
The Oklahoma Insurance Department is  
responsible for enforcing the insurance-related laws 
of the state. We protect consumers by providing  
accurate, timely and informative insurance  
information. We promote a competitive  
marketplace and ensure solvency of the entities we 
regulate including insurance producers and  
adjusters, funeral directors, bail bondsmen & real 
estate appraisers.
More than $13 billion in premiums are written in 
Oklahoma annually. OID collects more than $150 
million in premium taxes, which provides funding 
to the Firefighters Retirement System, the Police 
Retirement System, the Law Enforcement  
Retirement Fund as well as the State’s General 
Revenue Fund. 

About Insurance Commissioner  
John D. Doak

John Doak was sworn in as the 12th  
Insurance Commissioner of Oklahoma 
on Jan. 10, 2011.  
To learn more, visit 
http://oid.ok.gov

Vehicle Liability  
Coverage Required 

By Law

OPTIONAL COVERAGE

Uninsured Motorist (UM)
UM pays you, resident members of your 
family, and occupants of your auto for 
personal injuries caused by an uninsured 
or underinsured motorist, or a hit and 
run driver.

Uninsured Motorist coverage is not required 
by law; however, the law does require you to 
reject this coverage in writing if you do not 
want it.

UM COVERAGE DOES NOT  
COVER YOUR PROPERTY.

MED PAY
This coverage provides medical assistance 
and funeral expenses to you and your  
resident relatives for any injuries  
sustained from, in, on or around a motor 
vehicle. It will also provide medical  
assistance and funeral expenses for any 
person occupying your vehicle.

This coverage is applicable regardless of 
fault or liability.

Bodily Injury Liability protects you 
against a claim which is made by  
someone who has been injured in an auto 
accident for which you are found liable.

Property Damage Liability protects you 
against claims for damages to another  
vehicle or property in an accident for 
which you are found liable.

Minimum Liability Limits for  
Oklahoma are 25/50/25. The first 25 
means the policy will pay up to $25,000 
in bodily injury for any one person per 
accident.  The 50 means that the policy 
will pay up to $50,000 for all persons 
injured per accident. The third number in 
the 25/50/25 means that the policy will 
pay up to $25,000 per accident for  
property damage.

*****REMEMBER***** 
25/50/25 is the minimum coverage that 
Oklahoma Law allows you to carry on 
your car in order to legally drive in  
Oklahoma.

However, if the cost of any bodily injury 
or damage exceeds the 25/50/25  
liability limits, the amount over these 
limits would be your responsibility to pay.

Consult your insurance agent to discuss 
your liability coverage limits, and  
whether or not it would be beneficial 
for you and your family to increase your 
limits in order to protect your assets in 
the event of a loss that would exceed the 
25/50/25 liability limit.

Oklahoma Insurance Department
Consumer Assistance Division

Telephone: 405.521.2991
Toll Free: 1.800.522.0071

Web: oid.ok.gov | Twitter: @oid411



The Law
Oklahoma law requires that any person 
who licenses and/or operates a motor 
vehicle show proof of financial  
responsibility in one of these ways:

u Vehicle Liability Insurance - Most 
Oklahomans will show financial  
responsibility with car insurance  
(Vehicle Liability Insurance)
u A certificate issued by the  
Oklahoma Department of Public Safety,  
showing that the certificate holder has 
deposited at least $75,000.00 in cash or 
in a CD, with DPS. 
u For owners of 25 or more  
automobiles, a certificate of self  
insurance issued by the Department of 
Public Safety.

Physical Damages
COLLISION Coverage pays for dam-
age to your vehicle for a collision acci-
dent no matter who is at fault.

COMPREHENSIVE Coverage pays 
for damage to your vehicle caused by 
something other than collision.

OTHER OPTIONS
u Towing and Labor Cost
u Rental Reimbursement
u Accidental Death Indemnity
u Special Disability Benefits

Contact your insurance agent for more 
information on additional coverages  
provided by your auto insurance  
company, which may be beneficial to 
you and your family.

