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1. How do I file a wage claim for wages and benefits? 

Employers must set regular pay dates within eleven (11) days of the end of the pay period. Employers have 

an additional three (3) days after regularly scheduled pay date to issue payment. To file a wage claim for 

earned, due wages (including benefits), contact a labor compliance officer at the Oklahoma Department of 

Labor’s wage and hour unit in our Oklahoma City office, (405) 521-6100, or (888) 269-5353. Or, you can 

download a wage claim form from www.labor.ok.gov. 

 

2. Are breaks and lunch periods mandatory? 

Neither federal nor state law require employers to provide breaks to employees age 16 or older. Mandatory 

break laws only apply to children under the age of 16. Breaks and lunch periods are considered benefits and 

remain at the discretion of the employer. 

 

3. What is the current minimum wage? 

The federal and state minimum wage of $7.25 per hour has been in effect since July 24, 2009. 

 

4. Are all employers required to pay minimum wage? 

No. Unless otherwise covered by federal wage and hour laws, an Oklahoma employer must comply with 

state minimum wage laws if the company has at least 10 full-time employees or equivalent and/or grosses 

more than $100,000 annually. 

 

5. How often does an employer have to pay employees? 

Every employee (except exempt employees) shall be paid all wages due at least twice each calendar month. 

State, county, municipal and exempt employees shall be paid a minimum of once each calendar month. 

 

6. Is my employer required to offer benefits? 

Oklahoma has no mandatory benefits law. However, if the employer has an established policy providing for 

benefits, the employee may or may not be eligible depending upon the employer’s eligibility criteria. Read 

your employee handbook for specific policies at your workplace. 

 

7. Is my employer required to pay overtime? 

If the company is required to comply with Federal wage and hour laws, time and one half should be paid to 

non-exempt employees for all hours worked over 40 in the work week. Contact the U. S. Department of 

Labor at (866) 487-9243 for more information. 

 

8. Is my employer allowed to require me to work past my scheduled hours? 

Employers have the right to schedule the minimum and maximum number of hours that employees may or 

may not work. Employers can change employees' hours without notice and may require employees to work 

overtime. 
 

 

 

 



9. Electronic Payment of wages 

On November 17, 2009, the Oklahoma Attorney General issued a formal opinion, Attorney General Opinion 

09- 31, regarding payment of wages by electronic means. The payment of wages due an employee by 

electronic means is governed by the Federal Electronic Fund Transfer Act (“EFTA”) (15 U.S.C. §§ 1693-

1693r). See 15 U.S.C. § 1693q. The regulation implementing the EFTA, 12 C.F.R. §§ 205-205.18, and the 

Official Staff Interpretations supplementing Regulation E (12 C.F.R. pt. 205, supp. I) provide additional 

authority in the application of the EFTA to electronic wage payments. See Ford Motor Credit Co. v. 

Milhollin, 444 U.S. 555, 567-68 (1980); 15 U.S.C. §§ 1693b, 1693m. The EFTA preempts state law 

governing consumer electronic fund transfers to the extent that those laws are inconsistent with the EFTA 

and then only to the extent of the inconsistency. See 15 U.S.C. § 1693q. 

 

The Attorney General concluded an employer may require an employee to accept the payment of wages by 

direct deposit. However, the employer cannot require a certain bank be used. If the employer’s policy only 

allows employees to receive the direct deposits at a certain bank, then they cannot require the employee to 

use direct deposit and must offer the option of cash or check. The employer cannot require the use of payroll 

debit cards. The employee can choose to use a payroll debit card, but it must be voluntary. 

 

Wage statements (pay stubs) do not have to be written or printed. They can be in electronic form as long as 

the method of delivery places no burden on the employee in order to receive the statement. The employer 

cannot post the information on the internet and require the employee to login to view the information. No 

other examples of what form of delivery would be considered acceptable were listed. The burden on the 

employee would depend on the factual circumstances involved. 

