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Dan Byrd – Assistant General Counsel 



About me 
• Attorney assigned to Bail Bonds Division 

• All areas of bail regulation: statutory interpretation and 

application, licensing, administrative action  

• At the Department since October 2012 

• University of Oklahoma, BBA/Finance 

• Oklahoma City University, J.D.  
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OBA CE 2014 
Bail Statutes – New & 

Amendments 
 • HB 2407 – Multi County Agent Bondsman (MCA)  

• HB 2928 – Oklahoma Insurance Department Bill  

• SB 2003 – Bail Enforcer  

• Questions 



HB 2407 

• Multi County Agent Bondsman (MCA)  
• Signed by the Governor 04-16-2014 
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59 O.S. § 1301(B)(13) 
 “Multicounty agent  bondsman” means a professional bondsman 

who has been approved by the Commissioner and who otherwise 
complies with the provisions of Section 1306 of this title.  
 

 

• Defines a new bail bondsman license type, aka, Line of Authority (LoA).  

• Multicounty agent bondsman (MCA) must first hold the professional LoA.  
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59 O.S. § 1305(D) 
 In addition to the license fee set forth in subsection C of this section, 

an applicant for a multicounty agent bondsman license shall furnish 
to the Commissioner a license fee of Seven Hundred Fifty Dollars 
($750.00). 

• Subsection C requires a Two Hundred Fifty Dollar ($250.00) license fee. 

• Total license fee to add the Multicounty agent (MCA) bondsman license 
(LoA) is One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00).  
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59 O.S. § 1309(A) 
 A renewal license shall be issued by the Insurance Commissioner to 

a licensee who has continuously maintained same in effect, without 
further examination, upon payment of a renewal fee of Two Hundred 
Dollars ($200.00) for a cash, property, surety, or professional bail 
bondsman or One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) for a multicounty 
agent bondsman.   

 

• License renewal fee for a bail bondsman that holds ONLY the MCA LoA is One Thousand 

Dollars ($1,000.00).  

• If bail bondsman holds the MCA LoA and another LoA (Cash, Property Bail, or Surety Bail) 

the total renewal fee is One Thousand Two Hundred Dollars ($1,200.00).  
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59 O.S. § 1309(B) 
• An individual holding a professional bondsman license or 

multicounty agent bondsman license shall also provide an annual 
financial statement.  
 

• The new multicounty agent bondsman (MCA) must submit an 
annual financial statement similar to what professional’s submit to 
the Oklahoma Insurance Department.  
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59 O.S. § 1314 – summary  
 Adds the new Multicounty Agent Bondsman (MCA) to 

section 1314(A); statute relating to security collateral. 

 Adds the new Multicounty Agent Bondsman (MCA) to 
section 1314(B); statute relating to filing of electronic 
reports.  
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59 O.S. § 1306A, New Law 
• Applicant for multicounty agent bondsman must be licensed as a 

professional bondsman for two (2) years prior to filing application to 
add the new MCA LoA.  

• Financial Statement to be submitted with application for MCA 
license. 

• Financial Statement must show a net worth of at least Two Hundred 
Fifty Thousand Dollars ($250,000.00).  

• Financial Statement to be current as of a date not earlier than ninety 
(90) days prior to application for MCA. 
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59 O.S. § 1306A, New Law (contd)  
• MCA shall deposit not less than One Hundred Thousand Dollars 

($100,000.00) with the Oklahoma Insurance Department.   
• MCA may write bonds equal to twelve times the amount of the 

deposit. (Unless grandfathered) 
• The majority of the new law mirrors the current laws regarding 

professional bail bondsmen.  
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HB 2928 
• Oklahoma Insurance Department Bill 
• Sent to the Governor 05-22-2014 
• Signed by the Governor 06-03-2014 
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59 O.S. § 1309(B) 
• Changes the annual Financial Statement date to be as of 

a date not earlier than June 30.  
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59 O.S. § 1316(C) 
At the time of payment, the bail bondsman must provide indemnitors 

with a proper receipt. Receipt must –  
• Be individually numbered,  
• Indicate precise amount of fees, premium, collateral, or other 

payments received, 
• Copies of any agreements executed relating to the appearance 

bond,  
• Full name of the defendant,  
• Case number, if available, and  
• Full name of individual(s) presenting the payment.    
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59 O.S. § 1317(C)  
• Adds “or fees” owed to the Oklahoma Insurance 

Department in the required Affidavit for new 
appointments.  

