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The proposed amendments to 365:25-3-1(d)(4) deletes health coverage and welfare 
coverage from elective credit topics.  There is no elective credit for life and health producers.  
The proposed amendments to 365:25-3-1(f)(1) adds a non-refundable course review fee to be 
paid by producer continuing education providers.  

The amendments to 365:25-3-1(f)(11) delete the requirement that producers complete a 
course evaluation form to be submitted by the provider to the Department and, if approved, the 
provision will state that a provider shall provide written notification to each producer of the 
opportunity to offer comments on any Continuing Education Class via the Oklahoma Insurance 
Department website.  The proposed new paragraph 365:25-3-1(f)(12) requires a non-refundable 
course review fee of thirty dollars ($30.00) per course pursuant to Section 1435.29(C) of Title 
36.   

The proposed amendments to 365:25-3-14(c) provide that non-resident adjusters are not 
required to take continuing education in Oklahoma if they have met the continuing education 
requirement of another state that licenses non-resident adjusters. 

The proposed new paragraph 365:25-3-14(f)(11) requires a non-refundable course review 
fee of thirty dollars ($30.00) per course pursuant to Section 6217(F) of Title 36. 

The proposed amendments to 365:25-3-18 provide clarity to continuing education 
requirements for sellers of Medicare Advantage products. 

The proposed new rule 365:25-3-19 sets forth supporting documentation to be submitted 
to the Insurance Commissioner by volunteer counselors prior to conducting enrollment 
assistance to Medicare beneficiaries enrolling in Medicare Part D plans.  Section 9 of House Bill 
2122 (36 O.S. § 1435.5(B)(8)) provides that the supporting documents must be set out by rule.  
This rule was effective as an emergency rule on August 8, 2008. 

The proposed new rule 365:25-3-20 requires the payment of a two hundred dollar 
($200.00) fee for initial and annual registrations to cover the cost of processing the registration 
and maintaining records pursuant to the new Vehicle Protection Product Act, 36 O.S. § 6650, et 
seq., and in particular, Section 6653(C) of Title 36. 
CONTACT PERSON: 

Karl F. Kramer, Deputy Insurance Commissioner, (405) 521-2668 
 
PURSUANT TO THE ACTIONS DESCRIBED HEREIN, THE FOLLOWING RULES 
ARE CONSIDERED FINALLY ADOPTED AS SET FORTH IN 75 O.S., SECTION 
308.1(A), WITH AN EFFECTIVE DATE OF JULY 14, 2009 

 
SUBCHAPTER 3.  PRODUCERS, BROKERS, AND LIMITED LINES PRODUCERS 

AND VEHICLE PROTECTION PRODUCT WARRANTORS 
 
365:25-3-1. Insurance producers continuing education 
(a) Purpose.  The purpose of this section is to set forth the requirements for continuing 
education, which an insurance producer must meet and to set forth the requirements for approval 
by the Insurance Commissioner of a proposed continuing education course. 
(b) Definitions.  The following words or terms, when used in this section, shall have the 
following meaning, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

(1) "CEC" means continuing education credit. 
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(2) "Certificate of course completion" means a document acceptable to the 
Commissioner which signifies satisfactory completion of the course and reflects hours of 
credit earned. 
(3) "Continuing Education Advisory Committee" means the committee 
established by the Commissioner for the purpose of reviewing and recommending 
approval or disapproval of continuing education courses. 
(4) "Credit hour" means at least fifty (50) minutes classroom instruction unless a 
correspondence or self-study course. 
(5) "Instructor" means a person who presents course materials approved for 
continuing education credit hours, and who has experience, training, and/or education in 
the course subject matter and has been approved by the Commissioner. 
(6) "Instructor Qualification Form" means a form acceptable to the Commissioner 
and completed by the instructor which documents qualifications of the instructor. 
(7) "Licensee" means a natural person who is licensed by the Commissioner as an 
insurance producer. 
(8) "Provider" means a person, corporation, professional association or its local 
affiliates, an insurance company or any other entity which is approved by the 
Commissioner and provides approved continuing education to insurance producers. 
(9) "Provider Course Completion Form" means a form acceptable to the 
Commissioner and completed by the provider which documents completion of an 
approved course by  a  producer or  producers. 

(c) Exceptions.  The requirements for continuing education in this section shall not apply to: 
(1) limited lines  producers. 
(2) a non-resident  producer who resides and is licensed in a state or district having 
continuing education requirements and the  producer meets all the requirements of that 
state or district to practice therein.  The non-resident producer shall be responsible for 
completing any reporting requirements necessary to verify completion. 
(3) a non-resident  producer of a state that does not require continuing education 
hours may fulfill the requirements of any other state's continuing education requirements 
and shall be deemed to have complied with this rule upon proof of completion of said 
hours. 

