365:25-29-1. Purpose
The purpose of this Subchapter is to set forth the requlations and procedures relating to
the licensing and oversight of pharmacy benefits managers under 59 O.S. 8§ 357-360.

365:25-29-2. Scope
This Subchapter shall apply to all pharmacy benefits managers which must be licensed
pursuant to 59 O.S. 8§ 358(A).

365:25-29-3. Authority
This Subchapter is promulgated under the authority granted to the Insurance
Commissioner in 59 O.S. 8§ 358(B).

365:25-29-4. Surety Bond

(a) Prior to the issuance of a pharmacy benefits manager ("PBM") license, the PBM applicant
shall file with the Commissioner and thereafter keep in effect, as long as the license remains in
effect, a surety bond in an amount determined by the Commissioner, and in a form acceptable to
the Commissioner. The bond is intended to secure conformity with the laws, rules, and
requlations governing pharmacy benefits managers. The bond shall be for the benefit of parties
protected by the provisions 59 O.S. 88 357-360.

(b) The surety bond must provide that no party may cancel the bond without first giving thirty
(30) days’ written notice to the principal and the Commissioner.

365:25-29-5. License Application, License Renewals, Fees, and Fines

(a) An application for a PBM license shall be in a form provided by the Commissioner and shall
be accompanied by a fee of One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00). This fee shall not be refundable
if the application is denied, withdrawn, cancelled, or refused for any reason by either the
applicant or the Commissioner.

(b) The PBM license shall continue in force no longer than twelve (12) months from the original
month of issuance. Upon filing a PBM license renewal application on a form provided by the
Commissioner, a renewal license shall be issued by the Commissioner to a PBM licensee who
has continuously maintained such license upon payment of a renewal fee of Five Hundred
Dollars ($500.00).

(c) If the PBM fails to timely apply for renewal of its license or fails to pay any applicable fees
or outstanding fines by the last day of the month in which the license was originally issued, the
license shall expire automatically. After expiration, the PBM license may be reinstated for up to
one (1) year following the expiration date upon filing a PBM license renewal application on a
form provided by the Commissioner and the payment of a reinstatement fee of One Thousand
Dollars ($1,000.00). If after the one-year date the license has not been reinstated, the licensee
shall be required to apply for a license as a new PBM licensee applicant.

(d) In the event that the Commissioner declines to issue or renew a PBM license for any of the
reasons provided in 59 O.S. § 358(D), the Commissioner shall notify the applicant or licensee of
such declination and advise the applicant or licensee, in writing, of the reason for the declination.
The applicant or licensee may make written demand upon the Commissioner within thirty (30)
days of the date of notification by the Commissioner for a hearing before the Commissioner or
an independent hearing examiner appointed by the Commissioner to determine the existence of




the grounds provided in 59 O.S. § 358(D) for the Commissioner’s action. The hearing shall be
held within a reasonable time period pursuant to the Oklahoma Administrative Procedures Act.
(e) After notice and opportunity for hearing, and upon determining that the PBM has violated
any of the provisions of 59 O.S. 88 357-360 of the Oklahoma Statutes, or upon finding the
existence of grounds to decline the issuance or renewal of such license, the Commissioner may
suspend or revoke a PBM’s license, assess a civil penalty of not less than Five Hundred Dollars
($500.00) nor more than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00) for each instance of violation, or
both. The payment of the penalty may be enforced in the same manner as civil judgments may be
enforced.




