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The amendment to 365:25-5-3 clarifies that prelicensing education credit is valid for one
year from the date obtained. The amendment to 365:25-5-4 sets an expiration timeframe for the
material presented in bail bondsman continuing education (CE) courses and the language is taken
from the producer licensing rules. The amendment to 365:25-5-5 removes the requirement that
bondsmen turn in an education verification form to the Insurance Commissioner. The
amendment to 365:25-5-8 updates the rule to conform to the change from a one-year license
period to a two-year license period.

The amendment to 365:25-5-35 removes an unnecessary “reinstatement fee,” updates the
language to conform to the changes made in 2011 to 59 O.S. § 1309(B) and (C), which changes
the due date for financial statements and property documents from the bondsman’s birth month
to September 30, and conforms the language to the current Insurance Department practice of
allowing bondsmen to print their license certificate online rather than sending the certificate in
the mail. The amendment to 365:25-5-38 changes the “year” from October 1 through September
30 to January 1 through December 31. The amendment to 365:25-4-41 sets out a $300,000
special deposit requirement for insurers writing only bail bonds, which conforms to the current
policy and practice of the Insurance Department. The amendment also cleans up the language of
the rule to make it easier to understand. The addition of 365:25-5-47 requires an individual who
is transferred a professional bail bondsman license pursuant to 59 O.S. § 1306(D) to submit a
financial statement to the Insurance Department.

The amendment to 365:25-5-51 sets out that a professional bondsman whose license has
been suspended or revoked cannot apply for a partial return of their deposit.

CONTACT PERSON:

Buddy Combs, Assistant General Counsel, Oklahoma Insurance Department, 3625 NW

56th St., Suite 100, Oklahoma City, OK 73112, (405) 521-2746

PURSUANT TO THE ACTIONS DESCRIBED HEREIN, THE FOLLOWING RULES
ARE CONSIDERED FINALLY ADOPTED AS SET FORTH IN 75 O.S., SECTION
308.1(A), WITH AN EFFECTIVE DATE OF JULY 14, 2013:

SUBCHAPTER 5. BAIL BONDSMEN
PART 1. CONTINUING EDUCATION FOR BAIL BONDSMEN

365:25-5-3. Education requirements

(a) Education verification prior to licensure. Prior to taking the bail bondsman licensing
examination, the applicant shall successfully complete the hours of prelicensing education
required by 59 O.S. 81308.1(A) in subjects pertinent to the duties and responsibilities of a bail
bondsman._The prelicensing education shall be valid for one (1) year from the date obtained by

the applicant.




(b) Continuing education. All bail bondsmen shall complete eight (8) credit hours of
continuing education required by 59 O. S. 81308.1(A) annually to meet the biennial
requirement.

(c) CE credit for instructor. An instructor who is a licensed bail bondsman shall receive the
same continuing education credit for presenting approved course materials as a licensee who
attends an approved classroom instructional session.

365:25-5-4. Application for course approval
(a) Oklahoma Bondsman Association courses. The Oklahoma Bondsman Association shall
apply for course approval from the Commissioner. The Association shall annually submit a fee
of One Hundred Dollars ($100.00) to the Insurance Commissioner.
(b) Information regarding OBA courses. The Oklahoma Bondsman Association shall submit
the following information concerning educational courses:
(1) Name, address and qualifications of the instructor;
(2) Contact person, his or her address and telephone number;
(3) The location of the courses or programs, unless it is an individual study or
correspondence course;
(4) The number of hours requested for each course;
(5) Topic outlines which list the summarized topics covered in each course and upon
request, a copy of any course materials. If a prior approved course has substantially
changed, a summarization of those changes.
(c) Instructor qualifications. An instructor shall have one of the following qualifications:
(1) Three (3) years of recent experience in the subject area being taught; or
(2) A degree related to the subject area being taught; or
(3) Two (2) years of recent experience in the subject area being taught and twelve (12)
hours of college and/or vocational technical school credit hours in the subject area being
taught.
(d) Losing course approval. The Commissioner may withhold or withdraw approval of any
instructor or course for violation of or non-compliance with any provision of this section.
(e) Course approval expiration. Each course approval shall be valid for a period of not more
than two (2) years, unless the course has a material change. Material changes to courses require
course resubmission for overall course review and approval. Course approval following the
review of material changes shall reset the validity period. At the expiration of the validity period,
providers shall submit the course for approval by the Commissioner if the provider wants to
continue to offer the course for continuing education credit.