(d) Continuing education requirements. 
(1) CEC during twenty-four month period.  All licensees shall complete the 
required hours of continuing education as set forth in 36 O.S. § 1435.29 during each 
twenty-four month period.  The twenty-four month period begins the first day of the 
month following the month in which the license is granted.  The credit hours completed 
must be in those lines in which the producer is licensed.  Ethics shall include, but not be 
limited to, the study of fiduciary responsibility, commingling of funds, payment and 
acceptance of commissions, unfair claims practices, policy replacement consideration, 
and conflicts of interest. 
(2) Certificates of course completion required for license renewal.  If requested by 
the Insurance Department, each producer shall submit upon each licensing renewal 
certificate(s) of course completion as approved by the Insurance Department, which 
verify courses completed during the previous twenty-four month period. 



(3) Credits carried over.  Six (6) credit hours in excess of the minimum twenty-four 
month period requirement shall carry forward to the next twenty-four month period.  
Excess hours may be applied to bring a lapsed license into compliance. 
(4) Elective Credit Legislative updates.   

(A) At least two (2) of the continuing education credit hours of instruction 
completed by licensees each twenty-four month period shall be taken in the 
following topics: 

(i) (A) state legislative updates 
(ii) (B) federal legislative updates 
(iii) health coverage 
(iv) welfare coverage 

(B) Electives in health and welfare coverage shall not apply to property and 
casualty and title producers. 

(5) Credits for instructors.  An instructor who is a licensee shall receive the same 
continuing education credit for presenting approved course materials as a licensee who 
attends an approved classroom instructional session. 
(6) Prerequisite for renewal or reinstatement.  As a prerequisite for licensure 
renewal or upon reinstatement following a lapse of license, a producer must submit, on 
his or her renewal/reinstatement date, the appropriate forms as specified in this section 
which establish that the education requirements have been met for the previous year(s). 

(e) Approval of continuing education providers. 
(1) Information required, fee.  Each provider shall apply for approval from the 
Commissioner.  Each provider, with the exception of public funded educational 
institutions, federal agencies or Oklahoma state agencies shall submit after its approval a 
provider fee of Two Hundred Dollars ($200.00), and all providers, including public 
funded educational institutions, federal agencies and Oklahoma agencies shall provide: 

(A) Name and address of the provider; 
(B) Contact person and his or her address and telephone number; 
(C) The location of the courses or programs, if known, unless it is an 
individual self- study course; 
(D) The number of CEC hours requested for each course; 
(E) Topic outlines which list the summarized topics covered in each course 
and a copy of any course materials.  If a prior approved course has substantially 
changed, a summarization of those changes; 
(F) The names and qualification of instructors.  An instructor shall have one 
of the following qualifications: 

(i) Three (3) years of recent experience in the subject area being 
taught; or 
(ii) A degree related to the subject area being taught; or 
(iii) Two (2) years of recent experience in the subject area being taught 
and twelve (12) hours of college and/or vocational technical school credit 
hours in the subject area being taught. 

(G) If a prior approved course has materially changed, a summarization of 
those changes; 

(2) Renewal fee.  An annual renewal fee of Two Hundred Dollars ($200.00) shall be payable 
on or before the approval anniversary date of each year by each provider to 
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renew the approval of the provider.  A fee of double the annual renewal fee shall be paid 
if the application for renewal is late or incomplete on the approval anniversary date. 
(3) Withheld or withdrawn approval.  The Commissioner may withhold or 
withdraw approval of any provider for violation of or non-compliance with any provision 
of this section. 

(f) Courses; approval; records; fee. 
(1) Timeline for approval. At least thirty (30) days prior to the use of any course and 
not less than ten (10) days prior to the Continuing Education Advisory Committee 
meeting immediately preceding the course date, the provider shall apply for and submit 
the appropriate course review fee to the Commissioner for course approval. The 
Commissioner shall grant or deny approval based upon information submitted in this 
section regarding each course or additional information regarding the course, if 
necessary.  The Commissioner will assign the number of CEC hours awarded for an 
approved course and the line or lines of insurance for which the course qualifies. 
(2) Written approval required.  All courses shall require written approval by the 
Commissioner. 
(3) Withheld or withdrawn approval.  The Commissioner may withhold or 
withdraw approval for any course approval.  This withdrawal will not affect any CEC 
hours attained under the course previous to the withdrawal. 
(4) Minimum of one credit hour.  Courses submitted for approval must consist of a 
minimum of one credit hour of course instruction. 
(5) Continuing education course must be separate from meetings.  Courses 
conducted in conjunction with other meetings must have a separate continuing education 
course component.   
(6) Content of courses.  Courses must be of a meaningful nature and shall not 
include items such as prospecting, motivation, sales techniques, psychology, recruiting, 
and subjects not relating to the insurance license.  However, agency management courses 
designed to assist producers in becoming more efficient, profitable, and assuring their 
perpetuation, will be deemed to be in the best interest of the insuring public and thereby 
subject to approval.  Each such agency management course must include the description, 
the effects the course is designed to accomplish toward the purposes of efficiency, 
profitability, and/or perpetuation and each course will be reviewed for approval on its 
own merits. 
(7) Certificate of Course Completion.  At the completion of each course, the 
provider shall provide the insurance producer a "Certificate of Course Completion" Form. 
(8) List of  producers completing course to Commissioner;  producer license 
numbers.  Within ten (10) business days after completion of each course, the provider 
shall provide the Commissioner a list of all insurance producers who completed the 
course on the Course Completion Form.  This list shall contain the course number, date 
of completion and license numbers of all insurance producers completing the course.  If 
the list is not reported within ten (10) business days, a late report fee of $50.00 shall be 
paid to the Insurance Department.  Failure to pay the late report fee may result in 
revocation of provider approval.  Continued late filing may also result in loss of approval. 
(9) Course records maintained four years.  Providers shall maintain course records 
for at least four (4) years.  The Commissioner may order an examination of a provider, at 
the provider's expense, for good cause shown. 
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(10) Repeated approved course.  At least fourteen (14) days prior to the repetition of 
an approved course, the Commissioner shall be notified in writing of the repetition, 
providing course number, name, date and instructor’s name. 
(11) Course evaluation.  The continuing education provider shall provide written 
notification to each producer of the opportunity to offer comments on any continuing 
education class via the Insurance Department website require each producer listed on the 
Course Completion Form to complete a course evaluation form to be submitted to the 
Department within ten (10) business days after completion of each course. 
(12) A non-refundable course review fee of thirty dollars ($30.00) per course shall be 
submitted by all continuing education providers at the time the course submission is first 
submitted for review and upon submission for renewal at expiration with the exception of 
publicly funded educational institutions, federal agencies, Oklahoma state agencies, non-
profit organizations, and not-for-profit organizations. 

