
PROFESSIONAL	
  EMPLOYER	
  ORGANIZATION	
  

O.S.	
  Title	
  40	
  §600.4	
  

(Effective	
  November	
  1,	
  2002)	
  

All	
  information	
  shall	
  remain	
  CONFIDENTIAL	
  
	
  

No	
  person	
  shall,	
  unless	
  the	
  person	
  is	
  registered	
  as	
  a	
  PEO,	
  or	
  PEO	
  Group,	
  under	
  the	
  Oklahoma	
  
Professional	
  Employer	
  Organization	
  Recognition	
  &	
  Registration	
  Act,	
  provide,	
  advertise,	
  or	
  otherwise	
  
hold	
  itself	
  out	
  as	
  providing	
  professional	
  employer	
  services	
  in	
  this	
  state.	
  

What	
  is	
  a	
  PEO?	
  

A	
  Professional	
  Employer	
  Organization	
  is	
  any	
  person	
  engaged	
  in	
  the	
  business	
  of	
  providing	
  
professional	
  employer	
  services	
  (service	
  of	
  entering	
  into	
  a	
  co-­‐employment	
  relationship	
  under	
  the	
  
Oklahoma	
  Professional	
  Employer	
  Organization	
  Recognition	
  &	
  Registration	
  Act,	
  in	
  which,	
  except	
  
in	
  isolated	
  instances,	
  all	
  or	
  a	
  majority	
  of	
  the	
  employers	
  providing	
  services	
  to	
  a	
  client	
  or	
  to	
  a	
  
division	
  or	
  work	
  unit	
  of	
  client	
  are	
  covered	
  employees)	
  shall	
  be	
  subject	
  to	
  registration	
  under	
  the	
  
Oklahoma	
  Professional	
  Employer	
  Organization	
  Recognition	
  &	
  Registration	
  Act	
  regardless	
  of	
  its	
  
use	
  of	
  the	
  term	
  “Professional	
  Employer	
  Services”,	
  “PEO”,	
  “Staff	
  Leasing	
  Company”,	
  “Registered	
  
Staff	
  Leasing	
  Company”,	
  “Employee	
  Leasing	
  Company”	
  or	
  any	
  other	
  term.	
  

What	
  do	
  they	
  do?	
  

PEO’s	
  satisfy	
  other	
  employer’s	
  staffing	
  needs,	
  on	
  a	
  temporary	
  basis.	
  The	
  PEO	
  can	
  offer	
  insurance	
  
benefits	
  to	
  its	
  employees	
  that	
  they	
  would	
  not	
  otherwise	
  be	
  eligible	
  for,	
  like	
  a	
  traditional	
  
employment	
  relationship.	
  

How	
  are	
  PEO’s	
  regulated?	
  

•Annual	
  Registration/Renewal	
  within	
  180	
  days	
  after	
  the	
  end	
  of	
  the	
  PEO’s	
  first	
  fiscal	
  year	
  ending	
  
after	
  November	
  1,	
  2002	
  
•Offer	
  tax	
  credits	
  and	
  other	
  incentives	
  to	
  the	
  PEO	
  client	
  
•Please	
  refer	
  to	
  O.S.	
  40	
  §600.1-­‐§600.8	
  for	
  the	
  Oklahoma	
  Professional	
  Employer	
  Recognition	
  &	
  
Registration	
  Act	
  requirements	
  
	
  

Required	
  Information:	
  

	
   •Initial	
  registration	
  of	
  $500.00	
  and	
  $250.00	
  annually	
  
	
   •Name	
  or	
  names	
  under	
  which	
  the	
  PEO	
  conducts	
  business	
  
	
   •Address	
  of	
  each	
  principal	
  place	
  
	
   •Tax	
  or	
  FEI	
  number	
  

•All	
  business	
  names	
  (each	
  name	
  under	
  which	
  the	
  PEO	
  has	
  operated	
  in	
  the	
  preceding	
  five	
  (5)	
  
years)	
  
•Statement	
  of	
  ownership	
  (listing	
  of	
  name	
  or	
  names	
  of	
  individuals	
  who	
  own	
  25%	
  or	
  more	
  of	
  the	
  
equity	
  interests	
  of	
  the	
  PEO)	
  
•Statement	
  of	
  management	
  (listing	
  of	
  any	
  person	
  who	
  serves	
  as	
  president,	
  CEO	
  or	
  otherwise	
  
senior	
  officer)	
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•Audited	
  or	
  reviewed	
  financial	
  statements	
  (GAAP):	
  Only	
  a	
  PEO	
  Group	
  may	
  submit	
  
combined/consolidated	
  audited	
  or	
  reviewed	
  financial	
  statement	
  
	
  

EACH	
  PEO	
  SHALL	
  BE	
  REGISTERED	
  WITH	
  THE	
  OKLAHOMA	
  SECRETARY	
  OF	
  STATE	
  

EACH	
  PEO	
  SHALL	
  MAINTAIN	
  EITHER	
  A	
  MINIMUM	
  NET	
  WORTH	
  OF	
  $50,000.00	
  OR	
  PROVIDE	
  A	
  BOND	
  OR	
  
SECURITIES	
  WITH	
  A	
  MINIMUM	
  MARKET	
  VALUE	
  OF	
  $50,000.00.	
  

EACH	
  PEO	
  SHALL	
  SUBMIT	
  WITHIN	
  90	
  DAYS	
  AFTER	
  THE	
  END	
  OF	
  EACH	
  CALENDAR	
  QUARTER,	
  A	
  
STATEMENT	
  PREPARED	
  BY	
  AN	
  INDEPENDENT	
  PUBLC	
  ACCOUNTANT	
  THAT	
  ALL	
  APPLICABLE	
  FEDERAL	
  
AND	
  STATE	
  PAYROLL	
  TAXES	
  FOR	
  COVERED	
  EMPLOYEES	
  LOCATED	
  IN	
  THIS	
  STATE	
  WERE	
  PAID	
  ON	
  A	
  
TIMELY	
  BASIS.	
  

Exemption:	
  

	
   •Initial	
  fee	
  of	
  $250.00	
  to	
  request	
  exemption,	
  valid	
  only	
  for	
  one	
  year	
  
	
   •Applies	
  to	
  both	
  foreign	
  and	
  domestic	
  

•Must	
  be	
  domiciled	
  outside	
  of	
  the	
  state	
  of	
  Oklahoma	
  and	
  be	
  licensed	
  or	
  registered	
  as	
  a	
  PEO	
  in	
  
another	
  state	
  that	
  has	
  the	
  same	
  or	
  greater	
  requirements	
  as	
  the	
  Oklahoma	
  employer	
  
Recognition	
  and	
  Registration	
  Act,	
  as	
  set	
  out	
  in	
  a	
  copy	
  of	
  that	
  state’s	
  laws	
  which	
  must	
  be	
  
attached	
  to	
  the	
  application	
  

	
   •Doesn’t	
  maintain	
  an	
  office	
  in	
  Oklahoma	
  
	
   •Doesn’t	
  have	
  more	
  than	
  25	
  covered	
  employees	
  
	
  
When	
  does	
  this	
  law	
  take	
  effect?	
  

	
   November	
  1,	
  2002	
  and	
  is	
  codified	
  in	
  §600.4	
  of	
  Title	
  40	
  

	
  

	
  

	
  


