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KIM HOLLAND
OKLAHOMA INSURANCE COMMISSIONER
P.O. BOX 53408, OKLAHOMA CITY, OK 73152

(405) 521-2828
www.oid.ok.gov

TO: ALL THIRD PARTY ADMINISTRATORS

FROM: KIM HOLLAND, INSURANCE COMMISSIONER

RE: Third Party Administrator (TPA) Licensing Requirements
DATE: October 12, 2009

In Oklahoma, a Third-Party Administrator is defined as any person who collects
premiums for an insurer or trust, or who adjusts or settles claims for the insurer or trust in
connection with life or health insurance coverage, annuities or employee benefit stop loss
in this state. 36 O.S. § 1442,

36 O.S 8§ 1450 provides: No person shall act or represent himself or herself to be an
administrator, as defined by the provisions of the Third-Party Administrator Act, in this
state, unless the person holds a valid license as an administrator which is issued by the
Insurance Commissioner.

Late application for renewal of a license shall require a fee of double the amount of the
original license fee. 36 O.S. § 1450(E). In addition thereto, any person who is acting as
or presenting himself or herself to be an administrator without a valid license shall be
subject to a fine of not less than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) nor more than Ten
Thousand Dollars ($10,000.00) for each occurrence.

Third Party Administrators are also required to file an annual report on or before June 1
of each year for the previous calendar year, prepared by a certified public accountant,
independent of the administrator, and which shall be subscribed and sworn by the
president and attested by the secretary or other proper officers substantiating that the
information is true and factual concerning each of the plans they administer. 36 O.S.
81452.
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Failure of any Third Party Administrator to execute and file such reports as required,
shall constitute cause, after notice and opportunity for hearing, for censure, suspension or
revocation of administrator licensure to transact business in this state, or a civil penalty of
not less than One Hundred Dollars ($100.00) nor more than One Thousand ($1,000.00)
for each occurrence, or both censure, suspension, or revocation and civil penalty. 36 O.S.
§ 1452.

The Oklahoma Insurance Department encourages Third Party Administrators
(TPASs) to renew TPA licenses and file annual TPA reports in a timely fashion.
Failure to do so will result in the above disciplinary action.

Questions or comments applicable to this bulletin should be directed to:
shelly.ondiak@oid.ok.gov of the Financial Division, or julie.delluomo@oid.ok.gov of the
Legal Division of the Oklahoma Insurance Department, P. O. Box 53408, Oklahoma
City, OK 73152-3408.

The Oklahoma Insurance Department encourages readers of this notice to periodically
check the Department’s web site http://www.oid.ok.gov/ for news and updates to
Bulletins and other relevant material.