(g) Approved Professional Designation Programs 
(1) Definitions. 

(A) Participation.  As used in 36 O.S. § 1435.29(B)(3), participates means 
successfully completing any part of a course curriculum totaling twenty (20) 
classroom or equivalent classroom hours of an approved professional designation 
program. 
(B) Approved Professional Designation Program. As used in 36 O.S.§ 
1435.29(B)(3), an approved professional designation program means an 
educational insurance program approved by the Commissioner with a sponsoring 
organization that administers curriculum requirements and testing standards for 
candidates. 

(2) Requirements. A professional designation program shall satisfy the following 
criteria to receive initial and ongoing approval for the program: 

(A) The program shall have a sponsoring organization; 
(B) The program's sponsoring organization shall maintain and govern a code 
of conduct; 
(C) The program shall be relevant to the sale, solicitation, or negotiation of 
insurance products in the State of Oklahoma; 
(D) Each course of the professional designation course curriculum shall be a 
minimum of twenty (20) hours of classroom instruction or equivalent classroom 
instruction; and 
(E) The program shall include an examination requirement that students shall 
pass before earning the designation. 

(3) Submissions. The sponsoring organization shall submit the following to the 
Commissioner for its professional designation program to be considered for initial and 
ongoing approval for the program: 

(A) The sponsoring organization's code of conduct; 
(B) The sponsoring organization's membership requirements; 
(C) The professional designation program's course requirements; and 
(D) The professional designation program's examination requirements. 

(4) Submission exemptions. Professional designation programs recognized by the 
National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) for waiver/exemption of pre-
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licensing education training shall receive initial and continuing approval without 
submission by the sponsoring organization. 

(h) Presumptive Continuing Education Credit Approval. 
(1) Requirements. A professional association may receive presumptive approval of 
the association's continuing education courses by satisfying the following requirements: 

 (A) The association shall have a mission statement that includes a commitment 
to enhance the professional, educational, or ethical skills of its members; 
(B) The association shall maintain and govern a code of member conduct; 
(C) The association shall offer educational programs relevant to the sale, 
solicitation, or negotiation of insurance products in the State of Oklahoma; and  
(D) The association shall perpetuate its continuity through the election of 
officers. 

(2) Submissions.  Each professional association shall submit the following to be 
considered for initial and ongoing presumptive course approval: 

(A) The association's mission statement; 
(B) The association's code of member conduct; 
(C) The chapter officers, the responsibilities for each officer, and the term of 
office for each officer; 
(D) The mailing address and primary contact for the association; and 
(E) The list of continuing education courses approved in Oklahoma and 
offered by the professional association in the past twenty-four (24) months. 

