
 

 

 
 

Workers’ Compensation Reform 
 
S.B. 1062 was signed into law by Governor Mary Fallin and creates Title 85A, a new workers’ compensation 
statute which will fundamentally change the existing workers’ compensation system in Oklahoma 
 

• Administrative Workers’ Compensation Act, (85A O.S. §§ 1-106 & 150-168) 
• Oklahoma Employee Injury Benefit Act, and (85A O.S. §§ 107-120) 
• Workers’ Compensation Arbitration Act (85A O.S. §§ 121 – 149) 

 

Changes in Benefit Levels 
 

 OKLAHOMA WORKERS’ COMPENSATION - 
TITLE 85 

WC ACT - TITLE 85A  

Types of Covered  
Injuries 

Injury by Accident, Occupational Disease, and 
Cumulative Trauma. 

Injury by Accident, Occupational Disease, 
and Cumulative Trauma. 

Medical - Duration 100% 
No Limit 

100% 
No Limit 

Vocational  
Rehabilitation 

Up to 52 weeks. 
(+52 weeks additional benefits at same rate as 
employee’s TTD if employee, actively and in good 
faith, is being evaluated or participating in a 
retraining or job placement program for PTD 
evaluation) 

Up to 52 weeks. 
(+52 weeks additional benefits at same rate 
as employee’s TTD if employee, actively 
and in good faith, is being evaluated or 
participating in a retraining or job 
placement program for PTD evaluation) 

Temporary Total 
Disability(TTD) 
-Benefits Begin 
 
 
 
-Duration Limit 

70% of employee’s AWW, not to exceed state’s 
AWW. 
Starting 8th day of disability. If disability extends 
more than 21 days, payment due from 1st day of 
disability. 
 
156 weeks (+52 weeks for consequential injury) 

70% of employee’s AWW, not to exceed 
70% of state’s AWW. 
Starting 4th day of disability.  
 
 
 
104 weeks (+52 weeks for consequential 
injury) 

Temporary Partial 
Disability (TPD) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
-Duration 

70% of the difference between 
employee’s AWW and employee’s wage-earning 
capacity thereafter in same employment or 
otherwise, if less than before the injury, during 
continuance of partial disability not to exceed 80% 
of employee’s AWW at  
time of accident. 
 
156 weeks. 

70% of the difference between employee’s 
AWW and employee’s weekly wage for 
performing alternative work after injury, 
but only if weekly wage for alternative 
work is less than TTD rate. 
 
 
 
52 weeks.  
 
If employee refuses alternative work, no 
benefits are paid 

 



 

 

 

Permanent 
Partial 
Disability(PPD) 
(“Impairment”)  
 
-Max Duration 

70% of employee’s AWW up to $323 and not less 
than $150 per week for period prescribed for 
scheduled members. 
 
 
500 weeks maximum. 
 
No PPD allowed to part of body not medically 
treated. 
 
The fact that employee suffered previous disability 
or impairment or received compensation therefore 
shall not preclude compensation for later accidental 
personal injury or occupational disease.  If existing 
previous impairment, including non-work-related 
injury or condition that produced permanent 
disability and same is aggravated or accelerated by  
accidental personal injury or occupational disease, 
compensation for PPD shall be only for such 
amount as was caused by such accidental personal 
injury or occupational disease and no additional 
compensation shall be allowed for the preexisting 
disability or impairment. 
 
Sum of all PPD awards, excluding awards against 
MITF, shall not exceed 520 weeks, except for 
awards for amputations and disability to the parts 
of the body for which surgery was received in the 
latest injury. 
 
No payments on any PPD order shall begin until 
payments on any preexisting PPD orders have been 
completed. 

70% of employee’s AWW up to $323. 
 
 
 
 
350 weeks maximum. 
(for body as a whole) 
 
No PPD allowed to part of body not medically 
treated. 
 
For amputation or permanent total loss of use 
of a scheduled member, 70% of AWW up to 
$323, multiplied by number of weeks in the 
schedule of compensation for the member, 
regardless of whether employee is able to 
return to pre-injury or equivalent job. 
 
Payment of PPD deferred and held in reserve 
if employee:  
 

1. Has reached MMI; 
2. Has been released to RTW; and 
3. Returns to pre-injury or equivalent job 

for a term of weeks determined by 
dividing the total dollar value of 
award by 70% of AWW. 

 
PPD reduced by 70% of AWW for every week 
the employee: 
 

1. Works in the pre-injury or equivalent 
job; or  

2. Refuses an offer to return to the pre-
injury or equivalent job. 

 
Lump Sum: Employee terminated other than 
for misconduct or position offered is not the 
pre-injury or equivalent job, remaining PPD 
paid in a lump sum. 
 
No compensation for preexisting disability or 
impairment. 
 
If employer is the same employer when injury 
resulting in preexisting disability or 
impairment was sustained, award against 
employer shall be reduced by current dollar 



 

 

value of the percentage of preexisting 
disability. 

Permanent Total 
Disability (PTD) 
-Duration 

70% of employee’s AWW, not to exceed state’s 
AWW, until SS maximum retirement age or 15 
years, whichever is longer. 

70% of employee’s AWW, not to exceed 
state’s AWW, until  SS maximum retirement 
age or 15 years, whichever is longer. 

Disfigurement Up to $50,000 Up to $50,000 
Death Benefit 
-Surviving 
Spouse 
-Children 

Up to $8,000 Funeral Expenses. 
$100,000 + Lesser of 70% of employee’s AWW 
and state’s AWW. 
Lump Sum + % of employee’s AWW depending 
on number of children. 

Up to $10,000 Funeral Expenses. 
$100,000 + Lesser of 70% of employee’s 
AWW and state’s AWW. 
Lump Sum + % of employee’s AWW 
depending on number of children. 

 

Benefit Limitations 
• No benefits for TTD if the employee receives unemployment benefit unless TTD is greater than the 

unemployment benefit in a disputed claim 

• Non-surgical TTD cannot exceed 8 weeks 

• No compensation for “ordinary disease of life” 

• Age is not considered in determining change of condition 

• Employees given 30 days for injury notification 

o Oral or Written 

• Claim barred unless filed with the Commission within one year  

• Claim barred if no treatment or compensation is received within one year of filing with Commission 

• Occupational disease claim barred after two years of last exposure 

• Silicosis/asbestosis claims have one year after disablement, which must occur three years from last 
exposure 

• Death claims must be filed within two years 

• If death doesn’t occur within one year from accident or within three years of receiving compensation 
benefits then a rebuttable presumption shall arise that the death did not occur from the injury 

 

 



 

 

 

 

Fraud and Penalties 
• Employees making false statements to receive worker’s compensation are guilty of a felony 

• The Attorney General’s Worker’s Compensation Fraud Investigation Unit will be funded through the 
Commission 

• If an injured employee is charged with fraud then all compensation will be halted  

 

For more information about the Oklahoma Insurance Department, please visit OID’s website at 
www.oid.ok.gov or call us at 1-800-522-0071 

 

Look for our Workers’ Compensation Logo for more information on this subject: 

 

 
 
 
For questions concerning the new Workers’ Compensation Law: WorkComp@oid.ok.gov 
 
For questions concerning the Oklahoma Option: OKOption@oid.ok.gov 
 
 
*The materials regarding Oklahoma workers’ compensation reform are for general informational 
purposes. Please contact your attorney or other competent advisor regarding any company specific or 
individual concern. 
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