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Paying Attention Pays 
Youth Em ploym ent Educational O utreach Inform ation 

DDDDiiiidddd YYYYoooouuuu KKKKnnnnoooowwww????
 
! Approximately 200,000 minors 

under 18 are injured on the job each 
year. 

! Approximately 77,000 of these 
cases required treatment in the 
hospital emergency room. 

! On average, 70 of these cases were 
fatal. 

SAFETY IS KEY!
�

By law, teen workers have the following basic 
rights. These include: 

C	 The right to a safe and healthful 
workplace. 

C	 The right to know about hazards in 
the workplace and what to do to 
prevent injuries from those hazards. 

C	 The right to report a hazard to their 
supervisor. If the employer refuses to 
address the hazard, the employee has 
a right to file a complaint with OSHA. 

C	 The right to refuse work that they 
believe, in good faith, can be 
dangerous to themselves or others. 

14 is the legal age to be employed 

For Minors Under 16
 
Oklahoma School In School Not 

Child Session 
Tuesday after 

In Session 
June 1 to Labor 

Labor Law Labor Day to 
May 31 

Day 

Work Permit 
Issued by 

school 

Required when 
school is in 

session 

Required when 
school is not in 

session 

Hours 3 hours on a 8 hours on a 
Standard school day non-school day 

8 hours on a 40 hours in a 
non-school day non-school 
18 hours in a week 
school week 

Times 
Standard 

Between 7 a.m. 
and 7 p.m. 

Between 7 a.m. 
and 9 p.m. 

Breaks 30 minutes for 
every 5 hours 

worked 
1 hour for every 
8 hours worked 

30 minutes for 
every 5 hours 

worked 
1 hour for every 
8 hours worked 

Minors under 16 can not be 
employed in work related to 

construction
 
cooking or baking
 

fryers or grills
 
hoisting devices
 

ladders or scaffolds
 
lawn mower & weed eater
 

loading / unloading
 
manufacturing, mining or processing
 
motor vehicles or service as helpers
 

power driven machines or equipment
 
power-driven slicers or knives
 

public messenger service
 
public utilities and communications
 

transportation
 
warehousing or storage
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17 Hazardous Occupations Orders 
These Orders are published in Subpart E of Part 570 of Title 29 
of the Code of Federal Regulations (United States Department of 
Labor at www.youthrules.dol.gov or 1-866-487-9243) 

Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)
 
Work Restrictions
 

Minors under 18 years are prohibited 
from working the following occupations: 

1.	 Manufacturing and storing explosives 
2.	 Motor vehicle driving and outside
 

helper
 
3.	 Coal mining 
4.	 Logging and sawmilling 
5.	 Power-driven woodworking
 

machines
 
6.	 Exposure to radioactive substances 
7.	 Power-driven hoisting apparatus 
8.	 Power-driven metal-forming,
 

punching, and shearing machines
 
9.	 Mining, other than coal mining 
10.	 Slaughtering or meat-packing,
 

processing, or rendering
 
11.	 Power-driven baking machines 
12.	 Power-driven paper-products
 

machines
 
13.	 Manufacturing brick, tile, and
 

kindred products
 
14.	 Power-driven circular saws, band
 

saws, and guillotine
 
15.	 Wrecking, demolition, and
 

shipbreaking operations
 
16.	 Roofing operations 
17.	 Excavation operations 

Wage & Hour 
$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ 

MINIMUM WAGE: The Oklahoma minimum wage 
is equal to the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour. 

OVERTIME: Oklahoma has no state overtime laws. 
If a company is required to comply with federal wage 
and hour laws, time and one-half should be paid to 
covered employees for all hours worked over 40 hours 
in a seven-day work week. Contact the United States 
Department of Labor for more info. 

BREAKS: Mandatory break laws apply only to 
children under the age of 16 years. Company policy 
dictates break and lunch periods for everyone age 16 
years and older. 

WAGE PAYMENT: The employer may wait until the 
next regular payday designated for the pay period 
regardless of whether an employee quit or was fired. 

NOTICE: If a two week notice is given and the 
employer opts to refuse the notice, discharging the 
employee immediately, no payment is required by law 
(except for time already worked). Giving or accepting 
notice is strictly a courtesy, unless otherwise covered by 
company policy. 

BENEFITS: There are no laws mandating benefits in 
Oklahoma. However, if the employer has an 
established policy providing for benefits such as 
vacation pay, sick leave, holiday pay and severance 
pay, the employee may be eligible for benefits 
depending upon the employer’s eligibility criteria. 

DEDUCTIONS: Deductions can be legal, depending 
upon the circumstances. An employee must provide 
written consent before an employer may deduct wages 
from a paycheck, except for mandatory deductions 
including tax withholdings, etc. 

TIPS: For any employee falling under the jurisdiction 
of federal wage laws, the maximum tip credit against 
the minimum wage is $5.12 per hour. Employers must 
pay tipped employees at least $2.13 per hour and may 
apply tip earnings toward the balance of the minimum 
wage obligation. 

OWED WAGES: Any person owed wages should 
contact the Oklahoma Department of Labor Wage & 
Hour Unit at 1-888-269-5353. 