(3) Notification of approval or disapproval. 
(A) The Commissioner shall notify the association within ninety (90) days 
from the receipt of submission whether presumptive approval for continuing 
education courses was granted.  The notification shall indicate the reasons for 
disapproval. 
(B) Submissions to the Commissioner by an association seeking presumptive 
approval of continuing education courses shall include the course summary, 
instructor name, course date and location and shall be submitted to the 
Commissioner at least fifteen (15) business days prior to the presentation of the 
course. 
(C) If the Commissioner receives a report or reports that the content of a 
continuing education course may violate 365:25-3-1(f)(6) of this section, the 
Commissioner may review the content and determine if the course should be 
disapproved for noncompliance.  The Commissioner shall notify the association if 
the course has been disapproved due to non-compliance, and the association shall 
immediately cease offering the course upon receipt of the notification.  The 
association may then make corrections to a disapproved course to bring the course 
into compliance with 365:25-3-1(f)(6) of this section and submit the course for 
approval by the Commissioner in the manner of an original submission for 
presumptive continuing education course approval. 
(D) Should an association receive notification of three (3) disapproved courses 
within a twenty-four (24) month period, the association’s presumptive approval 
for continuing education courses shall be rescinded for twenty-four (24) months 
after which time the association may re-apply for presumptive approval.  
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(4) Assignment of course number.  The Commissioner shall assign a course number 
once the presumptive approval for continuing education courses has been granted and 
shall notify the association of the assigned course number.  All future correspondence 
relating to that course shall reference the assigned course number. 
(5) Instructor approval.  Instructors shall be approved by the Commissioner at least 
fourteen (14) calendar days prior to a presentation of a course.  The Commissioner may 
disapprove any course if instructor approval has not been granted. 
(6) Review.  Course approval shall be reviewed every three (3) years.  The 
association shall re-submit the items required in subparagraph (3)(B) of this section 
during the fourth quarter of the last approval year. 
(7) Agency Management Courses.  Agency management courses shall not be 
considered for presumptive continuing education approval. 

(i) Self study and Distance Learning Courses.  The Insurance Commissioner shall 
determine appropriate guidelines and standards for self-study and distance learning CEC 
offerings.  The guidelines and standards shall include authentication of the registered licensee, 
technology requirements for course delivery and testing protocols.  Guidelines and standards 
shall be reviewed, updated as appropriate, and published annually. Failure to follow the 
guidelines and standards established by the Commissioner may result in denial of continuing 
education credit for the producer and revocation of the course approval and or provider status for 
the provider. 
(j) Repeating courses.  An insurance producer may repeat a course within the twenty-four 
month period if the maximum credits designated for the course were not attained in the first 
attempt.  By repeating the course, the producer may not during the twenty-four month period 
earn more than the maximum credits designated for the course.  A producer may repeat a course 
after two years have elapsed and receive the maximum credits designated for the course.  This 
section shall not apply to ethics courses. 
(k) Extension of time.  For good cause shown, the Commissioner may grant an extension of 
time during which the requirements imposed by the act may be completed.  The extension shall 
not exceed twelve (12) months.  The extension will not alter the requirements or due date of the 
succeeding twenty-four-month period.  "Good cause" includes disability, natural disaster, or 
other extenuating circumstances.  Each request for extension of time shall be in writing from the 
licensee and shall include details and any documentation to support the request.  Each request 
must be received by the Commissioner no less than thirty (30) days before the expiration of the 
twenty-four month period. 
(l) Course approval.  Prior to the Commissioner's approval or disapproval of a course in 
365:25-3-1(f), a  continuing education advisory committee will review the course submitted and 
make its nonbinding recommendation to the Commissioner on granting or denying approval 
based upon information submitted in 365:25-3-1(e) regarding the course or additional 
information regarding the course, if necessary,  the number of CEC hours awarded for an 
approved course and the line or lines of insurance for which the course qualifies.  Each course 
approval shall be valid for a period of not more than two (2) years, unless the course has a 
material change.  Material changes to courses require course resubmission for overall course 
review and approval.  Course approval following the review of material changes shall reset the 
validity period.  At the expiration of the validity period, providers shall submit the course for 
approval by the Commissioner if the provider wants to continue to offer the course for 
continuing education credit. 
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(m) Severability provision.  If any provision of this section, or application of such provision 
to any person or circumstances, shall be held invalid, the remainder of the section, and the 
application of such provision to person or circumstances other than those as to which it is held 
invalid, shall not be affected thereby.  

 
365:25-3-14. Insurance adjusters continuing education  
(a) Purpose.  The purpose of this section is to set forth the requirements for continuing 
education which an insurance adjuster must meet, and to set forth the requirements for approval 
by the Insurance Commissioner of a proposed continuing education course. 
(b) Definitions.  The following words or terms, when used in this section, shall have the 
following meaning, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

(1) "CEC" means continuing education credit. 
(2) "Certificate of course completion" means a document acceptable to the 
Commissioner which signifies satisfactory completion of the course and reflects hours of 
credit earned. 
(3) "Continuing Education Advisory Committee" means the committee 
established by the Commissioner for the purpose of reviewing and recommending 
approval or disapproval of continuing education courses. 
(4) "Credit hour" means at least fifty (50) minutes of classroom instruction, unless a 
correspondence or self-study course. 
(5) "Instructor" means a person who presents course materials approved for 
continuing education credit hours, and who has experience, training, and/or education in 
the course subject matter and has been approved by the Commissioner. 
(6) "Instructor Qualification Form" means a form acceptable to the Commissioner 
and completed by the instructor which documents qualifications of the instructor. 
(7) "Licensee" means a natural person who is licensed by the Commissioner as an 
insurance adjuster. 
(8) "Provider" means a person, corporation, professional association or its local 
affiliates, an insurance company or any other entity which is approved by the 
Commissioner and provides approved continuing education to insurance adjusters. 
(9) "Provider Course Completion Form" means a form acceptable to the 
Commissioner and completed by the provider which that documents completion of an 
approved course by an adjuster or adjusters. 

