OKLAHOMA
INSURANCE

DEPARTMENT

'The Oklahoma Insurance Department is
responsible for enforcing the insurance-related laws
of the state. We protect consumers by providing
accurate, timely and informative insurance
information. We promote a competitive
marketplace and ensure solvency of the entities we
regulate including insurance producers and
adjusters, funeral directors, bail bondsmen & real
estate appraisers.

More than $13 billion in premiums are written in
Oklahoma annually. OID collects more than $150
million in premium taxes, which provides funding
to the Firefighters Retirement System, the Police
Retirement System, the Law Enforcement
Retirement Fund as well as the State’s General
Revenue Fund.

ABoUT INSURANCE COMMISSIONER
Joun D. Doak

John Doak was sworn in as the 12th
Insurance Commissioner of Oklahoma
on Jan. 10, 2011.

To learn more, visit
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VEHICLE LIABILITY
COVERAGE REQUIRED

By Law
Bodily Injury Liability protects you

against a claim which is made by
someone who has been injured in an auto
accident for which you are found liable.

Property Damage Liability protects you
against claims for damages to another
vehicle or property in an accident for
which you are found liable.

Minimum Liability Limits for
Oklahoma are 25/50/25. 'The first 25
means the policy will pay up to $25,000
in bodily injury for any one person per
accident. 'The 50 means that the policy
will pay up to $50,000 for all persons
injured per accident. The third number in
the 25/50/25 means that the policy will
pay up to $25,000 per accident for
property damage.

25/50/25 is the minimum coverage that
Oklahoma Law allows you to carry on
your car in order to legally drive in

Oklahoma.

However, if the cost of any bodily injury
or damage exceeds the 25/50/25

liability limits, the amount over these
limits would be your responsibility to pay.

Consult your insurance agent to discuss
your liability coverage limits, and
whether or not it would be beneficial
for you and your family to increase your
limits in order to protect your assets in
the event of a loss that would exceed the

25/50/25 liability limit.

OPTIONAL COVERAGE

Uninsured Motorist (UM)

UM pays you, resident members of your
family, and occupants of your auto for
personal injuries caused by an uninsured
or underinsured motorist, or a hit and
run driver.

Uninsured Motorist coverage is not required
by law; however, the law does require you to
reject this coverage in writing if you do not
want it.

UM COVERAGE DOES NOT
COVER YOUR PROPERTY.

MED PAY

'This coverage provides medical assistance
and funeral expenses to you and your
resident relatives for any injuries
sustained from, in, on or around a motor
vehicle. It will also provide medical
assistance and funeral expenses for any
person occupying your vehicle.

'This coverage is applicable regardless of
fault or liability.

AUTOMOBILE
INSURANCE
IDENTS

Telephone: 405.521.2991
Toll Free: 1.800.522.0071
Web: oid.ok.gov | Twitter: @oid411




THE LAw

Oklahoma law requires that any person
who licenses and/or operates a motor
vehicle show proof of financial
responsibility in one of these ways:

» Vehicle Liability Insurance - Most
Oklahomans will show financial
responsibility with car insurance

(Vehicle Liability Insurance)

P A certificate issued by the
Oklahoma Department of Public Safety,
showing that the certificate holder has
deposited at least $75,000.00 in cash or
in a CD, with DPS.

» For owners of 25 or more
automobiles, a certificate of self
insurance issued by the Department of

Public Safety.

Puvysicar DAMAGES

COLLISION Coverage pays for dam-
age to your vehicle for a collision acci-
dent no matter who is at fault.

COMPREHENSIVE Coverage pays
for damage to your vehicle caused by
something other than collision.

OTHER OPTIONS

» Towing and Labor Cost

» Rental Reimbursement

» Accidental Death Indemnity
P Special Disability Benefits

WHAT TO DO
IF YOU ARE IN AN
AUTO ACCIDENT

STOP - Iry not to
block traffic.

CALL o911 - If anyone
is injured and call the
police to report the accident.

DO NOT admit liability to anyone or

accept claim settlement.

REPORT any loss to your insurance
agent or insurance company and file a
Motor Vehicle Accident Report as
required by state law. Send a copy to
your insurance agent or insurance
company.

GET INFORMATION - By recording
the facts, taking pictures of the accident
and surrounding area, as well as

independent witness contact information

if possible.

Contact your insurance agent for more
information on additional coverages
provided by your auto insurance
company, which may be beneficial to
you and your family.

FAQ’S ON AUTO INSURANCE CLAIMS:

A First Party Claim is when you are filing a claim
against your insurance company. A Third Party
Claim is when you are filing a claim on another
person’s policy.

If another person was at fault in the auto accident,
you can still go through your insurer if you have
collision coverage. Doing this will not affect your
rates because Section 941 of the Oklahoma
Insurance Code says that a company cannot

assign driving record points, cancel, refuse to renew
or increase the premium rate for any motor vehicle
liability or collision insurance policy for the reason
that the insured has been involved in a motor vehicle
collision and was not at fault.

Repairing your vebicle with ‘like kind and quality
parts: When your vehicle is being repaired
following an accident, an insurance company’s limit
of liability is the actual cash value of the property or
damaged part of the property at the time of the loss.
Putting brand new parts on an older vehicle would
result in betterment, which is not the intention of
the policy. If you still insist on new factory parts,
the company will likely require that you pay the
difference between the new parts and the "like kind
and quality parts".

The insurance company’s estimate for the repair of your
vehicle is foo low. The company would owe the least
amount necessary to return your vehicle to pre-loss
condition. The correct procedure is to take your
vehicle to the repair shop of your choice and provide
the adjuster’s estimate. If additional damages related
to the accident are found, you should contact the
adjuster regarding a supplemental payment.

'The insurance company for the at fault party should
provide you with a replacement vehicle while your
car is being repaired. If your car is a total loss, the
company will generally provide the replacement ve-
hicle until a settlement offer has been made on your
car. Howewver, the insurance company is not required by
law to provide a replacement vehicle to you.

On the other hand, if the accident was your fault
& you will be filing a claim under your auto policy,
a replacement car will not be provided unless you
purchased rental reimbursement coverage.

You have the right to repair your vehicle at the
repair shop of your choice.

If The Vehicle Is A Total Loss: Auto insurance
provides coverage on an actual cash value (ACV)
basis, which means that the company owes the
ACYV at the time of the loss. According to state
law, such cost may be determined by: the cost of a
comparable motor vehicle in the local market area
when a comparable motor vehicle is available in the
local market area, one or two or more quotations
obtained by an insurer from two or more quali-
fied dealers located within the local market area
when a comparable motor vehicle is not available in
the local market area, or the cost of a comparable
motor vehicle as quoted in the latest edition of the
National Automobile Dealers Association Official
Used Car Guide or monthly edition of any other
nationally recognized published guidebook.

If you have a third party injury claim, please note
that concerning the payment of incurred medical
expenses, there are no statutes requiring payment
as the bills are incurred. Therefore, the insurance
company may elect to wait until the injured party is
ready to settle and include reimbursement for these
bills in the final settlement check.

When you are filing a claim here are a few things to
remember:

v" Contact your insurance agent or insurance
company to file the claim.

V" Keep alog of claim activity (for example, for a
telephone call, write down the name of the person
you speak with, the date and time of the call, as
well as what the call was concerning.)

v Remember that the Consumer Assistance
Division of the Oklahoma Insurance Department
is here to answer any questions you have
concerning the handling of your claim.




