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The Roofing Contractor Registration Act (RCRA) creates a procedure whereby
resident and nonresident roofing contractors are required to obtain a valid
registration from the Construction Industries Board in order to act as a roofing
contractor in the State of Oklahoma. To obtain the registration, the contractor
must submit an application and registration fee, show evidence of liability insurance
of no less than $500,000.00, show evidence of workers’ compensation insurance
coverage or exemption from coverage, show evidence of good standing with the
Oklahoma Secretary of State and an affidavit verifying lawful presence in the United
States. The business must register annually.

Failure to register is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $500.00,

which will be initiated by the appropriate district attorney’s office having
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jurisdiction. For further information, contact the Construction Industries Board at

www.cib.state.ok.us or (405) 271-5217.

Tornados, wind and hail storms have recently resulted in many Oklahoma
homeowners and business owners filing claims for roof damage with their insurance
companies. As a result, the Oklahoma Insurance Department is increasingly
receiving complaints regarding the advertising and business practices of roofing
contractors in the state. Roofing contractors that advertise to be “claim
specialists”, “claim analysts”, who refer to “denied claims”, “deductibles” or assert
they “deal with insurance companies” in their advertisements, are acting as
unlicensed public adjusters, in violation of Oklahoma law.

It is legal for contractors to approach homeowners and business owners,
offering repair or reconstruction services. A roofing contractor may offer an opinion
to an insured as to whether roof damage is from a storm or other incident normally
covered by a homeowner’s policy. The roofing contractor may recommend to the
insured to file an insurance claim with the insurer. The roofing contractor may
provide an estimate of repair which the insured may submit to the insurer. The
roofing contractor may be present when the insurance adjuster inspects the
damage. The roofing contractor may answer the adjuster’s questions.

However, 36 O.S. § 6202(4) provides:

A public adjuster is any person, firm, association, company, or

corporation that suggests or presents to members of the public that

said public adjuster represents the interests of an insured or third

party for a fee or compensation. Public adjusters may investigate

claims and negotiate losses to property only.

A roofing contractor must be licensed as a public adjuster in order to

negotiate and act as an intermediary between the insured and the insurer. A



contractor who asks an insured to sign a power of attorney or any other contract
authorizing him to act on the insured’s behalf for a fee must be licensed as a public
adjuster. For example, a roofing contractor must be licensed as a public adjuster in
order to: (1) enter into a contract for services authorizing the contractor to
negotiate or effect the settlement of a claim for a fee or compensation; (2)
advocate on behalf of the insured or offer assistance to the insured to prepare, file
or complete the insurance claim; and/or (3) advertise or solicit for employment as
an adjuster of such claims.
Public adjusters may not:

Directly or indirectly, own or have a pecuniary interest in any
business entity which provides construction or reconstruction related
services on behalf of an insurance claimant or insured for which the
adjuster is providing services, nor may the adjuster, directly or
indirectly, own or have a pecuniary interest in any other business
entity which furnishes any supplies, material, services or equipment
purchased by or on behalf of the claimant or insured in settlement of
the claim, other than the usual and customary supplies, materials,
services or equipment utilized in the adjusting process”. 36 0.S. §
6220.1(A).

There is an exception if the adjuster:

Provides services on a claim which is located in the county in
which the adjuster maintains his principal place of business or in a
municipality having a population of less than 6,000 persons; provided
that the adjuster gives written disclosure of the potential conflict of
interest to both the insured and insurer prior to the performance any
adjuster services. 36 0.S. § 6220.1(C).

Therefore, a roofing contractor cannot be a licensed public adjuster except in
the county the contractor has its principal place of business in or in municipalities of

less than 6,000 persons. Any person who violates this provision shall be subject to

disciplinary action or a civil fine, or both, as set forth in 36 0.S. § 6220.1(B).




As a general rule, to avoid disciplinary action, roofing contractors should act
only as contractors and stay out of claim negotiation, participating in the claim
process and advertising as “claim specialists”. Insurers are encouraged to make
their contractor clients aware of the Department’s concerns and to advise their
adjuster staff to be alert to possible violations of the Oklahoma Insurance Adjusters

Licensing Act.