(c) Exceptions.  Continuing education requirements shall not apply to a non-resident 
adjusters adjuster licensed in a this state that has a continuing education requirement for 
adjusters. if the adjuster: 

(1) Holds an active license as an adjuster in his or her resident (home) state, and the 
state has a credit hour based continuing education requirement; or 
(2) Has designated a state that licenses adjuster as his or her "home state," and the 
state has a credit hour based continuing education requirement for non-resident adjusters. 

(d) Continuing education requirements. 
(1) Twelve hours of CEC during twenty-four month period.  All licensees shall 
complete twelve (12) credit hours of continuing education during each twenty-four month 
period.  The twenty-four month period begins the first day of the month following the 
month in which the license is granted.  The credit hours completed must be in those lines 
in which the adjuster is licensed.  Courses taken in excess of twelve (12) hours will not 
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carry forward.  However, courses taken in excess of twelve (12) hours may be applied 
retroactively in order to bring a lapsed license into compliance. 
(2) Certificates of course completion required for license renewal.  If course 
completion is not reflected on the license renewal form issued by the Insurance 
Department, each adjuster shall attach, if requested by the Commissioner, an approved 
course completion certificate to the license renewal form returned to the Department for 
verification of course completion.  The Commissioner shall maintain a cumulative total 
of continuing education credit hours to insure compliance within the twenty-four (24) 
month period.   
(3) Credits for instructors.  An instructor who is a licensee shall receive the same 
continuing education credit for presenting approved course materials as a licensee who 
attends an approved classroom instructional session by including his/her name and 
license number on roster. 
(4) Prerequisite for renewal or reinstatement.  As a prerequisite for license 
renewal or prior to reinstatement following a lapse of license, an adjuster must submit the 
appropriate forms as specified in this section that establish the educational requirements 
have been met if not currently recorded by the Oklahoma Insurance Department. 

(e) Approval of continuing education providers. 
(1) Information required. Each provider shall apply for approval by the 
Commissioner.  All providers, including publicly funded educational institutions, federal 
agencies, or Oklahoma state agencies, shall provide: 

(A) Name and address of the provider. 
(B) Contact person and his or her address and telephone number(s). 
(C) The location of the courses or programs, if known, unless it is an 
individual elf-study course. 
(D) The number of CEC hours requested for each course. 
(E) Topic outlines which list the summarized topics covered in each course 
and a copy of any course materials.   
(F) The names and qualification of instructors.  An instructor shall have one 
of the following qualifications: 

(i) Three (3) years of recent experience in the subject area being 
taught; or 
(ii) A degree related to the subject area being taught; or 
(iii) Two (2) years of recent experience in the subject area being taught 
and twelve (12) hours of college and/or vocational technical school credit 
hours in the subject area being taught.  

(G) If a prior approved course has materially changed, a summarization of 
those changes. 

(2) Withheld or withdrawn approval.  The Commissioner may withhold or 
withdraw approval of any provider for violation of or non-compliance with any provision 
of this section. 

(f) Courses; approval; records. 
(1) Course approval timeline.  A provider shall apply to the Commissioner for 
course approval by submitting forms and materials to the Commissioner the first day of 
the month one full month prior to the date of the first course offering. The Commissioner 
shall grant or deny approval based upon information submitted in this section regarding 
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each course or additional information regarding the course, if necessary.  The 
Commissioner will assign the number of CEC hours awarded for an approved course and 
the line or lines of insurance for which the course qualifies. 
(2) Repeated approved course.  At least fourteen (14) days prior to the repetition of 
an approved course, the Commissioner shall be notified in writing of the repetition, 
providing course number, name, date, location and instructor's name. 
(3) Written approval required.  All courses shall require written approval by the 
Commissioner. 
(4) Withheld or withdrawn approval.  The Commissioner may withhold or 
withdraw approval for any course.  This withdrawal will not affect any CEC hours 
attained under the course previous to the withdrawal. 
(5) Minimum of one credit hour.  Courses submitted for approval must consist of a 
minimum of one credit hour of course instruction. 
(6) Continuing education course must be separate from meetings.  Courses 
conducted in conjunction with other meetings must have a separate continuing education 
course component.   
(7) Content of courses.  Courses must be of a meaningful nature and shall not 
include items such as prospecting, motivation, sales techniques, psychology, recruiting, 
time management, phone etiquette, basic pre-licensing principles of adjusting, and 
subjects not relating to the adjuster's license. 
(8) Certificate of Course Completion.  At the completion of each course, the 
provider shall provide the insurance adjuster a "Certificate of Course Completion" Form. 
(9) List of adjusters completing course to Commissioner.  Within ten (10) business 
days after completion of each course, the provider shall provide the Commissioner a list 
of all insurance adjusters who completed the course on the Course Completion Form.  
This list shall contain the course number, date of completion and license numbers of all 
insurance adjusters completing the course.  If the list is not reported within ten (10) 
business days, a late report fee of $50.00 shall be paid to the Insurance Department.  
Failure to pay the late report fee may result in revocation of provider approval.  
Continued late filing may also result in loss of approval. 
(10) Course records maintained four (4) years.  Providers shall maintain course 
records for at least four (4) years.  The Commissioner may order an examination of a 
provider, at the provider's expense, for good cause shown. 
(11) A non-refundable course review fee of thirty dollars ($30.00) per course shall be 
submitted by all continuing education providers at the time the course submission is first 
submitted for review and upon submission for renewal at expiration with the exception of 
publicly funded educational institutions, federal agencies, Oklahoma state agencies, non-
profit organizations, and not-for-profit organizations. 

