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Effective July 1, 2008, Oklahoma Administrative Code 365:25-3-18 will require pre-
licensing and continuing education for applicants and producers who sell, solicit, or 
negotiate Medicare Advantage or Medicare Private Fee for Service products and plans.   
 
New applicants who intend to sell, solicit, or negotiate Medicare Advantage or Medicare 
Private Fee for Service products and plans must complete not less than eight (8) hours of 
pre-licensing education relating to Medicare Advantage or Medicare Private Fee for 
Service plans. This is in addition to the pre-licensing education requirements as set forth 
in 36 O.S. § 1435.7 & 36 O.S. § 1435.7A of the Insurance Code as well as applicable 
Oklahoma Administrative Code provisions.     
 
An applicant who indicates on their application they do not intend to sell Medicare 
Advantage and PFFS plans or products, obtains a license, and then begins to sell the 
products without first taking the 8 hour course would be in violation of rule 365:25-3-18.   
 
Producers who sell, solicit, or negotiate Medicare Advantage or Medicare Private Fee for 
Service products and plans must biennially complete not less than eight (8) hours of 
continuing education relating to Medicare Advantage or Medicare Private Fee for Service 
products and plans in addition to the 16 hours of continuing education required by 36 
O.S. § 1435.29.   
 
Producers who have not, will not or shall no longer, sell, solicit or negotiate Medicare 
Advantage or Medicare Private Fee for Service products and plans are exempt from this 
requirement.  
 
A list of Pre-Licensing and Continuing Education providers and courses will be available 
via the Oklahoma Insurance Department website http://www.ok.gov/oid.  



 

 
New Applicants Intending to Sell, Solicit, or Negotiate Medicare Advantage or 
Medicare Private Fee for Service Products and Plans: 
Pre-licensing providers and courses will not become available until September 2008. 
While a new applicant may become licensed during this period, said producers must still 
take the required 8 hours of pre-licensing education before selling, soliciting or 
negotiating such plans. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause while our 
education providers develop and implement their courses. 
 
Renewal Grace Periods for Medicare Plan Producers 
Due to the current limited availability of continuing education providers and courses 
currently being offered for this new 8 hour continuing education requirement: 
 

• Producers with a renewal date set for July 31, 2008, and who sell Medicare 
Advantage or Medicare PFFS plans will have until October 30, 2008, to obtain 
the required hours before being considered “late” and incurring the double 
renewal fee so long as they have met the original 16 hour continuing education 
requirement as set forth by 36 O.S. § 1435.29, prior to August 1, 2008.  

 
• Producers with a renewal date set for August 31, 2008, and who sell Medicare 

Advantage or Medicare PFFS plans will have until October 30, 2008, to obtain the 
required hours before being considered “late” and incurring the double renewal 
fee so long as they have met the original 16 hour continuing education 
requirement as set forth by 36 O.S. § 1435.29, prior to September 1, 2008.  

 
 
 


