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TO:  Amusement Ride Owners 

 

FROM: James Williams 

  Director, Safety Standards Inspection Services  

 

RE:    Mechanical Bull and Like Devices 

 

 

NOTE:  Mechanical Bull and Like Devices must meet all requirements per 40 O.S. § 460, et seq., 

Oklahoma Administrative Code (OAC) 380:55 and applicable American Society for Testing and 

Materials (ASTM) standards and all administrative guidelines. Guidelines can be found on the Oklahoma 

Department of Labor (ODOL) website, www.labor.ok.gov. 
 

 

REGISTRATION 

 
o All amusement rides are required to register with the ODOL and owners/operators must provide proof 

of insurance coverage on an annual basis.  

o The annual registration application is available at www.labor.ok.gov . Submit applications to 

odol.amusement@labor.ok.gov 

o Mechanical Bull and Like Device owners/operators are required to hold liability insurance of one 

million dollars ($1,000,000.00) and provide a copy to the Oklahoma Department of Labor.  The 

Oklahoma Department of Labor must be identified as the certificate holder as shown below: 

 Oklahoma Department of Labor 

                 Safety Standards Division 

                 3017 North Stiles, Suite 100 

                 Oklahoma City, OK  73105 

 

 

INSPECTION 

 
o In an attempt to improve compliance, the inspection requirement of mechanical bulls and like devices 

by the Oklahoma Department of Labor will be removed for calendar year 2018.  Compliance checks 

will be completed throughout the year and if the device owner is found to not be in compliance with 

40 O.S. § 460, et seq. and OAC 380:55 the device owner could face inspection requirements for each 

future setup of their equipment, fines or both.   
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o Mechanical Bulls are still required to meet all the requirements of the 40 O.S. § 460, et seq. and OAC 

380:55 and applicable ASTM standards.   

o An inspection by the Oklahoma Department of Labor may be requested by phone (405-521-6604), 

mail or email (odol.amusement@labor.ok.gov).  Inspection fees will apply. The fee schedule is 

located on the Amusement Ride page in the “Related Topics” box titled “New Fee Schedule”. 

o Requests for inspection are scheduled through the office during regular business hours and are to be 

submitted a minimum of 72 hours (3 business days) prior to inspection. 

The annual application is available at www.labor.ok.gov. Submit applications to:  

 

    Oklahoma Department of Labor 

    Safety Standards Division 

    3017 North Stiles, Suite 100 

    Oklahoma City, OK  73105 

    odol.amusement@labor.ok.gov 

o Failure to submit inspection reports and corrective action documentation will result in Oklahoma 

Department of Labor conducting an additional inspection to ensure compliance.  An inspection fee 

will be assessed based on set fee schedule. 

o Owners must maintain the following procedures: 

 Operator procedures  

 Inclement weather procedure 

 Written accident procedures 

o Owners/operators who add new mechanical bull and like devices to their inventory are required to 

have the equipment inspected prior to being placed into service. 

 “New” is classified as any mechanical bull and like devices that has been recently purchased 

from a manufacturer or another company and will be added to the operational inventory.   

 Companies (New) whose inventory has not been inspected by the Oklahoma Department of 

Labor will be required to register and schedule an inspection prior to any device being put into 

operation. 

 All new companies must have all of their current inventory inspected by Oklahoma 

Department of Labor. 

 A photograph of all new mechanical bulls and like devices being added must accompany the 

application, or a photograph could be taken at time of inspection by the ODOL inspector.   

 

 

ACCIDENT/INCIDENT 

 
o Accidents/Incidents that involve a fatality, loss of limb or an injury requiring medical treatment more 

than ”on-site” will require the ride to be shut down and the accident/incident reported to the 

Oklahoma Department of Labor (ODOL) immediately by calling: 

 (405) 521-6100 or (405) 521-6604 during business hours (M-F/8-5)  

 (405) 343-9815 after business hours and weekends/holidays. 

o The ride is not to be moved except for the safety of patrons/public. 

o Injuries requiring “on-site” first aid medical treatment shall be reported to the Oklahoma Department 

of Labor by the end of the next working day. 

o An accident/incident involving a mechanical failure will require the ride to be closed and not 

reopened until approved by the Oklahoma Department of Labor (ODOL). 

 An Amusement Ride Accident/Incident Report must be completed and submitted to the 

Oklahoma Department of Labor.  The form is available at www.labor.ok.gov 

o Spot checks may be conducted by the Oklahoma Department of Labor throughout the season without 

notice and at no cost to the owner. 
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OWNER/OPERATORS ARE REQUIRED TO: 

 
o Operators are to be trained annually, maintain and provide copies of training certification records to 

the Oklahoma Department of Labor upon request. 

o Owners must supply with copies of manufacturer’s annual inspection reports to the Oklahoma 

Department of Labor. 

o Operators are required to wear a name tag that lists all rides they have been trained and authorized to 

operate.  

o Owners must supply the Oklahoma Department of Labor with documentation that all violations have 

been corrected. 

o Daily inspections are to be conducted for each ride with these records maintained for at least three 

years.  Records may be electronic or hard copy and available to Oklahoma Department of Labor 

inspectors upon request. 

o Maintenance logs are to be maintained for at least three years (3), electronic or hard copy is 

acceptable. 

o A ride manual shall be on file for each ride. 

 

 

40 O.S. § 460.2 (b) Rules promulgated pursuant to subsection A of this section shall include the following 

language: 

The owner of an amusement ride shall maintain up-to-date maintenance, inspection, and repair records 

between inspection periods for each amusement ride in the manner provided by the Commissioner of Labor. 

The records shall contain a copy of all inspection reports commencing with the last annual inspection, a 

description of all maintenance performed, and a description of any mechanical or structural failures or 

operational breakdowns and the types of actions taken to rectify these conditions. 

 

NOTE:  This Guideline is meant to assist in the guidance provided for in 40 O.S. § 460, et seq., 

OAC 380:55 and applicable ASTM standards and all administrative guidelines and is not an exhaustive 

document. 

 

 

 

If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to contact me at 405-521-6100/888-269-5353 or at 
james.williams@labor.ok.gov 
 

 

 

Sincerely,  

 

 
 

James Williams, Director 

Safety Standards Inspection Services 

Oklahoma Department of Labor 
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