 

Regardless of the method of delivery, wages must be payable on demand without discount. Employees 

cannot be charged a fee to receive wages by electronic means. 
 

10. If I give notice but don't work the time, does my employer have to pay me anyway? 

Oklahoma has no mandatory severance pay law. However, as with any other benefit, severance may be 

payable in accordance with the employer’s established policy. Read your employee handbook for specific 

policies at your workplace. 
 

11. If I quit or get fired, does my employer have to pay me immediately? 

An employer may wait until the next regularly designated pay day regardless of whether you quit or were 

fired. 
 

12. Can my employer deduct money from my paycheck? 

Deductions can be legal, depending upon the circumstances. If you are concerned that your employer may be 

taking illegal deductions, you should contact the state Wage & Hour Unit for more information. Employers 

must sign a written agreement with employees in order to make legal deductions from employees’ wages 

unless deductions are made pursuant to express statutory authority, such as state and federal tax 

withholdings and FICA, or pursuant to a prior valid final judgment by an employer against an employee. 
 

13. I was scheduled to receive a pay raise but never received it. Can I file a wage claim for these back 

wages? 

Perhaps, you should contact the state Wage and Hour Unit for more information. 
 

14. My employer sent me home early. Is my employer required to pay me for the time I was scheduled 

to work? 

Probably not as employers are only required to pay non-exempt employees for actual times worked. 

However, exempt employees must typically be paid their full salary irrespective of the time actually worked. 

For more information about exempt employees contact your nearest U.S. Department of Labor office. 



15. I believe I am being discriminated against and/or harassed at work. What do I do? 

Harassment and/or discrimination based upon constitutional protections (religion, race, disability, status as a 

veteran, etc.), may be addressed to the federal Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, (405) 231-4911 

or (800) 669-4000, www.eeoc.gov or the Oklahoma Human Rights Commission, (405) 521-2360. 
 

16. An employee has been activated to military service. Will that employee have a job when he/she 

returns to work? 

You will need to contact the Oklahoma Military Department at (405) 228-5000, www.omd.state.ok.us for 

further assistance. 
 

17. What is the prevailing wage rate in Oklahoma? 

The Oklahoma Supreme Court ruled the state prevailing wage unconstitutional. For information about 

federal prevailing wage, contact the U.S. Department of Labor, www.dol.gov, (866) 487-9243. 
 

18. Is my employer required to show me my personnel file if I ask to see it? 

No. 
 

19. If my employer posts a schedule, is he required to give me notice ahead of time that the schedule 

has changed? 

No. 
 

20. Are wages required to be paid when an employee is on jury duty? 

If the employee is a non-exempt worker wages do not have to be paid. 

 

If the employee is an exempt worker the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) at 29 C.F.R. Sec. 541.602 states 

the employer is to pay wages for the period of time the worker is absent from work due to jury duty. 

However, the employer can offset any amounts received by the employee as jury fees for a particular week 

against the salary due for the particular week. Furthermore, an employer having a policy stating that exempt 

employees who serve on juries for an extended period of time will not be paid for workweeks in which they 

perform no work is permissible. 
 

21. Does my employer have to pay Overtime? 

The state of Oklahoma does not have an Overtime provision in the Minimum Wage Act. Please contact the 

USDOL at (405) 231-4158 or (918) 581-6303. 
 

22. Does my former employer have to pay my accrued Vacation/PTO/Sick Time? 

That depends on their policy. Please refer to your Employee Handbook or your employers past practice. 
 

23. Can they terminate you for that? 

Yes. The only laws protecting your employment are the Discrimination Laws. To see if these laws apply in 

your situation please contact the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) at (800) 669-4000. 
 

24. Can they change my schedule/reduce my hours? 

Yes, Oklahoma does not have any laws which regulate/limit the number of hours an employer can work you 

unless you are 14 or 15 years of age. 
 

25. Doesn’t my employer have to provide breaks/lunch? 

No, Oklahoma does not have any laws which require an employer to give you a break or lunch unless you 

are 14 or 15 years of age. 
 


