Out-of-State Minors / Home-Schooled Minors

Work Permit Instruction Guide for Parent or Guardian

Out-of-State Minors (Under 16) Working in Oklahoma

1.
2.

The legal age of employment in Oklahoma is 14 years.

The out-of-state minor arriving into Oklahoma will need to bring evidence of age (birth certificate) and a copy of
most recent school transcript.

The school district where the relative resides is the school district that will issue the work permit.

The relative will bring evidence of age and a copy of school transcript to the issuing officer at the school. The
school issuing officer will provide a Form 600 (application) for the student to complete.

The student, parent, and employer sections of the Form 600 need to be completed in its entirety. Once
completed, the student will return the Form 600 back to the school issuing officer.

Upon receipt of the Form 600, the school issuing officer will issue the Form 601 (work permit).

A copy of the Form 601 will be given to the student to take to the employer. State law requires that the
employer has to have a work permit on file before a 14 or 15 year old may be employed.

The school will send a copy of the Form 601 to the Oklahoma Department of Labor. The contact information is
located on top of the Form 601.

The school will keep a copy of the Form 600 and Form 601 in school records for five (5) years.

Home-Schooled Minors (Under 16) Working in Oklahoma

1.
2.

The legal age of employment in Oklahoma is 14 years.

Parent/guardian may obtain a work permit one of two ways:

a. Check with the school in the area of residence. If the school issuing officer is comfortable giving the forms to
the parent/guardian who is home-schooling their child, the school issuing officer may choose to do so.

b. If the school is not comfortable giving away the forms, the parent/guardian will need to contact the
Oklahoma State Department of Education School Personnel Records. The phone number is (405) 521-3369.

Parent/guardian will need to obtain both the Form 600 (application) and the Form 601 (work permit).

The student, parent, and employer sections of the Form 600 need to be completed in its entirety.

Once the Form 600 is completed, the information is transferred to the Form 601. At the bottom of the Form

601, the parent becomes the issuing officer in place of the school and will sign as the issuing officer. In addition,

the home-schooled minor will then sign the Form 601 for the work permit to be valid.

A copy of the Form 601 needs to be given to the employer. State law requires that the employer has to have a

work permit on file before a 14 or 15 year old may be employed. If a work permit is not on file at the workplace,

the employer may be cited with a penalty for failing to comply with the state child labor laws.

A copy of the Form 601 needs to be sent to the Oklahoma Department of Labor. The contact information is

located on top of the Form 601.

Parent/guardian will keep a copy of the Form 600 and Form 601 in records for five (5) years.

According to federal child labor laws, a home-schooled minor MAY NOT work during school hours. School hours

are based on the school district where the home-schooled minor would normally be attending school.

Questions?

Oklahoma State Department of Education Oklahoma Department of Labor
School Personnel Records Child Labor Unit
(405) 521-3369 (405) 521-6591