LIQUIDATED DAMAGES: An employer can be 
assessed a penalty of two percent liquidated damages 
for each day the final paycheck is overdue. 

OKLAHOMA DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
405-521-6591 

www.labor.ok.gov 
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********************************* 
Oklahoma Child Labor Law Review 

by: Lester Claravall 

********************************* 
The United States of America is a nation where 
teenagers under the age of 18 years have the 
opportunity to work. These working minors are 
employed in part-time jobs, school-to-work 
programs, internships, and apprenticeships. 
Parents, who recall working their own first jobs, 
see benefits in teenagers working. The 
conventional wisdom is that after-school jobs 
teach working teenagers responsibility, provide 
pocket money, and keep the teenagers out of 
trouble. 

Many employers also see benefits to employing 
youths because it contributes to the economy. 
Teenagers are more likely to work at part-time, 
temporary, or minimum wage entry-level jobs. 
Working teenagers are predominantly employed 
in offices, grocery stores, restaurants, movie 
theaters, and amusement parks. 

From a legal perspective, child labor can be 
defined as the paid employment of minors under 
the age of 18 years. Problems occur when minors 
under the age 18 years are employed illegally. 
First of all, there is a risk of injury, illness, and 
toxic exposure to minors working in hazardous or 
prohibited occupations. Secondly, there is a threat 
to the education and development of minors who 
are employed instead of attending school. 

Child labor allows working minors the 
opportunity to gain valuable work experience. 
Teens who are employed are able to not only earn 
financial benefits, but are also able to learn 
important job skills, explore future careers, 
network, and enhance their education. 

On the other hand, child labor can lead to negative 
consequences. Teens are at risk of suffering 
injuries that can have long-term effects on their 
physical well-being. In addition, teenagers who 
work too many hours are at risk for poor academic 
performance and social problems. 
********************************* 

5555 DDDDAAAANNNNGGGGEEEERRRROOOOUUUUSSSS TTTTEEEEEEEENNNN JJJJOOOOBBBBSSSS
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��������� 

according to federal statistics, a 
young worker is killed on the job 

every five days 

Work Permit Process 
Principal will print Form 600 from 
www.sde.state.ok.us “School District Reporting 
Site” and give to the student. 

The student section, employer section, and 
parental or guardian section will need to be 
completed on Form 600. 

The student then returns the completed Form 
600 to the Principal. 

The Principal will complete Form 601; then 
print, sign and give one copy of the form to the 
student to take to the employer. 

The Principal will mail one copy of the Form 
601 to the Oklahoma Department of Labor and 
retain one copy with Form 600 in the school 
district’s records for five years. 

Lester Claravall 
State Child Labor Specialist 

Employment Standards Div - Child Labor Unit 
Oklahoma Department of Labor 

405-521-6591 
lester.claravall@labor.ok.gov 

www.labor.ok.gov 



      
      

      
      

 

       
     

     
       

   
       
          

      
       

     
    

       
     

       
        

     
        

      
     

      
   

    
     

       

   

       

   

       

       

       
  

       
   

      
 

       
    

      
  

  

     

   

   

    
  

       
 

     

 

   

   

The goals of the Paying Attention Pays 
outreach program are to highlight the child 
labor laws in an easy-to-understand and fun 
format, as well as provide insight to 
employment-related standards. 

Paying Attention Pays is designed as a game 
to encourage group discussion and friendly 
competition. While participants play the game, 
they learn and have fun at the same 
time—participants’ attention span improves, 
and information is retained. A summary sheet 
and book mark is handed out at the end of the 
program so that participants will have handy 
resources they can take with them for future 
reference. 

If participants pay attention, it pays. 
Participants learn about work-related issues 
that most people don’t become aware of until 
they enter the workforce. Having knowledge 
about the labor laws is important whether an 
employee is 14 years of age or close to 
retirement. 

Paying Attention Pays teaches students about 
the labor laws that will affect them when they 
enter the workforce. The program is designed 
to enhance knowledge and give participants 
substantive information when it comes to their 
rights in the workplace. 

For more information, contact Lester 
Claravall at the Oklahoma Department of 
Labor at 405-521-6591 or visit our website at 
www.labor.ok.gov 

TIPS FOR TEEN WORKERS 

What are the physical demands of my job? 

What are my hours? 

Will I be working alone or with others? 

What safety gear will I need to wear? 

What workplace hazards should I be aware of 
(e.g., noise, chemicals)? 

What safety training will I receive and when 
will I receive it? 

Where are the first-aid supplies and fire 
extinguishers located? 

Does my employer have a worker safety policy 
and an emergency action plan? 

Is there an occupational safety and health 
professional on staff? 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

TEEN WORKER RESPONSIBILITIES 

Trust your instincts about dangerous situations. 

Follow all safety rules. 

Wear proper safety equipment. 

Ask questions about potentially dangerous 
situations or equipment. 

Tell your supervisor or parent if you suspect 
unsafe conditions. 

Be aware of your work environment. 

Work safely. 

Stay sober and drug-free. 

Know your workplace rights. 


