
Oklahoma 
Agency License Checklist 

 
Organization Documents: 

 Resident Agency Applicants Only: Provide an Oklahoma Secretary of State original certified copy 
of the agency Articles of Incorporation (S-Corp or C-Corp) or Articles of Organization (LLC, LLP, LC, 
LP) to the Oklahoma Insurance Department when application is made for licensure. Mail to the 
Oklahoma Insurance Department, PO Box 53408, Oklahoma City OK 73152-3408. 

 Non-Resident Agency Applicants Only: Assure proper registration with the Oklahoma Secretary 
of State (405-521-3912 or www.sos.state.ok.us) .  No documentation of the agency registration with the 
Oklahoma Secretary of State is needed by the Oklahoma Insurance Department unless a Fictitious name 
is necessary for filing with the Oklahoma Secretary of State due to same or similar name already 
registered, or in the case when a DBA is also associated with the agency true name.  In the case of a 
Fictitious name or DBA, provide an Oklahoma Secretary of State original certified copy of the agency 
Articles of Incorporation (S-Corp or C-Corp) or Articles of Organization (LLC, LLP, LC, LP) to the 
Oklahoma Insurance Department when application is made for licensure.  Mail to the Oklahoma 
Insurance Department, PO Box 53408, Oklahoma City OK 73152-3408. 
 
Appointment Requirements: 

 The sponsoring insurance company must electronically submit a company appointment to the agency 
license after the agency license has been issued.  Company appointments are $40.00 each.  The company 
appointment is required within 15 days from the date the agency contract is executed or the first 
insurance application is submitted. 
 
Financial Responsibilities  (Insurance Broker and Surplus Lines License Type Only) 

 Resident Insurance Broker License Type Only: Proof of E&O policy in the agency name, and Bond 
in a minimum of $5,000. 

 Resident Surplus Lines License Type Only: Proof of Bond, in a minimum of $5,000 (Bond amount 
requirement calculated at license renewal based on premium tax paid.) 
 
Other Responsibilities: 

 Attach cashiers check, business check, personal check or money order for the appropriate fee with 
any forms or paper applications submitted to the Oklahoma Insurance Department. Make check payable 
to the Oklahoma Insurance Department. 

 The Oklahoma Insurance Department does not require the designated/responsible producer to be an 
officer, director or partner of the business entity. The agency must have a designated, Oklahoma 
licensed producer responsible for the business entity’s compliance with the insurance laws, rules and 
regulations of this state on file with the Oklahoma Insurance Department at all times.  The agency shall 
notify the Oklahoma Insurance Department of all changes in address, phone, fax, email, designated 
producer within 30 days after a change, or changes among its members, directors and officers and all 
other individuals designed in the license within 15 days after the change.  (Title 36 O.S. § 1435.7 & 
1435.8) 

 If applying for a Non-Resident Agency license for the first time, a fee of $20.00 for the Designation 
of Insurance Commissioner as Agent for Service of Process and $20.00 Review of Paperwork fee is due 
with the license fee. 

 If applying for a Resident Agency license for the first time, a fee of $20.00 for the review of 
Articles fee is due with the license fee. 


