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Oklahoma Department of Consumer Credit warns Oklahomans of gold buying requirements 
 

Oklahoma City, OK- The current price of gold has led to a dramatic increase in the number of 
persons purchasing the precious metal without a precious metal and gem dealer license issued by 
the Department of Consumer Credit.  According to Scott Lesher, Administrator of Consumer 
Credit, entities and individuals that purchase used precious metals and gems, such as gold, silver, 
platinum and diamonds need to be aware of the licensing requirements for purchasing such 
items. “Most people are unaware that purchasing gold requires a state issued license,” says 
Lesher.  “As a result of the unfamiliarity of state licensing laws, the Department has issued seven 
cease and desist orders against unlicensed persons in the last five months,” says Lesher. 
 
“The legislature recognized the significance of unlicensed gold buying last session and passed 
legislation authorizing civil penalties up to $5,000.00 for offering to engage or engaging as a 
precious metal and gem dealer without a license,” states Lesher.  The legislation became 
effective July 1.  Lesher also warns that purchasing precious metals and gems without a license 
is a criminal misdemeanor and subsequent convictions are felonies. 
 
Lesher indicates that some entities are developing creative business practices to avoid state 
licensing requirements.  “At least two companies the Department is aware of are now involved in 
gold buying parties at private residences,” says Lesher.  “Companies pay a fee and or a 
percentage of sales to a person for hosting the gold buying party at their home.”  “The party host 
invites family and friends to attend the party and sell their unwanted gold or jewelry.”  
“Regulation of gold buying parties is difficult because the Department typically does not know 
when and where the parties occur,” says Lesher. 
 
Lesher states that unlicensed and unregulated activity greatly increases the likelihood of stolen 
merchandise being sold in the state.  According to Lesher, Department staff is studying ways to 
combat the problem and that the Department may request further assistance from local law 
enforcement to crack down on unlicensed dealers.   
 
Lesher advises entities and individuals to contact the Department prior to operating as a precious 
metal and gem dealer in Oklahoma.  The current cost of a dealer license is $425.00 and a 
$10,000.00 surety bond is required.  Employees of a precious metal dealer are also required to be 
licensed and pay a $100.00 license fee.  Please contact Dennis Mullins at 405-521-3653 for more 
information. 