(g) Approved professional designation programs 
(1) Definitions. 

(A) Participation.  As used in 36 O.S. § 1435.29(B)(3), participates means 
successfully completing any part of a course curriculum totaling twenty (20) 
classroom or equivalent classroom hours of an approved professional designation 
program. 
(B) Approved professional designation program. As used in 36 O.S. § 
1435.29(B)(3), an approved professional designation program means an 
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educational insurance program approved by the Commissioner with a sponsoring 
organization that administers curriculum requirements and testing standards for 
candidates. 

(2) Requirements. A professional designation program shall satisfy the following 
criteria to receive initial and ongoing approval for the program: 

(A) The program shall have a sponsoring organization; 
(B) The program's sponsoring organization shall maintain and govern a code 
of conduct; 
(C) The program shall be relevant to the sale, solicitation, or negotiation of 
insurance products in the State of Oklahoma; 
(D) Each course of the professional designation course curriculum shall be a 
minimum of twenty (20) hours of classroom instruction or equivalent classroom 
instruction; and 
(E) The program shall include an examination requirement that students shall 
pass before earning the designation. 

(3) Submissions. The sponsoring organization shall submit the following to the 
Commissioner for its professional designation program to be considered for initial and 
ongoing approval for the program: 

(A) The sponsoring organization's code of conduct; 
(B) The sponsoring organization's membership requirements; 
(C) The professional designation program's course requirements; and 
(D) The professional designation program's examination requirements. 

(4) Submission exemptions. Professional designation programs recognized by the 
National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) for waiver/exemption of pre-
licensing education training shall receive initial and continuing approval without 
submission by the sponsoring organization. 

(h) Presumptive continuing education credit approval. 
(1) Requirements. A professional association may receive presumptive approval of 
the association's continuing education courses by satisfying the following requirements: 

 (A) The association shall have a mission statement that includes a commitment 
to enhance the professional, educational, or ethical skills of its members; 
(B) The association shall maintain and govern a code of member conduct; 
(C) The association shall offer educational programs relevant to the sale, 
solicitation, or negotiation of insurance products in the State of Oklahoma; and  
(D) The association shall perpetuate its continuity through the election of 
officers. 

(2) Submissions.  Each professional association shall submit the following to be 
considered for initial and ongoing presumptive course approval: 

(A) The association's mission statement; 
(B) The association's code of member conduct; 
(C) The chapter officers, the responsibilities for each officer, and the term of 
office for each officer; 
(D) The mailing address and primary contact for the association; and 
(E) The list of continuing education courses approved in Oklahoma and 
offered by the professional association in the past twenty-four (24) months. 

(3) Notification of approval or disapproval. 
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(A) The Commissioner shall notify the association within ninety (90) days 
from the receipt of submission whether presumptive approval for continuing 
education courses was granted.  The notification shall indicate the reasons for 
disapproval. 
(B) Submissions to the Commissioner by an association seeking presumptive 
approval of continuing education courses shall include the course summary, 
instructor name, course date and location and shall be submitted to the 
Commissioner at least fifteen (15) business days prior to the presentation of the 
course. 
(C) If the Commissioner receives a report or reports that the content of a 
continuing education course may violate 365:25-3-1(f)(7) of this section, the 
Commissioner may review the content and determine if the course should be 
disapproved for noncompliance.  The Commissioner shall notify the association if 
the course has been disapproved due to non-compliance, and the association shall 
immediately cease offering the course upon receipt of the notification.  The 
association may then make corrections to a disapproved course to bring the course 
into compliance with 365:25-3-1(f)(7) of this section and submit the course for 
approval by the Commissioner in the manner of an original submission for 
presumptive continuing education course approval. 
(D) Should an association receive notification of three (3) disapproved courses 
within a twenty-four (24) month period, the association’s presumptive approval 
for continuing education courses shall be rescinded for twenty-four (24) months 
after which time the association may re-apply for presumptive approval.  

(4) Assignment of course number.  The Commissioner shall assign a course number 
once the presumptive approval for continuing education courses has been granted and 
shall notify the association of the assigned course number.  All future correspondence 
relating to that course shall reference the assigned course number. 
(5) Instructor approval.  Instructors shall be approved by the Commissioner at least 
fourteen (14) calendar days prior to a presentation of a course.  The Commissioner may 
disapprove any course if instructor approval has not been granted. 
(6) Review.  Course approval shall be reviewed every three (3) years.  The 
association shall re-submit the items required in subparagraph (3)(B) of this section 
during the fourth quarter of the last approval year. 
(7) Agency management courses.  Agency management courses shall not be 
considered for presumptive continuing education approval. 

