
 
Commissioner’s Corner:  

Understanding Your Auto Insurance Policy 
 
“Auto insurance is an important purchase. Understanding what        
your policy covers is essential to ensuring you will have the      
necessary insurance protection when a loss occurs. I hope you           
find this information helpful in purchasing auto insurance.” 
  – Kim Holland, Oklahoma Insurance Commissioner 

 

Who Needs Auto Insurance?

Automobile accidents can cause great financial and economic insecurity. Financial loss 
may include property damage, medical bills, and legal costs if a lawsuit arises. Anyone 
who owns a car should purchase auto insurance so that these important financial 
protections are provided. Oklahoma requires the owner of a vehicle to purchase insurance 
and provide proof of financial responsibility. In addition, your auto lender may require 
you to purchase auto insurance to protect them against damage to a financed vehicle. 

Liability Coverage 

Most auto liability insurance policies contain three major parts: liability insurance for 
bodily injury, liability insurance for property damage, and uninsured/underinsured 
motorist coverage. 

• Bodily injury liability insurance does not protect you or your car directly. If you 
cause an accident in which other people are injured due to your negligence, this 
insurance protects you against their claims for damages, such as medical 
expenses, lost wages, and pain and suffering.  

• Property damage liability insurance pays for any damage you cause to the 
property of others, such as damage to another vehicle, fence, or tree caused by a 
collision.  

• Uninsured motorist coverage protects you directly. This coverage pays if you are 
injured by a hit-and-run driver or a driver who does not have auto liability 
insurance. This coverage, in effect, takes the place of the liability insurance that 
the other driver should have purchased but did not. Underinsured motorist 
coverage applies when the other driver is at fault and whose limits of liability are 



lower than the damages you sustained. Your underinsured motorist coverage will 
pay you an additional amount up to your policy limits.  

When purchasing liability coverage, you will need to determine the amount of coverage 
needed to protect yourself if a loss occurs. Oklahoma state law requires minimum auto 
coverage 25/50/25 (Title 47 § 7-204). Coverage is often sold with per person and total per 
loss maximum amount. For example, 100/300/50 coverage means that you have coverage 
of $100,000 bodily injury liability insurance per person, $300,000 total bodily injury 
liability insurance per accident, and $50,000 property damage liability per accident.  

Coverage for Your Car

There are two types coverage that you can choose to purchase to protect your car. 

• Collision Coverage pays for physical damage to your car as a result of your auto 
colliding with an object, such as another car or a tree.  

• Comprehensive Coverage pays for damage to your auto from almost all other 
losses other than collision. Covered losses under comprehensive coverage include 
the following: theft, fire, vandalism, weather related losses such as hail, water 
(flood), falling objects, damage caused by a bird or animal, and glass breakage.  

When purchasing collision or comprehensive coverage, you will need to determine what 
your deductible should be. A deductible is the amount of money you agree to pay prior to 
the insurance company making any payment on a loss. Typical deductible amounts are 
$250, $500 or $1000. 

Other Optional Coverage

Depending on what you want to protect against and how much money you want to spend, 
there are several other types of coverage which you may purchase. These include: 

• Medical Payment Coverage (MPC) pays for the medical and funeral expenses for 
you or others injured or killed in an accident while riding in or driving your auto. 
This coverage also often extends to insured individuals that are struck by a 
vehicle while acting as a pedestrian. Covered expenses include hospital, surgical, 
chiropractor, dental, and funeral expenses. This might duplicate benefits provided 
by your health insurer.  

• Rental reimbursement coverage or transportation expenses pay for a rental car if 
your vehicle is damaged by a covered loss. This coverage is usually purchased 
with a daily and total maximum. For example, $20 per day up to a total of $600.  

• Towing or Emergency Road Service coverage pays the cost of towing your car to 
a repair shop.  

What To Do In Case Of An Accident

If you are in an accident, you should:  



• Remain calm.  
• Telephone the proper authorities and inform them of any injuries. Regardless of 

the circumstances, report the accident to the police.  
• Check for any injuries and administer first aid if necessary.  
• Record the name, address and phone number of the other driver. Always write 

down the make and license number of all vehicles involved.  
• Collect the names, addresses and phone numbers of all passengers and witnesses.  
• Take photos of the accident scene if possible.  
• Do not admit fault.  
• Ask the investigating officer how to obtain a copy of the police report.  
• Notify your agent or insurance company immediately.  

Key Points to Remember When Considering an Auto Policy 

• Your auto insurance policy will financially protect you up to your policy limits 
for auto damage or injuries resulting from an auto accident.  

• Be aware of the types of coverage offered and what is required in Oklahoma.  
• Review your auto policy and stay informed on what and whom your auto policy 

will cover.  
• Know your state’s minimum amount of liability coverage required, and decide 

what amount is best for your situation. Oklahoma’s minimum is 25/50/25. 
• The state in which you reside will have either a tort or no-fault system in place. 

Oklahoma has a tort system. 
• Know how to file a claim with your insurance company.  
• When an accident occurs, know what to do to protect yourself and others around 

you.  

 The Oklahoma Insurance Department, an agency of the State of Oklahoma, is 
responsible for the education and protection of the insurance-buying public and for 
oversight of the insurance industry in the state. Consumers who would like more 
information are encouraged to contact the Department’s Consumer Hotline at (800) 522-
0071. 
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