• The Oklahoma Insurance Department will deny an 
appointment if the bail bondsman owes fines to the Legal 
Division or owes fees to the Bail Bond Division. 

• The Oklahoma Insurance Department can also fine or 
suspend a bail bondsman for submitting a false Affidavit.   
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59 O.S. § 1320(A) 
• Relates to the list of bondsmen that the court clerk 

provides to the judges and law enforcement offices of 
the county.  

• Adds “Law enforcement shall provide the list to any 
incarcerated individual upon request.” 

• Clarifies that any surety bondsman without a current 
surety appointment shall be removed from the list.   
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59 O.S. § 1332(A) 
• The Court shall issue within ten (10) days an arrest 

warrant for the defendant and declare the undertaking 
(bond) forfeited. 

• Adds “Within fifteen (15) days from the date of the 
forfeiture, the order and judgment of forfeiture shall be 
filed with the clerks of the trail court. Failure to timely 
issue the arrest warrant or file the order and judgment of 
forfeiture as provided in this subsection shall exonerate 
the bond by operation of law.”  
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59 O.S. § 1332(C)(4)(c) 
• Clarifies that bondsman has to request hold be placed 

on the defendant in the jurisdiction where the forfeiture 
lies and guarantees reasonable travel expenses for the 
return of the defendant when the defendant is arrested 
or incarcerated within Oklahoma.  
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SB 2003 
• Bail Enforcement and Licensing 
• Sent to the Governor 05-23-2014 
• Signed by the Governor 05-28-2014 
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Bail Statute 
• 59 O.S. § 1311.3 Unlawful to Perform Acts as Bail Bondsman 

Without Valid License 
• Adds paragraph C.  
• This section shall not apply to a person who within ninety (90) 

days of their bail bonds license being suspended or revoked 
who contracts with a licensed bail enforcer to apprehend and 
surrender a defendant.  

• The defendant client must have a current appearance bond or 
bail contract with the suspended or revoked bail bondsman.  
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Bail Statute 
New Law. Adds 59 O.S. § 1311.4 
 
 Notwithstanding any provision of the Bail Enforcement and Licensing Act to the 

contrary, a licensed bondman in this state may seek assistance from, or provide 
assistance to, another licensed bondsman in this state or another state for purposes 
of apprehension and surrender of their defendant client whose undertaking or bail 
contract was written by the licensed bondsman or a bondsman appointed by an 
insurer doing business in this state; provided, the licensed bondsmen have a 
continuously valid licensed for five (5) or more years beginning the effective date of 
this act. The bondsman licensed in this state shall be required to obtain and maintain 
proof of the other bondsman’s valid license and license duration requirement prior to 
permitting such person to engage in any act requiring a license in this state. 
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Bail Enforcement Statute 
• 59 O.S. § 1350.2  

– Changes Bail Enforcement and Licensing Act effective date from 
July 1, 2014 to February 1, 2015.  

• 59 O.S. § 1350.12  
– Adds that it is unlawful for anyone not licensed as a bail 

enforcement  agent to mark a vehicle, wear clothing, or display a 
badge or id card bearing the words “bail enforcer”, “bail 
enforcement”, or “bail enforcement agency” or use any other 
words that imply that a person is licensed under the Bail 
Enforcement Act.   
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Bail Enforcement Statute (contd) 
• 59 O.S. § 1350.14 

– Bail Enforcement applicant or licensee may request that their physical residence 
address not be disseminated to the public.  

• 59 O.S. § 1750.14 
– Adds subsection D.  Exempts licensed bail bondsmen from having a client 

contract or being a licensed bail enforcer prior to apprehending a defendant. 
 “The provisions of this section shall not apply to licensed bondsmen in this state 

appointed by an insurer doing business in this state with regard to a defendant 
on a bond posted by that insurer, provided the appointed bondsman has been 
continuously licensed in this state for a period of five (5) years or more beginning 
on the effective date of this act.” 
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Reminders for Bail Bondsmen 
• License Renewals –  

– Licenses expire every 2 years 
– OID will send you an e-mail 45 days before your license expires 

(last day of your birth month) 
– You can renew at any time after being notified  
– Expired licenses may be reinstated at double the original fee 
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Reminders for Bail Bondsmen 
• Reports  

– Due on or before the 15th of each month 

– You don’t have to wait until the 15th  

– Even 1 day late is still late 

– Can result in censure or fine 
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Questions? 

Dan Byrd – Assistant General Counsel 
Dan.Byrd@oid.ok.gov 

405-521-2746 
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