aggravating circumstances involved with the
violation of the Prevention of Youth Access to Tobacco Act when assessing penalties.

C. Any conviction for a violation of a local ordinance authorized by the Prevention of Youth Access to
Tobacco Act and any compliance checks by a municipality pursuant to subsection E of this section shall be reported in
writing to the ABLE Commission within thirty (30) days of such conviction or compliance check. Such reports shall
be compiled in the manner prescribed by the ABLE Commission.

D. For the purpose of determining second or subsequent violations, both the offenses penalized by the
ABLE Commission and the offenses penalized by municipalities and reported to the ABLE Commission, shall be
considered together in such determination.

E. Persons under eighteen (18) years of age may be enlisted by the ABLE Commission  or municipality to
assist in enforcement; provided, such persons may be used to test compliance only if written parental
consent has been provided and the testing is conducted under the direct supervision of the ABLE
Commission or conducted by another law enforcement agency if such agency has given written notice to
the ABLE Commission in the manner prescribed by the ABLE Commission. Municipalities which have
enacted municipal ordinances in accordance with the Prevention of Youth Access to Tobacco Act may
conduct, pursuant to rules of the ABLE Commission, compliance checks without prior notification to
the ABLE Commission and shall be exempt from the written notice requirement in this subsection.  This
subsection shall not apply to the use of persons under eighteen (18) years of age to be used to test
compliance if the compliance test is being conducted by or on behalf of a retailer of cigarettes, as
defined in Section 301 of Title 68 of the Oklahoma Statutes, at any location the retailer of cigarettes is
authorized to sell cigarettes. Any other use of persons under eighteen (18) years of age to test
compliance shall be unlawful and punishable by the ABLE Commission by assessment of an
administrative fine of One Hundred Dollars ($100.00).

          F. At the beginning of each month, the Oklahoma Tax Commission, pursuant to Section 205 of Title 68 of
the Oklahoma Statutes, shall provide to the ABLE Commission and to each municipality which has ordinances
concerning the Prevention of Youth Access to Tobacco Act, the location, name, and address of each licensee licensed
to sell tobacco products at retail or otherwise furnish tobacco products.  Upon violation of an employee at a location,
the ABLE Commission shall notify the storeowner for that location of the latest and all previous violations when one
of their employees has been determined to be in violation of the Prevention of Youth Access to Tobacco Act by the
ABLE Commission or convicted of a violation by a municipality. In the event the employee is thereafter found in
violation of the Prevention of Youth Access to Tobacco Act by the ABLE Commission or convicted of a violation by
a municipality for a third or subsequent offense, the storeowner shall be subject to the penalties prescribed in
subparagraph b, c or d of paragraph 1 of subsection C of Section 1 of this act, whichever is applicable.

         G. Upon request of a storeowner or a municipality which has enacted ordinance in accordance with the
Prevention of Youth Access to Tobacco Act, the ABLE Commission is hereby authorized to provide information on
any Prevention of Youth Access to Tobacco Act offense to any applicant for employment or employee of the
storeowner.

         H. The ABLE Commission shall prepare for submission annually to the Secretary of the United States
Department of Health and Human Services, the report required by Section 1926 of the federal Public Health Service
Act (42 U.S.C. 300-26), and otherwise shall be responsible for ensuring the state’s compliance with that provision of
federal law and any implementing of regulations promulgated by the United States Department of Health and Human
Services.

§ 600.11a. Municipalities to provide information to ABLE Commission
Any city or town that enacts and enforces ordinances prohibiting and penalizing conduct under provisions of

Section 600.3, 600.4, 600.8 or 600.9 of this title shall furnish information requested by the ABLE Commission in
the form, manner and time as may be determined by the ABLE Commission which will allow the ABLE Commission
to comply with subsection C of Section 600.11 of this title.

§ 600.11b. Distribution of administrative fine
For violators of the Prevention of Youth Access to Tobacco Act which occur in a municipality that has adapted

ordinances prohibiting and penalizing conduct provisions of the Prevention of Youth Access to Tobacco Act, thirty-
five percent of each administrative fine imposed by the Alcoholic Beverage Laws Enforcement (ABLE) Commission
pursuant to the Prevention of Youth Access to Tobacco Act shall be remitted to such municipality



§ 600.12.  Certain other penalties authorized by law not excluded
Nothing in the prevention of Youth Access to Tobacco Act shall be construed to prevent the imposition of any

penalty as specified in Section 1241 of Title 2l of the Oklahoma Statutes.