(i) Self study and distance learning courses.  The Insurance Commissioner shall determine 
appropriate guidelines and standards for self-study and distance learning CEC offerings.  The 
guidelines and standards shall include authentication of the registered licensee, technology 
requirements for course delivery and testing protocols.  Guidelines and standards shall be 
reviewed and updated as appropriate and published on the Commissioner’s website annually.  
Failure to follow the guidelines and standards established by the Commissioner may result in 
denial of continuing education credit for the adjuster and revocation of the course approval and 
or provider status for the Provider. 
(j) Repeating courses.  An insurance adjuster may repeat a course within the twenty-four 
month period if the maximum credits designated for the course were not attained in the first 
attempt.  By repeating the course, the adjuster may not during the twelve month period earn more 
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than the maximum credits designated for the course.  An adjuster may repeat a course after two 
(2) license renewal dates have elapsed and receive the maximum credits designated for the 
course.  
(k) Extension of time.  For good cause shown, the Commissioner may grant an extension of 
time during which the requirements imposed by the act may be completed.  The extension shall 
not exceed twelve (12) months.  The extension will not alter the requirements or due date of the 
succeeding twelve-month period.  "Good cause" includes disability, natural disaster, or other 
extenuating circumstances.  Each request for extension of time shall be in writing from the 
licensee and shall include details and any documentation to support the request.  Each request 
must be received by the Commissioner no less than thirty (30) days before the expiration of the 
twenty-four month period. 
(l) Continuing education advisory committee.  

(1) There shall hereby be established the Continuing Education Advisory Committee.  
This committee shall consist of representatives from the Agents Licensing Division, and 
representatives from the industry (not to exceed three (3) individuals) as designated by 
the Commissioner. Members of the Advisory Board established by 36 O.S. § 6221 may 
also serve on the Continuing Education Advisory Committee. The committee shall meet 
at least quarterly and additionally as required.  Members of the committee shall serve 
without pay and shall not be reimbursed for any expenses associated therewith. 
(2) Prior to the Commissioner's approval or disapproval of a course in 365:25-3-
14(e), the Continuing Education Advisory Committee will review the course submitted 
and make its nonbinding recommendation to the Commissioner on granting or denying 
approval based upon information submitted pursuant to 365:25-3-14(e) and additional 
information regarding the course, if necessary.  Each course approval shall be valid for a 
period of no longer than two (2) years, unless the course has a material change.  Material 
changes to courses require course resubmission for overall course review and approval.  
Course materials may be resubmitted as requested for review at the time of expiration.    
All existing courses previously approved and current with the Commissioner shall be 
submitted in accordance with the expiration date as granted by the Commissioner unless 
the course has a material change, as previously detailed. 

(m) Severability provision.  If any provision of this section, or application of such provision 
to any person or circumstances, shall be held invalid, the remainder of the section, and the 
application of such provision to person or circumstances other than those as to which it is held 
invalid, shall not be affected thereby. 
 
365:25-3-18.  Compensation and education for sale of Medicare Advantage (including 
private fee for service plans) or Medicare prescription drug private fee for service products 
and plans 
(a) Compensation; selling, soliciting or negotiating Medicare Advantage products and 
plans. The provisions of this section shall apply only to insurance companies and producers who 
solicit, negotiate or sell Medicare Advantage or Medicare private fee for service (PFFS) products 
and plans. 
(b) An insurance company shall not pay or offer to pay compensation to producers based on 
the number of sales of Medicare Advantage or Medicare private fee for service products and 
plans.  An insurance company may pay a commission for each sale, but compensation shall not 
be tiered or based on a sales threshold. 
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(c) A producer shall not accept compensation based on the number of sales of Medicare 
Advantage or Medicare private fee for service products and plans.  A producer may receive a 
commission for each sale, but compensation shall not be tiered or based on a sales threshold. 
 (d) Producers who intend to solicit, negotiate or sell Medicare Advantage or Medicare 
private fee for service products and plans shall complete not less than eight (8) hours of pre-
licensing education relating to Medicare Advantage or Medicare private fee for service plans or 
products in addition to the pre-licensing education requirements of the Insurance Code and 
Insurance Department rules. 
(e) Producers who sell solicit, negotiate or sell Medicare Advantage or Medicare private fee 
for service products and plans shall biennially complete not less than eight (8) hours of 
continuing education relating to Medicare Advantage or Medicare private fee for service plans or 
products in addition to other continuing education required pursuant to the Oklahoma Insurance 
Code and Insurance Department rules. 