365:25-5-5. Approval or denial of course; certificate of completion

(@) Approval required 30 days in advance. At least thirty (30) days in advance of the
presentation of any course, the Association shall apply to the Commissioner for course approval.
The Commissioner shall grant or deny approval based upon information submitted in 365:25-5-4
regarding each course or additional information regarding the course, if necessary. The
Commissioner will assign the number of hours awarded for an approved course.

(b) Written approval required. All courses shall require written approval.

(c) Approval withheld or withdrawn. The Commissioner may withhold or withdraw approval
for any course approval. This withdrawal will not affect any hours attained under the course.



(d) Minimum one credit hour per course. Courses submitted for approval must consist of a
minimum of one credit hour of course instruction.

(e) CEC separate component of meetings. Courses conducted in conjunction with other
meetings must have a separate continuing education course component.

(F) Certificate of Course Completion. At the completion of each course, whether continuing
education or prelicensing, the Association shall provide the bondsman with a "Certificate of
Course Completion™ form, which shall contain the verification of the Association that the

bondsman completed the course so certlfled éuel%bendsman—shatkthen%emplete%h&edueatten

(g) OBA supplles Commlssmner W|th list of bondsmen completlng course. At the completlon
of each course, the Association shall provide to the Commissioner a list of all bondsmen who
completed the course.

(h) OBA records maintained 4 years. The Association shall maintain course records for at least
four (4) years.

365:25-5-6. Proof of completion; video courses

(a) Correspondence courses. A bail bondsman who satisfactorily completes an approved course
by correspondence and provides proof of satisfactory completion, as specified by the
Commissioner, will receive credit for the number of hours assigned by the Commissioner for
completion of the course.

(b) Video courses. In order for a bail bondsman to receive credit for viewing an approved course
presented by wvideo—ecassetteelectronic recording, the bondsman must view the wideo
cassetteelectronic recording under the supervision of an approved instructor, or under the
supervision of an individual approved by the Oklahoma Bondsman Association, and swear by
affidavit he has viewed the videe-eassetteelectronic recording in its entirety. The affidavit must
be submitted to the Association.

365:25-5-8. Extensions of time
For good cause shown, the Commissioner may grant an extension of time during which
the requirements imposed by 59 O.S. Section 1308 and 1308.1 may be completed. The
extension shall not exceed six (6) months. The extension will not alter the requirements
or due date of the succeeding year. "Good cause" includes disability, natural disaster, or
other extenuating circumstances. Each request for extension of time shall be in writing
from the licensee and shall include details and any documentation to support the request.
Each request must be received by the Commissioner no less than thirty (30) days before

the expiration of the ene-yearperiedlicense.

PART 5. GENERAL PROVISIONS PERTAINING TO BAIL BONDSMEN

365:25-5-35. Bondsman license renewal

(@) Pursuant to 59 O.S. 8 1309, bondsmen are required to renew their licenses biennially.
Requirements for a complete renewal filing for a bondsman shall be submitted by the last day of
the bondsman’s birth month and must include—each—of-thefoHowing:a Two Hundred Dollar
($200.00) renewal fee.

(1)} A Two Hundred Dolar ($200.00) renewal fee, and




{e)(b) Failure to complete the renewal process by the last day of the bondsman’s birth month will
result in an automatic expiration of the license. After the expiration, the license may be reinstated
for up to one (1) year following the expiration date. If after the one (1) year date, the license has
not been renewed, then the licensee shall be required to apply for a license as a new applicant.
{e)(c) All licenses of bail bondsmen shall expire on the last day of the bondsman’s birth month
unless the Commissioner receives a complete renewal filing. A complete renewal filing consists
of all necessary items required by paragraph (a) of this section as well as any other items
required by the Commissioner.