WHAT TO DO  
IF YOU ARE IN AN 
AUTO ACCIDENT 

 
STOP - Try not to  
block traffic.

CALL 911 - If anyone  
is injured and call the  
police to report the accident.

DO NOT admit liability to anyone or 
accept claim settlement.

REPORT any loss to your insurance 
agent or insurance company and file a 
Motor Vehicle Accident Report as  
required by state law.  Send a copy to 
your insurance agent or insurance  
company.

GET INFORMATION - By recording 
the facts, taking pictures of the accident 
and surrounding area, as well as  
independent witness contact information 
if possible.

FAQ’S ON AUTO INSURANCE CLAIMS:

A First Party Claim is when you are filing a claim 
against your insurance company. A Third Party 
Claim is when you are filing a claim on another 
person’s policy.
If another person was at fault in the auto accident, 
you can still go through your insurer if you have  
collision coverage. Doing this will not affect your 
rates because Section 941 of the Oklahoma  
Insurance Code says that a company cannot  
assign driving record points, cancel, refuse to renew 
or increase the premium rate for any motor vehicle 
liability or collision insurance policy for the reason 
that the insured has been involved in a motor vehicle 
collision and was not at fault.
Repairing your vehicle with ‘ like kind and quality 
parts’: When your vehicle is being repaired  
following an accident, an insurance company’s limit 
of liability is the actual cash value of the property or 
damaged part of the property at the time of the loss. 
Putting brand new parts on an older vehicle would 
result in betterment, which is not the intention of 
the policy. If you still insist on new factory parts, 
the company will likely require that you pay the 
difference between the new parts and the "like kind 
and quality parts".
The insurance company’s estimate for the repair of your 
vehicle is too low. The company would owe the least 
amount necessary to return your vehicle to pre-loss 
condition. The correct procedure is to take your 
vehicle to the repair shop of your choice and provide 
the adjuster’s estimate. If additional damages related 
to the accident are found, you should contact the 
adjuster regarding a supplemental payment. 
The insurance company for the at fault party should 
provide you with a replacement vehicle while your 
car is being repaired. If your car is a total loss, the 
company will generally provide the replacement ve-
hicle until a settlement offer has been made on your 
car. However, the insurance company is not required by 
law to provide a replacement vehicle to you. 

On the other hand, if the accident was your fault 
& you will be filing a claim under your auto policy, 
a replacement car will not be provided unless you 
purchased rental reimbursement coverage.
You have the right to repair your vehicle at the 
repair shop of your choice.
If The Vehicle Is A Total Loss: Auto insurance 
provides coverage on an actual cash value (ACV) 
basis, which means that the company owes the 
ACV at the time of the loss. According to state 
law, such cost may be determined by: the cost of a 
comparable motor vehicle in the local market area 
when a comparable motor vehicle is available in the 
local market area, one or two or more quotations 
obtained by an insurer from two or more quali-
fied dealers located within the local market area 
when a comparable motor vehicle is not available in 
the local market area, or the cost of a comparable 
motor vehicle as quoted in the latest edition of the 
National Automobile Dealers Association Official 
Used Car Guide or monthly edition of any other 
nationally recognized published guidebook.
If you have a third party injury claim, please note 
that concerning the payment of incurred medical 
expenses, there are no statutes requiring payment 
as the bills are incurred.  Therefore, the insurance 
company may elect to wait until the injured party is 
ready to settle and include reimbursement for these 
bills in the final settlement check. 

When you are filing a claim here are a few things to 
remember:
P Contact your insurance agent or insurance 
company to file the claim.
P Keep a log of claim activity (for example, for a 
telephone call, write down the name of the person 
you speak with, the date and time of the call, as 
well as what the call was concerning.)
P Remember that the Consumer Assistance  
Division of the Oklahoma Insurance Department 
is here to answer any questions you have  
concerning the handling of your claim.