(1) Applicability.  The provisions of this section shall apply only to insurance 
companies and producers who solicit, negotiate or sell Medicare Advantage (including 
private fee for service plans)  or Medicare Prescription Drug products and plans. 
(2) Insurance companies.  An insurance company shall not pay or offer to pay 
compensation to producers based on the number of sales of Medicare Advantage products 
and plans.  An insurance company may pay a commission for each sale, but 
compensation shall not be tiered or based on a sales threshold. 
(3) Producers.  A producer shall not accept compensation based on the number of 
sales of Medicare Advantage products and plans.  A producer may receive a commission 
for each sale, but compensation shall not be tiered or based on a sales threshold. 
(4) One-time training requirement.  An individual may not sell, solicit or negotiate 
Medicare Advantage (including private fee for service plans) or Medicare Prescription 
Drug products and plans unless the individual is licensed as an insurance producer for 
accident and health and has completed a one-time training course.  The training shall 
meet the requirements set forth in subsection (b) of this section. 
(5) Producers licensed prior to July 14, 2008.  An individual already licensed for 
accident and health who sells, solicits or negotiates Medicare Advantage products and 
plans may not continue to sell, solicit or negotiate Medicare Advantage products and 
plans unless the individual has completed a one-time training course as set forth in 
subsection (b) of this section prior to the individual's first biennial license renewal period 
occurring after July 14 of the year 2008. 

(b) Training Requirements 
(1) One-time training.  The one-time training required by this section shall be no 
less than eight (8) hours and shall not be applied as continuing education course credit.  
(2) All subsequent biennial renewal periods.  Producers who sell solicit, or 
negotiate Medicare Advantage (including private fee for service plans) or Medicare 
Prescription Drug products and plans shall complete four (4) hours of continuing 
education during each biennial renewal period. The continuing education required by this 
section may be applied as a continuing education course credit under Section 1435.29 of 
Title 36 of the Oklahoma Statutes.  
(3) Company products; sales and marketing information.  The training required 
by this section shall not include training that is insurer or company product specific or 
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that includes any sales or marketing information, materials, or training, other than those 
required by state or federal law. 
 

365:25-3-19.  Medicare Part D volunteer counselors 
(a) To qualify for an exemption from the licensure requirements of the Oklahoma Producer 
Licensing Act of the Oklahoma Insurance Code pursuant to Section 1435.5(B)(8) of Title 36 of 
the Oklahoma statutes,  partner organizations using volunteer counselors to assist Medicare 
beneficiaries with enrollment in Medicare Part D plans pursuant to the Federal Medicare 
Prescription Drug, Improvement and Modernization Act of 2008 shall file with the Insurance 
Commissioner the following supporting documentation prior to conducting enrollment assistance 
activity: 

(1) The name, address and other pertinent contact information for the partner 
organization along with a list of persons acting as volunteer counselors who intend to 
assist in the enrollment of Medicare beneficiaries in Medicare Part D; 
(2) A description of the training received by each volunteer counselor named in the 
list required by paragraph (1) of this subsection;   
(3) A statement signed by each volunteer counselor named in the list required by 
paragraph (1) of this subsection stating: 

(A) My name is [insert name of volunteer counselor] and my personal address 
is [insert personal address];   
(B) I have received and read the Medicare Part D Prescription Drug Plan 
training materials provided by [insert partner organization name];  
(C) I have not received and will not accept commissions or other valuable 
consideration from any person or plan for the enrollment assistance provided by 
me to Medicare beneficiaries; 
(D) I will not disclose or use confidential information obtained as a result of 
my association with, or access to, any person with Medicare for any other purpose 
not directly required by CMS and the Oklahoma Insurance Department;   
(E) I understand and acknowledge that the exemption from the licensure 
requirements of the Oklahoma Producer Licensing Act of the Oklahoma 
Insurance Code is strictly limited to my service as a volunteer counselor assisting 
in the enrollment of Medicare beneficiaries in Medicare Part D Prescription Drug 
Plans; and 

(4) Any other information the Insurance Commissioner may request from a partner 
organization or volunteer counselor to assist in the verification of compliance with the 
requirements of Section 1435.5(B)(8) of Title 36 of the Oklahoma statutes. 

(b) The Insurance Commissioner may order a volunteer counselor, after notice and 
opportunity for hearing, to cease the assistance of Medicare beneficiaries with enrollment in 
Medicare Part D plans for failure to comply with the requirements of Section 1435.5(B)(8) of 
Title 36 and this section.  Issuance of this order shall not limit the Insurance Commissioner from 
taking other administrative action as authorized by the Oklahoma Insurance Code and the laws of 
this state. 
 
365:25-3-20. Vehicle protection product warrantor; fee; forms 

Registrants making filings pursuant to the Vehicle Protection Product Act, 36 O.S. § 
6650, et seq., shall register and pay a fee of Two Hundred Dollars ($200.00) upon initial 
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registration.  Said registrants shall register and pay a fee of Two Hundred Dollars ($200.00) for 
annual registrations on or before July 15.  The first annual registration shall be filed and the fee 
paid on or before July 15 of the year 2009.  Registrants filing late shall pay a late fee in an 
amount equal to the initial and annual registration fee in addition to the initial and annual 
registration fees required herein. 
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