{e)(d) If the license has not been renewed by the expiration date, a bail bondsman shall not be
authorized to contlnue actlng asa bail bondsman

365:25-5-38. Ten defendant limit
Pursuant to 59 O.S. 81320, a bondsman is authorized to write bonds on up to ten

defendants per year, October1-through-September-30January 1 through December 31, in

each county outside his resident county. For purposes of determining the ten defendants,
the bondsman shall consider each date a bond or bonds are written on a defendant as
being one of the ten defendants, not withstanding any previous bonds which have been
written on that same individual. The ten defendant limit does not apply in counties
without a registered bondsman in said county.

365:25-5-41. Special deposit
(@) In addition to the cash or securities deposited in trust with the State Treasurer through the
Insurance Commissioner's office pursuant to 36 O.S. § 613, insurers writing bail bonds in this
state shall deposit in trust additional cash or securities equaling at least Three Hundred Thousand
Dollars ($300,000.00), and insurers writing bail bonds in this state shall not exceed a twenty-to-
one (20:1) ratio of outstanding liability-to-special deposit.
(b) An insurer shall comply with the following requirements to maintain the special deposit
described in Subsection (a):
(1) The insurer’s monthly report of outstanding liability shall be within ten percent (10%)
of the outstanding liability reported by all the insurer’s appointed surety bondsmen for
that month.
(2) All bail bond forfeitures shall either be paid within 91 days after receipt of the Order
and Judgment of Forfeiture or vacated by the court within 91 days from the date of
receipt of the Order and Judgment of Forfeiture_pursuant to Section 365:25-5-40.
(c) If the insurer fails to comply with either requirement of paragraph (b) more than three (3)

times in a consecutive twelve (12) month period, the insurer’s speeial-deposit-shal-equal-at-least




aoutstanding liability shall not exceed a ten-to-one (10:1) ratio of outstanding liability-to-special
deposit. The Insurance Commissioner shall provide written notification of this requirement via
certified mail, return receipt requested, to the insurer’s address of record. The special deposit
required by this paragraph shall become effective thirty (30) days from the date notification is
received.

(d) If an insurer is authorized to write only bail bonds, theany cash or securities deposited in trust
with the State Treasurer through the Insurance Commissioner’s office pursuant to 36 O.S. § 613
in_excess of the minimum amount required by Section 613 shall apply towards the special
deposit required by this section.

365:25-5-47. Financial statement required
If the license of a professional bondsman is transferred pursuant to 59 O.S. § 1306(D),
the transferee shall submit a financial statement to the Department within 180 days after
the date of the transfer.

PART 7. SPECIFIC FINANCIAL CIRCUMSTANCES WARRANTING RELEASE OF
PROFESSIONAL DEPOSIT

365:25-5-51. Specific financial circumstances enumerated
(a) For purposes of Section 1306(A)(5) of Title 59 of the laws of this state, the specific financial
circumstances warranting release of a professional deposit are:
(1) Fire that damages or destroys either the office or residence of the bondsman;
(2) Flood that damages or destroys either the office or residence of the bondsman;
(3) Other natural disaster that damages or destroys either office or residence of the
bondsman;
(4) Medical problem or illness sustained by either the bondsman or a member of the
immediate family of the bondsman.
(5) The bondsman has unused bail writing capacity of at least forty percent (40%) of their
liability limit, and has at least twelve (12) consecutive months of being at sixty percent
(60%) or below this writing limit.
(b) The bondsman shall have the burden of showing the Commissioner by clear and convincing
evidence the existence or occurrence of the circumstances, as well as providing to the
Commissioner any necessary supporting documentation or other evidence the Commissioner
requires.
(c) A bondsman whose license is suspended or has been revoked shall not be allowed to apply
for a partial return of a deposit.




